Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 17 Dec 2014, 17:41
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Ethernet
dhcpcd in rc.local not working in cross-imaged puppy
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
turbodig

Joined: 20 Feb 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon 20 Jul 2009, 12:58    Post_subject:  dhcpcd in rc.local not working in cross-imaged puppy  

I've got the following in my /etc/rc.d/rc.local: (Puppy 4.21)
(I've got the appropriate nic modules loading at boot)

Code:

ifconfig eth0 up
rm /etc/dhcpc/dhcpcd-eth0.*
sleep 5
dhcpcd -t 10 eth0



.... but, I get no IP address.

.....but, if I open an xterm window and type:

dhcpcd -t 10 eth0

I get an IP address, and it works fine, until the next reboot. It's as if the rc.local happens too soon for dhcpcd to be able to work?

If I use the puppy Network setup wizard, it also seems to work fine.
(even after the reboot)

I guess my question, really, is what does the network wizard do under the covers, when you click 'save'?

Thanks,

Scott
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Buenavista

Joined: 23 Jan 2012
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed 08 Feb 2012, 02:16    Post_subject:  

Hi chaps,

Exactly the same issue for me. No reply!

In fact the wizzard perform well, but it doesn't save the config. What happened?

Regards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6462
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 08 Feb 2012, 04:14    Post_subject:  

You'd be much better off posting in a new thread.
_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Buenavista

Joined: 23 Jan 2012
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Thu 09 Feb 2012, 05:31    Post_subject:  

Hi,

Well this post is referenced in google (that's how I am here), so somebody having the same issue would land here directly isn't it?

A new post would not be refferenced imediatly and I think the solution would have to be newly posted again and again (I am pretty sure that's what happened anyway ... unfortunately the reference in google is just a question with no answer). In fact that the whole problematic behind posting new every time ... That does a bad interaction with google referencing (And google is far better than the search feature of the forum even if it's pretty good. In addition google is even recommended on top of the search feature ...).

In fact I meet a lot of issues, with puppy even if it remains appealing. For me that's quite natural since both windows and unbuntu comes with their numerous issues, but most of the post dealing with my issues are empty answer, while I know this is something that have been dealt.

So the real solution would be that an experimented chaps post the link of the best solution, if any ! I am a Puppy linux newbie (I don't like this non respectuous pejorative "Newbie" but anyway) so I am suggesting the following:

I would try the following tonight:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=282586

And keep this referenced post up do tade if it works.

Regards,
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Buenavista

Joined: 23 Jan 2012
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Thu 09 Feb 2012, 17:42    Post_subject:  

Hi chaps,

What is suggested in the link that I posted previously is ok. It works for puppy528. Please find here a quick resume:
Open a terminal then go to
/etc/rc.d
and create a file (ex type geany wifi.sc&) with the following contains:

iwconfig eth1 key 000000
rm -f /var/lib/dhcpcd/*.info
rm -f /var/run/*.pid
dhcpcd -t 30 -h puppyc -d eth1

of course eth1 and 0000000 should be adapted to your environment.

then save and close the file and type in the terminal
chmod 755 wifi.sc

(normaly this file should run your wifi config ok, you could give try by typing the comand: /etc/rc.d/wifi.sc )

then open the file rc.network and go down to the end before the word "exit" then type:
#Johnny Omara FEB 2012
echo "Get an access to internet">/dev/console

/etc/rc.d/wifi.sc

And then it should work perfectly.

Form my own perspective I think erasing the whole rc.network and puting there the manual config would be an optimisation. Maybe not...

Regards,
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Ethernet
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0503s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0043s) ][ GZIP on ]