MultiPup CD/DVD/USB Creator

Miscellaneous tools
Message
Author
User avatar
CatDude
Posts: 1563
Joined: Wed 03 Jan 2007, 17:49
Location: UK

#201 Post by CatDude »

Hello pistoi0

I think puppyluvr was asking you to check the contents of each of the subdirectories on the disc (CD/DVD)

If you still have a copy of your custom ISO image on the hard drive,
simply click on it, then in the window that opens up,
open a console/terminal and enter the following command:

Code: Select all

ls -1R
that's a lowercase ell followed by an s, then -1R (that is a number one)

Or you could mount the disc and do the same (open console/terminal and run the command)

You should get something similar to this:

Code: Select all

# ls -1R
.:
boot
boot.catalog
index
logo.16
lupu-528.004
slacko-5.3.2.1-SCSI
squeeze-5.X.13.6-SCSI

./boot:
grub

./boot/grub:
menu.lst
Multipup
stage2_eltorito

./lupu-528.004:
boot.cat
boot.msg
help2.msg
help.msg
initrd.gz
isolinux.bin
isolinux.cfg
logo.16
lupu_528.sfs
menu.lst
vmlinuz

./slacko-5.3.2.1-SCSI:
boot.cat
boot.msg
help2.msg
help.msg
initrd.gz
isolinux.bin
isolinux.cfg
logo.16
menu.lst
puppy_slacko_5.3.2.1.sfs
README.HTM
vmlinuz

./squeeze-5.X.13.6-SCSI:
boot.cat
boot.msg
help2.msg
help.msg
initrd.gz
isolinux.bin
isolinux.cfg
logo.16
menu.lst
puppy_squeeze_5.X.13.6.sfs
README.HTM
vmlinuz
# 

CatDude
.
[img]http://www.smokey01.com/CatDude/.temp/sigs/acer-futile.gif[/img]

pistoi0
Posts: 112
Joined: Tue 25 Oct 2005, 16:27
Location: Hartford, CT

#202 Post by pistoi0 »

CatDude, thanks for sticking with me on this. Here is my output.

# ls -1R
.:
boot
boot.catalog
index
logo.16
lupu-528.004
slacko-5.3.2.1-SCSI
squeeze-5.X.13.6-SCSI

./boot:
grub

./boot/grub:
menu.lst
Multipup
stage2_eltorito

./lupu-528.004:
boot.cat
boot.msg
help2.msg
help.msg
initrd.gz
isolinux.bin
isolinux.cfg
logo.16
lupu_528.sfs
menu.lst
vmlinuz

./slacko-5.3.2.1-SCSI:
adrv_luki_012.sfs
boot.cat
boot.msg
help2.msg
help.msg
initrd.gz
isolinux.bin
isolinux.cfg
logo.16
menu.lst
puppy_luki_012.sfs
vmlinuz
zdrv_luki_012.sfs

./squeeze-5.X.13.6-SCSI:
boot.cat
boot.msg
help2.msg
help.msg
initrd.gz
isolinux.bin
isolinux.cfg
logo.16
menu.lst
puppy_squeeze_5.X.13.5.sfs
README.HTM
[ Minimal BASH-like line editing is supported. For
the first word, TAB lists possible command
completions. Anywhere else TAB lists the possible
completions of a device/filename. ]

grub>

grub> ./boot/grub:

Error 27: Unrecognized command

grub> menu.lst

Lookinglass360
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri 22 May 2009, 13:50
Location: Largo, Florida USA

Post subject:

#203 Post by Lookinglass360 »

Hi pistoi0
Was that taken from the MultiPup . iso file you created or the burned
disk?
I have looked through all my coasters and can not find any thing useful.
I started using rw disks so all pre ver. 3.3 got blanked and recycled and I
have just not had any problems that produced that grub screen or error
in this version.
Kinda hard to learn to fix something that generally Just works!

At any rate you have real help now! I will keep lookin!

I have once again learned something I did not know, if this can be solved
all the better!

Thanks puppyluvr + CatDude

User avatar
CatDude
Posts: 1563
Joined: Wed 03 Jan 2007, 17:49
Location: UK

#204 Post by CatDude »

Hello pistoi0

Please don't take this as an accusation or anything,
but looking at the output from the ls command that you posted,
i have to ask one question.

Did you manually edit things when building your multipup ISO :?:
(come on, don't be shy :wink: :wink: )

The reason i ask is this:
pistoi0 wrote:./slacko-5.3.2.1-SCSI:
adrv_luki_012.sfs
boot.cat
boot.msg
help2.msg
help.msg
initrd.gz
isolinux.bin
isolinux.cfg
logo.16
menu.lst
puppy_luki_012.sfs
vmlinuz
zdrv_luki_012.sfs
The MultiPup CD/DVD Creator could not possibly have produced such a bizarre combination,
ie: a slacko-5.3.2.1-SCSI subdirectory containing the contents of what appears to be Saluki. :?


There is also a discrepancy here:
pistoi0 wrote:./squeeze-5.X.13.6-SCSI:
boot.cat
boot.msg
help2.msg
help.msg
initrd.gz
isolinux.bin
isolinux.cfg
logo.16
menu.lst
puppy_squeeze_5.X.13.5.sfs
README.HTM
Plus there is no mention of a vmlinuz either.

pistoi0 wrote:[ Minimal BASH-like line editing is supported. For
the first word, TAB lists possible command
completions. Anywhere else TAB lists the possible
completions of a device/filename. ]
At what point during booting the CD are you getting this :?:


CatDude
.
[img]http://www.smokey01.com/CatDude/.temp/sigs/acer-futile.gif[/img]

pistoi0
Posts: 112
Joined: Tue 25 Oct 2005, 16:27
Location: Hartford, CT

#205 Post by pistoi0 »

CatDude, you flatter me! Except for assigning absolute linking, I did nothing more than click the gui buttons. As for the appearance of the grub prompt and message, that comes up immediately when attempting to load the disc. In other words, that is all that I get, nothing else.

Here is an attempt to make a one-pup .iso using Lupu with no .pets or .sfs and all I get on the screen is the grub prompt and message:

lupu-528.004

./boot:
grub

./boot/grub:
menu.lst
Multipup
stage2_eltorito

./lupu-528.004:
boot.cat
boot.msg
help2.msg
help.msg
initrd.gz
isolinux.bin
isolinux.cfg
logo.16
lupu_528.sfs
menu.lst
vmlinuz
sh-4.1#

pistoi0
Posts: 112
Joined: Tue 25 Oct 2005, 16:27
Location: Hartford, CT

#206 Post by pistoi0 »

Catdude

Thank you for the PM. I will gladly try the experiment you suggest.

User avatar
puppyluvr
Posts: 3470
Joined: Sun 06 Jan 2008, 23:14
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma
Contact:

#207 Post by puppyluvr »

:D Hello,,
pistoi0,
I am looking at your error, and although I cannot reproduce it, will try to solve it.. However...
Catdude, in looking at your error has uncovered another, more tangible problem concerning "Slacko"..
I believe the problem is related to "filemnt" mounting the ISO`s 'read only'...
This could be an issue related to unionfs, IDK...
pistoi0, i may have missed it, but what Puppy are you building the MultiPup ISO on???...
Maybe all related... Slacko may be the clue....
Tomorrow, with a clearer head.... :wink:
Last edited by puppyluvr on Sat 10 Mar 2012, 14:56, edited 1 time in total.
Close the Windows, and open your eyes, to a whole new world
I am Lead Dog of the
Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook
Join us!

Puppy since 2.15CE...

pistoi0
Posts: 112
Joined: Tue 25 Oct 2005, 16:27
Location: Hartford, CT

#208 Post by pistoi0 »

Puppyluvr

Don't know if I mentioned it. Started out with a Lucid 528, then tried Exprimo 5x13. I have tried it straight from a live DVD as well as from frugals. The frugals and everything else are on a 32 gig SDHC in a sata adapter. The drive has two partitions. SDA1 is a FAT 32 and SDA2 is an ext 3 used by MuliPup. Also, CatDude has given me something to try as he mentioned above, and I will get to that assignment tomorrow, I hope.

User avatar
smokey01
Posts: 2813
Joined: Sat 30 Dec 2006, 23:15
Location: South Australia :-(
Contact:

#209 Post by smokey01 »

MultiPup works quite well here in Lucid but I have to tweak it in Saluki. It does not like Thunar.
Attachments
Multipup-18.jpg
(53.11 KiB) Downloaded 906 times

pistoi0
Posts: 112
Joined: Tue 25 Oct 2005, 16:27
Location: Hartford, CT

#210 Post by pistoi0 »

Puppyluvr and Smokey01 et al

I have been using Lucid 528-004, and I am in the midst of running yet another experiment under CatDude's tutelage. I hope to complete that phase, soon. So far, I am suspecting a hardware challenge. Hope to have more information for all by the end of the weekend.

User avatar
puppyluvr
Posts: 3470
Joined: Sun 06 Jan 2008, 23:14
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma
Contact:

#211 Post by puppyluvr »

:D Hello,
@smokey01,
Yea, I tried to include code for Thunar, and it does function on my Xfce4 desktop.. Lately I have not been able to D/L so have not tried Saluki since like the first version.. :oops:
Is it Xfce? How does it fail in Thunar for you? Mount point errors?..
I use it in Compiz and Xfce4 (4.6.2)...
Close the Windows, and open your eyes, to a whole new world
I am Lead Dog of the
Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook
Join us!

Puppy since 2.15CE...

User avatar
smokey01
Posts: 2813
Joined: Sat 30 Dec 2006, 23:15
Location: South Australia :-(
Contact:

#212 Post by smokey01 »

It doesn't open the Thunar window to symlink the files.

If the window is open separately the symlinks can be created.

Later when the files are copied all the windows open but they do not close.

It does create the the ISO however, just a bit untidy.
puppyluvr wrote::D Hello,
@smokey01,
Yea, I tried to include code for Thunar, and it does function on my Xfce4 desktop.. Lately I have not been able to D/L so have not tried Saluki since like the first version.. :oops:
Is it Xfce? How does it fail in Thunar for you? Mount point errors?..
I use it in Compiz and Xfce4 (4.6.2)...

gcmartin

#213 Post by gcmartin »

smokey01 wrote:It doesn't open the Thunar window to symlink the files.

If the window is open separately the symlinks can be created.

Later when the files are copied all the windows open but they do not close.

It does create the the ISO however, just a bit untidy.
puppyluvr wrote::D Hello,
@smokey01,
Yea, I tried to include code for Thunar, and it does function on my Xfce4 desktop.. Lately I have not been able to D/L so have not tried Saluki since like the first version.. :oops:
Is it Xfce? How does it fail in Thunar for you? Mount point errors?..
I use it in Compiz and Xfce4 (4.6.2)...
Does this problem with Salukii have anything to do with the A-drive+Z-Drive+SFSfs that it is architected to use?

Also, I did have a problem with LightHouse64. I think its because of the compression method used in its initrd file.

Thanks in advance.
P.S. Was this updated beyond 3.3 recently?

gcmartin

#214 Post by gcmartin »

Multi-PUP upgrade? or same.

Reasons:
  • FATDOG 600 testing version (current development)
  • LightHouse64 5.14 version (December 2011)
  • Saluki 20+
Here to help
Last edited by gcmartin on Tue 05 Jun 2012, 18:07, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
benny7440
Posts: 440
Joined: Mon 20 Apr 2009, 04:23

#215 Post by benny7440 »

I don't know if it's better to open a new thread or post the following in here, so I'm posting here but tell me if I should edit/move it away.

Many months ago I d/l Multipup 3.3PET & created a prototype of what I wanted but never burnt it because the notebook has screen problems & I suspected that it was going to be like working underwater at night, been blind.

Also, I was concerned with including there an alien (DSL, in my case) because in this notebook it's not booting from a Flash usb drive, but it boots on others.

Now I'm considering booting up an HP Compaq nx9010 via lan using PXE & this notebook as the webserver. Although I've tried it many times already, with different tweaks it never pass the point of loading the initrd.gz file.

So, I've d/l & installed PL528.005 (which I'm running now) frugally in the VAIO notebook. Was about to burn the iso for PL431 to a cd-rw to test the nx9010's ability to boot from cd (which in the past has been OK with PL431 & Ubuntu 8.04) but not recently & suddenly remembered that the Multipup thing never was finished. I'm decided to throw a stone trying to hit 2 birds with it: create (burn a cd with some puppies in it, including, if possible DSL as an alien) the Mutlipup cd & then use it to try again the PXE booting thing.

What do I have to do with the pet file I already have (in fact, have 2 files in the temporary folder: the pet & a gui file)? I d/l & installed it when working in PL528, so here in PL528.005 I don't have a Menu entry for it. I suspect that I've to run the PET file again for this, am I right? Is there, somewhere, a newer version of Multipup? I've browsed the thread again but didn't find any link to a new version of it.

Thanks for any help & hope this work with the PXE thing!

Edit: I was browsing my hdd & found out that I've the iso files for some puppies but I'm missing 2: Puppy Studio & DSL. What is your recommendation for me, to redownload them or there is a way of taking the files within each respective folder to make the iso from what I have?
[b]Toshiba Satellite L555 / ACPI x64-based PC / Intel Core i5 / ~1.46 @ 3 Partitions GB HDD / 4 GB RAM / CD-DVD RW Drive.
[/b]

gcmartin

#216 Post by gcmartin »

benny7440 wrote: ... the Mutlipup cd & then use it to try again the PXE booting thing.

What do I have to do with the pet file I already have (in fact, have 2 files in the temporary folder: the pet & a gui file)? I d/l & installed it when working in PL528, so here in PL528.005 I don't have a Menu entry for it. I suspect that I've to run the PET file again for this, am I right? Is there, somewhere, a newer version of Multipup? I've browsed the thread again but didn't find any link to a new version of it.

Thanks for any help & hope this work with the PXE thing ...
@Benny7440, there is a thread and a document that address just what you ask. Look at this document for Booting PUPs as well as booting Multi-PUPs ISOs.

Should solve your problem. The Document you can download as a PDF for your local use.

Hope this helps

User avatar
benny7440
Posts: 440
Joined: Mon 20 Apr 2009, 04:23

#217 Post by benny7440 »

Thanks for responding, gcmartin!

I've read & followed all those recomendations a couple of times already but, even though there's mentioned 'puppies' & I'm using PL528.005 in the VAIO notebook (Net-server) - see signature, the Compaq-HP nx9010 laptop (Client) never finishes loading the initrd.gz file.

As a consequence of that I'm considering trying the Multipup approach, if it doesn't netboot the HP but can boot from the cdrom I've at least killed one bird. As of right now I'm going to work in creating that iso file for MultiPup even though I've some doubts around how to proceed with respect to DSL (alien),

PS. I think last week I PM you, gcmartin, in relation to the PXE approach.
[b]Toshiba Satellite L555 / ACPI x64-based PC / Intel Core i5 / ~1.46 @ 3 Partitions GB HDD / 4 GB RAM / CD-DVD RW Drive.
[/b]

User avatar
benny7440
Posts: 440
Joined: Mon 20 Apr 2009, 04:23

#218 Post by benny7440 »

Edit: Sorry, I don't know how the previous post got posted twice in a row. It was located right here & I deleted it after re-reading it & making sure it was a carbon-copy of the original.
Last edited by benny7440 on Thu 07 Jun 2012, 16:37, edited 1 time in total.
[b]Toshiba Satellite L555 / ACPI x64-based PC / Intel Core i5 / ~1.46 @ 3 Partitions GB HDD / 4 GB RAM / CD-DVD RW Drive.
[/b]

User avatar
puppyluvr
Posts: 3470
Joined: Sun 06 Jan 2008, 23:14
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma
Contact:

#219 Post by puppyluvr »

:D Hello,
As far as DSL is concerned, MultiPup is fine with Knoppix variants as long as it is just 1 @ a time.. Like series 1 Pups, their .gz must be top layer. However, they all share the same name..
The PXE thing is all gcmartin`s...
I am amazed and impressed, but know nada about it..

Sorry for the lack of timely responses, but life etc.....

I do intend to update MultiPup, and will be removing the "Alien" section, as it seems pointless...

Mb to Mb, Puppy is in a league of its own, the other "minimal" Distros dont warrant inclusion in a "MultiPup Disk".. It is, after all, MultiPUP........
Close the Windows, and open your eyes, to a whole new world
I am Lead Dog of the
Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook
Join us!

Puppy since 2.15CE...

User avatar
benny7440
Posts: 440
Joined: Mon 20 Apr 2009, 04:23

#220 Post by benny7440 »

Thanks for responding puppyluvr!

In your 1st paragraph you mention 2 things that creates for me 2 questions:
1) Do you mean that just 1 alien OS for MultiPup cd?
2) What's behind that assertion of "Like series 1 Pups, their .gz must be top layer. However, they all share the same name.."?

Is the last issue mean the location of the .gz file within the folder?

In any case, I'm proceeding now to try to make a MultiPup cd for testing it later. I hope I can see the splash screen when the time comes in my external monitor because the onboard one isn't working..., if I have problems with this I'll test on another(s) machine.

VERY GOOD WORK this MultiPup CD Creator, congratulations!
[b]Toshiba Satellite L555 / ACPI x64-based PC / Intel Core i5 / ~1.46 @ 3 Partitions GB HDD / 4 GB RAM / CD-DVD RW Drive.
[/b]

Post Reply