Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 09:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Filesystem
Startmount-0.5.5 Drive automount and program starter
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 10 of 11 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11 Next
Author Message
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7836
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 13 Apr 2011, 19:20    Post_subject:  

sc0ttman

Go in /root/.startmount (hidden folder) and delete everything except config

Hopefully that will fix things, although if the drives are probing correctly old info should be overwritten, maybe you should set the preferences back to default (all checkboxes unchecked) until you get sorted.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Thu 14 Apr 2011, 09:33    Post_subject:  

Startmount-0.5.5 into puppeee4.4r2
drive sdb3 mounts but the desktop link to a file in the partition wont link.
even after the rox folder is opened. didnt happen before with manual mount of partition sdb3. two partitions are startmounted sdb2 and sdb3.
startmount.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   41.36 KB
 Viewed   1834 Time(s)

startmount.jpg


_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Thu 14 Apr 2011, 09:51    Post_subject:  

while opera2 desktop link on sdb2 will link. perhaps to do with the name operaext3 given to sdb3 partition?
start2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   9.56 KB
 Viewed   1790 Time(s)

start2.jpg


_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Thu 14 Apr 2011, 10:04    Post_subject:  

manual mount mounts the sdb3 as /mnt/operaext3
while startmount mounts sdb3 as /mnt/sdb3
start3.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   65.55 KB
 Viewed   1819 Time(s)

start3.jpg


_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2385
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 14 Apr 2011, 12:30    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:
sc0ttman

Go in /root/.startmount (hidden folder) and delete everything except config

Hopefully that will fix things, although if the drives are probing correctly old info should be overwritten, maybe you should set the preferences back to default (all checkboxes unchecked) until you get sorted.

Perfect! Cheers.. Saved me reading a lot of code!

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2462
Location: near here

PostPosted: Sat 11 Feb 2012, 12:28    Post_subject:  

added to wiki http://puppylinux.org/wikka/StartMount Twisted Evil

ive noticed it gives a few errors if run from terminal luci 529 puppy-
Code:

sh-4.1# /usr/local/Startmount/Startmount
/usr/local/Startmount/Startmount: line 110: kill: (21239) - No such process


sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
ok
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
cat: /root/.startmount/progitem_list: No such file or directory
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
johofman

Joined: 20 Feb 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon 20 Feb 2012, 16:11    Post_subject: ... same problem: startmount doesn't do anything  

newone wrote:
I just installed Startmount and when i open it, it says:
Quote:
You are running a USB install. Ensure your session is saved for Startmount to work.

And then it disappears.
I DO have a save file. My puppy is 5.2.


... and I also uninstalled/reinstalled V0.5.5 (and 0.5.3) several times.
Lucid Puppy 5.2.8 - also deleted "/root/.startmount" files.

Any idea what to do? I just want all installed HDD to be mounted at boot... Even "mkdir ... " and "mount ..." in "/etc/rc.d/rc.local doesn't work.

I've got a fresh USB thumbdrive install (just 2 dasy old) and just installed virtualbox. Want the" mount" for the hdds of the virtual machines.

Thanks in advance...

JH
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4353

PostPosted: Tue 21 Feb 2012, 05:26    Post_subject:  

modified from the drive tray chunk of jwm_menu_create - will mount everything with a mountable partition
Code:
#!/bin/sh
for UEVENT in /sys/dev/block/*/uevent ; do
   . $UEVENT
   case ${DEVNAME:0:2} in
      sd|hd)   REMOVABLE="0" NOTSWAP="1" LOGICAL=1
         [ -e ${UEVENT//uevent/"../removable"} ] && read REMOVABLE <${UEVENT//uevent/"../removable"}
         [ $REMOVABLE = 1 ] && ICON=usbdrv48.png || ICON=drive48.png #possibly have something here for devicehandler?
         #logical partitions have a size of 2
         read LOGICAL <${UEVENT//uevent/size}
         LINE=""
         while read LINE || [ "$LINE" ]; do
            case $LINE in
               "/dev/"$DEVNAME*)NOTSWAP=""
            esac
         done < /proc/swaps
         
         [ ${DEVTYPE} = "partition" ] && [ $NOTSWAP ] && [ ! $LOGICAL = 2 ] && mkdir -p /mnt/$DEVNAME && busybox mount /dev/$DEVNAME /mnt/$DEVNAME;;
      mm) [ ${DEVTYPE} = "partition" ] && mkdir -p /mnt/$DEVNAME && busybox mount /dev/$DEVNAME /mnt/$DEVNAME;;
      sr|fd)mkdir -p /mnt/$DEVNAME && busybox mount /dev/$DEVNAME /mnt/$DEVNAME;;
   esac
done

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2462
Location: near here

PostPosted: Sat 10 Mar 2012, 09:35    Post_subject:  

Thanks for writing this brilliant program ; -)

Shame it doesn't seem to be included in Slacko or in its repository.

it would be handy if a link in usr/local/bin was included to
/usr/local/Startmount/Startmount

Twisted Evil

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2462
Location: near here

PostPosted: Sat 10 Mar 2012, 09:38    Post_subject: Re: ... same problem: startmount doesn't do anything  

johofman wrote:
newone wrote:
I just installed Startmount and when i open it, it says:
Quote:
You are running a USB install. Ensure your session is saved for Startmount to work.

And then it disappears.
I DO have a save file. My puppy is 5.2.


... and I also uninstalled/reinstalled V0.5.5 (and 0.5.3) several times.
Lucid Puppy 5.2.8 - also deleted "/root/.startmount" files.

Any idea what to do? I just want all installed HDD to be mounted at boot... Even "mkdir ... " and "mount ..." in "/etc/rc.d/rc.local doesn't work.

I've got a fresh USB thumbdrive install (just 2 dasy old) and just installed virtualbox. Want the" mount" for the hdds of the virtual machines.

Thanks in advance...

JH



hi johofman - have you created a pup save file for your installation?

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Mon 25 Jun 2012, 19:46    Post_subject: mounting linux file systems on lupu-528.005  

Smartmount 0.5.5 on lupu-528.005 mounts ntfs but linux partitions doesn't..
Seems this issue occurs only on lupu.

Tested on a flash install of lupu-528.005.
I made a test program on the /etc/rc.local.
Code:
mkdir -p /mnt/sdd1
echo "First try: mount /dev/sdd1 /mnt/sdd1"
mount /dev/sdd1 /mnt/sdd1 && echo "Success." || echo "Fail."
echo "Second try: mount -t ext3 /dev/sdd1 /mnt/sdd1"
mount -t ext3 /dev/sdd1 /mnt/sdd1 && echo "Success." || echo "Fail."

Rebooted.
/tmp/bootstsinit.log wrote:
First try: mount /dev/sdd1 /mnt/sdd1
mount: you must specify the filesystem type
Fail.
Second try: mount -t ext3 /dev/sdd1 /mnt/sdd1
Success.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Mon 25 Jun 2012, 19:56    Post_subject: Re: mounting linux file systems on lupu-528.005  

shinobar wrote:
Tested on a flash install of lupu-528.005.

Same test on Slacko-5.3.3-pae. It mounts at the first try.
/tmp/bootstsinit.log wrote:
First try: mount /dev/sdd1 /mnt/sdd1
Success.
Second try: mount -t ext3 /dev/sdd1 /mnt/sdd1
mount: /dev/sdd1 already mounted or /mnt/sdd1 busy
mount: according to mtab, /dev/sdd1 is already mounted on /mnt/sdd1
Fail.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Mon 25 Jun 2012, 20:37    Post_subject: startmount on lupu-528.00  

BTW, the lupu-528.005 has /usr/bin/startmount which is a copy of /usr/local/Startmount/Startmount, but it doesn't work.
It should be:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
exec /usr/local/Startmount/Startmount

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2462
Location: near here

PostPosted: Tue 21 Aug 2012, 10:32    Post_subject:  

using startmount 0.5.5

I swapped the harddrive into another computer. To get startmount to open up I had to delete-

/root/.startmount/drive.config

Is there anyway startmount could still load up, but tell you the error that the drive config is different to what it expect?

---

really useful prog btw Cool

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Argolance


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 1839
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)

PostPosted: Sun 23 Sep 2012, 13:39    Post_subject:  

Hello,
Here are startfunc, Startmount files (0.5.5 release) localized with gettext and modified to run with gtkdialog4 (icons menus and buttons were not displayed properly), to be copied inside /usr/local/Starmount in replacement of the original ones. pot file to create po and mo files and French po and mo files (this one has to be copied inside /usr/share/locale/fr/LC_MESSAGES/).

Cordialement.
Startmount.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  Startmount.tar.gz 
Filesize  10.22 KB 
Downloaded  375 Time(s) 

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 10 of 11 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Filesystem
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1151s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0065s) ][ GZIP on ]