Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 22 Oct 2014, 21:57
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Documents
SoftMaker 2008 installation (SOLVED)
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]  
Author Message
rincon155


Joined: 11 Mar 2011
Posts: 104
Location: Venezuela

PostPosted: Sun 04 Dec 2011, 14:41    Post subject:  SoftMaker 2008 installation (SOLVED)
Subject description: Enabling SoftMaker 2008 installation
 

I have SoftMaker 2008, but every time I open it there is a menu for the initial installation asking to set the location for documents in /root/SoftMaker.
After accepting the menu everything is fine.
How can I avoid that menu for initial installation every-time I open the program?

Last edited by rincon155 on Wed 07 Dec 2011, 20:44; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1078

PostPosted: Mon 05 Dec 2011, 16:16    Post subject:  

I suppose that you have THIS (12,1M) built installed, because I have encountered exactly the same issue (with Presentations module only!).

After small investigation I think I found the solution:
Go to /usr/share/office2008/designs/
and rename 44_simple.prv to 01_glass.prv
Launch Presentations, accept path, exit and launch it again.

This solution seems to be a bit mysterious (even for me Laughing ), but I guess that Presentations' binary is looking for this specific one every time it's starting. And this built is sorely stripped down...

Hope this helps.

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rincon155


Joined: 11 Mar 2011
Posts: 104
Location: Venezuela

PostPosted: Mon 05 Dec 2011, 21:58    Post subject:  

SFR wrote:
I suppose that you have THIS (12,1M) built installed, because I have encountered exactly the same issue (with Presentations module only!).

After small investigation I think I found the solution:
Go to /usr/share/office2008/designs/
and rename 44_simple.prv to 01_glass.prv
Launch Presentations, accept path, exit and launch it again.

This solution seems to be a bit mysterious (even for me Laughing ), but I guess that Presentations' binary is looking for this specific one every time it's starting. And this built is sorely stripped down...

Hope this helps.

Greetings!

I did it, It works perfect for the Presentation module!!!
The word processor and spreadsheet are not affected. The bug stay the same for them. Can you figure out a similar fix for those?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1078

PostPosted: Tue 06 Dec 2011, 04:19    Post subject:  

Can you point me to version of SoftMaker2008 you are using?
I'll download it and see what I can do.

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1078

PostPosted: Tue 06 Dec 2011, 06:22    Post subject:  

Meanwhile maybe this will help you.
Check out if you have these files:
/usr/share/office2008/install_en/Templates/English/Normal.tmv
/usr/share/office2008/install_en/Templates/English/PlanMaker/Normal.pmv
If they don't exist, just create blank document template (Textmaker), save it as Normal.tmv and blank spreadsheet template (Planmaker), save it as Normal.pmv, and put them there.

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rincon155


Joined: 11 Mar 2011
Posts: 104
Location: Venezuela

PostPosted: Tue 06 Dec 2011, 20:37    Post subject:  

SFR wrote:
Can you point me to version of SoftMaker2008 you are using?
I'll download it and see what I can do.

Greetings!

TextMaker for Linux (rev 503)
PlanMaker for Linux (rev 503)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rincon155


Joined: 11 Mar 2011
Posts: 104
Location: Venezuela

PostPosted: Tue 06 Dec 2011, 20:43    Post subject:  

SFR wrote:
Meanwhile maybe this will help you.
Check out if you have these files:
/usr/share/office2008/install_en/Templates/English/Normal.tmv
/usr/share/office2008/install_en/Templates/English/PlanMaker/Normal.pmv
If they don't exist, just create blank document template (Textmaker), save it as Normal.tmv and blank spreadsheet template (Planmaker), save it as Normal.pmv, and put them there.

Greetings!

Yes, I have both
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1078

PostPosted: Wed 07 Dec 2011, 11:27    Post subject:  

rincon155 wrote:
SFR wrote:
Can you point me to version of SoftMaker2008 you are using?
I'll download it and see what I can do.

Greetings!

TextMaker for Linux (rev 503)
PlanMaker for Linux (rev 503)


My mistake Embarassed . I mean can you point me to place you downloaded SoftMaker from?
It's hard to say anything, because I'm still not sure we have the same built.

Another blind shot:
rincon155 wrote:
every time I open it there is a menu for the initial installation asking to set the location for documents in /root/SoftMaker.

It's true regarding Presentations, but when I launch TextMaker or PlanMaker for the first time, there are TWO paths displayed (for Document folder & Template folder). And sometimes one of them contains ?/ string instead of /root/SoftMaker/Templates/
This causes reappearing of initial dialog in my case.
Check if you also have this string displayed and provide correct path (and don't forget to add slash / at the end of path).

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rincon155


Joined: 11 Mar 2011
Posts: 104
Location: Venezuela

PostPosted: Wed 07 Dec 2011, 18:15    Post subject:  

SFR wrote:
rincon155 wrote:
SFR wrote:
Can you point me to version of SoftMaker2008 you are using?
I'll download it and see what I can do.

Greetings!

TextMaker for Linux (rev 503)
PlanMaker for Linux (rev 503)


My mistake Embarassed . I mean can you point me to place you downloaded SoftMaker from?
It's hard to say anything, because I'm still not sure we have the same built.

Another blind shot:
rincon155 wrote:
every time I open it there is a menu for the initial installation asking to set the location for documents in /root/SoftMaker.

It's true regarding Presentations, but when I launch TextMaker or PlanMaker for the first time, there are TWO paths displayed (for Document folder & Template folder). And sometimes one of them contains ?/ string instead of /root/SoftMaker/Templates/
This causes reappearing of initial dialog in my case.
Check if you also have this string displayed and provide correct path (and don't forget to add slash / at the end of path).

Greetings!

I downloaded SoftMaker 2008 from Barry's Blog:
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02435
Yes, I always get the ?/ sting.
Tonight, when I will access my home computer I will see the specific path and will post it.
Thank you for all your dedication to solve this bug.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1078

PostPosted: Wed 07 Dec 2011, 19:06    Post subject:  

rincon155 wrote:
I downloaded SoftMaker 2008 from Barry's Blog:
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02435

Ok, I have this one too.

rincon155 wrote:
Yes, I always get the ?/ sting.

Good, just type /root/SoftMaker/Templates/ there and hopefully everything should be all right now.

Greetings!
ShouldBeLikeThis.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   26.46 KB
 Viewed   729 Time(s)

ShouldBeLikeThis.jpg


_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rincon155


Joined: 11 Mar 2011
Posts: 104
Location: Venezuela

PostPosted: Wed 07 Dec 2011, 20:43    Post subject:  

SFR wrote:
rincon155 wrote:
I downloaded SoftMaker 2008 from Barry's Blog:
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02435

Ok, I have this one too.

rincon155 wrote:
Yes, I always get the ?/ sting.

Good, just type /root/SoftMaker/Templates/ there and hopefully everything should be all right now.

Greetings!

Again, I applied your suggestion and the bug disappeared!!!
After initial windows in TextMaker and in the PlanMaker, the second time both opened normally.
Thank you very much!!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Documents
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0796s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0071s) ][ GZIP on ]