Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 20 Aug 2014, 06:59
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Ethernet
Ethernet connects but won't allow me to browse
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Kazamterk

Joined: 28 Nov 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon 28 Nov 2011, 16:50    Post_subject:  Ethernet connects but won't allow me to browse  

Hi all-

I am a total newbie to Linux so please be patient with my stupid questions-

I am having trouble connecting to and browsing the internet. I'm using Linux Puppy 4.20 on a Compaq Presario. I have an SMC broadband router and I am plugged in directly with a network cable. There is no password required, or ISP username or passwords. With other OS' it is plug and play.

I've gone through the connection wizard properly, multiple times, and the system acknowledges that I am connected to eth0. The test funciton works correctly, I select DCHIP and everything goes smoothly. But when I try to browse, no sites will open. There is even an icon on the bottom right tray that reads "Network Connection: eth0"

I've read many other posts and have tried everything suggested, to no avail.

Here is the response when I type "ifconfig" into console:

eth0

Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:16:36:7E:47:99
inet addr:169.254.236.239 Bcast:169.254.255.255 Mask: 255.255.0.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:258 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:1 frame:1
TX packets:78 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:233323 (227.8 KiB) TX bytes:15816 (15.4 Kib)

lo

Link encap: Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:247 errors:0 dropped:0 overrun:0 fram:0
TX packets: 247 errors:0 dropped:0 overrun:0 carriers:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes: 20128 (19.6 KiB) TX bytes:20128 (19.6 KiB)

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

When I prompt the console "cat /etc/resolv.conf"

I get

cat: /etc/resolv.conf : Too many levels of symbolic links.

I've tried restarting and reconfiguring the network wizard time and time again. Any other input or suggestions are appreciated. Thank you in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2505
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Tue 29 Nov 2011, 15:34    Post_subject: Re: Ethernet connects but won't allow me to browse  

Hi Kazamterk,
Kazamterk wrote:

When I prompt the console "cat /etc/resolv.conf"

I get

cat: /etc/resolv.conf : Too many levels of symbolic links.

I've tried restarting and reconfiguring the network wizard time and time again. Any other input or suggestions are appreciated. Thank you in advance.


# cat /etc/resolv.conf
# Generated by dhcpcd from eth0
# /etc/resolv.conf.head can replace this line
nameserver 192.168.2.1
# /etc/resolv.conf.tail can replace this line

This /etc/resolv.conf is a simple text file:
# ls -la /etc/resolv.conf
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 147 2011-11-29 11:48 /etc/resolv.conf
#
Sorry, but why Linux Puppy 4.20?
wary5.20 should also be good for "old" hardware.
I am using wary and internet has always been setup automatically.

Hope that others will give better answers
Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9027
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 29 Nov 2011, 15:52    Post_subject:  

This problem has been around forever with certain network connections. Do a Puppy forum search for "resolv.conf". The general consensus is to delete the current file /etc/resolv.conf and replace it with something like
Code:
nameserver 8.8.8.8
nameserver 8.8.4.4
nameserver 208.67.222.222
nameserver 208.67.220.220


Also, read here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Ethernet
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0482s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0046s) ][ GZIP on ]