Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 22 Oct 2014, 08:27
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Lucid Puppy 5.2.8 - Updated ISO Version 005 - APR 05 2012
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 75 of 190 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, ..., 188, 189, 190 Next
Author Message
Volhout


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 402

PostPosted: Thu 02 Feb 2012, 08:42    Post_subject:  

hi eyes-only,

I could only try this on puppeee (didn't have 528 machine within grips) but in puppeee there is no link to an icon that shows up when you do look into. There is an icon in there (no link), but that is a different one than the one actually on the desktop. I opened some of the XML files that I found with look into, but these also had no references to icons.

I did rename the icons used in the /usr/local/lib/X11/pixmaps folder to the ones I wanted, and even that did not solve the problem for puppeee. Apparently the /usr/local/lib/X11/pixmaps is not part of the save file ? The changes I made in this folder where gone after reboot.

Thanks for your help so far,

Volhout

P.S. are you volunteering for the revamping of 528 ? From your enthusiasm with toying around with puppies, you might be interested and capable of doing it. ? Basically it involves toying around with 528 until we have a professional looking default startup configuration, and maybe a second one selectable via the existing tools. Most complicating would be to clean up the desktop, to remove the icons that users would not use. I am not sure where this default desktop is defined, and how it can be tailored without recompiling code.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 552
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 02 Feb 2012, 15:37    Post_subject: Re: Visual apeal
Sub_title: The case of the vanishing trashcan.
 

Volhout wrote:

Quote:
I even created some icons of my own (by cutting and pasting) and assigned these to my 3 foreign programs. However, I have not been able to change the icon of the trashcan. If I try to change it, it reverts back to the old symbol after a re-power. Not a major deal, but I am curious why.


Most icons can be changed by simply pointing to the directory where you have chosen to store your custom icons. In the case of variables that are subject to running scripts such as drive icons and recycle bins overwriting the file in /usr/local/lib/X11/pixmaps will not survive a reboot, as on start-up the icons will be refreshed with the originals held in the relevant themes directory.

To enable persistence you need to replace the icons in both the theme and pixmap directories as shown below:
Here the normal Blue-Moon empty and full icons have been replaced with new icons with identical names.
The result is shown in the 528 slideshow in my signature panel. (Go full screen & press F11)
screenshot.3.png
 Description   
 Filesize   92.84 KB
 Viewed   1387 Time(s)

screenshot.3.png


_________________
Regards ETP
Accessibility Pups: -- Magoo -- The Pup With No Name -- MouseCam -- Obedient
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Volhout


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 402

PostPosted: Thu 02 Feb 2012, 16:58    Post_subject:  

Thanks ETP for the explanation. It is educating, and I am beginnming to understand what is happening under the hood. When I am back home from my traveling, I will try this on 528 (the thread where this is in now).

On my travel I only have my eee-pc with me with puppeee 4.4 RC2. And there is something strange with puppeee. I installed the ipad theme from gcmartin, and in the themes folder there is a folder with the installed icons. This folder also contains trash full and trash empty. When selecting the iconset, the icons copy into the pixmaps folder. And I see the ipad trashcan on the desktop.

When I reboot, I get the Crystal iconset trashcan on the desktop, and it is also in the pixmaps folder. But the themes folder that contained the ipad icons, does not contain the trash full and trash empty icons anymore. They disappeared. If you have a clue, then PM me, because Jemimah is not involved in puppeee anymore, and this thread is for 528.

PlayDayz, sorry for poluting the thread with a puppeee question, I will remove this post after ETP replies. But the posts from ETP and Eyes-Only could educate others, so I suggest to keep these.

Regards,

Volhout
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Fri 03 Feb 2012, 12:18    Post_subject: Lupu-528 TESTING 01a - The L8-est & Gr8-est
Sub_title: Contains Pmusic 2.4.0
 

Lupu-528 TESTING 01a

This is an Experimental ISO - There is so much stuff in it that odds are that something is going to be wrong, but on the other hand, some things have been tested already (such as rerwin's patch-7) and some things are straightforward updates. Thanks especially to rerwin, radky, shinobar, tempestuous, and zigbert for their huge contributions. don570, BarryK, and tasmod also. The wallpaper is by dejan555. This ISO will exist alongside the lupu-528.004 release for some time.

Patch-7 - rerwin
usb-modeswitch 1.2.2 - rerwin
Pmusic 2.4.0- zigbert
ffmpeg 0.8.9 - playdayz/shinobar
ffconvert 1.2 - shinobar
sfs-load 1.3 - shinobar
PupControl 1.8.8 - radky
Sylpheed 3.1.2 - playdayz
mtpaint 3.40 - don570
PupApps 1.6.2 - radky
PupSnap 1.6.3 - radky
pprocess 2.2.4 - zigbert
Pburn 3.4.3 - zigbert
firewallstate 2.1 - tasmod
grub4dos 1.7.2 - shinobar
isomaster 1.3.9 - BarryK
pbackup 3.1.9 - zigbert
pfilesearch 1.28 - zigbert
pfind 4.24 - zigbert
PupClockset 1.8 - radky
PupSysinfo 2.1.2 - radky

41 Extra drivers - tempestuous This is all of the extra drivers that tempestuous has prepared for Lupu since its release. He has quietly been making Lucid more useful for many people.

Lupu-528 TESTING 01a -> http://diddywahdiddy.net/Puppy500/lupu-528-TESTING01a.iso
7da60e0260e9570d10c247d30091e542

Here are the extra drivers. All thanks to rerwin, who had the idea to include the drivers and who compiled the list. And of course to tempestuous who built them all in the first place.

acx-mac80211-20110602-k2.6.33.2.pet from http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=443985#443985
ath5k-patched-k2.6.33.2.pet from http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=444659#444659
tg3-3.110-k2.6.33.2.pet from http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=447938#447938
broadcom_sta-5.6.48.36-i486.pet from http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=421596#421596 referenced from http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=448464#448464 needs preference: "ssb:b43"
Puppy5.1-WPA-hotfix.pet from http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=448997#448997 #lost since 5.1.1
rfkill-upgrade-k2.6.33.2.pet from http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=452093#452093
xhci-k2.6.33.2.pet from http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=453853#453853 already in lupu002-patch-6
r8192se_pci-k2.6.33.2.pet and 3 others from http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=462469#462469 needs
preference: "r8192_pci:r8192se_pci"
sn9c102-k2.6.33.2.pet from http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=469698#469698 and...
libv4l-0.6.1.pet from http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=469701#469701
rt5370sta-v2.5.0.1-k2.6.33.2.pet and 2 others from http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=481085#481085
rt3090sta-v2.4.0.4-k2.6.33.2.pet and 2 others from http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=494618#494618
orinoco_usb-git20101211-k2.6.33.2.pet from http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=495672#495672
iwlagn-firmware-update-k2.6.33.2.pet from http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=497421#497421
hid-logitech-k2.6.33.2.pet and perhaps joystick-utils.pet from http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=500184#500184
w35und-k2.6.33.2.pet from http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=500722#500722
rt3070sta-v2.3.0.1-k2.6.33.2.pet from http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=513360#513360 should be made available as an alternative to the latest version, but not included in the ISO.
ar5523-svn-r29060-k2.6.33.2.pet from http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=513414#513414
snd-emu10k1-firmware.pet from http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=515568#515568
dvb-usb-rtl2832u_k2.6.33.2.pet from http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=522199#522199
hostap-upgrade-k2.6.33.2.pet and prism-NV-firmware-1.8.2.pet from http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=525677#525677
qcaux-k2.6.33.2.pet from http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=526920#526920
jmb38x_xd-k2.6.33.2.pet from http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=564015#564015
dialup_modem_drivers-agere-lucent-k2.6.33.2-20110913.pet and 2 others from http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=564112#564112
dialup_modem_drivers-intel-537-2010_07_19-k2.6.33.2.pet and 3 others from http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=564113#564113 Could be left as optional packages.
cdc-acm-update-k2.6.33.2.pet from http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=578318#578318
dvb-usb-af903x-k2.6.33.2.pet and 1 other from http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=584751#584751
meye-k2.6.33.2.pet from http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=592101#592101 This might require a "rules" file to get the driver loaded.

.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Fri 03 Feb 2012, 12:45    Post_subject:  

Would you like a new browser to go with that TESTING ISO?

Google Chrome 17 Beta -> http://diddywahdiddy.net/Puppy500/Google_Chrome-17b-Lucid.pet

Firefox 10 -> http://diddywahdiddy.net/Puppy500/Firefox-10-Lucid.pet

Seamonkey 2.7 -> http://diddywahdiddy.net/Puppy500/Seamonkey-2.7-Lucid.pet

If you are already using the Firefox 9.0.1-2 pet for Lucid it seems OK to let it update Help -> About Firefox.

If you are already using Seamonkey 2.6.1 it seems OK to let it update. Help -> Check for Update

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 03 Feb 2012, 12:51    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Opera 11.61 -> Coming soon

Terryphi has already made a opera 6.2 sfs for Wary and Raffy
and that one worked well on Lupu528-004 too.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Brown Mouse


Joined: 09 Jun 2009
Posts: 449
Location: Tenerife Canary Islands

PostPosted: Fri 03 Feb 2012, 14:33    Post_subject:  

Lupu-528 TESTING 01a

Downloaded the .iso,mounted it and extracted the necessary files to a test directory and booted using grub.
Straight to desktop settings,chose local etc.Network connection and sound both present.
Changed from 'Openbox' to 'JWM' using 'WM Switcher'.
Used Dillo to download 'Google Chrome 17 Beta'(which must have Flash already installed).
Graphics looking crystal clear before I've even installed the correct driver.

Looking real good so far Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3431
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sat 04 Feb 2012, 02:21    Post_subject:  

No Mouse playdayz.

"""""""""""

Dell Studio XPS 1340

On my usb boot

Screen is 1280 x 720

Plays up if you try to modify it...locks up.

Slacko have a mesa driver pet which I have not tested.
Dell is a bitch.

""""""""""""

I forgot to connect the usb mouse when booting.

On desktop bootup >> there is no detection of

Dell...Acer ..Lenovo >> usb mouse.
Seems like the power doesn't get there...no lights on mice.

Wireless mouse >> Logitec >>> no detection.

Booted again fresh...mouse lights up ..>> works

But immediately after the Personalise setting screen comes up,
it's dead in the water.

This is a stunner...Fault.
Haven't seen this in years mate.

And now you've been taken to the dark side by ttuuxxx.
VW desktop.

I will boot off cd soon....burning now.

Same result.

::::::::::

On the bright side >> b43 broadcom is detected.

I had to add it to the wireless setup in networking.

Not the simple wireless setup....
which however does see my network out of the box.

Interface you have selected uses the wl module
not included in our list of modules supporting wpa encryption
""blah..blah etc. "

After I add it to the list I see it come up as broadcom.

""""""""""

Anyway I smiled when the b43 worked.

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3431
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sat 04 Feb 2012, 06:48    Post_subject:  

Working from my old 2.8 Celeron no name desktop.

Gigabyte board.

No problems as yet.
Mouse still working as i post.

Could it be the mouse that awed???

Or a Dell thingy.

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 04 Feb 2012, 07:19    Post_subject:  

seems to have solved itself. Have no idea how.
Retrovol was stuck on 69% but now it is 100%
as I want it too but I did nothing to make it change Smile
will be interesting to see when it goes back to 69% again

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Sat 04 Feb 2012, 13:43    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Booted again fresh...mouse lights up ..>> works

But immediately after the Personalise setting screen comes up,
it's dead in the water.

And now you've been taken to the dark side by ttuuxxx.
VW desktop.

On the bright side >> b43 broadcom is detected.

cthisbear, Good news on the broadcom anyway. The Testing ISO is experimental--with a lot of stuff. It is designed to test some new stuff and concepts rather than to be an immediate replacement for 5.2.8.004. We might play with variations of the Testing ISO for quite a while before replacing 5.2.8.004, if ever. Do you mean that after Personalize Settings the screen is frozen or that the mouse stops working? If the mouse is not detected you might try removing the usb plug and reinserting it in a different usb port.

I didn't know ttuuxxx had used the VW--well, it's a good one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Pelo


Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 3221
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Sat 04 Feb 2012, 14:05    Post_subject: pas de son / No sound
Sub_title: C'est très pénible its boring !
 

Bonjour. Je vais abandonner cette distro. Il faut rajouter le flashplayer, et la carte son ne se met pas à jour ! Les autres distros fonctionnent
I Have tried again this distro, but she is under the others about sound.
I dont succeed in getting any noise from it.
I definitely give up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1460
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Sat 04 Feb 2012, 15:48    Post_subject: B43 experiences  

Hi playdayz

A pristine, manual, frugal install of the 528testing iso on my HP550 with B43 wifi.

Definite different behaviour compared to all other Puppies to date.

The wl driver is loaded instead of the usual b43 driver and the wifi is called eth1 instead of wlan0.

Things looked promising to begin with as I seemed to establish a connection (see screenies) with Barry's sns - but this did not survive a reboot - the error log is attached.

Then tried Dougal's Network Wizard - same behaviour - established an initial connection which then did not survive a reboot.

So tried Frisbee and the results were the same.....

I've seen some mention of blacklisting ssb and b43 - but I thought this was to get wl to load in the first place - ssb does seem to be loaded after the reboot - see attached lsmod output. I've tried blacklisting ssb but that doesn't seem to make a difference. The output from dmesg does seem to suggest that b43 and ssb are being loaded....

So for my b43 which is a 4311 with version 13 firmware - this new lupu does not work as well as the old version.

If there is anything else you'd like me to test then I'm very happy to do so.

[edit]After more "testing" I've found that Dougal's Network Wizard will reconnect after a reboot if the setup sequence is repeated but the saved profile is used....

I'm using wpa2 encryption - wonder if this is a factor??[/edit]

Cheers
peebee
lsmod.txt.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  lsmod.txt.gz 
Filesize  2.8 KB 
Downloaded  203 Time(s) 
snslog.txt.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  snslog.txt.gz 
Filesize  1.15 KB 
Downloaded  191 Time(s) 
dmesg.txt.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  dmesg.txt.gz 
Filesize  2.77 KB 
Downloaded  186 Time(s) 
ipinfo.png
 Description   
 Filesize   40.53 KB
 Viewed   488 Time(s)

ipinfo.png

sns.png
 Description   
 Filesize   42.67 KB
 Viewed   1217 Time(s)

sns.png


_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Sat 04 Feb 2012, 17:20    Post_subject:  

528testing frugal install to ext4 hdd on hp dual core p6100 pfix=ram. wl driver auto-detected on eth1 with frisbee, wifi connection made and persistent through reboot.

enjoy the display characteristics, 1024x768 and connected to ext HDMI monitor the screen is filled on the laptop. all other puppies tried to date given the above leave the laptop monitor chopped on the sides giving a rather box appearance. good job!

display at 1600x900 showed same characteristics as above.

everything tried works so far. thanks
SysInfo-Summary-120204.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  SysInfo-Summary-120204.gz 
Filesize  11.9 KB 
Downloaded  307 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Volhout


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 402

PostPosted: Sat 04 Feb 2012, 17:44    Post_subject: First run OK  

Test image burned on CD, added Chrome pet.
Full install on EXT2 partition went flawless. Default screen resolution was 1024x768 via firstrun screen set to 1280x1024. No problems. Even internet via wireless worked instantly (using a USB type N dongle). Also after reboot, works flawless. Mail works OK. Chrome works, flash is working. installed some eye candy.

At shutdown I got the question to make a save file (this was full install). Why is that. I thought a full install didn't need a save file ? I must be wrong.

I am currently struggling with CUPS, it won't detect my USB connected printer, and there is no selection for USB in the manual "add printer". I'll spend some more time on this. But I fear it is a 528-005 bug, since earlier 528 cups version 1.4.3 does detect it, and this 1.4.3 version does not detect it.
It is a multi function USB device (scanner/printer/card reader) and none of it's functions is detected.

Volhout

P.S. I noticed you have the RT3090 support in this (thanks rerwin). I will try it on my eee-pc 1001ha also.

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 75 of 190 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, ..., 188, 189, 190 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1520s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0385s) ][ GZIP on ]