Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Dec 2014, 15:33
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
get signal through wlan resend out eth to router?
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Author Message
buford

Joined: 04 May 2009
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Mon 27 Feb 2012, 14:24    Post subject:  get signal through wlan resend out eth to router?  

sharing a internet signal through a router is simple with windows but how do i set up with puppy?

im getting the signal from a neighbor which i wish to resend out my eth to my router which is wireless.i have the dhcp turned off on the router i know how to set all that up.also i am getting a good signal wireless.i just dont know how to do the settings to share.or if i have to bridge or download something.

any advice may help thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Tue 28 Feb 2012, 18:07    Post subject:  

You need to set network as a bridge

I can only find info for bridging out on wifi....I don't know if you can figure it out from that?

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=67886

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=68127

bridgeutils.pet d/l

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?mode=attach&id=41195

else tldp - a bit more complex....?

http://tldp.org/HOWTO/Ethernet-Bridge-netfilter-HOWTO-3.html

HTH

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
buford

Joined: 04 May 2009
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Wed 29 Feb 2012, 03:17    Post subject:  

thanks for all that help, i will study up and work with it tomorrow.then i will let you know what i come up with Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
buford

Joined: 04 May 2009
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Thu 01 Mar 2012, 03:20    Post subject:  

would think this is all i need:

rm -f /var/lib/dhcpcd/*.info
rm -f /var/run/*.pid

ifconfig wlan0 0.0.0.0 up
ifconfig eth0 0.0.0.0 up
modprobe bridge
brctl addbr br0
brctl addif br0 wlan0
brctl addif br0 eth0

however it just isnt working the bridge comes on.do i need to be putting ip numbers or something where the zeros are? example ifconfig wlan0 192.168.1.11up

because all i did was paste those two codes in the terminal as is.and sure the results give me the bridge choice in wizard.but then i click dhcp.all is fine.i plug in my router and loose internet.

btw my dchp on the router is turned off.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
buford

Joined: 04 May 2009
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Thu 01 Mar 2012, 04:05    Post subject:  

well i got this to get the job done instead

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=37520

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=37520
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Thu 01 Mar 2012, 10:51    Post subject:  

That looks cool Very Happy

I note the importance of NOT using puppy's firewall wizard...that's a common stumbling block with 2 interfaces...

well done!

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
buford

Joined: 04 May 2009
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Thu 01 Mar 2012, 13:57    Post subject:  

this is seriously working great.i have their signal coming in strong only to my pc. my pc sending eth signal to routers input port number 1. 3 out ports if needed.but much more importantly wireless net full strength throughout my house.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0502s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0048s) ][ GZIP on ]