Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 27 Aug 2014, 19:16
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
GUI to download LibreOffice - beta quality
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 7 of 18 [260 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, ..., 16, 17, 18 Next
Author Message
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2617
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Fri 09 Mar 2012, 21:20    Post subject: on an old Puppy  

greengeek wrote:
Could this be used on an old Puppy 4.3.1 installation?

@greengeek
Have you tried? and got a trouble?
I am using it on '431JP returns', the Japanese special edition based on Puppy 431.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4227
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri 09 Mar 2012, 21:33    Post subject: Re: LibreOffice  

shinobar wrote:
... will you test the sfs_load-1.3.9?
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=982327072&t=64354
Dpup Exprimo 5.X.3.2.9.2 has the sfs_load-1.3.9 built in.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=76247
Thanks Shiinobar for your help.

Yes, I will do that at first chance over this coming weekend.

Question
  • Am I to assume that sfs_load will load the SFS in such a way that when the system is shutdown and a save-session to the CD occurs, that on the next reboot, the system will be loaded with all the installed apps present just as is done for PPM apps?
And, FYI, I have found that in the past, the PETs seem to be similar in size to SFSs. Not sure if there is developer magic occurring. This is just an observation for I understand the reasons one might steer to developing a SFSs for a system feature.

Hope this is clear information and question

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2493
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 10 Mar 2012, 03:54    Post subject: Re: on an old Puppy  

shinobar wrote:
@greengeek
Have you tried? and got a trouble?
I am using it on '431JP returns', the Japanese special edition based on Puppy 431.


I loaded the get_libreoffice-013.pet (assumed it was the best one as it must be the most recent..) but when I go to the "document" menu and click get libreoffice I end up with a gtkdialog-splash that says "Please wait a moment" and has a rotating arrow on a green rectangle. Seems to be hanging like that forever.

No visible network activity so I don't think it's actually downloading.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2617
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sat 10 Mar 2012, 05:25    Post subject: Re: on an old Puppy  

greengeek wrote:
I loaded the get_libreoffice-013.pet (assumed it was the best one as it must be the most recent..) but when I go to the "document" menu and click get libreoffice I end up with a gtkdialog-splash that says "Please wait a moment" and has a rotating arrow on a green rectangle. Seems to be hanging like that forever.

Type 'get_libreoffice' from a virtual terminal so that you may get more information. Wait 30 sec if it seem hanging.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2493
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 10 Mar 2012, 13:35    Post subject: Re: on an old Puppy  

shinobar wrote:
Type 'get_libreoffice' from a virtual terminal so that you may get more information. Wait 30 sec if it seem hanging.


Thanks Shinobar,

The first time I try this I saw:

# get_libreoffice
ok
en-GB
/usr/sbin/get_libreoffice: line 216: gtkdialog: command not found
EXIT="EXIT on mouse-over"
3.4.5 3.5.0

A folder called libre_download is created on my sda1, but has no contents.

I waited 5 minutes but there seemed to be no progress. When I reboot and repeat the process I now get something almost identical except it refers to "EXIT on timeout" instead of EXIT on mouseover. Still hangs, with no network activity evident.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sat 10 Mar 2012, 13:40    Post subject:  

If you type gtkdialog --version...what you get...It is possible you will need gtkdialog-0.8.0 Thunor ie gtkdialog4...just brainstorming

Code:
# gtkdialog --version
gtkdialog version 0.8.0 (C) 2003-2007 Laszlo Pere, 2011 Thunor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2493
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 10 Mar 2012, 15:57    Post subject:  

pemasu wrote:
If you type gtkdialog --version...what you get..


I get the following:

bash: gtkdialog: command not found

Does this mean I have no gtkdialog at all?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4227
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat 10 Mar 2012, 16:32    Post subject: LibreOffice PET assistance request  

This problem has come up before on the SFS issues with LIve Media users.

Live media users MUST manually create personal techniques for their SFSs use and needs in the absence of a PET for installation. (It is a personal preference of a developer to provide packages for our use. In all cases they are doing what they feel is the right thing for the right audience, AND I respect that.)

So, since we are on our own, I'll ask for some obvious assistance.

Request
  • I believe there is a tool that exist to export SFS contents to a folder..
  • I also believe there is a tool where a folder can be made into a PET.
  • The PET can then be installed into the running system.
  • It will be tracked by the PPM and will be backed up by the save-session (I guess this is assuming that Libre would install into the system so that save-session would be able to capture it)
  • Would this work for Live media users?
  • Is there a procedure for soing this somewhere already in existence?
Your advice would be greatly appreciated.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sat 10 Mar 2012, 16:45    Post subject:  

Quote:
LibreOffice-3.5.0-en_US.pet has been uploaded to the exprimo repo. It has rox left and right clicks included.
I found the reason why LibreOffice pets created from get_libreoffice sfs does not update the menu. There is one broken symlink which causes it. I found the reason when I launched the pet installation from console with petget command. The error was seen that way. Removing that broken symlink and everything was ok.


http://www.smokey01.com/pemasu/pet_packages-exprimo/LibreOffice-3.5.0_en-US.pet
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 10 Mar 2012, 18:06    Post subject:  

Hi all,

greengeek,

IIRC, Puppy-431 only has gtkdialog2 and gtkdilog3 executables. I haven't got a check for version which I should put in. Perhaps for now putting in a symlink "gtkdialog" targeting gtkdialog3 will fix your issue.
Code:
ln -s /usr/sbin/gtkdialog3 /usr/sbin/gtkdialog
.
I'm not in Puppy at the moment so can't check, will do later.

EDIT:Ok, I wrote this before Thunor updated gtkdialog, so gtkdialog3 will work, so all that is needed is the above symlink. I have only one call that misses gtkdialog3 which I'll fix for the next version.

-

gcmartin,

To install the libreoffice in a pfix=ram install (pupmode=5) isn't supported at this stage, but I can implement it. It would require that your machine has about 1GB of free RAM. I may put in code that checks for system RAM (say at least 1.5GB) and then a check for available RAM (1GB) and then apply a case whereby a .pet is generated, which can be saved for later use.

HTH

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4227
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat 10 Mar 2012, 18:39    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
... It would require that ...
Thanks @Pemasu and @01Micko. You guys are great!

Just a note
I believe that I have used LibreOffice on a PC that has 1GB of RAM (not free, total). But, I cannot swear to it.

In any event, it is prudent and wise that we should follow recommendations as it means that the developers has tested at that level of design and the product functions adequately. And, should any of us find a difference that would help others, we should present that information.

Thanks, again, to both of you.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 10 Mar 2012, 18:47    Post subject:  

Note that 1GB RAM requirement is to build the sfs Cool Wink in RAM, as that's how pupmode=5 (pfix=ram) works.

Libreoffice should run fine and build fine with 256MB RAM, in an installed state (either full or frugal, pupmode=2, pupmode=12, and I should add support for pupmode=6).

I'll reiterate that USB installs are unsupported (pupmode=3, 7, 13). There could be big problems if there is a snapmerge during the build. I do not intend to fix this.

I have not supported pupmode=77(save back to CD/DVD), but it will be a similar scenario to pupmode=5.

Hope this clarifies.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2493
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon 12 Mar 2012, 04:58    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
Perhaps for now putting in a symlink "gtkdialog" targeting gtkdialog3 will fix your issue.
Code:
ln -s /usr/sbin/gtkdialog3 /usr/sbin/gtkdialog


Thanks. That worked perfectly on my 4.3.1 frugal.

I chose version 3.5 (instead of 3.4.5) and it works, but is very much slower to load than the Libreoffice I had previously loaded into into a Slacko 53 frugal on the same hardware.

Is that related to the age of 4.3.1 do you think? (lacking modern libs or something?)

Also, during the first run of Libreoffice on 4.3.1 it repeatedly requested a JRE to be loaded. I didn't do that yet because I got a lot of problems when I loaded a JRE pet to my Slacko Libreoffice (ROX corruptions now resolved)

Do you consider the JRE to be critical/desirable/optional?

T4TH


EDIT: I also tried the new .sfs on Wary511 and it works (I didn't really expect it to be portable to a different Puppy version...), but I experienced exactly the same delay when starting Libre on 511 as I did with 4.3.1
It seems to take forever to get to the point where you can start typing the document.. Is it normal to expect slower performance from an sfs programme versus a fully installed programme? (My installed version on Slacko53 was Libre 3.3, whereas this new sfs is Libre 3.5 - maybe the newer version is more weighty?)

Last edited by greengeek on Mon 12 Mar 2012, 13:30; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 12 Mar 2012, 06:18    Post subject:  

Hi greengeek

It is certainly possible that it's slower on 431 due to libs but I am not sure. As long as it's stable than it shouldn't be a problem.

As for Java, I thinks it's needed for some of the presenter features. Calc and Writer work fine without Java, I'm not too sure about the others. The warning should not appear after subsequent loads of LibreOffice Writer and Calc.

HTH

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
vovchik


Joined: 23 Oct 2006
Posts: 1285
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Mon 12 Mar 2012, 07:22    Post subject:  

Dear 01micko and greengeek,

I seem to recall that Java was needed for the database. I don't think it works without it. Some extensions may also need it, but nearly everything works without JRE, although I have it installed.

With kind regards,
vovchik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 18 [260 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, ..., 16, 17, 18 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1095s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0183s) ][ GZIP on ]