Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Sep 2014, 09:49
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Wary/Racy 5.3RC2 (5.2.91)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 10 of 20 [293 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, ..., 18, 19, 20 Next
Author Message
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1418
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Wed 21 Mar 2012, 12:28    Post subject: Re: Wary/Racy 5.3RC (5.2.90)
Subject description: racy on netbook
 

Billtoo wrote:
Here's the lsmod output.


Hi Billtoo

That's OK - no sign of B43 - just wl and michael-mic which is what I'd expect for the wl driver - I think your selection of the b43 module must just have triggered a modprobe or the equivalent steps for a reboot - or enough anyway to trigger wl into working - as you say a red herring.

I guess as eth0 has been created you mustn't have an ethernet socket on your machine - otherwise that would be eth0 and the wifi would be eth1. If you are missing an eth0 that should be there then that's another facet to investigate....

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.03 = Puppy + LXDE

Last edited by peebee on Wed 21 Mar 2012, 15:18; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2097
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 21 Mar 2012, 12:39    Post subject: Re: Wary/Racy 5.3RC (5.2.90)
Subject description: racy on netbook
 

peebee wrote:


I guess as eth0 has been created you mustn't have an ethernet socket on your machine - otherwise that would be eth0 and the wifi would be eth1. If you are missing an eth0 that should be there then that's another facet to investigate....

Cheers
peebee


There is an ethernet socket on the netbook, I think I'll start from scratch when I get more time and see how it goes. I'll install your pet and reboot this time Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
irishrm


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 213

PostPosted: Wed 21 Mar 2012, 12:49    Post subject:  

Just installed Racy 5.2.90 and it seems to be working very well.
I have come across one problem however.
I use a boot floppy with grub4dos to boot all my puppies.
However I failed to create a boot floppy using Racy.

Here is the log file:
/usr/sbin/grub4dosconfig
version 1.7.2
Tue Mar 20 16:53:25 UTC 2012
BINSTALLER=bootlace.com
sda(MBR)_40.0GB_ATA_ST340014A_
fd0_(FLOPPY_DISK)
sda2/racy5.2.90frugal/puppy_racy_5.2.90.sfs|puppy_racy_5.2.90
sda2/puppy528/lupu_528.sfs|lupu_528
sda2/slacko5.3frugal/puppy_slacko_5.3.sfs|puppy_slacko_5.3


sda2/slacko5.3frugal/puppy_slacko_5.3.sfs|puppy_slacko_5.3

mkfs.msdos 3.0.11 (24 Dec 2010)
Wrigting... /mnt/fd0/menu.lst
Installing bootloader on floppy...
bootlace.com --floppy --chs /dev/fd0

Error: Cannot open file for read/write access.

BOOTLACE writes GRLDR BOOT RECORD to MBR or to the boot area of a file system.
Usage: bootlace.com [OPTIONS] DEVICE_OR_FILE
Options: --read-only, --floppy[=N], --boot-prevmbr-first, --boot-prevmbr-last,
--no-backup-mbr, --force-backup-mbr, --mbr-enable-floppy, --mbr-disable-floppy,
--mbr-enable-osbr, --mbr-disable-osbr, --duce, --time-out=T, --hot-key=K,
--preferred-drive=D, --preferred-partition=P, --sectors-per-track=S, --heads=H,
--start-sector=B, --total-sectors=C, --install-partition=I, --lba, --chs,
--fat12, --fat16, --fat32, --vfat, --ntfs, --ext2, --serial-number=SN,
--restore-mbr, --mbr-no-bpb, --chs-no-tune
DEVICE_OR_FILE: Filename of the device or image. For DOS, a BIOS drive number
(in hex 0xHH or decimal DDD format)can be used to access the drive.
Failed to install bootlace.com.

My work around was to create a boot floppy in Lucid 5.2.8 using the same floppy that failed in Racy.

I'm sure this is only of minority interest but I said I'd report it anyway.

irishrm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 603
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Wed 21 Mar 2012, 19:45    Post subject: 5.2.90  

Racy-5.2.90

Noticed that this new version has slipped back to default of Seamonkey 2.5 from previous Racy version where it was 2.6 and was just wondering what the reason or advantage is? 2.5 seems to work well although the buzz seems to be towards 2.7 ??

>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Thu 22 Mar 2012, 06:35    Post subject:  

talking about open wifi here. and both the desktop icon and the bottom tray icon.
cant see that "disconnect from network" or "disconnect from ethernet/wireless networks" followed by "reconnect to network" or "auto connect to wireless networks" is having the desired effect. disconnects ok but need to use the network wizard to reconnect.

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Thu 22 Mar 2012, 13:30    Post subject: Busybox less function has some serious bugs.  

This is not a Puppy-specific bug, except in the sense that Puppy is using an upstream application that is buggy.

I have reported these bugs to Denys Vlasenko who maintains Busybox. But I thought that I should also report them here so that folks will be aware of the problem and don't make the mistake of assuming that the less function of Busybox provides correct information.

Here is an excerpt from my bug report to Denys Vlasenko:
Quote:
Here are 3 bugs that I've found with the less function of BusyBox v1.19.3:


---------- Bug A ----------

busybox less splits long lines into multiple lines. This creates the
following problems:

1. The line numbers reported on the status line by the = command and the
-M option are incorrect beyond the first split line.

2. Search will not find words that have been split.


---------- Bug B ----------

The busybox less function does not reset the start position of search when
user moves or jumps to another place in the file.

The real less utility allows the user to move or jump to any place in the
file and continue searching from there with the n command. For instance,
a user who is midway through a file may begin searching for a word, find
matches (if any) in the remaining lines, then press p to jump to the
beginning of the file and continue to use the n command to find matches
(if any) in the first part of the file. Thus the user can effectively
wrap-around the search.

This is not possible with busybox less. Once the last match in the file
has been found, no others may be found until the user starts a new search
or searches backwards. So a user who is midway through a file can find
matches (if any) in the remaining lines, but to then find matches (if any)
at the beginning of the file she must either use SHIFT-N to back-up
through all the previously found matches and continue searching backward
to the start of the file, or she must move to the beginning of the file
and type the search pattern again.


---------- Bug C ----------

When used with the -S option, busybox less chops long lines, but neither
RightArrow nor ESC-) scrolls horizontally to allow reading the whole line.

---------------------------

I didn't do any serious testing of the less function. This is just stuff that I tripped over. So it may well have other bugs.

(While looking to see if this had been reported before, I came across a post from someone who had a different problem with Busybox less: [Wary 030] BusyBox less fails in ipython)

For my own use, I simply copied the real less from my tried-and-true Puppy 4.3.1. I see that the real less is also in the pet_packages-wary5 repository.

But if one is unaware of the problem, and so has not yet installed the real less, there can be a fair bit of frustration before one realizes what is happening: hunting for strings that Busybox less claims not to exist, or finding line 1234 in Busybox less then seeing a different line 1234 when the file is loaded into an editor.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
broomdodger


Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 269
Location: Santa Cruz, CA

PostPosted: Thu 22 Mar 2012, 21:27    Post subject: Re: 5.2.90  

sszindian wrote:
Racy-5.2.90
Noticed that this new version has slipped back to default of Seamonkey 2.5 from previous Racy version where it was 2.6
I am running racy5290 and it has SeaMonkey 2.6.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 22 Mar 2012, 23:42    Post subject: Re: Multiple-Sound-Card-Wizard can create bad asound.conf  

npierce wrote:
If Multiple-Sound-Card-Wizard doesn't find any sound card, it will create a corrupt /etc/asound.conf file if user clicks "OK".

Of course, if it cannot find any sound cards, there is a worse problem somewhere else, so the corrupt asound.conf file doesn't seem as bad by comparison. If the user could fix the initial problem so that a sound card could be found, then run Multiple-Sound-Card-Wizard again to get a good asound.conf file, life would be good.

Unfortunately, Multiple-Sound-Card-Wizard is confused by the bad asound.conf file it created and will not find any sound cards until the bad file is fixed or deleted.

And while asound.conf is bad, aplay, alsamixer, and probably other stuff will fail. So even if the user has fixed the initial problem and perhaps even rebooted, she still will have no sound.

The bad asound.conf file created by Multiple-Sound-Card-Wizard looks like this:
Code:
defaults.pcm.card
defaults.pcm.device

Note that the number at the end of each line is missing, so the next time you run Multiple-Sound-Card-Wizard the first line of the error message will to be:
Code:
ALSA lib conf.c:976:(parse_value) card is not a string

(The line number (976 in the example) will be different for different versions of the ALSA library.)
That error message actually comes from aplay -l, which Multiple-Sound-Card-Wizard calls upon to get its list of sound cards.

alsamixer.bin gives the same error message, but the alsamixer wrapper script gives this error:
Code:
alsamixer.bin: option requires an argument -- 'c'

since it could not find the card number in the /etc/asound.conf file.

Of course, most users probably just run Multiple-Sound-Card-Wizard from the menu, and won't see any error messages unless they look at the /etc/xerrs.log file. Users who run Multiple-Sound-Card-Wizard from within alsawizard will never see any error messages, since that script sends them off to /dev/null.

The proposed fix simply places a message in the list window stating that the utility was unable to find any sound card, and it removes the "OK" button from the dialog. No asound.conf file is created or overwritten when the user clicks "Cancel".

There is also a small change to keep /tmp/mscw.tmp from growing each time the utility is used.

The attached patch is based on the current PET at:
http://distro.ibiblio.org/quirky/pet_packages-common/mscw-1.pet


Thanks for the improvement to the Wizard. I have uploaded the PET (1.5KB):
http://distro.ibiblio.org/quirky/pet_packages-noarch/mscw-2.pet

Note, all architecture-independent PETs now live in the pet_packages-noarch folder.

There are some still in pet_packages-common, for historical reasons. Eventually I will clean that folder up, remove all architecture-independent PETs.

Note: "architecture independent" means PET has no binary executables.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 23 Mar 2012, 21:39    Post subject:  

James C wrote:
One small aggravation ......the Video Upgrade Wizard reports Wary not being connected to the internet, from the screenshot there obviously is an internet connection.Note this forum in the background.


That is strange. This is the relevant code:

Code:
 ping -c 1 www.google.com
 if [ $? -ne 0 ];then
  INSERT0="<text use-markup=\"true\"><label>\"<b>`gettext \"Currently not connected to the Internet. If you wish to connect later, you can run this Video Upgrade Wizard again via the 'setup' icon on the desktop or the 'Setup' category in the menu. Note, to connect to the Internet, click 'connect' icon on left of desktop.\"`</b>\"</label></text>"
 fi



Can you do this in a terminal:

# ping -c 1 www.google.com
# echo $?

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5754
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 23 Mar 2012, 22:18    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
James C wrote:
One small aggravation ......the Video Upgrade Wizard reports Wary not being connected to the internet, from the screenshot there obviously is an internet connection.Note this forum in the background.


That is strange. This is the relevant code:

Code:
 ping -c 1 www.google.com
 if [ $? -ne 0 ];then
  INSERT0="<text use-markup=\"true\"><label>\"<b>`gettext \"Currently not connected to the Internet. If you wish to connect later, you can run this Video Upgrade Wizard again via the 'setup' icon on the desktop or the 'Setup' category in the menu. Note, to connect to the Internet, click 'connect' icon on left of desktop.\"`</b>\"</label></text>"
 fi



Can you do this in a terminal:

# ping -c 1 www.google.com
# echo $?



In terminal.....


Code:
# ping -c 1 www.google.com
ping: bad address 'www.google.com'
# echo $?
1
#


May be related or not, in pemasu's latest Exprimo release I've been experiencing wget problems.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=613599#613599

EDIT:

Just tried to use wget to download Flash (as attempted in the linked Exprimo thread) and it fails in Wary as well.

Code:
# wget http://fpdownload.macromedia.com/get/flashplayer/pdc/11.1.102.63/install_flash_player_11_linux.i386.tar.gz
--2012-03-23 21:25:35--  http://fpdownload.macromedia.com/get/flashplayer/pdc/11.1.102.63/install_flash_player_11_linux.i386.tar.gz
Resolving fpdownload.macromedia.com (fpdownload.macromedia.com)... failed: Temporary failure in name resolution.
wget: unable to resolve host address `fpdownload.macromedia.com'
#

Last edited by James C on Fri 23 Mar 2012, 22:28; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5754
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 23 Mar 2012, 22:23    Post subject:  

Running video_upgrade-wizard from the terminal....
video_upgrade_wizard.png
 Description   
 Filesize   30.9 KB
 Viewed   946 Time(s)

video_upgrade_wizard.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sat 24 Mar 2012, 05:34    Post subject:  

James C.

http://serverfault.com/questions/76421/wget-cant-resolve-host

Shooting to the dark, but could that trick help:
Basically, the /etc/nsswitch.conf file needed the host line reconfigured to:
hosts: files dns mdns4_minimal [NOTFOUND=return] mdns4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 762

PostPosted: Sat 24 Mar 2012, 07:32    Post subject:  

- miracle this racy doesn't need acpi=off to boot (more or less working...).
- searching for puppy savefiles, takes long
- loading kernel modules takes long
- glxgears is still bad at 480 FPS


- 4 dmesg bottlenecks ?

[ 6.460448] EXT4-fs (sda6): mounted filesystem with ordered data mode. Opts: (null)
[ 16.446178] unionfs: new lower inode mtime (bindex=0, name=gtk-2.0)

[ 16.787173] ACPI: Power Button [PWRF]
[ 30.670484] unionfs: new lower inode mtime (bindex=0, name=input)

[ 34.791839] usbcore: registered new interface driver snd-usb-audio
[ 42.622341] firewire_core: created device fw0: GUID 00405ed00000041d, S400

[ 50.011570] unionfs: new lower inode mtime (bindex=0, name=cups)
[ 156.781531] unionfs: new lower inode mtime (bindex=0, name=rc.d)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
FeodorF


Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 173
Location: Heidelberg, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 24 Mar 2012, 09:42    Post subject: Wary/Racy 5.3RC (5.2.90)
Subject description: Broken symbolic link in ../pixmaps
 

There is a broken symbolic link in ../puppy-reference/pixmaps.

ktsuss.png links to ../lib/X11/pixmaps/lock48.png but the name of the target file has changed to ../lib/X11/pixmaps/lock-screen48.png
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5754
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 24 Mar 2012, 17:57    Post subject:  

pemasu wrote:
James C.

http://serverfault.com/questions/76421/wget-cant-resolve-host

Shooting to the dark, but could that trick help:
Basically, the /etc/nsswitch.conf file needed the host line reconfigured to:
hosts: files dns mdns4_minimal [NOTFOUND=return] mdns4


Thanks for the idea but no change.I'll check out the rest of the link for possible ideas.

Code:
passwd:      db files
group:      db files
shadow:      db files

hosts:      files dns mdns4_minimal [NOTFOUND=return] mdns4
networks:   files dns

protocols:   db files
services:   db files
ethers:      db files
rpc:      db files

netgroup:   db files
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 10 of 20 [293 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, ..., 18, 19, 20 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1534s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0369s) ][ GZIP on ]