Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Oct 2014, 16:29
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How to boot puppy from windows XP with grub4dos
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 762

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jan 2012, 00:02    Post_subject:  How to boot puppy from windows XP with grub4dos
Sub_title: NO CD needed (frugal install into XP = easy , fast, simple)
 

Download grub4dos from
http://sourceforge.net/projects/grub4dos/files/GRUB4DOS/grub4dos%200.4.4/grub4dos-0.4.4.zip/download
Open grub4dos-0.4.4.zip
Extract grldr and menu.lst to C:\

Add this line to the end of file C:\boot.ini :
Code:
C:\grldr="show grub4dos menu"


Download the puppy ISO file you want (for example wary 5.2.2)
Create a new folder in C: called Wary-5.2.2
Extract all files from ISO to C:\Wary-5.2.2\

Modify file C:\menu.lst to this :
Code:
default 0
color cyan/blue white/blue
timeout 5

title Wary 5.2.2 frugall install
root (hd0,0)
kernel /Wary-5.2.2/vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 psubdir=Wary-5.2.2
initrd /Wary-5.2.2/initrd.gz

Reboot, you will have the choice between xp and grub4dos menu.

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
GustavoYz


Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 897
Location: .ar

PostPosted: Sun 22 Jan 2012, 05:37    Post_subject:  

Really nice tips, but wondering if that will bring Win** fragmentation issues as has been reported before.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sat 04 Feb 2012, 22:29    Post_subject: Puppy Linux Windows Installer  

Nice, but using Puppy Linux Windows Installer is easier and safe.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=61404

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 762

PostPosted: Sat 16 Jun 2012, 09:41    Post_subject:  

Windows needs defragmentation before.
This method is manual, the fastest and easiest.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 16 Jun 2012, 12:42    Post_subject: Re: How to multi-boot puppy from xp
Sub_title: Easiest way, no cd needed
 

linuxcbon wrote:
...
Modify C: menu.lst to this :
Code:
default 0
color cyan/blue white/blue
timeout 20
title Puppy Linux
kernel (hd0,0)/vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0
initrd (hd0,0)/initrd.gz


Add this line to the end C: boot.ini :
Code:
C:\grldr="Wary 5.2.2"


Reboot, you will have the choice between xp and puppy.
You can also add other distributions to menu.lst .


No criticism but if one want to add other Puppies in frugal install
then it would be better if one start from scratch and make the menu.lst
more like this


Code:
default 0
color cyan/blue white/blue
timeout 20
title Puppy Linux Wary 5.2.2
kernel (hd0,0)/Wary522/vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 psubdir=Wary522
initrd (hd0,0)/Wary522initrd.gz


a separate directory for Wary522 would allow you to add
a dir for Lupu 528 and for Slacko and Saluki and FatDog and ...

All of them being in their own sub dir allow for savefile to be in that subdir
and that way none of the other puppies would ask if you want to load the savefile on the root to be loaded?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 762

PostPosted: Sat 16 Jun 2012, 12:56    Post_subject:  

You are right nooby, I modify the howto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 17 Jun 2012, 01:45    Post_subject:  

Thanks linuxcbon.

I know too little and my memory fade too fast for my liking
but this one root=/dev/ram0

didn't we have a debate on it some days or weeks ago and
concluded it is not needed? Or is that my memory messing it up?

How did you find out that it is really needed? Smile

Edit my poor memory gets worse everyday. Here it is
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=628570#628570

Quote:
"Starting with Puppy 3, that option was eliminated."

So no wonder I got confused about that one. I had written on it two times
but forgot all about it. Now you know Smile Remind me next time I do forget again.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Hugh


Joined: 24 Jun 2006
Posts: 136
Location: Imperial Warmongering Dystopia of Amerika

PostPosted: Fri 28 Sep 2012, 00:44    Post_subject:  

Thanks linuxcbon for this simple and straight-
forward procedure. I've done it on my
most recently acquired older comuter which
has XP and it works wonderfully.

I am a great fan of Grub4Dos - I use it on all
of my machines.

The line which is added to boot.ini:
Code:
C:\grldr="show grub menu"


includes the text to be displayed in the
boot menu. In mine I've changed the
"show grub menu" to "Grub Puppy Menu."

_________________
Shuttle Spacewalker HOT-661/P Main Board:
PII-350MHz: 640MB RAM: First Puppy: 2.00
HDD Filesystem: FAT32/NTFS/ext3; Frugal Always
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9200
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 28 Sep 2012, 12:44    Post_subject:  

There's a bit of important information missing here. In most Windows installs, boot.ini is a hidden system file. So the user needs to know how to unhide it.

[Update] Here's how:

1. Run Start > Run > cmd

2. Type the following commands
Code:
cd \  (this is a backslash)
attrib -r -h -s boot.ini
edit boot.ini


3. Modify the file and save it. You can also edit the menu.lst file if you want.

4. Run
Code:
attrib +r +h +s boot.ini

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
amigo

Joined: 02 Apr 2007
Posts: 2257

PostPosted: Sat 29 Sep 2012, 05:04    Post_subject:  

Yeah, you need to unhide and make writable the boot.ini file before modifying it, and changes these attributes back when finished.
The XP bootloader can chainload any other bootloader you like, grub, grub2, grub4dos, syslinux, lilo, etc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sat 29 Sep 2012, 07:22    Post_subject:  

amigo wrote:
Yeah, you need to unhide and make writable the boot.ini file before modifying it, and changes these attributes back when finished.
The XP bootloader can chainload any other bootloader you like, grub, grub2, grub4dos, syslinux, lilo, etc.

HOW ?
An example boot.ini line would be nice .
Quote:
[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(5)\WINDOWS
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(5)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /NOEXECUTE=OPTIN /FASTDETECT
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(1)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional (Safe mode)" /BASEVIDEO /SOS
c:\CMDCONS\BOOTSECT.DAT="Microsoft Windows XP recovery console" /CMDCONS
c:\linux.bin="Grub (loader)"

http://askubuntu.com/questions/115993/how-to-add-ubuntu-to-the-windows-xp-boot-ini-file
which does pre-require installing grub (bootloader) to the superblock of the linux partition and dd the mbr-of-the-linux-superblock simply into / toplevel of windows . Never have tried that .

BTW : Vista seems not to have a "boot.ini" file . find -iname "boot.ini" showed nothing .
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ICPUG

Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 1290
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 03 Oct 2012, 08:35    Post_subject:  

Karl

Vista and Windows 7 boot in a different way to XP. It does not use a boot.ini file but a Boot Configuration Data (BCD) source. This is a binary file/database.

To edit the BCD you have to use a command line tool, BCDEDIT, in Windows or get hold of a freebie graphical editor -there is one from Neowin.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 552
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 03 Oct 2012, 09:01    Post_subject: How to boot puppy from windows XP with grub4dos  

ICPUG/Karl

Gentlemen there is actually no need to edit anything on the C: drive if you use the boot method described here:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=80181

Post subject: How to Dual boot Puppy & XP from ANY removable media.
Subject description: (A simplified Lin`N`Win type method using syslinux & grub4dos)

I realise however that the original subject of this thread was "How to boot puppy from windows XP with grub4dos"

_________________
Regards ETP
Accessibility Pups: -- Magoo -- The Pup With No Name -- MouseCam -- Obedient
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ICPUG

Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 1290
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 05 Oct 2012, 08:10    Post_subject:  

True enough ETP.

The Lin'N'Win approach was written to cater for people who did not have bootable USB in the BIOS or even a CD drive so it had to boot from the hard drive.

That's not so relevant with current hardware but I still like to boot straight away without the need to plug a stick in or load a CD. Each has there own preferences.

Good work though for making your approach available.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
slenkar

Joined: 10 Jul 2009
Posts: 214

PostPosted: Fri 12 Oct 2012, 13:04    Post_subject:  

I unzipped an ISO image of legacyOS2 and Im trying to boot that instead of having to burn a cd
I get this message..

looking for puppy sda1...sda2...sda3....

cant find puppy on bootable media
pdev1=

my iso was unzipped to /legacy
grub can find vmlinz and initrd and the root is set as /legacy
so I dont know why this happens

EDIT. if i move the sfs files to the root the installation process goes further but then says kernel panic: cannot mount fs to block
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0918s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0063s) ][ GZIP on ]