Classic Pup 2.14X -- Updated 2 series

A home for all kinds of Puppy related projects

What is the best Puppy Version ever, LOL

2.14x
11
29%
2.14x
4
11%
2.14x
11
29%
Other: 2.14x only
12
32%
 
Total votes: 38

Message
Author
User avatar
ttuuxxx
Posts: 11171
Joined: Sat 05 May 2007, 10:00
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia
Contact:

#4741 Post by ttuuxxx »

I personally would use the devx pet on top of page 1, I have system links to the older libc, etc. I've compiled drivers before without any issue.
If you post the link to the sources of what drivers you want compiled, I could do it for you.
Also a swap file is a partition, that has to be made with gparted, you can also make a swap file on a usb stick, I've done that in the past :) so to have a swap file/ partition you would have to shrink your windows partition or use a usb stick.
ttuuxxx
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games :)

User avatar
MinHundHettePerro
Posts: 852
Joined: Thu 05 Feb 2009, 22:22
Location: SE

#4742 Post by MinHundHettePerro »

PenguinPupLin,

a swap partition is a swap partition and a swap file is a swap file. In pupmode 12 (standard frugal install to HDD), 214X will use a swap file called pupswap.swp if found in /mnt/home/, but it won't auto-create it if your home partition FS is ntfs, see lines 199-238 of /etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit:

Code: Select all

#v2.01 case of 128M PCs with pup_save.3fs, need more ram space...
#NOTE future, do not assume /initrd/mnt/dev_save/ is mntpt for part. that has pup_save.3fs,
#     get device out of PUPSAVE and use 'mount' to find mntpt.
#do this for PUPMODE=12 only, pup_save.3fs direct on pup_rw layer (fast storage)...
if [ "$PUPMODE" = "12" ];then
 if [ -f /initrd/mnt/dev_save/pupswap.swp ];then
  echo -n "Activating swap file /initrd/mnt/dev_save/pupswap.swp..." >/dev/console
  swapon /initrd/mnt/dev_save/pupswap.swp;check_status $?
 else
  #only create a swap file if no swap partition...
  if [ "`free | grep -F 'Swap:' | tr -s ' ' | cut -f3 -d' '`" = "0" ];then
   #v2.02final for now, no auto creation of swap on ntfs partition...
   case "$PUPSAVE" in msdos,*|vfat,*|ext2,*|ext3,*|reiserfs,*|minix,*) 
    DRVFREE=`df -m | grep '/initrd/mnt/dev_save' | tr -s " " | cut -f 4 -d " "`
    if [ "$DRVFREE" ];then
     #if [ ! "$PMEDIA" = "ideflash" ];then #pakt: prevent swapfile on ide-cf card.
      let DRVFREE=DRVFREE/2
      SWPSIZE=100 #100M
      [ $SWPSIZE -gt $DRVFREE ] && SWPSIZE=$DRVFREE #never use more than half free space.
      if [ $SWPSIZE -gt 20 ];then
       echo -n "Creating Linux swap file in /initrd/mnt/dev_save..." >/dev/console
       RETFLAG=1
       dd if=/dev/zero of=/initrd/mnt/dev_save/pupswap.swp bs=1048576 count=$SWPSIZE
       if [ $? -eq 0 ];then
        sync
        mkswap /initrd/mnt/dev_save/pupswap.swp
        if [ $? -eq 0 ];then
         sync
         swapon /initrd/mnt/dev_save/pupswap.swp
         RETFLAG=$?
        fi
       fi
       check_status $RETFLAG
      fi
     #fi
    fi ;;
   esac
  fi
 fi
fi
You could try this:
Boot your frugally installed 214X, open a terminal window and run

Code: Select all

dd if=/dev/zero of=/mnt/home/pupswap.swp bs=1M count=SWAPSIZE
mkswap /mnt/home/pupswap.swp
where SWAPSIZE is the size in MiB you desire for your swapfile.
Reboot and see if it loads ......

If you just can't wait to see if your newly created swapfile works and can be loaded, run

Code: Select all

swapon /mnt/home/pupswap.swp
and then

Code: Select all

swapon -s
to see if it was mounted.

hth :)/ MHHP
[color=green]Celeron 2.8 GHz, 1 GB, i82845, many ptns, modes 12, 13
Dual Xeon 3.2 GHz, 1 GB, nvidia quadro nvs 285[/color]
Slackos & 214X, ... and Q6xx
[color=darkred]Nämen, vaf....[/color] [color=green]ln -s /dev/null MHHP[/color]

PenguinPupLin
Posts: 130
Joined: Fri 23 Dec 2011, 09:21
Location: The Little Red Dot

#4743 Post by PenguinPupLin »

ttuuxxx wrote:I personally would use the devx pet on top of page 1, I have system links to the older libc, etc. I've compiled drivers before without any issue.
If you post the link to the sources of what drivers you want compiled, I could do it for you.
Also a swap file is a partition, that has to be made with gparted, you can also make a swap file on a usb stick, I've done that in the past :) so to have a swap file/ partition you would have to shrink your windows partition or use a usb stick.
ttuuxxx
Pardon my delayed reply, it's Chinese New Year here. I've been wanting to compile the Nvidia96.43.20 driver for the Geforce 2 Go graphics chipset used in my Acer notebook. The Nvidia link http://www.nvidia.com/Download/index.aspx? and choosing
Product Type: Legacy
Product Series: Geforce 2 MX series
Product: Geforce 2 Integrated GPU
Operating System: Linux 32-bit
Language: English

Very kind and helpful of you to offer to compile it for me; after compiling , you might post it here to share with others;I believe there are many Classic Pup 214X users who could use this legacy nvidia driver for their older relevant hardware.

And,yes,indeed it's swapfile that I want not swap partition as I am reluctant to touch my WinXP ntfs partition.
Last edited by PenguinPupLin on Mon 23 Jan 2012, 17:11, edited 2 times in total.

PenguinPupLin
Posts: 130
Joined: Fri 23 Dec 2011, 09:21
Location: The Little Red Dot

#4744 Post by PenguinPupLin »

MinHundHettePerro wrote:PenguinPupLin,

snipped

You could try this:
Boot your frugally installed 214X, open a terminal window and run

Code: Select all

dd if=/dev/zero of=/mnt/home/pupswap.swp bs=1M count=SWAPSIZE
mkswap /mnt/home/pupswap.swp
where SWAPSIZE is the size in MiB you desire for your swapfile.
Reboot and see if it loads ......

If you just can't wait to see if your newly created swapfile works and can be loaded, run

Code: Select all

swapon /mnt/home/pupswap.swp
and then

Code: Select all

swapon -s
to see if it was mounted.

hth :)/ MHHP
That was exactly what I did as stated in my earlier post(the only difference was that I played safe and did it in Windows) :

"I created a swap file called pupswap.swp in my WinXP partition for my frugal installed Classic Pup 214X-TOP9 using a method I found in the Internet, i.e in WinXP (ntfs partition),type "fsutil flie createnew C:\pupswap.swp 528244000" (without quotes, and for 512MB size).
Then in Puppy rxvt, I first "mkswap /mnt/home/pupswap.swp" successfully as it showed the correct size and UUID.
But when I wanted to turn swap on by " swapon /mnt/home/pupswap.swp" , it said "swapon: argument is invalid".
Upon rebooting puppy,the message about swapon invalid argument also appeared."

However,this method worked alright for my other frugal installs, namely, Wary 511, Puppy 431, Lighthouse Pup 5.0.3, and lupu525 retro . Just that I later discovered the winfonts method which made use of my WinXP pagefile.sys as swap space, and so went for that instead to save harddisk space, esp when I also realized in certain cases I had to create the swapfile from within the puppies concerned for it to work properly.

I thought, perhaps, the swapon command for Classic Pup, which uses the older kernel k2.6.18.1 as opposed to the slightly newer ones of my other puppies, is different. Incidentally, my harddisk icon on the desktop is labelled "home" and not "sda1" or "hda1" as is usually the case.

tempestuous
Posts: 5464
Joined: Fri 10 Jun 2005, 05:12
Location: Australia

#4745 Post by tempestuous »

MinHundHettePerro wrote:a swap partition is a swap partition and a swap file is a swap file.
Thank you MinHundHettePerro for clearing up the confusion and misleading information in recent posts!

PenguinPupLin, I encourage your efforts to skill up to compile a kernel and kernel modules, but I for one, don't want to get involved in the arduous how-to's involved to get you to that point.
I will say that if you're serious about it, you should set up a full hard-drive installation of Puppy (not just "frugal") since this is more suitable for intensive development purposes.
As for your complex attempts to set up a swap-file on an NTFS partition? Do yourself a favour and forget this.
Properly format a hard drive with an EXT3 partition for Puppy, plus a proper Linux swap partition. Do things properly, and it will then work properly.

PenguinPupLin wrote:I've been wanting to compile the Nvidia96.43.20 driver for the Geforce 2 Go graphics chipset used in my Acer notebook.
Now that I know what you actually want to achieve, what about using the nVIDIA graphics drivers that were packaged back when Puppy 2.12-2.16 was originally released?
The "legacy" nVIDIA driver at that stage (compatible with your Geforce 2) was Version 7184. Get it here -
http://dotpups.de/files/Nvidia-drivers-for-Puppy-2.12/

Manual setup is explained here -
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 0561#80561

or forum member MU provided an automated installer (using the same driver package) -
http://dotpups.de/dotpups/3D-Control-Ce ... d-2.13.pup

PenguinPupLin
Posts: 130
Joined: Fri 23 Dec 2011, 09:21
Location: The Little Red Dot

#4746 Post by PenguinPupLin »

Right,thanks for your advice and suggestion. Once I get hold of a spare harddisk,I will format it to ext3 for Puppy Linux and perhaps other distros.

The point now is I've managed to successfully

1) make swapfile in ntfs partition working fine so far, and
2) compile Nvidia as well as ATI drivers with devx and kernel source files -

for my other frugal installed puppies, such as Wary 511/522, puppy 431. Lighthouse Pup 503, lupu525 retro, Slacko 531, and Lucid Pup 528. And all this was set up to multi-boot with WinXP (ntfs) after creating the first puppy frugal install using the Windows Installer method,specifically without modifying mbr and not needing to create a Linux partition for it. Frankly,it's because I'm aware a swapfile is a file not a partition that I choose to do it, either by using swapfilemanager - thanks to jpeps - or winfonts method - thanks to shinobar.

This is the route I take for a start which is also what my friends would be willing to try without messing up their existing Windows (XP, Vista, 7) - a newbie's nightmare. The beauty of Puppy Linux Frugal Install is I can experiment boldly and not have to worry about crashing or thrashing the OS as long as I've a pupsave backup to restore a working system, unlike a Full Harddisk Install. Whether it's older or newer hardware,I'm sure there is a puppy version that will suit their needs.

A Big Thank-You to everyone who make it possible.

User avatar
ttuuxxx
Posts: 11171
Joined: Sat 05 May 2007, 10:00
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia
Contact:

#4747 Post by ttuuxxx »

New RELEASE WITH NEW GTK2 BACKEND PAGE 1

enjoy :)

ttuuxxx
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games :)

User avatar
James C
Posts: 6618
Joined: Thu 26 Mar 2009, 05:12
Location: Kentucky

#4748 Post by James C »

Downloading...... :lol:

User avatar
James C
Posts: 6618
Joined: Thu 26 Mar 2009, 05:12
Location: Kentucky

#4749 Post by James C »

Quick test run, Top 10 live pfix=ram.Working well on this old Athlon XP box.

-Computer-
Processor : AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2400+
Memory : 1035MB (156MB used)
Operating System : Puppy Linux 0.21
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Wed 25 Jan 2012 02:18:36 PM PUP
-Display-
Resolution : 1280x1024 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Unknown
X11 Vendor : (null)
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : VIA8233 - VIA 8235

sh-3.00# free
total used free shared buffers
Mem: 1035712 383636 652076 0 48236
Swap: 1228932 0 1228932
Total: 2264644 383636 1881008
sh-3.00#


Planning to do my usual full install on the old P3 shortly.Looks good so far. :)

sheldonisaac
Posts: 902
Joined: Mon 22 Jun 2009, 01:36
Location: Philadelphia, PA

#4750 Post by sheldonisaac »

James C wrote:Quick test run, Top 10 live pfix=ram.Working well on this old Athlon XP box.
Quick frugal on this old ASUS P5A box. Top 10 pfix=ram.

Computer-
Processor : AMD-K6(tm) 3D processor
Memory : 775MB (67MB used)
Operating System : Puppy Linux 0.21
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Wed 25 Jan 2012 06:20:28 PM PUP
-Display-
Resolution : 1024x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Unknown
X11 Vendor : (null)
-Multimedia-
-Input Devices-
Dell Dell USB Keyboard
USB Mouse
Device 2Port KVMSwitcher
-Printers (CUPS)-
CUPS-PDF : <i>Default</i>
-IDE Disks-
WDC WD800JB-00JJC0
Maxtor 6Y120P0
TSSTcorp CDDVDW SH-S202J
ASUS CD-S520/A

User avatar
James C
Posts: 6618
Joined: Thu 26 Mar 2009, 05:12
Location: Kentucky

#4751 Post by James C »

Another little test run.....everything working.

-Computer-
Processor : Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz
Memory : 514MB (152MB used)
Operating System : Puppy Linux 0.21
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Wed 25 Jan 2012 05:49:11 PM PUP
-Display-
Resolution : 1024x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Unknown
X11 Vendor : (null)
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : ICH4 - Intel ICH5

sh-3.00# free
total used free shared buffers
Mem: 514380 383324 131056 0 47508
Swap: 1124508 0 1124508
Total: 1638888 383324 1255564
sh-3.00#

User avatar
James C
Posts: 6618
Joined: Thu 26 Mar 2009, 05:12
Location: Kentucky

#4752 Post by James C »

Don't know if it's a problem or a hardware glitch but 214X Top 10 wouldn't boot on a box with sata drives...both hdd and optical.
I'll try it on another sat box a bit later.

User avatar
James C
Posts: 6618
Joined: Thu 26 Mar 2009, 05:12
Location: Kentucky

#4753 Post by James C »

214X Top 10 live on a different box with sata drives....booted this time with no problem.Don't know if it made a difference but did not use pfix=ram this time.

-Computer-
Processor : AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5200+
Memory : 3370MB (142MB used)
Operating System : Puppy Linux 0.21
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Wed 25 Jan 2012 08:37:53 PM PUP
-Display-
Resolution : 1280x1024 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Unknown
X11 Vendor : (null)
-Multimedia-

sh-3.00# free
total used free shared buffers
Mem: 3370144 395152 2974992 0 51620
Swap: 0 0 0
Total: 3370144 395152 2974992
sh-3.00#

User avatar
James C
Posts: 6618
Joined: Thu 26 Mar 2009, 05:12
Location: Kentucky

#4754 Post by James C »

James C wrote:Don't know if it's a problem or a hardware glitch but 214X Top 10 wouldn't boot on a box with sata drives...both hdd and optical.
Back to the non-booting box again.... sata hdd and optical. Stops at this.....

ERROR, cannot find Puppy on "idecd" boot media.
PUPMODE=1 PDEV1=
Exited to initial-ramdisk (dev/ram0)commandline


Not a big deal to me,but thought I'd report it.

User avatar
James C
Posts: 6618
Joined: Thu 26 Mar 2009, 05:12
Location: Kentucky

#4755 Post by James C »

James C wrote:Another little test run.....everything working.

-Computer-
Processor : Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz
Memory : 514MB (152MB used)
Operating System : Puppy Linux 0.21
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Wed 25 Jan 2012 05:49:11 PM PUP
-Display-
Resolution : 1024x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Unknown
X11 Vendor : (null)
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : ICH4 - Intel ICH5
Went ahead and did a quick frugal install.....everything working well.... except Pup-Shots.Can only get 0 byte files.

User avatar
James C
Posts: 6618
Joined: Thu 26 Mar 2009, 05:12
Location: Kentucky

#4756 Post by James C »

Further clarification on Pup-Shots.Selecting a region results in a zero byte file but fullscreen works and the shot can then be edited.
Attachments
Top 10.png
(21.83 KiB) Downloaded 2043 times

tomo3
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon 26 Jul 2010, 09:47

fontconfig issues

#4757 Post by tomo3 »

about "The only issues know is fontconfig"

add /etc/fonts/font.conf

<cachedir>/var/cache/fontconfig</cachedir>
<cachedir>~/.fontconfig</cachedir>

fontconfig-fix.pet

*dereliction old package----- /usr/lib/fontconfig.so1.3.0

User avatar
ttuuxxx
Posts: 11171
Joined: Sat 05 May 2007, 10:00
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia
Contact:

#4758 Post by ttuuxxx »

James C wrote: Went ahead and did a quick frugal install.....everything working well.... except Pup-Shots.Can only get 0 byte files.
excellent job on testing James :)
I'll look into pupshots, sata works on my pc's, did sata work properly on your older pc using top9 or is this a new issue for top10, The kernel in 2.14x was one of the first kernels to use sata but I think it has its limits.
its worked on my 1tb sata and on my 320gb laptop sata.
ttuuxxx
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games :)

User avatar
ttuuxxx
Posts: 11171
Joined: Sat 05 May 2007, 10:00
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia
Contact:

Re: fontconfig issues

#4759 Post by ttuuxxx »

tomo3 wrote:about "The only issues know is fontconfig"

add /etc/fonts/font.conf

<cachedir>/var/cache/fontconfig</cachedir>
<cachedir>~/.fontconfig</cachedir>

fontconfig-fix.pet

*dereliction old package----- /usr/lib/fontconfig.so1.3.0
thanks for this, its saved me some time which is always nice :) feel free to lend a hand in the future :)
ttuuxxx
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games :)

sheldonisaac
Posts: 902
Joined: Mon 22 Jun 2009, 01:36
Location: Philadelphia, PA

Re: fontconfig issues

#4760 Post by sheldonisaac »

tomo3 wrote:about "The only issues know is fontconfig"

add /etc/fonts/font.conf

<cachedir>/var/cache/fontconfig</cachedir>
<cachedir>~/.fontconfig</cachedir>

fontconfig-fix.pet

*dereliction old package----- /usr/lib/fontconfig.so1.3.0
Thanks a lot.

I got the below (FBReader does work)

Code: Select all

~> /usr/bin/FBReader
loading /usr/lib/zlibrary/ui/zlui-gtk.so
SQLITE IMPLEMENTATION ERROR: (10) disk I/O error
SQLITE IMPLEMENTATION ERROR: in command "COMMIT TRANSACTION"
SQLITE IMPLEMENTATION ERROR: (10) disk I/O error
SQLITE IMPLEMENTATION ERROR: in command "COMMIT TRANSACTION"
SQLITE IMPLEMENTATION ERROR: (10) disk I/O error
SQLITE IMPLEMENTATION ERROR: in command "COMMIT TRANSACTION"
SQLITE IMPLEMENTATION ERROR: (10) disk I/O error
SQLITE IMPLEMENTATION ERROR: in command "COMMIT TRANSACTION"
~>

Post Reply