Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 23:39
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
5-steps - Netboot a Puppy over the LAN with NO Media (PXE)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 6 of 7 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Author Message
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9207
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 02 Dec 2011, 11:49    Post_subject:  

OK. Just to be clear, "commenting" means to add the # and "uncommenting" means to remove it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pindrop

Joined: 16 Jan 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon 16 Jan 2012, 13:49    Post_subject:  

Wow great project - this looks like a lot of hard work thanks so much for this contribution. I have not tried it out yet but would like to implement it at work. I had a few questions though:

1) Would it be possible to make the pxe boot default entry be to boot from the pxe client's local hard drive? (We have a bunch of corp servers that many are probably set to pxe boot (this was never an issue because we've never had a pxe server on this corp network), and I'd rather not have them boot into puppy on any reboots... rather than change the boot order on all these Dell servers, I'd like to just have the pxe boot menu boot the client's local hard drive as default). I would imagine this could be accomplished with a simple addition to the default file?

The next 2 questions I haven't researched yet and are likely outside the bounds of your project, and more related to getting the properly customized puppy iso that I need to use; but perhaps someone might have some input.

2) OK, so most of our desktop computers that this would be applicable for are identical with the same NICs, so has anyone ever made a puppy that will auto-dhcp? I always remember having to run the network setup after puppy loads, is there anyway to bypass that and just have puppy auto-sense the correct driver and get a dhcp lease? This would lead to the next question....

3) Once I have an auto-dhcp-lease after pxe-booted into puppy, I'd like to connect to our Windows domain! hehe... preferably, also (this may not be possible I know because you are already logged into puppy as root), I'd like some sort of authentication gui to come up so the user can login with their AD credentials... Anyway I don't think this would even work correctly... I'd imagine I'd have to completely remaster a puppy so that the machine connects to the domain, and then instead of root logging into X, the AD user should log into X... don't really have any idea how to do this part, so any suggestions would be much appreciated.... Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4368
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jan 2012, 18:09    Post_subject: Assisting user question on PXE with Corporate walls  

pindrop wrote:
Wow ...
1) Would it be possible to make the pxe boot default entry be to boot from the pxe client's local hard drive? (We have a bunch of corp servers that many are probably set to pxe boot (this was never an issue because we've never had a pxe server on this corp network), and I'd rather not have them boot into puppy on any reboots... rather than change the boot order on all these Dell servers, I'd like to just have the pxe boot menu boot the client's local hard drive as default). I would imagine this could be accomplished with a simple addition to the default file?

The next 2 questions I haven't researched yet and are likely outside the bounds of your project, and more related to getting the properly customized puppy iso that I need to use; but perhaps someone might have some input.

2) OK, so most of our desktop computers that this would be applicable for are identical with the same NICs, so has anyone ever made a puppy that will auto-dhcp? I always remember having to run the network setup after puppy loads, is there anyway to bypass that and just have puppy auto-sense the correct driver and get a dhcp lease? This would lead to the next question....

3) Once I have an auto-dhcp-lease after pxe-booted into puppy, I'd like to connect to our Windows domain! hehe... preferably, also (this may not be possible I know because you are already logged into puppy as root), I'd like some sort of authentication gui to come up so the user can login with their AD credentials... Anyway I don't think this would even work correctly... I'd imagine I'd have to completely remaster a puppy so that the machine connects to the domain, and then instead of root logging into X, the AD user should log into X... don't really have any idea how to do this part, so any suggestions would be much appreciated.... Thanks!
Introduction
Netbooting is a subsystem that is added to One PC on your LAN. That PC inserts itself on your LAN so that other PCs who use ther PXE will have an OS to boot. Once booted, they will connect and run from services that your LAN provides....NOT FROM THE Netboot server they booted from! There should be one AND ONLY ONE, Netboot server on a single LAN at any given time. The Netboot Guide in this thread should take you about 15 minues (Guessing), including its reading, to be operational.
PXE is a funciton of your PC bios and its startup "HOT" keys. The PC is told in which order it is to "look" fo r boot materials. PXE (your LAN-Network card). It just one of the devices you can select.

I will try to cover your requests, out of order of your questions.
Your qustion #2
When ANY computer PXE boots, its final step is to disconnect from the PXE server at which case it is on its own. Most Puppies will automatically request an IP address from the LAN. If you DO NOT HAVE A DHCP server on your LAN, that Puppy PC will need someone to provide an IP for it to use.

Your qustion #3
If you are using LightHosue64 the SAMBA which you need is built-in and is current. If you use SLACKO or use PUPPY528, use SAMBA 3.61 found in the PPM.

Your qustion #1
There should be ONE AND ONLY ONE Netboot server on any LAN at any time for obvious reasons.

Hope this helps

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pindrop

Joined: 16 Jan 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jan 2012, 22:52    Post_subject: Re: Assisting user question on PXE with Corporate walls  

gcmartin wrote:
Your qustion #1
There should be ONE AND ONLY ONE Netboot server on any LAN at any time for obvious reasons.

Hope this helps


Thanks for those answers. Regarding question 1, I believe you misunderstood what I was asking, or I did not communicate it well. I understand of course that there is only to be one netboot server. My question is related to the boot menu (the one that the netboot server pushes to the pxe client) that the computer that is pxe booting into puppy will see. In said menu, I would want the default entry to be to boot from that computer's local hard drive, IE, NOT to boot into puppy from the netboot server. The reason for this is that we have many many corporate servers where the first boot method is network/pxe, and I would NOT want these corp servers to boot into the pxe-booted puppy when they reboot. Hopefully this is clearer... I think it can be done by just making the default boot entry in the pxelinux.cfg default file to be "localboot 0" or similar.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MagicZaurus

Joined: 05 Jan 2009
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jan 2012, 11:42    Post_subject: Blocking certain PXE clients  

From what I remember from the DNSMASQ documentation you are able to filter to which request from which PXE clients to do netbooting the TFTP server replies. If you know the MAC addresses of your corporate servers you can filter them out and not even reply to them.

Your suggestion to have a default entry to boot from the local disk should also be possible. It should work with this in your pxelinux.cfg

Code:
timeout 120
default local
prompt 1

LABEL local
        DISPLAY boot.txt
        localboot 0

LABEL Puppy
...
...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4368
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jan 2012, 20:03    Post_subject: Re: Assisting user question on PXE with Corporate walls  

pindrop wrote:
gcmartin wrote:
Your qustion #1
There should be ONE AND ONLY ONE Netboot server on any LAN at any time for obvious reasons.

Hope this helps


Thanks for those answers. Regarding question 1, I believe you misunderstood what I was asking, ...
The Guide that is referenced in the 1st post has a section on Multi-boot.

I am to assume you read the Guide and are asking about the section of the Guide which addresses Multi-Boot and the menu of boot options it gives you after you have setup the Netboot server. In that you ran MultiPUP to create an ISO that has multiple Puppy+nonPuppy Boot distros available for selection.

I'll have to review that section and step thru it again. But, correct me if I'm wrong:
  • Doesn't the menu the PXE PC is getting have the option to boot from your PC's HDD (hard-drive)?
Maybe I'm wrong, but I thought I remembered this to be the case with its menu.

I have to review this again....if you haven't already.

If indeed that is missing, then you will need to use "ISOmaster" to edit the GRUB4DOS config file for the menu in MultiPUP's ISO so that you can choose the HDD's OS. @MagicZaurus offers an entry that may meet your needs in his immediately prior post. Once you have completed the MultiPUP ISO preparation, then you still need to complete the Guide's instructions where you have mkmulti.sh take the MultiPUP ISO and prep it for PCs to NETBOOT from

Hope this helps

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4368
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jan 2012, 20:48    Post_subject:  

My prior post addresses your request for a Menu selection item.

You are aware that if you simply hit escape when your PC tries to PXE that it will skip PXE. Right?

This needs NO menu changes or anything. PXE setup in your BIOS does not LOCK YOU INTO ONLY PXE.

Hope this helps

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Master_wrong

Joined: 19 Mar 2008
Posts: 456

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jan 2012, 22:00    Post_subject:  

@gcmartin

maybe he want a menu instead of hitting "esc", and i think for that he need to change the bios ? because the bios is loaded before puppy, and there is nothing we can do from puppy to control how client access pxe unless we use disk or cd image to run the pxe instead of bios.

_________________
Cluster-Pup v.2-Puppy Beowulf Cluster
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=499199#499199
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
slenkar

Joined: 10 Jul 2009
Posts: 214

PostPosted: Sun 22 Jul 2012, 19:07    Post_subject:  

I followed all the steps but for some reason the netboot server doesnt startup, when I start it in debug mode the window dissappears and nothing else happens
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3213
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Sun 22 Jul 2012, 20:05    Post_subject:  

Very Happy Hello,
I never included an entry for "boot from HDD" in MultiPup`s menus because it is redundant.. Take the CD out.. LOL..
PXE booting is an addition to functionality I never anticipated...
However, a simple grub edit, just before building the ISO would suffice..
If GCMartin can help with a grub selection that works, I will make a pet to add it to MultiPup, until I release an updated version...

_________________
Close the Windows, and open your eyes, to a whole new world
http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/puppyluvr/
Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook

Puppy since 2.15CE...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4353

PostPosted: Fri 10 Aug 2012, 17:20    Post_subject:  

Well, I guess this thread is dead now.
http://tech.slashdot.org/story/12/08/10/1916222/google-granted-cloud-os-patent
apparently USPTO never heard of "prior art"

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Sat 11 Aug 2012, 13:45    Post_subject:  

What happened to the 'prior art' principle?
...... it wasn't destroyed by the claim of patent, so I hope it can be traced back, and they get sued!

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4368
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 15 Aug 2012, 18:35    Post_subject: PUPPY POWER - Boot as many PCs whenever over LAN  

This thread is still active and flourishing. It works. PXE is a standard that is used in all PC chipsets over the past decade and so.

Couple months back, booted a whole switch full of PCs at the same time as a demo of PUPPY POWER!

JamesBond recently built his FATDOG600+ in such a way as it only needs to be loaded in the TFTP and any 64bit PC on the LAN can boot without running the NETBOOT script. (Instructions are pending his next round of fixes-changes to FATDOG600+.)

Hope this helps

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4353

PostPosted: Wed 15 Aug 2012, 19:51    Post_subject:  

I was referring to Google patenting our prior art and killing off innovation, not the traditional "dead thread" ... By the uspto measures, puppy could have a patent portfolio that could compete with the best (or worst) of them.
_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2596
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue 11 Sep 2012, 11:36    Post_subject:  

Hi gcmartin - I have been having a lot of problems with PXE booting a variety of PCs and although most of those may be related to specific hardware designs I do feel that there may be an issue with the dnsmasq and/or server3 pet currently on offer.

Specifically, I have a "Penguin computers Green 731" laptop which would consistently fail the PXE load attempt when using the current pets referred to in the google docs (it would hang after searching for the "default", but this was not an issue with location or structure of that file). I found I was able to succeed with a PXE load only when I used the server that jrb had built into PupServer435TNG. TNG version of PupServer found here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=60406&start=44
(However that PXE server version had a bug which did not allow the client PC to surf the web after booting if the PXE server was still on line...)

I have found a way to make the server3 pet work, but I don't fully understand the ramifications of what I have found - except that there may be other people who have stumbled against this issue too. I think maybe some hardware cannot cope with the specified "tftp-prefix" and/or the design/location of the pxelinux.0 file

I have documented this here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=651753#651753

jrb mentions another solution which retains the PupServer435TNG server and involves installing a different version of the dnsmasq pet. I would welcome your opinion if you have time, as I believe I am using the correct pets you have specified and wonder if there may be some benefit in using jrb's server and dnsmasq pet (possibly for all puppies...), or at least working out why the server3 pet creates a pxelinux.0 file that is incompatible with some machines.

EDIT: just confirmed identical behaviour when using Akita8, so not just an issue with PupServer
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 7 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1200s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0169s) ][ GZIP on ]