Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 03 Sep 2014, 03:56
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
LazY Puppy 2.0.2 Final - a Paradise Puppy
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 16 of 49 [723 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, ..., 47, 48, 49 Next
Author Message
minesadorada


Joined: 11 Sep 2011
Posts: 67

PostPosted: Mon 27 Feb 2012, 12:15    Post subject: Lazarus project 20 Questions (XXQ)  

@RSH I've attached updated source code for the XXQLUNUX Lazarus project. Just overwite older files with new.

==Update 29th Feb==
V1.3 now current version
Linux-compliant paths used for xxqlinux. The exe can now be located anywhere and it will find its data on the system.
(Windows-compliant paths used for xxqwin32 and xxqwin64)
500 records pre-installed in xxqdata.dat

ToDo:
1 ) Embed question set in dat file to enable importing and non-destructive merging.
2 ) Package deployment as a PET
xxq_1.3.tar.gz
Description  Update for XXQ (20 Questions) Lazarus project
gz

 Download 
Filename  xxq_1.3.tar.gz 
Filesize  50.86 KB 
Downloaded  140 Time(s) 

Last edited by minesadorada on Thu 01 Mar 2012, 10:03; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RSH


Joined: 05 Sep 2011
Posts: 2420
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon 27 Feb 2012, 18:46    Post subject: Re: Lazarus project  

LazY Puppy Info Center
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=591223#591223
Quick & Easy Information to BugFixes, Updates & more

minesadorada wrote:
@RSH I've attached updated source code for the XXQLUNUX Lazarus project. Just overwite older files with new.

I couldn't resist improving it!


Cool! Cool Thanks alot. Smile

It looks like i am not the only one who is interested in Pascal Sources/Examples. So, everybody please feel free to post Pascal sources inside this thread. Would be nice. Smile

_________________
LazY Puppy
RSH's DNA
SARA B.

Last edited by RSH on Thu 01 Mar 2012, 19:50; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
minesadorada


Joined: 11 Sep 2011
Posts: 67

PostPosted: Wed 29 Feb 2012, 12:23    Post subject: Lazarus cross-compiling  

If you are Lazarus cross-compiling for Linux and Windows, it is well worth reading this:

http://wiki.lazarus.freepascal.org/Multiplatform_Programming_Guide

I have found the guidelines about configuration and data file locations very useful.

GetConfigFile returns a path in Windows that is unavailable to the user (thanks MS!) but it's very useful in linux.

==Feb 29th: Updated source code xxq_1.3 two posts above==
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
minesadorada


Joined: 11 Sep 2011
Posts: 67

PostPosted: Thu 01 Mar 2012, 16:04    Post subject: USB flash  

I have been having a lot of irritations with PMount and USB sticks under Lazy Puppy.

On startup, not all plugged-in USB sticks appear on the desktop (nor do my DVD and CDROM drives) The one that shows sometimes is a 16GB vFat.

When I start PMOUNT, only after selecting "MUT" does it see one of the USB sticks, and it takes a long time 'Probing Hardware' each time.

The stick that seems to cause the problem (a Sandisk Cruzer) is formatted as 2GB vFAT.

There is no hardware problem with the Sandisk, as Windows hot-plugs it just fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3263
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 01 Mar 2012, 19:59    Post subject:  

RSH wrote:
I like your right-click-tools very much. But do you know any possibility to show the entries in German or any other languages?

This would be really nice - if possible.


I've been thinking about this problem for a couple of weeks.

There is one method that might work but it would require
a lot of programming knowledge. Here's how it
would work.

Download my French version of Fluppy linux HERE
This is the Package
and study the pinstall script that I wrote for that package
( I actually stole it from the French guys)

What this script does is discover the current LANG environment
and then acts accordingly (with a warning message either in
English or French).


So here's my idea ....

1) Find the LANG ENVIRONMENT
2) Switch all files in 'OpenWith' folder
from one language to another.
For example if $LANG is 'en' do a switch (or move 'mv') of the file
.../OpenWith/.audio_x-ms-wma/Edit with mhwaveedit

and put another with a German name in its place.

Of course if $LANG is 'de' the transfer would be in the
other direction.

It's a lot of work and I don't know of any version of
Linux that does this, but it's my only feasible idea.

I think you should concentrate on making Lazy the best
German language ' Minimalist' distributution. And that means
getting the best German tranlations possible.

_____________________________________________



______________________________________________

Last edited by don570 on Thu 01 Mar 2012, 20:28; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3263
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 01 Mar 2012, 20:20    Post subject:  

The reason why I chose the mini-clock icon for Bacon Recorder is
because it's the only the only clock icon that is available
in Puppy and I believe in 'Minimalism'. Pschedule uses it too.
I hate how it looks though,and others do too so they
replace it with a nice clock icon.
They usually make a link. Look at Scottman's Akita or
Pemasu's Exprimo to see how they did it.

________________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RSH


Joined: 05 Sep 2011
Posts: 2420
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu 01 Mar 2012, 20:31    Post subject: Re: USB flash  

LazY Puppy Info Center
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=591223#591223
Quick & Easy Information to BugFixes, Updates & more

minesadorada wrote:
I have been having a lot of irritations with PMount and USB sticks under Lazy Puppy.

On startup, not all plugged-in USB sticks appear on the desktop (nor do my DVD and CDROM drives) The one that shows sometimes is a 16GB vFat.

When I start PMOUNT, only after selecting "MUT" does it see one of the USB sticks, and it takes a long time 'Probing Hardware' each time.

The stick that seems to cause the problem (a Sandisk Cruzer) is formatted as 2GB vFAT.

There is no hardware problem with the Sandisk, as Windows hot-plugs it just fine.

I am sorry to read about these problems using usb sticks and pmount. I did never run into any problems using my usb sticks and/or external hd's. Usually CD/DVD drives are only shown after boot up if a CD/DVD is inserted in the drive.

I do use the following usb sticks:

- Sandisk Cruzer 8BG (FAT32)
- Sandisk Cruzer Micro 16GB (FAT32)
- Ut163 1GB (FAT32) - i forgot the name of the manufacturer and it is not shown in pmount
- Sony 8BG (FAT32) - 2 Sticks, no information about type available

I do use the following external hard disks:

- Western Digital 1TB (NTFS) WDC WD10EARS-22Y5B1
- Samsung 1TB (NTFS) HD103SI

All hd's and usb sticks are always shown on desktop, CD/DVD is always shown on desktop if disc is inserted and probing hardware takes mostly less than 1 second (max. 3 seconds, if all usb sticks and hd's are plugged in). That's why I did never try the 'mut' utility.

The only difference i did ever see, is: boot up takes more time the more usb sticks and/or hd's are plugged in at boot up.

Does the usb sticks correctly appear if plugged in after boot up?

_________________
LazY Puppy
RSH's DNA
SARA B.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RSH


Joined: 05 Sep 2011
Posts: 2420
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu 01 Mar 2012, 23:01    Post subject:  

LazY Puppy Info Center
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=591223#591223
Quick & Easy Information to BugFixes, Updates & more

don570 wrote:
I've been thinking about this problem for a couple of weeks.

There is one method that might work but it would require
a lot of programming knowledge. Here's how it
would work.

... ...

... ...

It's a lot of work and I don't know of any version of
Linux that does this, but it's my only feasible idea.

Oh yes, i meant to know it would be a that hard job.

don570 wrote:
I think you should concentrate on making Lazy the best
German language ' Minimalist' distribution. And that means
getting the best German translations possible.

Yes, i do agree. To have German translations is already always what i do have an eye on. Smile

Minimalist Distribution, does this mean i should make the iso smaller, build out some programs? Any suggestions on this?

_________________
LazY Puppy
RSH's DNA
SARA B.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pete22


Joined: 08 May 2009
Posts: 239
Location: Utah, USA

PostPosted: Fri 02 Mar 2012, 16:25    Post subject:  English Icons on desktop  

Hello Lazy pup fans

I am a non geek who is trying lazy pup.

I saw the info on page 3 on how to change the icons to english. However, it did not work. I tried both ways.

I can manually fix them, but I want to understand how puppy works, so I want understand what is working under the hood, or not and why. I am hoping to make my own puppy, and this is a first step in the learning curve.
You all seem very helpful. I hope you will be patient with my many questions.

My brother was hoping to find qsynth in lazypup, but did not find it. What do you use instead?


Pete
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pete22


Joined: 08 May 2009
Posts: 239
Location: Utah, USA

PostPosted: Fri 02 Mar 2012, 16:54    Post subject:  sfs on the fly  

I notice that this program looks for your sfs files that we download under root. It is my understanding that root is inside the savefile. I did not save mine there, but at mnt/home/.

I edited the item at the bottom where it says that more sfs are available. However, it still does not see any of the sfs that are listed there. Crying or Very sad

[ My brother saved his sfs under root. It maxed out his save file.}

Since the size of all the sfs are more than would fit on a dvd; would it not be better for lazypup to save them outside the savefile?

Pete
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RSH


Joined: 05 Sep 2011
Posts: 2420
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri 02 Mar 2012, 17:09    Post subject: Re: English Icons on desktop  

Pete22 wrote:
Hello Lazy pup fans

I am a non geek who is trying lazy pup.

I saw the info on page 3 on how to change the icons to english. However, it did not work. I tried both ways.

I can manually fix them, but I want to understand how puppy works, so I want understand what is working under the hood, or not and why. I am hoping to make my own puppy, and this is a first step in the learning curve.
You all seem very helpful. I hope you will be patient with my many questions.

Nice, you give LazY Puppy a try. Very Happy

The German Icons should appear as English icons if everything has been done correctly - long time ago, i did hear of this making problems (as you have seen) Confused

Actually i am unfortunately not available to improve this again. But one should work:

- copy the script from page 3 http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=593543#593543 into the following directorys

- /root/.desksetup as custompin
- /root/Choices/ROX-Filer as PuppyPin

After this do restart X Server (shutdown menu and GUI)

You might need to run menu-desktop-desktop settings-desksetup templates for desk icons.
Pete22 wrote:
My brother was hoping to find qsynth in lazypup, but did not find it. What do you use instead?

Pete


Actually i am working on a new version of LazY Puppy, which i will publish within the next days. After that i will update the LazY528-Audio-Midi-Edit.sfs and therefor not only qsynth will find its place inside the sfs.

So, if your brother could wait a few days - maybe he will be lucky after that time? Very Happy

The new iso is also the reason, why i am not available to improve - i am actually running and working with the new iso. So there are many changes and one thing is the desktop icons. They are localized in the new LazY Puppy iso and will be shown in your preferred default language, after choosing desktop icon layout - actually English and German.

_________________
LazY Puppy
RSH's DNA
SARA B.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4231
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sun 04 Mar 2012, 13:54    Post subject: Re: sfs on the fly  

Pete22 wrote:
I notice that this program looks for your sfs files that we download under root. It is my understanding that root is inside the savefile. I did not save mine there, but at mnt/home/.

I edited the item at the bottom where it says that more sfs are available. However, it still does not see any of the sfs that are listed there. Crying or Very sad

[ My brother saved his sfs under root. It maxed out his save file.}

Since the size of all the sfs are more than would fit on a dvd; would it not be better for lazypup to save them outside the savefile?

Pete


Hello, Pete.

Your question is not actually a question, it's more of a general question.

In Puppy we make a distinction between the variables $HOME and $home.

$HOME refers to /root, while $home refers to /mnt/home
(the disk
or
drive
or
even the directory on that drive
where your puppy_save file resides).

SFS files should never be saved in /root -- they will indeed max out your pup_save file in no time.

They should be saved - as you did - in $home (the one with the little "h").

I am not sure what you mean in your second paragraph. If you want to load sfs files at boot up, you have to go to menu item System -> Bootmanager configure bootup and click on the first "green light" (at the top). A two-panel table will appear where you can add or remove sfs files.

There is also the solution of the sfs_grabber. Type in console "sfs_grabber" (without the quotes), and drag and drop the sfs file you want in the rectangle. Very simple.

Last note: if you are running from a DVD or CD, only this last sfs_grabber solution is available. The way I understand it, that's because Puppy booting from DVD is the only case where the $HOME and &home layers are in the same place... When you boot from usb or hard drive they are distinct, as I mentioned above.

I suppose you were booting your Puppy from DVD? Hence the confusion.

Wherever you boot your Puppy from (DVD or hard drive), the sfs's should indeed be outside the Puppy system, on a USB stick or a hard drive, preferably in $home, if at all possible.

I hope this helps.

BFN.

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
RSH


Joined: 05 Sep 2011
Posts: 2420
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon 05 Mar 2012, 21:05    Post subject: Re: sfs on the fly  

Pete22 wrote:
I notice that this program looks for your sfs files that we download under root. It is my understanding that root is inside the savefile. I did not save mine there, but at mnt/home/.

I edited the item at the bottom where it says that more sfs are available. However, it still does not see any of the sfs that are listed there. Crying or Very sad

[ My brother saved his sfs under root. It maxed out his save file.}

Since the size of all the sfs are more than would fit on a dvd; would it not be better for lazypup to save them outside the savefile?

Pete

Hello Pete22,

it looks like you did send your second post while i was working on the reply to your first post. Sorry, i have just overseen that.

The handling and use of the LazY Puppy sfs files is simple and easy. Just save the downloaded sfs files in directory of lazy_528.sfs. After this you can load every sfs file by using the menu entries in the sfs menu or by using the sfs loader (also in the sfs menu). To unload the sfs click again the menu entry or the button inside the sfs loader. It is much easier as to use the sfs-load on-the-fly because the menu entries do call scripts that call the sfs-load on-the-fly with a given file name. So there is just one click, when you get asked if you want to load the sfs. Cool

It is as easy, as possible.. Exclamation

Do not save sfs files in /root or any other place inside the save file. Exclamation

Pete22 wrote:
I edited the item at the bottom where it says that more sfs are available. However, it still does not see any of the sfs that are listed there

Which item did you edit?
Which application does say: "that more sfs are available"?

Thanks to musher0 for his general information. Cool

_________________
LazY Puppy
RSH's DNA
SARA B.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pete22


Joined: 08 May 2009
Posts: 239
Location: Utah, USA

PostPosted: Wed 07 Mar 2012, 00:41    Post subject:  

Thank you RSH and musher0.

You both gave me a lot of new information that I needed to know and will study carefully.

My question actually is slightly different than what you thought.

Follow me as I pretend to boot up LazYpup. first time.
Put disk in drive and reboot computer. '
Puppy plays a minute or so and then you get the desktop.
Hopefully I see your welcome message and the personal settings comes up. I answer the settings.
I set up my internet connection.
And then I start looking at all the toys in your quick pet. I want them, so I click on the first one.
Up pops default browser. to the page for me to download it. Great.
I click on the link to start downloading.....

Now here is the problem.... I have not met a puppy yet that has the default browser set to save to anywhere except some where in root.

If I haven't made a save file yet, I save to mount/sda1. If I have made a savefile I save to mount/home.

I told my brother to save there, but he was SO excited to try LazYpup that he forgot to change the default download location. So he downloaded everything to default location [which is always in root] until his Puppy crashed.

So my question: Is it possible to reset the download location in the default browser to be outside of the safefile so nongeeks don't make that mistake?

I suspect you geeky folks change that default setting without even thinking. However, a non geek does not know what will happen if they don't change it.

This also brings up another point. I often run a live cd with a save file. I would do a frugal install, except I mess up grub 80% of the time. When is the best time to do the save file or install? [However, If I am thinking correctly. Question the browser issue will still be a problem unless you do a full install.]

If it can't be changed, can a warning be placed in quick pet?

For the other question, I need to load a picture to this forum so you can see what I am talking about. How do I do this?

Thanks for you good work!

Pete

Last edited by Pete22 on Wed 07 Mar 2012, 01:02; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RSH


Joined: 05 Sep 2011
Posts: 2420
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed 07 Mar 2012, 00:55    Post subject:  

Pete22 wrote:
Is it possible to reset the default in the default browser to be /mount/home so nongeeks don't make that mistake?

Yes, it is possible, to do so.

Start firefox and open firefox menu-edit-preferences. Choose tab General. Then you can set the path to a new download target directory. You can also set to get asked at every download where to save.

It should be easy.

It would make sense and would end in a good result for easy use of sfs files, to change the download directory to directory of lazy_528.sfs! (only for downloading the LazY Puppy sfs files) Smile

For any other downloads you can choose any other directory.

EDIT: To add a picture to a post, choose "add attachment" while editing a post (it is always below the edit field.

EDIT2:No, i did not change the download directory. Usually the paths are set to /root because it is not obviously, what hardware (hd, usb, flash-card etc) is available at the users computer.

/root is existing in every system. That's the simple reason. Smile

_________________
LazY Puppy
RSH's DNA
SARA B.

Last edited by RSH on Wed 07 Mar 2012, 01:25; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 16 of 49 [723 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, ..., 47, 48, 49 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1298s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0122s) ][ GZIP on ]