Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 29 Nov 2014, 04:47
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
tempicon -a tray icon to monitor CPU temp
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 5 [61 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 31 Dec 2011, 01:57    Post subject:  

Yup... modprobe coretemp activates it Smile
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2386
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 31 Dec 2011, 08:22    Post subject:  

Just a quick question, don't waste any serious thought on it, but is 2.6.25.16 likely to be missing coretemp.ko?? Cos I get this:

Code:
# modprobe coretemp
FATAL: Error inserting coretemp (/lib/modules/2.6.25.16/kernel/drivers/hwmon/coretemp.ko): No such device
screen.png
 Description   
 Filesize   37.73 KB
 Viewed   941 Time(s)

screen.png


_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 31 Dec 2011, 18:08    Post subject:  

sc0ttman wrote:
Just a quick question, don't waste any serious thought on it, but is 2.6.25.16 likely to be missing coretemp.ko?? Cos I get this:

Code:
# modprobe coretemp
FATAL: Error inserting coretemp (/lib/modules/2.6.25.16/kernel/drivers/hwmon/coretemp.ko): No such device


Nah, the module is there, study your output Wink . It's just your board doesn't use coretemp. What board/chip you got? Anyway, you can find your module with "sensors-detect".

I am trying to implement an automagic solution so the user needn't bother loading modules, but it's tricky. Should be ok though.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jan 2012, 00:01    Post subject:  

v 0.03 is out

see main post

Should load some modules automatically now

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jan 2012, 02:29    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
v 0.03 is out

see main post

Should load some modules automatically now


Happy New Year Mick. OK, .03 is not so good. Every boot, it flashes up the 'run sensors-detect' dialogue and the tray icon does not display. I go through the detection process, and at the end dismiss the terminal and dialogue, but the tray icon does not appear till I re-start X. I have to do this full process at each boot.

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jan 2012, 03:08    Post subject:  

Happy New Year to you too Dave.

Can you try this. Comment lines 112, 113, 114, 115 in /usr/sbin/tempicon.sh and reboot. Don't run sensors-detect, a module should have loaded but it seems on the first loop your temperature isn't recorded.
Lines should then look like this after commenting:
Code:
#VALUE=`cat /tmp/tempicon/count`
#if [ ! $VALUE ];then xmessage -c -bg pink "ERROR: Your module doesn't work. Run \"sensors-detect\""
#  exit
#fi


Cheers, (I'll be back in a couple of hours Wink )

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jan 2012, 03:49    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
Happy New Year to you too Dave.

Can you try this. Comment lines 112, 113, 114, 115 in /usr/sbin/tempicon.sh and reboot. Don't run sensors-detect, a module should have loaded but it seems on the first loop your temperature isn't recorded.
Lines should then look like this after commenting:
Code:
#VALUE=`cat /tmp/tempicon/count`
#if [ ! $VALUE ];then xmessage -c -bg pink "ERROR: Your module doesn't work. Run \"sensors-detect\""
#  exit
#fi


Cheers, (I'll be back in a couple of hours Wink )


Tried that... no different.

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jan 2012, 07:29    Post subject:  

0.04 is out


______________________________________________________________________

Dave, I found the bug. I had to confiscate sonny's compaq lappy, it didn't load coretemp either, but sensors was still returning 0 (not an error) so my logic fell down there, Even if the logic was right it would have failed (typo Embarassed ). I also fixed another bug with a var not being exported if all modules in the loop array failed to load.

Curious that coretemp doesn't load by default on these things. Confused Does on my IBM, and eee.

EDIT: hmmm... this has got me thinking.. I wonder if the "lm_sensors" dependency can be completely removed.. methinks at this stage "probably". I would also like to rewrite the entire app in C.. see what happens Wink

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jan 2012, 08:34    Post subject:  

yup... 04 'just works' Smile Not only is this a very nice little app, but it also eliminates the difficulty of getting a coretemp display in fbpanel I guess.
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jan 2012, 10:21    Post subject:  

Thanks for feedback Dave

Works in slackware-13.37/kde4 (small mods, no ash shell, change shebang to bash in text2xpm Rolling Eyes and a link to ~/.kde/Autostart/tempicon.sh )
kde_tray.png
 Description   
 Filesize   44 KB
 Viewed   1154 Time(s)

kde_tray.png


_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jan 2012, 11:10    Post subject:  

I THINK it works in Racy too. Least, it does in mine, but I had CPUTemp working too, and cant remember whether I had to add any deps that may also be being used by tempicon.
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vovchik


Joined: 23 Oct 2006
Posts: 1287
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jan 2012, 11:14    Post subject:  

Dear Mick,

Happy New Year and thanks for this utility. As I have already lost a motherboard/cpu to overheating, I have a need for this, all the more that my cpu tends to collect matted cat hair and needs periodic cleaning and a fresh application of thermal paste! I installed your sensors pet - since it was missing from my lucid - and then ran your prog. Works like a charm. And it will save me money.

With kind regards,
vovchik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 575
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jan 2012, 11:33    Post subject: Posted: Today, at 07:29 Post subject: 0.04 is out  

01micko

Thanks for 0.04 and Happy New Year.
Works fine with ICEWM and 528 k 3.1.0
screenshot.1.png
 Description   
 Filesize   9.38 KB
 Viewed   1652 Time(s)

screenshot.1.png


_________________
Regards ETP
Accessibility Pups: -- Magoo -- The Pup With No Name -- MouseCam -- Obedient
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jan 2012, 17:21    Post subject:  

DaveS wrote:
I THINK it works in Racy too. Least, it does in mine, but I had CPUTemp working too, and cant remember whether I had to add any deps that may also be being used by tempicon.
Should work fine in Racy as I did some testing in Saluki, also Lupu. Deps are identical in CPUtemp as is to tempicon. (Incidentally, I hacked out the flame tray icon code for CPUtemp in genie).

vovchik wrote:
And it will save me money.
Ah, good to know Wink .

Part of the motivation behind this was that in early December I was compiling seamonkey-2.5 and my machine would suddenly switch off. This happened twice, it was hot weather conditions. I decided to monitor CPU temperature and it turned out this was the culprit. Lucky for me my board has an automatic cutoff at 95 C. I throttled back the CPU (it's an Athlon X2 running stock at 3GHz) to 2.3GHz and the problem seemed cured. Funnily enough, on a new save file (same OS, Slacko-5.3-k2.6.39.4-PAE) I could not reproduce this so I attributed the overheating to some app I installed misbehaving. Anyway, I didn't want that to happen again so I ended up writing "tempicon". That was also the motivation behind the different colours, even with poor eysight you can easily see the change from green to yellow to red.

ETP wrote:
Works fine with ICEWM and 528 k 3.1.0
Glad it works in Linux 3.X kernels. Thanks.
_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5465
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jan 2012, 17:33    Post subject:  

Tempicon plays fine in dpup exprimo with 3.1 kernel also. It has inbuild lmsensors so the tempicon pet was the only I needed. Thanks of this nice tray app. Though I perspirated quite a lot when I compiled Qt-4.8.0 quad core at full speed and I got 96 c as temperature. Sometimes it is better not to know....lol...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 5 [61 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0883s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0065s) ][ GZIP on ]