Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Dec 2014, 13:35
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Legacy OS released (Formerly TEENpup)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [29 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
PenguinPupLin

Joined: 23 Dec 2011
Posts: 126
Location: The Little Red Dot

PostPosted: Thu 29 Dec 2011, 10:53    Post subject: LegacyOS2 frugal install
Subject description: Unable to bootup in RAM mode
 

Hi, I manually did a frugal install of Legacy OS2 in a multi-boot environment(after the LegacyOS2 livecd I prepared failed to work due to the corrupted kernel module) but couldn't get it to boot the 1st time in RAM mode and create a pupsave file. It said something like not being able to find puppy sfs in idehd... PUPMODE=1 PDEV1= and dropped to a command line. Being still a linux noob,I didn't know what to do. Noticed my menu.lst also has Classic Pup214X-TOP9 installed as well as other puppies and Windows(WinXP) which was why I wanted to boot pfix=ram so as not to load the pupsave file already created for Classic Pup214X-TOP9(for which do I need to add PUPSAVE=?) :-
timeout=5
default=0
gfxmenu=/Grub_GUI.gz

title Classic Pup 214X-Top9
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
kernel (hd0,0)/Pup214X/vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 PMEDIA=idehd PDEV1=sda1 psubdir="Pup214X" pfix=fsck
initrd (hd0,0)/Pup214X/initrd.gz

title Classic Pup 214X - Do not load save file
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
kernel (hd0,0)/Pup214X/vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 PMEDIA=idehd PDEV1=sda1 psubdir="Pup214X" video=640x480 pfix=ram,fsck
initrd (hd0,0)/Pup214X/initrd.gz

title Legacy OS 2
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
kernel (hd0,0)/LegacyOS2/vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 PMEDIA=idehd PDEV1=sda1 psubdir="LegacyOS2" pfix=fsck
initrd (hd0,0)/LegacyOS2/initrd.gz

title Legacy OS 2 - Do not load save file
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
kernel (hd0,0)/LegacyOS2/vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 PMEDIA=idehd PDEV1=sda1 psubdir="LegacyOS2" video=640x480 pfix=ram,fsck
initrd (hd0,0)/LegacyOS2/initrd.gz


title Quickset Wary Puppy Linux 511
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /Wary-511/initrd.gz
kernel /Wary-511/vmlinuz psubdir="Wary-511" pfix=fsck
initrd /Wary-511/initrd.gz
boot

title Quickset Wary Puppy Linux 511 - Do not load save file
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /Wary-511/initrd.gz
kernel /Wary-511/vmlinuz psubdir="Wary-511" pfix=ram
initrd /Wary-511/initrd.gz
boot

title Wary Puppy Linux 522
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /Wary-522/initrd.gz
kernel /Wary-522/vmlinuz psubdir="Wary-522" pfix=fsck
initrd /Wary-522/initrd.gz
boot

title Wary Puppy Linux 522 - Do not load save file
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /Wary-522/initrd.gz
kernel /Wary-522/vmlinuz psubdir="Wary-522" pfix=ram
initrd /Wary-522/initrd.gz
boot

[I had thought just copying the Classic 214X cfg and modifying it accordingly should do the trick as they are quite similar programs;as it is,getting 214X-TOP9 to work by adding root=/dev/ram0 was thanks to a kind samaritan] Any help greatly appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PenguinPupLin

Joined: 23 Dec 2011
Posts: 126
Location: The Little Red Dot

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jan 2012, 10:56    Post subject: pupsave creation problem in Legacy OS2
Subject description: pup_save.2fs not properly created and failed to boot
 

Hi, John Biles, many thanks for Legacy OS2 which I 'm going to use to revive 8 to 12 yr-old desktops and noteboks.
Right now,I've a problem creating a pupsave file for my frugal install Legacy OS 2 in my WinXP notebook without an ext2 partition. I was able to boot up successsfully in RAM mode using the following boot codes in menu.lst (only relevant part shown):

title Legacy OS 2
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
kernel (hd0,0)/LegacyOS2/vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 pmedia=idehd pfix=fsck
initrd (hd0,0)/LegacyOS2/initrd.gz
boot

title Legacy OS 2 - Do not load savefile
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
kernel (hd0,0)/LegacyOS2/vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 pmedia=idehd pfix=ram pfix=4 (all in one line,of course)
initrd (hd0,0)/LegacyOS2/initrd.gz
boot

With vmlinuz and initrd in /LegacyOS2 and the rest in / of C: ntfs partition,I was able to boot up in RAM mode. But each time when I reboot and chose to create a pup_save.2fs in ntfs I was stuck. It would take ages,literally hours,until I was forced to hard reset or power-cycle my notebook. The first time I chose a size of 1GB,only 635MB was created, the second time,I chose 512MB ,it created only 85MB. Needless to say,each time I tried to boot normally, it failed at the pup_save.2fs part, folowed by a list of error messages in red, then pausing for 60 secs, then loading kernel and hanged there indefinitely.

Please tell me what's wrong as I really like your choice of applications that work and your willingness to keep your repositories updated. It saved me the trouble of trying an older or outdated puppies that work for my "dying" PCs only to face the problem of how to update the old applications and fix bugs,etc, which I struggled to cope.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PenguinPupLin

Joined: 23 Dec 2011
Posts: 126
Location: The Little Red Dot

PostPosted: Tue 10 Jan 2012, 11:13    Post subject:  

At last managed to successfully create pup_save.2fs. Sorry,its my fault - I overlooked the defragmentation part in WinXP ntfs partition. I skipped that part because I thought I'd just done it for the previous puppies, and disk analysis said no defragmentation necessary with only 1% file and 0% free space fragmented. Only after defrag that I could do so;looks like that warning message means business - it took me more than an hour to defrag an 80GB harddisk,so I was tempted to take a shortcut.

Another thing to bring to your attention is installing the Opera12Alpha,tar,gz from your respository didn't remove/update the default/original Opera 10.10 browser - it's presented in the Internet Browser as an alternative and opening it showed it's indeed ver 10.10 while Opera12Alpha is ver12.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
john biles


Joined: 17 Sep 2006
Posts: 1409
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 10 Jan 2012, 22:28    Post subject:  

Hello PenguinPupLin,
Sorry I haven't replied to your questions as I'm currently working 9 days straight leaving only time for development of Legacy OS 4 Mini.

I glad you found a solution to your save file.

OK why is Opera 12 added as an edition to the menu leaving Opera 10 in place?
It basically all comes down to Java. A number of Applications in Legacy OS 2 are Java based. Experiments while developing Legacy OS 2 found that a number of these Applications stopped working with newer versions of Java.

Simply Opera 12 is looking for newer versions of Java then the version installed so Opera 12 won't support Java based Websites, Opera 10 will.

OK so why make Opera 12 available if Java doesn't work? HTML5 !
You may have noticed some sites crash Opera 10. By giving a user both options they are sure to be able to get what they need from the Net. Not pretty but it works.

_________________
Legacy OS 2.1 LTS Released! Install me on a new! EXT2 Partition with 500Mb of swap and I'll be happy. Razz
Legacy OS 4 Released! Install to newer legacy hardware / early EeePC's Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
PenguinPupLin

Joined: 23 Dec 2011
Posts: 126
Location: The Little Red Dot

PostPosted: Mon 16 Jan 2012, 13:57    Post subject:  

Hi John,need to trouble you again.
How do I make swap file work in Legacy OS 2 ?
I installed the winfonts-3.4.pet but it didn't show up in the menu. I doubt creating a pupswap.swp file in /mnt/home will work either. And, frankly, I don't intend to create a swap partition. Hope to have your expert guidance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
john biles


Joined: 17 Sep 2006
Posts: 1409
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 16 Jan 2012, 19:24    Post subject:  

Hello PenguinPupLin,

Quote:
How do I make swap file work in Legacy OS 2 ?


Are asking this question as it appears that Legacy OS 2 isn't using swap. It will when needed.

On the right sidebar click "Drives" pick MUT (Can also be found in the main menu)
In MUT you'll see the swap drive listed.

Are you trying to run a swap file inside the Legacy OS 2 partition instead of a separate partition which is the normal?

_________________
Legacy OS 2.1 LTS Released! Install me on a new! EXT2 Partition with 500Mb of swap and I'll be happy. Razz
Legacy OS 4 Released! Install to newer legacy hardware / early EeePC's Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
PenguinPupLin

Joined: 23 Dec 2011
Posts: 126
Location: The Little Red Dot

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jan 2012, 03:53    Post subject:  

Yes,I want to create a swap file inside Legacy OS 2 instead of a separate swap partition. My Legacy OS 2 is frugal installed manually in a multi-boot environment with WinXP and several other puppies, all in ntfs partition.

Haven't done so yet - just thought I'd run into the same problem as in Classic Pup 214X where pupswap.swp gives me "swapon:the argument is invalid" error and if I named it something else,nothing happened. If I'm not wrong,both your Legacy OS2 and 214X-TOP use the same kernel 2.6.18.1

As I've said,I also wanted to try the winfonts method of setting the WinXP pagefile as swap space but to no avail. In fact the menu wasn't even created. And when I try to uninstall it, I realised Puppy Package Manager isn't used for Legacy OS. Do I just delete it from the .userPackages and perhaps leave trails behind?

As far as possible, I try not to install any apps or software and just make do with all the pre-selected and pre-installed ones which are comprehensive enough and the work of 1000s of hours you've spent trying and testing to make sure they work fine - I supposed that's what a typical user of Legacy OS would be like and going to your repository to get updates and additional applications/software as and when they are availaible.

Another question is where can I find your kernel and source files as I'd like to compile an Nvidia96 driver for my notebook onboard Geforce 2 go chipset?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PenguinPupLin

Joined: 23 Dec 2011
Posts: 126
Location: The Little Red Dot

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jan 2012, 06:08    Post subject:  

Another strange problem, couldn't open the /home/proc folder - just hanged indefinitely nor able to close it. Same problem even after reboot.I had wanted to check if the /proc/modules folder contains the rt61 driver that I've updated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
john biles


Joined: 17 Sep 2006
Posts: 1409
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jan 2012, 23:15    Post subject:  

Hello PenguinPupLin,
to compile apps in Legacy OS 2 you need the devx package problem is like 2.14x, Legacy OS 2 runs the 2.5 glibc libs out of Puppy 3.01 which Barry K released with the 2.6.18.1 kernel.

I recommend you download a copy of Puppy 3.01 with the 2.6.18.1 kernel and its devx and compile within that environment and see if the resulting files can be added to Legacy.

Because of the mix-mash of Packages in Legacy OS 2, I don't compile the apps added. I source binaries from Redhat, Fedora, Mandriva, Debian Ubuntu, Suse etc etc.
(You'll be amazed where apps, bins and libs have originated.)
Here's an example Redhat 5 series uses Kernel version 2.6.18.25 which gives great compatibility with Legacy OS 2.

Keep posting your journey with Legacy OS 2 as you seem to be trying different ways to use it I don't think I've seen before.

_________________
Legacy OS 2.1 LTS Released! Install me on a new! EXT2 Partition with 500Mb of swap and I'll be happy. Razz
Legacy OS 4 Released! Install to newer legacy hardware / early EeePC's Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Shep

Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 851
Location: GIRT-BY-SEA

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jan 2012, 01:23    Post subject:  

PenguinPupLin wrote:
Another strange problem, couldn't open the /home/proc folder - just hanged indefinitely nor able to close it. Same problem even after reboot.I had wanted to check if the /proc/modules folder contains the rt61 driver that I've updated.

I don't think there is a /home/ folder, so no /home/proc folder then.

You'd be looking for the /proc/modules file?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PenguinPupLin

Joined: 23 Dec 2011
Posts: 126
Location: The Little Red Dot

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jan 2012, 02:24    Post subject:  

Yes,from /home I do see the /proc folder but after clicking it,it just hangs on me indefinitely unable to open the subfolders.
I've installed the rt61...pet and got the error that there isn't such a module in the /proc/module folder,so I thought of adding the module there. The /home folder can be accessed from the bottom tray icon, the one with the arrow pointing up.

And,John,since Legacy OS 2 will make use of a swap partition by default when needed,can the comand be modified to make use of a swap file instead after having manually created one?

Pardon me for my unusual or special requests. Personally,I've chosen your Legacy OS 2 and Classic Pup 214XTOP9 as the two best candidates to revive a number of old low-specs about 10-yr-old computers,mostly notebooks, belonging to my family and friends. But first I got to convince them by achieving reasonably good if not impressive results on my sluggish WinXP notebook. Frankly,they aren't IT-savvy,somewhat 'lazy' to learn a new OS and expect me to do everything for them. (Secretly,I 'm hoping they'd say,don't bother,you can have them Laughing - just kidding,it's my intention to turn them into spare functionally good computers for their kids to play with ).

It's essential that I get swapfile working as otherwise the kids will lose interest in these so-called revitalized computers if they couldn't play their favourite online games and watch youtube clips at acceptable level of performance. Or soon they would be clamouring their Daddies and Mommies to get another new computer as presently there isn't enough to go round.

Last edited by PenguinPupLin on Wed 18 Jan 2012, 12:28; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
john biles


Joined: 17 Sep 2006
Posts: 1409
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jan 2012, 09:41    Post subject:  

Hello PenguinPupLin,
Part of developing Legacy OS is I'm also learning and as my knowledge improves, so do my releases.

At this time I don't have an answer but feel that the script or function that tells Legacy OS to start using swap could most likely be edited to start using swap earlier.

Anyone have any ideas on this one?

_________________
Legacy OS 2.1 LTS Released! Install me on a new! EXT2 Partition with 500Mb of swap and I'll be happy. Razz
Legacy OS 4 Released! Install to newer legacy hardware / early EeePC's Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
puponmanyoldlaptops

Joined: 10 Feb 2009
Posts: 56
Location: Pacific Northwest

PostPosted: Thu 16 Aug 2012, 23:19    Post subject: Legacy OS 2 and 4 Tryout Recently (8/2012)
Subject description: A "found" CD made me test Legacy 2 and download 4
 

I tried Legacy OS 2 on my old Compaq laptop (P3 800mhz.) and in my P4 2.8ghz. desktop. Then I D/Led 4 to try it out as well.

4 didn't boot in the 512MB of RAM the Compaq had, but both did OK in the P4.

Both had to be changed refresh-rate wise to make my 19 inch LCD monitor show X.

Great combo of software in these distros but neither 2 or 4 are completely well suited for old laptops, and the kernel used to fabricate them is missing drivers.

2 was perfect for the Compaq but didn't have a driver for my CDMA-based USB modem. 4 did, but took a long time to boot on the P4, the game similar to breakout paused mysteriously after a few minutes of play and wouldn't go on.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
789

Joined: 13 Oct 2006
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Sat 29 Dec 2012, 15:37    Post subject:  

@JohnBiles

Thank you for your work on Legacy 4-mini

Could you make .config available ? this vmlinuz is great as it is, boots in less than 30 seconds; I would like it to support vga=791
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [29 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0919s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0040s) ][ GZIP on ]