Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 22 Jul 2014, 05:39
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Security
Why Should I Use A Firewall With Puppy? Do You?
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [17 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
Amgine


Joined: 21 Sep 2011
Posts: 233
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Tue 10 Jan 2012, 22:31    Post subject:  Why Should I Use A Firewall With Puppy? Do You?
Subject description: Your Opinions Please
 

From what I read, a lot of Linux users feel secure enough not to run a firewall.

With puppy as soon as I enable an Internet connection it gives me an option to enable the firewall, "I do". Knowing that if running programs that have open ports, FTP, Messenger, Torrents, can leave open doors, but you allow that with the firewall anyway. (I really don't use any of them)

How much is the Firewall needed when using Puppy / Linux, should I be using it? Is it a must for using public Wifi, not needed if at home?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dewbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1783

PostPosted: Tue 10 Jan 2012, 22:39    Post subject:  

In the mood for a debate?
Here's a 12-page thread about firewalls with Puppy:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=982396214&t=66966

Last edited by Dewbie on Wed 11 Jan 2012, 04:40; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10926
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Tue 10 Jan 2012, 23:21    Post subject:  

I don't use a firewall. I run Puppy Linux from a multisession DVD in a computer with no hard disk drive. Multisession Puppy loads from the DVD into RAM, including all the programs I've installed and all the settings I've changed, from sessions that were saved on the DVD. Usually I don't save a new session to the DVD when I shut down unless I've installed a new program that I liked or changed something I want to keep. If I've been messing around on the internet in places that might be dangerous, I simply shut off the power when I'm done, wiping everything from RAM. The next time I boot up, it's back to the way it was the last time I booted, before I did anything.

I feel that as long as I only save to the DVD if I've been reasonably careful on the internet for that session, there's little chance of contamination. If I do suspect I've picked something up, I can use the boot option that makes multisession Puppy not load into RAM the last n sessions that were saved on the DVD. (I haven't used it in so long I forget what that boot option is.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
postfs1


Joined: 27 Mar 2010
Posts: 831

PostPosted: Wed 11 Jan 2012, 06:59    Post subject:
Subject description: Your Opinions Please
 

Amgine wrote:

...Use A Firewall With Puppy? Do You?


I use firewall because i get a big list of blocked connections. (Some IPs are such a strange... Questions without answers: serious side wanna see an attractive women Confused a funny cartoons Confused a simple pictures Confused a musical video Confused Serious side already knows everything what i'm thinking about - serious side is able to name the name of the city what i see on the paper map without watching into my side...)

I use firewall because i have lost the "nvidia-driver.pet" file in the ordinary conditions which was on the file partition of USB flash drive.

_________________
  • I don't know why laboratories are named a hospitals.
  • The alive personage is like a tea bag with granules of unknown density inside, at that one the packet was made of organic material and was placed in the evaporated liquid or liquid.


Last edited by postfs1 on Tue 24 Jan 2012, 09:24; edited 5 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Amgine


Joined: 21 Sep 2011
Posts: 233
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Wed 11 Jan 2012, 17:25    Post subject:  

Thank you for the replies, and the link.
Quote:
I use firewall because i get a big list of blocked connections.

Where do I get the "Blocked Connection" report?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
postfs1


Joined: 27 Mar 2010
Posts: 831

PostPosted: Wed 11 Jan 2012, 18:09    Post subject:  

Amgine wrote:

Where do I get the "Blocked Connection" report?


I know how i can get the report. Arrow

Quote:

Arrow http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=587209#587209
Quote:

Arrow Theme: Security/Privacy
Quote:

Arrow Topic about the "Guarddog" program
Arrow Topic about the "Firestarter" program
Arrow Topic about the "Gufw" program
Arrow Topic about the "FWBuilder" program



_________________
  • I don't know why laboratories are named a hospitals.
  • The alive personage is like a tea bag with granules of unknown density inside, at that one the packet was made of organic material and was placed in the evaporated liquid or liquid.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Wed 11 Jan 2012, 19:30    Post subject:  

There is no real need to run the firewall
as Puppy runs without servers and other daemons connected as many
Linux do (look at us we don't run as root - blah blah blah)

. . . for the first few years (two or three) most of us ran Puppy happily with no firewall
Now my router has a firewall - so again no need

. . . however the Puppy firewall is there
so I tend to run it. Does it switch anything off?

I also run from Ethernet but sadly but usefully my router has wifi
- which I must admit is used with the Wii and such like . . .

I would suggest the Pup ad blocker and flashblock in Puppy 5.3.1 is a far more functional and effective measure . . . Cool

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10926
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Wed 11 Jan 2012, 21:27    Post subject:  

Right, Lobster. I couldn't live without Flashblock. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Amgine


Joined: 21 Sep 2011
Posts: 233
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Wed 11 Jan 2012, 22:34    Post subject:  I have no need for a firewall 8)  

Good point, I will check out Flashblock, Have you used NoScript or Ghostery? They do a good job of blocking those pesky Google trackers and others as well.

Do any of them really speed up surfing?

I usually run wifi. No ethernet close by.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sickgut


Joined: 23 Mar 2010
Posts: 1157
Location: Tasmania, Australia in the mountains.

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jan 2012, 03:51    Post subject:  

you dont need a firewall with linux unless you have servers that are running with easily guessable passwords. If you can tell me one instance with Puppy where this is not true then i will send you one whole super sickgut fun dollar drawn on some monopoly money, redeemable at sickguts house for one slice of toast.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Amgine


Joined: 21 Sep 2011
Posts: 233
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jan 2012, 04:15    Post subject:  

sickgut wrote:
you dont need a firewall with linux unless you have servers that are running with easily guessable passwords. If you can tell me one instance with Puppy where this is not true then i will send you one whole super sickgut fun dollar drawn on some monopoly money, redeemable at sickguts house for one slice of toast.


What do you think about Windows? Does it need one? I know it needs an anti virus, but I did something better and installed Linux Laughing. But there too I did not run one when I did. Just "Avast".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jan 2012, 07:22    Post subject:  

What do you think about Windows?
Shocked

Is that a malware magnet on your CPU or are you
just pleased for everyone to see you . . . Embarassed

Norton (once a good company) and similar scam artists sell you garbage
because you are ignorant. Windows costs lives.

Try Puppy School.
I will do a security tutorial soon . . .
http://puppylinux.org/wikka/PuppySchool

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jan 2012, 14:37    Post subject:  

Amgine

NoScript allows JavaScript, Java, Flash web sites of your choice only.

RequestPolicy blocks cross-site requests by webpages you visit.

these two block different potential attacks.

using these two gives me lighting fast browsing similar to text only based browsers like Dillo but with some graphic enrichment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Amgine


Joined: 21 Sep 2011
Posts: 233
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jan 2012, 15:13    Post subject:  

Quote:
Is that a malware magnet on your CPU or are you
just pleased for everyone to see you . . . Embarassed


What Shocked !!!! Shouldn't secure boot protect me against that Twisted Evil Laughing .
I will be looking forward to your tutorial.

Quote:
Amgine

NoScript allows JavaScript, Java, Flash web sites of your choice only.

RequestPolicy blocks cross-site requests by webpages you visit.

these two block different potential attacks.

using these two gives me lighting fast browsing similar to text only based browsers like Dillo but with some graphic enrichment.


Thank you, I will download that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11080
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jan 2012, 19:02    Post subject: Re: Why Should I Use A Firewall With Puppy? Do You?
Subject description: Your Opinions Please
 

Amgine wrote:

With puppy as soon as I enable an Internet connection it gives me an option to enable the firewall, "I do". Knowing that if running programs that have open ports, FTP, Messenger, Torrents, can leave open doors {cut}


The "doors" you refer to are of course ports. Data communication occurs on these ports. Data has only one of two directions to flow, (1) in and/or (2) out.

The port a connectivity application binds to is (for the most part with some possible exceptions) used exclusively by that application.

The application will usually use that port to send requests out, meaning to say in the outbound direction.

The requests it sends are to specific IP(s) and port(s). The inbound data, meaning the answers to these requests almost always arrive at ports other than the one they were sent from.

The answers to the requests are 'expected' and allowed in. Unexpected data or non requested data is not allowed in.

Summary at this point: Open ports are not to be construed or conceptualized as an entry/exit point where any data may simply enter in or exit at will. There would be tight programming constraints at each and every open port.

Just as importantly, what the data can do when it is allowed in and out of the ports?!

Changing subject

I found a software firewall which can be used on Windows machines. The name was Kerio Personal. It allowed specific control of inbound and outbound data, ports, applications, protocol and much more.

I have not seen a similar firewall available for our Linux machines. I have not found a Linux firewall worth using considering I already have NAT technology firewall built into my router.

I use the router to block all unsolicited inbound traffic except PORT 113 which I route to a non-existent computer on the local network.

Summary: It isn't that I feel 'safe' not using a Linux firewall, rather that I think it is unnecessary considering the router is already doing the job.

~

After reading this post, I thought I painted too safe a picture. Some of these connectivity applications can be hijacked or compromized allowing a remote computer to wreak havoc on your machine. Things are not necessarily safe and I don't think using a firewall even helps in these scenerios.

~

_________________
New! Puppy Linux Links Page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [17 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Security
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1041s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0184s) ][ GZIP on ]