Question about Shell Script (#!/bin/sh)

For discussions about programming, programming questions/advice, and projects that don't really have anything to do with Puppy.
Message
Author
User avatar
RSH
Posts: 2397
Joined: Mon 05 Sep 2011, 14:21
Location: Germany

#61 Post by RSH »

Here's a version using gtkdialog checkboxes:
Yes, and this one works out of the box (something is wrong with 4.1?)

I did not have a look into the 5.0 script yet, but i must say:

:idea: Great Work! :idea:

:!: Fantastic! :!:
[b][url=http://lazy-puppy.weebly.com]LazY Puppy[/url][/b]
[b][url=http://rshs-dna.weebly.com]RSH's DNA[/url][/b]
[url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=91422][b]SARA B.[/b][/url]

jpeps
Posts: 3179
Joined: Sat 31 May 2008, 19:00

#62 Post by jpeps »

RSH wrote:
Here's a version using gtkdialog checkboxes:
Yes, and this one works out of the box (something is wrong with 4.1?)
Works on my end. If you hack the script, all bets are off.

User avatar
RSH
Posts: 2397
Joined: Mon 05 Sep 2011, 14:21
Location: Germany

#63 Post by RSH »

jpeps wrote:Works on my end. If you hack the script, all bets are off.
Yes, by having a look into previous scripts, i meant to know this already.

However: great work, again.

Maybe you can go to the GtkDialog Development Section agin, post your .pet or script and point out that it is necessary to get this one - with a handle like the tree-item is handled (to get easily out the selected items just like the tree-item gives it to the programmer).

This would be a nice and useful GtkDialog-Feature...

Edit: maybe calling it CheckboxTree.
[b][url=http://lazy-puppy.weebly.com]LazY Puppy[/url][/b]
[b][url=http://rshs-dna.weebly.com]RSH's DNA[/url][/b]
[url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=91422][b]SARA B.[/b][/url]

User avatar
RSH
Posts: 2397
Joined: Mon 05 Sep 2011, 14:21
Location: Germany

#64 Post by RSH »

Code: Select all

	#echo -e "$(Xdialog --title "$WTITLE $WMTUSER" --stdout --no-cancel --editbox /tmp/applist_tmp  16 50)" >/usr/share/applications-desktop-files/$SPATH/applist-new
	EdNewList="$(Xdialog --title "$WTITLE $WMTUSER" --stdout --no-cancel --editbox /tmp/applist_tmp  16 50)"
	#echo -e $EdNewList >/usr/share/applications-desktop-files/$SPATH/applist-new
	
	# remove old list
	if [ "$EdNewList" != "" ]; then
		rm /usr/share/applications-desktop-files/$SPATH/applist
	fi
	
	# put into file
	for i in $EdNewList
	do
		if [ "$EdNewList" != "" ]; then
			echo -e $i >> /usr/share/applications-desktop-files/$SPATH/applist
		fi
	done
This will write output as single lines into a file.

f.e.:

file1
file2
file3...

Also the batch file (here=applist) will stay and will not loose it's data when closing the window (not using ok button)

Maybe good to know?
[b][url=http://lazy-puppy.weebly.com]LazY Puppy[/url][/b]
[b][url=http://rshs-dna.weebly.com]RSH's DNA[/url][/b]
[url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=91422][b]SARA B.[/b][/url]

jpeps
Posts: 3179
Joined: Sat 31 May 2008, 19:00

#65 Post by jpeps »

The output from batch selection already remains in /tmp

Code: Select all

/tmp $ cat batch-list
CPUtemp_usage-2.0
flashplayer

disciple
Posts: 6984
Joined: Sun 21 May 2006, 01:46
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

#66 Post by disciple »

Could you please add your gtkdialog apps to the index of programs using gtkdialog?
Thanks.
Do you know a good gtkdialog program? Please post a link here

Classic Puppy quotes

ROOT FOREVER
GTK2 FOREVER

jpeps
Posts: 3179
Joined: Sat 31 May 2008, 19:00

#67 Post by jpeps »

disciple wrote:Could you please add your gtkdialog apps to the index of programs using gtkdialog?
Thanks.
Wouldn't it be better to have them all in one list,vs tacked on arbitrarily as
replies in a thread somewhere?

disciple
Posts: 6984
Joined: Sun 21 May 2006, 01:46
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

#68 Post by disciple »

Yeah, and categorised or at least listed alphabetically. In a way a wiki page would be better. But I figured just collecting them all in one place was a good start.
And the advantage of the forum thread is that if they want people can keep track of new ones as they are added.
Do you know a good gtkdialog program? Please post a link here

Classic Puppy quotes

ROOT FOREVER
GTK2 FOREVER

User avatar
recobayu
Posts: 387
Joined: Wed 15 Sep 2010, 22:48
Location: indonesia

rox got hang when i go to directory /proc

#69 Post by recobayu »

hi everyone,
i want to ask you a question.
i make a pet that can setting my rox. actually, this pet is a small part of my big .pet. i just want to make easy, because every come a new varian puppy linux, i download it, try it, and then i must setting everything i want and that is eat my time. so i make an easy pet to setting that.
then my problem was appear when i use another puppy (not lupu, in my case is dpup exprimo). after i install my pet, rox got hang if i go to directory /proc.
i have 2 files in my pet,there are:

Code: Select all

/root/.config/rox.sourceforge.net/ROX-Filer/menus2
/root/.config/rox.sourceforge.net/ROX-Filer/Options
can anyone explain that?
thanks.
Attachments
aku.pet
(2.51 KiB) Downloaded 512 times

User avatar
stu91
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon 06 Aug 2012, 15:11
Location: England. Dpup. Dell Inspiron 1501

Re: rox got hang when i go to directory /proc

#70 Post by stu91 »

recobayu wrote:hi everyone,
i want to ask you a question.
i make a pet that can setting my rox. actually, this pet is a small part of my big .pet. i just want to make easy, because every come a new varian puppy linux, i download it, try it, and then i must setting everything i want and that is eat my time. so i make an easy pet to setting that.
then my problem was appear when i use another puppy (not lupu, in my case is dpup exprimo). after i install my pet, rox got hang if i go to directory /proc.
i have 2 files in my pet,there are:

Code: Select all

/root/.config/rox.sourceforge.net/ROX-Filer/menus2
/root/.config/rox.sourceforge.net/ROX-Filer/Options
can anyone explain that?
thanks.
I encounted this when building D-lite puppy -
There was / maybe still is a bug i think with rox-filer that if you had thumbnail images enabled in rox options when went to /proc directory rox-filer would hang - solution was to down-grade to an earlier version of rox-filer.

User avatar
recobayu
Posts: 387
Joined: Wed 15 Sep 2010, 22:48
Location: indonesia

a little latex and bash language

#71 Post by recobayu »

Hi Everyone,
I want to share just a little things that i've found just now. I make a combination of bash and latex. I install latex by emil from here: (thanks emil)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=61226
Then i make a script like this, just playing a small things..

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
echo "\documentclass[a4paper]{article}
\usepackage[T1]{fontenc}
\usepackage[utf8]{inputenc}
\usepackage{lmodern}
\usepackage[english]{babel}
\begin{document}
Hi guys, I have an exercise for you.. Can you answer this question?
">recobayu.tex
for i in {1..15};do
echo "$i.">>recobayu.tex
x1=$((RANDOM%10+1))
x2=$((RANDOM%10+1))
#x" + bx + c =0
b=-$(($x1+$x2))
c=$(($x1*$x2))
echo "$ (x-$x1)(x-$x2)=0 \Leftrightarrow x^2 $((b)) x + $c =0 $
">>recobayu.tex
done
echo "\end{document}">>recobayu.tex
pdflatex recobayu.tex recobayu.pdf
evince recobayu.pdf
That's all. Now, I have a quadratic equation exercise.
Anyone want to play around?
:D

User avatar
recobayu
Posts: 387
Joined: Wed 15 Sep 2010, 22:48
Location: indonesia

#72 Post by recobayu »

If I want to list all my files in bin, I write this code:

Code: Select all

ls /bin >databaseku
ls /usr/bin >>databaseku
ls /usr/local/bin >> databaseku
ls /sbin>>databaseku
ls /usr/sbin>>databaseku
I realize that this code:

Code: Select all

echo $PATH|cut -d ":" -f2
return: /usr/bin.
My question: Can we add all files in directory in $PATH to the file 'databaseku'?
Thank You.
Recobayu

jamesbond
Posts: 3433
Joined: Mon 26 Feb 2007, 05:02
Location: The Blue Marble

#73 Post by jamesbond »

This will list all files in $PATH to the file.

Code: Select all

for p in ${PATH//:/ }; do 
echo $p; echo ===== # header
ls $p
echo ----- # footer
done > databaseku
Remove # header and # footer line is you don't want it.
Fatdog64 forum links: [url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=117546]Latest version[/url] | [url=https://cutt.ly/ke8sn5H]Contributed packages[/url] | [url=https://cutt.ly/se8scrb]ISO builder[/url]

User avatar
MochiMoppel
Posts: 2084
Joined: Wed 26 Jan 2011, 09:06
Location: Japan

#74 Post by MochiMoppel »

or

Code: Select all

find ${PATH//:/ } > databaseku
Lists also hidden files.

User avatar
recobayu
Posts: 387
Joined: Wed 15 Sep 2010, 22:48
Location: indonesia

#75 Post by recobayu »

We can print our main menu on jwm by this code:

Code: Select all

grep "<Menu label" /root/.jwmrc|cut -d'"' -f2
How to print the submain and save it into separate files based on the main name?
example:

in Desktop.txt:
Desktop drive icon manager
Desktop drive icons manager
FlSynclient configure your touchpad
Font Manager
JWM Window Manager Settings
PupClockset manager
Sticky JWM
Chtheme GTK/Qt theme chooser
Configure Xlock screen locking
Desktop icon switcher
JWM Theme Maker
Pcur cursor selector
Pwallpaper background image chooser
Chooselocale country localisation
Psync Time Server Synchronisation
Set date and time
Set timezone

in System.txt:
Boot Manager
CPU Frequency Scaling Tool
HardInfo hardware information
IPInfo network information
Multiple monitors settings
Pprocess process manager
Pup-SysInfo system information
PupScan interface information
Htop System Process Viewer
Pschedule task on time
Puppy Event Manager
Task Manager
GParted partition manager
Grub4Dos bootloader config
Legacy GRUB Config 2013
CUPS manage printing
GtkLP file printing
GtkLPQ printer queue manager
Format floppy disk
Login and Security Manager
Xlock lock screen

etc..

I try use

I try use

Code: Select all

grep Program /root/.jwmrc|cut -d'"' -f2
but it print All submain, i can not save into different name based on the main menu.
Thanks

phat7
Posts: 179
Joined: Fri 05 Jun 2015, 08:54

#76 Post by phat7 »

I look at the topic and I look at your question and I see no connection whatsoever.

User avatar
recobayu
Posts: 387
Joined: Wed 15 Sep 2010, 22:48
Location: indonesia

#77 Post by recobayu »

I'm sorry Phat7, :cry:
I just ask a question how to grep line between <Menu label> and </Menu> part by part.

User avatar
MochiMoppel
Posts: 2084
Joined: Wed 26 Jan 2011, 09:06
Location: Japan

#78 Post by MochiMoppel »

recobayu wrote:How to print the submain and save it into separate files based on the main name?
Not very fast, not very elegant, but something like this should do:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
OUTPUTDIR=/tmp/menutest
[ -d "$OUTPUTDIR" ] && rm "$OUTPUTDIR"/* || mkdir "$OUTPUTDIR"

while read line;do
C=$(echo -n $line |grep '<Menu label'    | cut -d" -f2)
I=$(echo -n $line |grep '<Program label' | cut -d" -f2)
[ "$C" ] && CATEGORY="$C"
[ "$I" ] && MENUITEM="$I" && echo "$MENUITEM" >> "$OUTPUTDIR/$CATEGORY".txt
done < /root/.jwmrc

User avatar
recobayu
Posts: 387
Joined: Wed 15 Sep 2010, 22:48
Location: indonesia

#79 Post by recobayu »

Great! Thanks Mochi.. I still learning your code now. How come it works?

Edit:
This is my script. And it's also works! :D

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
a=(`grep "<Menu label" /root/.jwmrc|cut -d\" -f2`)

#indeks
for i in ${!a[*]};do
	sed -e '/"'${a[$i]}'"/,/"'${a[$((i+1))]}'"/!d' /root/.jwmrc|grep "Program label"|cut -d '"' -f2>"$i${a[$i]}.txt"
done

User avatar
greengeek
Posts: 5789
Joined: Tue 20 Jul 2010, 09:34
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

#80 Post by greengeek »

recobayu wrote:sed -e '/"'${a[$i]}'"/,/"'${a[$((i+1))]}'"/!d' root/.jwmrc|grep "Program label"|cut -d '"' -f2>"$i${a[$i]}.txt"
done
I am always very impressed by people who can use sed grep and awk, but the truth is this can only be read by Daleks
:-)

EDIT : somewhere on this forum is a method of playing a file as audio even though it is just scripting text (program from 01micko or technosaurus i think). I will try to find it so I can play this string through it and see what it sounds like.

Post Reply