Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 23 Oct 2014, 01:57
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
LazY Puppy 2.0.2 Final - a Paradise Puppy
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 17 of 49 [724 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, ..., 47, 48, 49 Next
Author Message
Pete22


Joined: 08 May 2009
Posts: 240
Location: Utah, USA

PostPosted: Wed 07 Mar 2012, 01:23    Post subject:  

Wow, You are fast.

You answered my question even before I finished an edit after I posted.

If I understand you correctly, you will change the default location for saving files in the browser.

Great. This also means I need to make my savefile before I start downloading
so they can all be together. Ok. A good suggestion to give to a nongeek.


Embarassed attachment: I saw those boxes down there but my brain could did not process what they were for. Embarassed

see picture attached

Since I downloaded all my sfs to mount/home I edited it to say mount/home.
But puppy still did not see the "treats' there. Crying or Very sad


Pete Very Happy
lazY528-direct-sfs-load-1.0.0.png
 Description   See box at bottom.
 Filesize   99.29 KB
 Viewed   917 Time(s)

lazY528-direct-sfs-load-1.0.0.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pete22


Joined: 08 May 2009
Posts: 240
Location: Utah, USA

PostPosted: Wed 07 Mar 2012, 01:35    Post subject:  

Also see where your files are trying to load from:
SFS-Load.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   11.78 KB
 Viewed   908 Time(s)

SFS-Load.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RSH


Joined: 05 Sep 2011
Posts: 2420
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed 07 Mar 2012, 01:42    Post subject:  

Pete22 wrote:
Wow, You are fast.

You answered my question even before I finished an edit after I posted.

If I understand you correctly, you will change the default location for saving files in the browser.

Great. This also means I need to make my savefile before I start downloading
so they can all be together. Ok. A good suggestion to give to a nongeek.


Embarassed attachment: I saw those boxes down there but my brain could did not process what they were for. Embarassed

see picture attached

Since I downloaded all my sfs to mount/home I edited it to say mount/home.
But puppy still did not see the "treats' there. Crying or Very sad


Pete Very Happy


No, not i will - you can change the directory where to save downloaded files by using the prefences of firefox (menu edit of firefox)

To be able to load the sfs files go to LazY Puppy menu and choose LazY Puppy preferences.

Change the paths inside the GUI from .../sdd1/... to .../home/...

Do save the sfs files inside directory of lazy_528.sfs. Exclamation Exclamation Exclamation

Lets say you have lazy_528.sfs in /mnt/home/lazy then /mnt/home/lazy must be the entered path.

sdd1 is my partition of LazY Puppy.

If you do not have sdd1 and the sfs files therefor not saved in sdd1, the sfs-loader searches automatically in /root.

_________________
LazY Puppy
RSH's DNA
SARA B.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pete22


Joined: 08 May 2009
Posts: 240
Location: Utah, USA

PostPosted: Wed 07 Mar 2012, 01:58    Post subject:  

Ok. yes I can. And I do, but it took me a lot of crashes before I learned that I needed to do this.

I am hoping to help others avoid this learning curve. Smile

Idea Maybe this program will do the trick. Frugal-symlink found in lighthouse pup5.03 It sees stuff that should not be in the savefile and automatically moves them outside the savefile. It's a really cool application.


Pete
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RSH


Joined: 05 Sep 2011
Posts: 2420
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed 07 Mar 2012, 02:13    Post subject:  

Quote:
but it took me a lot of crashes before I learned that I needed to do this.

Really? Shocked

Ok, i will put clearly information and manual about this issue in the QuickInstall inside the new iso. Smile

Note: the path (edit field) in the lazy direct sfs loader is for extra sfs files on another place/directory.

Try copy some sfs files to /mnt/sda1 and enter /mnt/sda1 into the edit field of lazy direct sfs loader. After clicking OK a GUI comes up where you can select the sfs files at /mnt/sda1. Smile

Should work with every directory.

I did made this in case of not enought space in /mnt/home. Cool

Quote:
Maybe this program will do the trick. Frugal-symlink found in lighthouse pup5.03 It sees stuff that should not be in the savefile and automatically moves them outside the savefile. It's a really cool application.

Can you make an attachment of this program or upload somewhere i can download?

_________________
LazY Puppy
RSH's DNA
SARA B.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
minesadorada


Joined: 11 Sep 2011
Posts: 67

PostPosted: Wed 07 Mar 2012, 10:03    Post subject: Lazy Puppy 5.2.8
Subject description: CUPS
 

Lazy Puppy 5.2.8

Menu/Setup/CUPS Printer Wizard

If I click the CUPS 'Administration' tab, I get '500 Internal Server Error'

Is this a bug?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RSH


Joined: 05 Sep 2011
Posts: 2420
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed 07 Mar 2012, 13:38    Post subject: Re: Lazy Puppy 5.2.8
Subject description: CUPS
 

minesadorada wrote:
Lazy Puppy 5.2.8

Menu/Setup/CUPS Printer Wizard

If I click the CUPS 'Administration' tab, I get '500 Internal Server Error'

Is this a bug?

I can click on every tab without error messages. Did you try this online or offline. Actually i did try this online and it seems to me like cups does need active online connection.

_________________
LazY Puppy
RSH's DNA
SARA B.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pete22


Joined: 08 May 2009
Posts: 240
Location: Utah, USA

PostPosted: Wed 07 Mar 2012, 14:47    Post subject:  frugal-symlink  

Thank you RSH for listening. Very Happy

Frugal-symlink

Confused I only half understand symlinks so I copied this information from the lighthouse documentation:

Frugal-symlink (Move and Link Programs) helps keep the LHPsave from filling up with bulky packages like JavaRE.

All new pets for this release are built with a simple command executed at install and uninstall:

SOURCE_DIR DEST_DIR
frugal-symlink /usr/lib/java java & (in pinstall.sh)

frugal-symlink /usr/lib/java java --remove & (in puninstall.sh)

/usr/sbin/frugal-symlink is just a shell script with a GUI that offers to automatically move and symlink large program directories to a carefully named sub folder of /mnt/home (in a frugal install--where the LHPsave is on a Linux-formatted partition.)

This approach combines the best of both worlds: bulky apps are less apt to fill up the LHPsave--the primary advantage of an SFS, with the ease of click-and-run without rebooting in a Pet package. As with a standard frugal install, the programs moved and linked outside of the LHPsave are stored in a way that still allows sharing the partition with other Puppies / distros.
--

The creator of lighthouse pup is Tazoc. However, he is very ill and not working on his puppy right now. Crying or Very sad If you need more help, maybe a geeky LHP user would help you.

I found a copy of version .05 for you:
http://lhpup.org/source/503/applications/frugal-symlink-0.5.tar.gz

There is a version .9 in lhp 64, but I could not find a copy.
Perhaps if you download the .iso you could find a way to extract it.

http://www.lhpup.org/beta/L64-514/

My suggestion for this script, if it is possible, would be to have the default be to /mnt/home; but on first use offer the user a chance to change the location to a different place if needed.

Have a great day!

Pete
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
minesadorada


Joined: 11 Sep 2011
Posts: 67

PostPosted: Wed 07 Mar 2012, 15:19    Post subject: Re: Lazy Puppy 5.2.8
Subject description: CUPS
 

RSH wrote:
minesadorada wrote:
Lazy Puppy 5.2.8

Menu/Setup/CUPS Printer Wizard

If I click the CUPS 'Administration' tab, I get '500 Internal Server Error'

Is this a bug?

I can click on every tab without error messages. Did you try this online or offline. Actually i did try this online and it seems to me like cups does need active online connection.


Hi RSH,
Lazy Puppy 5.2.8 Frugal install
Active wired ethernet connection
Default browser is SRWare Iron 14.0.850.0
Internet connectivity fine.
Printer is HP Deskjet 5150

The CUPS administration page 500 error has always been there since installing LazyPup so I cannot install my printer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3341
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 07 Mar 2012, 21:19    Post subject:  

I did an interesting experiment using Lazy

I found a way to automatically switch the 'OpenWith' folder between
German and English at the time of changing $LANG.

Instructions : Just install the pet package below and everything
will be done automatically for you. It shouldn't
matter what language you are in while installing.

I used the following script in the pinstall.sh to modify
Shinobar's countrywizard.qs

Code:
#!/bin/sh
rm -rf /root/.config/OpenWith-English
CHECK=`grep "switch right click"  /usr/sbin/countrywizard.qs`
if [ -z "$CHECK" ]; then

sed -e 's/export LANG=\$NEWLANG/export LANG=\$NEWLANG\n# switch right click option menus\nif [ "${LANG:0:2}" != "en" ] \&\& [ -e \/root\/\.config\/OpenWith-German ];then\nmv \/root\/\.config\/rox\.sourceforge\.net\/OpenWith \/root\/\.config\/OpenWith-English\nmv \/root\/\.config\/OpenWith-German \/root\/\.config\/rox\.sourceforge\.net\/OpenWith\nfi\nif [ "${LANG:0:2}" = "en" ] \&\& [ -e \/root\/\.config\/OpenWith-English ];then\nmv \/root\/\.config\/rox\.sourceforge\.net\/OpenWith \/root\/\.config\/OpenWith-German\nmv \/root\/\.config\/OpenWith-English \/root\/\.config\/rox\.sourceforge\.net\/OpenWith\nfi\n/' /usr/sbin/countrywizard.qs > /usr/sbin/countrywizard.qs.copy
mv -T /usr/sbin/countrywizard.qs.copy /usr/sbin/countrywizard.qs
chmod 777 /usr/sbin/countrywizard.qs
else
yaf-splash -deco  "Warning" -bg orange -fontsize x-large -close box -text "
This software can not be installed,
because countrywizard hasn't been installed,
or this software has already been installed.
"
fi
exit 0


After installation you will notice a change in the right click menu items
when switching between various languages.

When switching back to English it will change the right click menu items
back to English automatically.

Warning. Use this pet package on an installation that you can trash!!


This method works on Lazy , Lucid 528 , Akita and Slacko.

When I checked on Exprimo it only partially worked because it
uses a more recent version of Countrywizard.( I had to launch
countrywizard.qs from the terminal or from the start menu)
_______________________________________________________-
Two-Languages-1.0.pet
Description  Switches right click menu items from German to English
and vice versa
pet

 Download 
Filename  Two-Languages-1.0.pet 
Filesize  7.31 KB 
Downloaded  189 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RSH


Joined: 05 Sep 2011
Posts: 2420
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed 07 Mar 2012, 23:20    Post subject:  

minesadorada wrote:
Hi RSH,
Lazy Puppy 5.2.8 Frugal install
Active wired ethernet connection
Default browser is SRWare Iron 14.0.850.0
Internet connectivity fine.
Printer is HP Deskjet 5150

The CUPS administration page 500 error has always been there since installing LazyPup so I cannot install my printer.

I don't get any page 500 error message.

Would you please improve the following:

- try using cups on LazY Puppy without using a save file (so that you have no other applications installed)
- if the error message doesn't return, then one of your installed application seems to be responsible on this issue
- install one by one the applications that you have had installed and try to use cups after every installation (maybe you can find the responsible program that way)

I do not use a printer on my computers. If i do have something to print, i go to a copy-shop and print there. So i just can make suggestions on this issue. Sad

don570 wrote:
I did an interesting experiment using Lazy

I found a way to automatically switch the 'OpenWith' folder between
German and English at the time of changing $LANG.

... ...

After installation you will notice a change in the right click menu items
when switching between various languages.

When switching back to English it will change the right click menu items
back to English automatically.

Yes, this is really interesting. I have installed the .pet and it works! Smile

Unfortunately i can not use it out of the box. Crying or Very sad

But it gives to me a good point where to start at. Exclamation

Nice done and thanks a lot for this. Smile

_________________
LazY Puppy
RSH's DNA
SARA B.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Thu 08 Mar 2012, 01:29    Post subject: multilingual feature  

don570 wrote:
I did an interesting experiment using Lazy
I found a way to automatically switch the 'OpenWith' folder between
German and English at the time of changing $LANG.

Very interesting.

You can place a translating script named 'exralang' at /usr/sbin instead of changing the code of countrywizard.qs. The current code of the firstrun(countrywizard.qs) detects and executes the script if it is found.
Note that the 'exralang' script is called unconditionally for now. It shall be called only if the locale is changed in the future versions of the firstrun.

P.S.: as for the directory name, they are better to be like 'OpenWith-de' and 'OpenWith-en' rather than 'OpenWith-German' and 'OpenWith-English'.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
RSH


Joined: 05 Sep 2011
Posts: 2420
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat 10 Mar 2012, 08:58    Post subject: LazY Puppy 5.2.8-4 Release 2
Subject description: LazY528-Internet.sfs
 

LazY Puppy Info Center
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=591223#591223
Quick & Easy Information to BugFixes, Updates & more

This one is:

The LazY528-Internet.sfs and it is actually uploaded.

Idea LazY528-Internet.sfs (Internet & Network Programs, 54mb)

- Firefox-7.0
- FlashPlayer-10.2.159.1.0
- Filezilla-3.5.3
- Opera-11.5

md5sum:
010f101ec7231f91a9ac6cd2635721dd

First Post updated!

Note: It will show the English Menu if the English Keyboard Layout is set.
sfs-internet-network-menu.jpg
 Description   sfs-internet-menu
 Filesize   56.29 KB
 Viewed   691 Time(s)

sfs-internet-network-menu.jpg


_________________
LazY Puppy
RSH's DNA
SARA B.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RSH


Joined: 05 Sep 2011
Posts: 2420
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat 10 Mar 2012, 15:49    Post subject: LazY Puppy 5.2.8-4 - Release 2
Subject description: Upload of new iso - needs to delay!
 

LazY Puppy Info Center
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=591223#591223
Quick & Easy Information to BugFixes, Updates & more

Sorry to say this, but there is a need to delay the upload of LazY Puppy Release2.

I am just waiting for an Update of a very nice program, that i wish to have installed in the new LazY Puppy Release 2. Cool

I will upload the new iso until (i hope so) Very Happy : 2012-03-13 - sorry for delay, but sometimes wonderful things happen. Very Happy

Please, be patient. It will be worth waiting - i am sure! Very Happy

_________________
LazY Puppy
RSH's DNA
SARA B.

Last edited by RSH on Sun 11 Mar 2012, 00:33; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
minesadorada


Joined: 11 Sep 2011
Posts: 67

PostPosted: Sat 10 Mar 2012, 16:10    Post subject:  

@RSH: Will you make an upgrade pet for release 2, or will installing the new ISO keep my settings from release 1?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 17 of 49 [724 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, ..., 47, 48, 49 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1187s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0131s) ][ GZIP on ]