Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Sep 2014, 00:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Puppy Linux Windows Installer - V1.1 released
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 9 of 23 [338 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, ..., 21, 22, 23 Next
Author Message
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Mon 07 Nov 2011, 12:20    Post subject:  

Thanks noryb009

peculiarly neither 530 nor 528, when using your exe installer, sees my
cd or dvd drives - running from live cd is showing only the cd?
both install ok, and play nicely together...
slacko still not remembering settings....

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
noryb009

Joined: 20 Mar 2010
Posts: 539

PostPosted: Thu 10 Nov 2011, 00:08    Post subject:  

Quote:
peculiarly neither 530 nor 528, when using your exe installer, sees my cd or dvd drives

Try to run:
Code:
mount /dev/sr0 /mnt/cdrom

and see if the CD is mounted in /mnt/cdrom.
Quote:
Slacko still not remembering settings....

Are you sure you have your savefile in the same partition as windows' C drive? In windows, does C:\Puppy-Linux-530\slackosave.#fs exist?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ICPUG

Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 1290
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 10 Nov 2011, 08:34    Post subject:  

Aitch

Is the save file encrypted?

Barry reporting a bug with encrypted save files where the settings are not saved.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Thu 10 Nov 2011, 09:39    Post subject:  

ICPUG

No, just set up using ext3, no encrypt, same as 528, which remembers ok...
I note they use different folder arrangements in the root of 'C:', so maybe it's not finding the savefile.....? It does exist

Edit: Very Happy Very Happy
Old man's memory tricks - I have too many PCs around me, and remembered something that wasn't there....
I'm playing with several PCs, as my desktop blew its usb sockets, so I bought a possible replacement, onto which I installed 528, 530 PAE and added firefox and a few tweaks....but it was riddled with viruses and had SIS chips including video, ....so I started using my old faithful....twin Xeon scsi drive serverbox....and I had a different savefile for 530....528 didn't go because of the scsi drive, I think.....so, bottom line, problem doesn't exist in the PC.... Wink
Oops...Except for the CD not showing up....sr0 not found
It finds my usb flashdrive and adds it as both sda1 [usb icon] and sr1 [cd icon] Confused
Supermicro S5DA8 mobo, with a Samsung SC152G CD - seems like only the memory controller is loading....no ide support..?
Intel E7505 chipset...
Going back into XP for more detail...and try firmware update

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 06:05    Post subject:  

Update:

Things did not go well! I was trying to apply a firmware update....and the damn box froze....had to power off to get out of it, in windoze....gggrrr

On re-firing it up, no CD!

After many attempts to get it to work/apply the firmware I ended up concluding that may have been the problem all along....I found a suitable replacement, and installed it, and lo, after chkdsk did its thing, I have a working CD, and windoze
[wonders never cease Laughing Laughing ]

However, when I boot back into puppy 530 pae.... no CD, AND NO SAVEFILE

Double gggrrr! : Laughing ...Conclude I was tired yesterday and got it wrong...

Peculiarly using live CD finds the CD and the savefile, yet when using the .exe version, the CD shows up in the hardinfo hardware list under storage, [but on scsi1 controller?], but no drive icon on the desktop, nor mount....I wonder if, because the files are on a slow start SCSI drive, the save file isn't loaded when puppy looks for it....I get the feeling it's timing related...can't explain, though....any ideas please?
[btw both CDs tried are atapi/IDE devices, not SCSI]

Edit: more clues...
CD is found by mut, but not pmount, will mount in mut if CD in tray, but no persistent icon after CD removed....weird

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
steve_s


Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Austin, TX, USA

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 20:28    Post subject:  

How cool.

Just for fun I used this installer and Pupflux 5.1.1 on there. I uploaded it to here if anyone wants it.

I just want to say kudos to noryb009, great stuff! I've downloaded, ran the settup on Puppy 5.2.8 with wine, have tested it on Win7, works great! Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7802
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 12 Nov 2011, 03:32    Post subject:  

noryb009

Thanks for making Slacko 5.3 windows installer. Smile

Apart from making it super easy for linux noobs I had my own reasons for trying it.

I have an old Asus lappy (belongs to my daughter actually) that I could not boot any old how. There is something wrong with it as far as booting from the dvd drive and I was not going to fork out for an external floppy. USB boot is a no go in the BIOS. Probably flashing the bios would fix that. I tried PXE .. got a fair way but crumbled, works on my other machines, so the windows installer was the last resort.

Worked a treat. Smile . I'm going to mirror the Slacko versions and get Lobster to promo them on the wiki (if he hasn't already).

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sat 12 Nov 2011, 04:11    Post subject:  

has Very Happy
_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
noryb009

Joined: 20 Mar 2010
Posts: 539

PostPosted: Sat 12 Nov 2011, 09:00    Post subject:  

Thanks, 01micko and Lobster!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7802
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 12 Nov 2011, 17:11    Post subject:  

Hi Aitch,

Admittedly, I haven't tested the PAE 5.3 version yet. I have it downloaded and will test in Win 7 when I get some time on my son's machine. The standard version has no problems with cd and dvd for me.

Curious though that it works for you from a cd install. Confused After all, the way I see it, is that with the windows installer it's just a simple frugal install to NTFS (or FAT) using the windows bootloader instead of grub in the MBR.

1) What happens if you make a savefile from the CD to NTFS? (In the normal puppy way)

2) Does booting from a CD pick up the Slacko save file you created with windws installer? (I believe it should.. and it should use the .sfs instead of loading the one off the CD)

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Mon 14 Nov 2011, 13:27    Post subject:  

Mick

A reminder, this box has a scsi hard drive, and the adaptec 29160 boot to find the drive takes quite a while [but what prompted me to try 530scsi-pae ]

I'm not sure as to which files running live CD uses, as I have copied the .SFS to my C:\ drive, and made a savefile to the same location....but because I was having the problem with saves not loading, I also copied to the slacko 530pae folder created by the exe installer

I've discovered that when booting the exe version, if I wait for the boot timeout to expire, it picks up 'a' savefile, though I haven't yet determined which one - if I try to speed it up, by hitting enter at the 5 second boot screen, I get no save loaded
....booting the liveCD I get offered the choice of save files, one in the folder, one in c:\ or none at all, regardless of whether I speed up the boot process, so it seems the script for choosing savefiles isn't running in the exe boot....??
....the choice isn't given in the exe version

I'm still not getting a CD icon in the exe version, though the CD is visible in hardinfo/storage, but as a scsi device though it's an atapi/ide

Are there any tests I can do to help analyse this?
I'm not too clever at cli...

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Xavius

Joined: 17 Nov 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu 17 Nov 2011, 19:31    Post subject:  

Hi to all

I'm a new user of Puppy (but I used Linux for years)

My Puppy on Windows doesn't boot

I think the problem is my disk is SATA and Puppy tries to boot from hd0 (usually IDE).....

how can I solve this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
noryb009

Joined: 20 Mar 2010
Posts: 539

PostPosted: Fri 18 Nov 2011, 09:09    Post subject:  

Xavius:
What version are you using?
How far in the boot sequence do you get?
Have you tried a puppy CD before?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Xavius

Joined: 17 Nov 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri 18 Nov 2011, 22:51    Post subject:  

Actually, on this system even the cd doesn't work.......

Anyway it goes a bit farther.

The Windows Installer version, after the rebooting, just stop almost immediately after the Grub choice, with error on

hd0,0

The cd version loads the kernel, apparently loads the drivers to read disks, after that stops because it doesn't find the puppy .sfs file

(if I mount and try the ISO with a Virtualization software, eg.: VMWare, it works)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
noryb009

Joined: 20 Mar 2010
Posts: 539

PostPosted: Sat 19 Nov 2011, 10:57    Post subject:  

Xavius: In windows, can you:
- run
Code:
chkdsk /f
in command prompt
- reboot
- defragment your hard drive

That might fix it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 9 of 23 [338 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, ..., 21, 22, 23 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0875s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0086s) ][ GZIP on ]