Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Oct 2014, 23:53
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
Scan for networks with Verizon MIFI 4G in Slacko - Solved
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Frustrated

Joined: 21 Feb 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue 21 Feb 2012, 01:34    Post_subject:  Scan for networks with Verizon MIFI 4G in Slacko - Solved
Sub_title: How to get Slacko to see all wireless networks available?
 

I have a simple question. I'm a newbie to Slacko and technically challenged so need an easy answer to what should be an easy question. In Ubuntu, Windows, Mac--I can click on one button and all available wireless networks will pop up and I can choose the one I want to use...usually my MIFI but at other times other networks in the area (like a Starbucks, etc) . But in Slacko all I get are all the options for configuring a modem, phone numbers, etc. I don't need any of that. My MIFI is configured and works with Ubuntu on my computer, my wife's computer and even our Canon printer.

I have spent hours searching this forum for an answer but seem to be missing it.

Thanks for what I hope is an easy answer.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Tue 21 Feb 2012, 02:23    Post_subject:  

Go to menu/setup/internet connection wizard/internet by wired or wireless lan...then use
1) simple network setup for auto configuration
2) choose to install frisbee for similar auto configuration, , or
3) use the 'dougal' network wizard and select scan, if your mifi driver is loaded, or setup manually

It may not be a one-button solution, but it works well when you get the hang of it - remembering to use security settings/passphrase as required

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Frustrated

Joined: 21 Feb 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue 21 Feb 2012, 11:07    Post_subject:  

THANKS! That is exactly what I needed. Frisbee worked like a charm. And so is Puppy. I'm using an old computer primarily for the internet and when I downloaded the new version of Ubuntu it slowed the computer down to a crawl, especially with heavy graphics displays. Windows totally crashes. Slacko is working very fast.
Thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Tue 21 Feb 2012, 12:04    Post_subject:  

You're welcome
Can I ask you to edit your 1st post subject line by adding 'Solved' ?
Edit button top r/h/s of that post, thanks

enjoy

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0505s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0125s) ][ GZIP on ]