Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Sep 2014, 16:17
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Razor-qt - Desktop
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
2XL

Joined: 15 Dec 2011
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon 19 Dec 2011, 15:18    Post_subject:  Razor-qt - Desktop
Sub_title: Advanced, minimalistic desktop enviroment based on QT - Source only 5.6MB
 

http://razor-qt.org/

I think this would be great for a Pupplet. Very small and fast. Basically KDE minus the "KDE".

What say you?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1042
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Mon 19 Dec 2011, 19:00    Post_subject:  

noted,

will build & pet

may be just what I want as a 'minimalistic' desktop for qtpuppy

thanks

scsijon
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2376
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 20 Dec 2011, 14:37    Post_subject:  

Yes that looks promising, I wanna try it... Not that I would ever use it myself, but it does look like it might be a nice choice for those who like 'bling' (IMHO)..
_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1042
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Thu 22 Dec 2011, 20:14    Post_subject:  

just an update on where I am.

Has a few dependancies we don't have in puppy, still sorting out one, which is giving problems as their seems too many builds that are different.

It is only a desktop and not a desktop/wimdowmanager, it sits nicely on openbox or eggwm but should sit on most wm's.

uses xdg for it's menu and uses the same format as we already use, so that's ok, had separated apps and settings, I do like that actually!, desktops can be 'individually styled'.

will build again next week and see if it's worth 'pet'ting as what I did last time was not.

merry christmas to all
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Eyes-Only


Joined: 10 Aug 2006
Posts: 1046
Location: La Confederation Abenaquaise

PostPosted: Tue 27 Dec 2011, 13:32    Post_subject:    

This looks fascinating Jon and I may likewise be interested in trying this as well. Looks to be a very slick DE, especially when used in conjunction with Openbox, which I do have already installed in my frugal install of Lucid-528 by the way.

Hmm... come to think of it, I've also got a KDE-4.x .sfs file installed ( not quite sure of the precise version but I believe it's around 4.6.x and minimal at 336megs ) already in my Lucid-528. I'm wondering whether or not your Razor DE would work upon that? Problem is that I've done a search for the "qt4" directory and have been unable to locate it leaving me to wonder whether the KDE4.sfs was compiled statically with qt4?

I do have a few frugal installs - Slacko-530 and RacyNOP-522, amongst others - where I'm wondering whether or not a clean install of your Razor DE in an .sfs file would work ( containing a separate qt4 directory inside of course ), or if even Razor could be made to work on my hard drive install of Lucid-510 which has the Trinity DE ( KDE-3.5.10 ) hard-installed, so that each desktop could work independently of each other?

All food for thought of course, eh? Wink

Keep up the great work Jon and keep us informed of your progress!

Amicalement/Cheers!

Eyes-Only
"L'Peau-Rouge d'Acadie"

_________________
*~*~*~*~*~*
Proud user of LXpup and 3-Headed Dog. Cool
*~*~*~*~*~*
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1042
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jan 2012, 22:12    Post_subject:  

Your qt4 should be in /opt/qt4 and not in /usr/qt4 or /usr/local/qt4.

I've built a new set of qt4 which will have 3 pets only, one with doc's (DOC) www.lamiaworks.com.au/puppy/warz/qt4-src_DOC-4.7.4-i386.pet and is more suited for a sfs as it's BIG, one with the demo's and examples files (DEX) www.lamiaworks.com.au/puppy/warz/qt4-src_DEX-4.7.4-i386.pet, and one with both the base, dev and nls www.lamiaworks.com.au/puppy/warz/qt4-src-4.7.4-i386.pet, be aware that the last is 110meg installed, but has all the extra extensions such as QtDBus and the like already included.

It's only 4.7.4 but i've found that most other 4.7.4 pets are incomplete as they have either been trimmed down too much or have had parts split off into other pets. I shall build a set of 4.8.0 later, but as razorqt was designed for 4.7.4 it's what I want to start with.

With RazorQt, I still have a problem to solve for puppy, but it's nearly there. Also, it has wm code in it's docs so you should not have many problems to use other windowmanagers.

getting there!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
oligin10

Joined: 17 Jul 2010
Posts: 189
Location: Buckeye State, USA

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jan 2012, 14:28    Post_subject: Any news?  

Hi guys, just checking to see if any work was being done on this still. Sounds really interesting. Thanks, Rob
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1042
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jan 2012, 23:43    Post_subject: update on status  

update for all:

We are working on the last (I hope) problem with this,
everyone will have to be patient,

The poor package programmer is being so, as he has it working on suse, deb, ubundu and the like without serious problems, it just doesn't want to build on puppy.

I am holding the warz522010 alpha of qtpuppy for another week on the chance that we can get it solved as it is suppose to be available in the build and would become the main desktop with jwm as backup. That's how important it is to me.

I will add notes as it's worth doing so.

regards
scsijon
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
oligin10

Joined: 17 Jul 2010
Posts: 189
Location: Buckeye State, USA

PostPosted: Fri 13 Jan 2012, 20:34    Post_subject: Thanks  

Hi, thanks for the update. No hurry, take your time. I was just interested in it, and checking progress. Thanks for all your hard work, Rob
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Eyes-Only


Joined: 10 Aug 2006
Posts: 1046
Location: La Confederation Abenaquaise

PostPosted: Sat 14 Jan 2012, 15:29    Post_subject:  

YES! Thanks for the update Jon!!! Very Happy Very Happy Cool Cool Is it rather obvious that I'm a triffle excited here? Others would be as well if they would had have read the VERY glowing review of this done by Jesse Smith on this past Monday's "Distrowatch Weekly". This dev has come up with some truly brilliant ideas and designs for the desktop with Razor - minimal and yet still loaded with GUI options for the tinkerer like myself - and all in a small package!

Truly exciting indeed!!

Again: Thanks for not only keeping us update Jon, but for your patience and diligence in hanging in there with the compiling! People like you help make the bleeding edge of Puppy exciting! Cool

Good Luck!/Bonne Chance!

Eyes-Only
"L'Peau-Rouge"

EDIT: This is the link to the RazorQT desktop @ "Distrowatch Weekly": http://distrowatch.com/weekly.php?issue=20120109#qa ENJOY!

_________________
*~*~*~*~*~*
Proud user of LXpup and 3-Headed Dog. Cool
*~*~*~*~*~*
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1042
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Sat 14 Jan 2012, 22:46    Post_subject:  

Pemasu has built a dpup exprimo version for his dpup 'people', it's qt4.8.0 though, not earlier and for openbox. I've asked him to put a url on this topic.

I've at last built a useable T2 version that works on qt4-4.7.4, but I want to rebuild it for a real environment before releasing it as a pet, so a couple of days more!

I shall then try a qt4-4.8.0 version in case that is the problem, but that's next week!

regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun 15 Jan 2012, 03:56    Post_subject:  

My compile is as it is. It is not spesifically openbox. Openbox was the windowmanager which razor-qt recognized. It didnt recognize jwm. Then I just in console launched razor-session and I got razor-qt desktop and panel. My pet is not polished. It is as it is after compiling - installed to the separate directory - petted from there - and tested that the pet actually works. Nothing more.

Used qt-library: http://www.smokey01.com/pemasu/QT-4.8.0-dpup/libs/qt-4.8.0-basic-with-qtwebkit-dpup.pet

Used qt dev: http://www.smokey01.com/pemasu/QT-4.8.0-dpup/libs/qt_DEV-4.8.0-basic-with-qtwebkit-dpup.pet

Download link to the pet: http://www.smokey01.com/pemasu/QT-4.8.0-dpup/apps/

Output of set command to show exported qt4 paths:
# set
ACLOCAL_FLAGS=' -I /opt/e17/share/aclocal -I /opt/e17/share/aclocal'
BASH=/bin/bash
BASHOPTS=checkwinsize:cmdhist:expand_aliases:extquote:force_fignore:hostcomplete:interactive_comments:progcomp:promptvars:sourcepath
BASH_ALIASES=()
BASH_ARGC=()
BASH_ARGV=()
BASH_CMDS=()
BASH_LINENO=()
BASH_SOURCE=()
BASH_VERSINFO=([0]="4" [1]="1" [2]="5" [3]="1" [4]="release" [5]="i486-pc-linux-gnu")
BASH_VERSION='4.1.5(1)-release'
COLORFGBG='default;0'
COLORTERM=rxvt
COLUMNS=80
CPLUS_INCLUDE_PATH=/opt/qt4/include
DEFAULTBROWSER=firefox
DEFAULTDRAW=mtpaint
DEFAULTHTMLEDITOR=mozedit
DEFAULTIMAGEEDITOR=mtpaint
DEFAULTIMAGEVIEWER=viewnior
DEFAULTMEDIAPLAYER=gnome-mplayer
DEFAULTPAINT=mtpaint
DEFAULTSPREADSHEET=gnumeric
DEFAULTTEXTEDITOR=geany
DEFAULTWORDPROCESSOR=abiword
DIRSTACK=()
DISPLAY=:0.0
EDITOR=mp
EUID=0
E_INSTALL_PREFIX=/opt/e17
GDK_USE_XFT=1
GROUPS=()
G_FILENAME_ENCODING=@locale
HISTCONTROL=ignoredups
HISTFILE=/root/.history
HISTFILESIZE=2000
HISTSIZE=1000
HOME=/root
HOSTNAME=puppypc26649
HOSTTYPE=i486
IFS=$' \t\n'
INPUTRC=/etc/inputrc
LANG=fi_FI.UTF-8
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/lib/firefox:/lib:/usr/lib:/usr/X11R7/lib:/root/my-applications/lib:/usr/local/lib:/opt/qt4/lib:/opt/e17/lib
LINES=24
LOGNAME=root
MACHTYPE=i486-pc-linux-gnu
MAILCHECK=60
MAKE=make
MM_RUNASROOT=1
MOZ_DISABLE_PANGO=1
MOZ_PLUGIN_PATH=/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins
OOO_FORCE_DESKTOP=gnome
OPTERR=1
OPTIND=1
OSTYPE=linux-gnu
PATH=/bin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/usr/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/X11R7/bin:/root/my-applications/bin:/usr/games:/opt/qt4/bin:/opt/e17/bin
PIPESTATUS=([0]="0")
PKG_CONFIG_PATH=/usr/lib/pkgconfig::/opt/e17/lib/pkgconfig:
PPID=670
PREFIX=/usr
PS1='# '
PS2='> '
PS4='+ '
PWD=/root
QT4DIR=/opt/qt4
QT_XFT=true
RGBDEF=/usr/share/X11/rgb.txt
SHELL=/bin/bash
SHELLOPTS=braceexpand:emacs:hashall:histexpand:history:interactive-comments:monitor
SHLVL=4
TERM=xterm
UID=0
USER=root
WINDOWID=8388614
WINDOWPATH=4
XDG_CACHE_HOME=/root/.cache
XDG_CONFIG_DIRS=/etc/xdg
XDG_CONFIG_HOME=/root/.config
XDG_DATA_DIRS=/usr/share:/usr/local/share
XDG_DATA_HOME=/root/.local/share
XFINANSDIR=/root/.xfinans
_=/etc/profile
flashvideo ()
{
VID=$(stat -c %N /proc/*/fd/* 2>&1|awk -F[\`\'] '/lash/{print$2}');
mplayer -autosync 30 -mc 2.0 -cache 1000 $VID
}
#
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vicmz


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 1108

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jun 2012, 17:10    Post_subject:  

Hi Very Happy
Just checking if the idea of making a package of this for Puppy is still on
Looks awesome Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6687
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jun 2012, 09:01    Post_subject:  

vicmz,

check Pemasu's link, in post above your's.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Eyes-Only


Joined: 10 Aug 2006
Posts: 1046
Location: La Confederation Abenaquaise

PostPosted: Mon 25 Jun 2012, 07:42    Post_subject:  

Hmm... I tried this in my Slacko-533 Frugal and it booted into the Razor-Qt desktop only once. Thereafter it refused to do so, only booting to a black desktop. Really strange.

The only parameter that I changed was in the .xinitrc file. Where the razor desktop booted up with the ROX pinboard and everything else behind it ( including fbpanel, wallpaper, etc. ), I added this code below the "startkde" code:

Code:
CURRENTWM="`cat /etc/windowmanager`"
if [ "$CURRENTWM" = "razor-session" ];then
 exec razor-session
fi


...as this is the normal way one would start the razor desktop from the prompt screen - well - after first adding "xwin", but in this case we don't add the "xwin" as the code is starting from the "windowmanager" file found in "etc" as other window managers and desktop environments are started.

So who knows for the moment?

Of course I didn't have the time to mess around with it further this morning. Perhaps at a later date I'll have more time to see whether or not I can get it working.

Razor is a beautiful desktop I know that! Very lite-weight as far as Qt-based desktops go and very feature-filled. If given half the chance and with more awareness like lxpanel got I think it would become a VERY popular desktop among users.

My 2 pieces of wampum anyway. lol.

Cheers/Amicalement,

Eyes-Only
"L'Peau-Rouge"

_________________
*~*~*~*~*~*
Proud user of LXpup and 3-Headed Dog. Cool
*~*~*~*~*~*
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0886s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0032s) ][ GZIP on ]