Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 28 Nov 2014, 08:26
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Need Driver for Realtek High Definition Audio
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  
Author Message
kelewax


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 41
Location: Nigeria

PostPosted: Sun 06 Aug 2006, 00:28    Post subject:  Need Driver for Realtek High Definition Audio  

I need help for sound drivers for Realtek High Definition Audio. Havent been able to get sound working on an Acer Laptop which has Realtek High Definition Audio Codec.
Dont know if this link would help
ftp://152.104.238.194/pc/hda/alc880d/realtek-linux-audiopack-4.04c.tar.bz2

I downloaded it but dont know what to do with it

_________________
Which of the favours of your Lord can you deny?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Sun 06 Aug 2006, 12:33    Post subject:  

(EDITED --disregard, see Pizzasgood's solution below)
Last edited by Sit Heel Speak on Mon 07 Aug 2006, 14:41; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Sun 06 Aug 2006, 18:20    Post subject:  

You need the devx_202.sfs file because you need to compile it.

Put the driver file somewhere out of the way (/tmp/NewDir is a good spot), open a terminal, and run
Code:
bunzip2 realtek-linux-audiopack-4.04c.tar.bz2
tar -xf realtek-linux-audiopack-4.04c.tar
cd realtek-linux-audiopack-4.04c
./install


Hopefully that will work. It did for my computer, which has a built in Realtek audio chip on my Epox board. FYI, the "bunzip2 decompresses it (the .bz2 extension) and "tar -xf" extracts it (the .tar part). Then "cd" changes the directory and "./install" installs it using the script it comes with named "install."

_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
kelewax


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 41
Location: Nigeria

PostPosted: Wed 09 Aug 2006, 14:03    Post subject:  

THanks for the response. I will give a try and report back my findings.
_________________
Which of the favours of your Lord can you deny?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kelewax


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 41
Location: Nigeria

PostPosted: Thu 10 Aug 2006, 21:48    Post subject:  

Tried it but still no sound
_________________
Which of the favours of your Lord can you deny?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Fri 11 Aug 2006, 11:24    Post subject:  

Hmm... Did it spit out any error messages? Otherwise the only things I can think of are to make sure your cables are tight, the speakers are on with their volumes turned up, and that Puppy's volume is also turned up (use xtmix from the "multimedia" section of the start menu because there are more than one volume settings that might need to be cranked up, including the knob on the right).
_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
kelewax


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 41
Location: Nigeria

PostPosted: Sun 27 Aug 2006, 01:36    Post subject:  

Hi,

Thanks for the response.

Quote:
Hmm... Did it spit out any error messages?

No error messages. Also speakers are on and volumes turned up.

Well when this effort failed I went to the Ubuntu Forums and I got some form of solution. The problem is as a result of a bug in Alsa for which a patch was created.

The link to the solution on Ubuntu Forums is
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=202555&page=5
where it says:

Quote:
Re: No sound w/ HDA-Intel Realtek ALC883 - tried *everything*
________________________________________
IT WORKS!

AWESOME! I just had sound for the first time in weeks. can't friggin believe it.

here's how i aplied that patch (there may be ways to do it without recompiling alsa-driver, but i couldn't figure that out right now):

1. i downloaded alsa.patch from Here
2. i downloaded and unpacked alsa-driver 1.0.12rc3 from alsa-project.net, unpacked it
3. i did
Code:
patch -p1 < /path/to/acer.patch
and when prompted for the file to patch i entered
Code:
/path/to/alsa-driver-1.0.12rc3/alsa-kernel/pci/hda/patch_realtek.c

4. i compiled the driver:
Code:
./configure --with-cards=hda-intel
make
sudo make install

5. i added to /etc/modules:
Code:
snd-hda-intel model=ACER

to /etc/modprobe.d/snd-hda-intel.modprobe i added
Code:
options snd-hda-intel model=ACER

to /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base i added:

options snd-hda-intel model=ACER

(there may be some redundancy in these entries)

5. i rebooted (unloading and reloading the modules didn't do the trick for some reason)

i guess the patch will be added to the next release candidate of ALSA, so there's an end to this nightmare..


Now I tried this with Puppy 2.0.2 (with devx_202.sfs) everything seemed to be going fine until I reached the
Code:
sudo make install

Note I did not include sudo in the code I typed in. It gave me error messages of files or folders not existing. And as would be expected my hopes of having sound were dashed.

Ok enough of the story. I would like some one to please kindly recompile ALSA as above and send it to me as a tarball. Also I would like to know which files I need to manually edit ( ie maybe rc.local0 or module.conf)

Thank you, while I wait for someone to make me very happy.

_________________
Which of the favours of your Lord can you deny?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fluxit


Joined: 24 Jun 2006
Posts: 326
Location: Ketchikan, AK USA

PostPosted: Sun 27 Aug 2006, 04:01    Post subject:  

Quote:
Now I tried this with Puppy 2.0.2 (with devx_202.sfs) everything seemed to be going fine until I reached the
Code:

sudo make install



If you made it to this point with no errors, you should have the module built already. You just need to find it. Assuming the module you built works with Puppy's alsa, and depending on the type of Puppy install you are using(livecd with pupsave, frugal, etc.,) installing it may be as simple as replacing the current copy in /lib/modules/* and adding the options line referenced in your post to /etc/modules.conf.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Sun 27 Aug 2006, 20:52    Post subject:  

Quote:
everything seemed to be going fine until I reached the
Code:
sudo make install


Key word: seemed.

Are you sure that the "make" command ended of its own accord, or did it end due to errors? Check the final lines it spits out to check. If it did indeed finish, then it compiled everything. The "make install" only moves the files it compiled into the correct places and maybe modifies some settings.

I'd try to do it, but I don't have time, especially if it's already done. Sorry, but study comes before Puppy. Besides, I'm not exactly the best at compiling. Rolling Eyes

Good luck!

_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
eden6000

Joined: 08 Apr 2007
Posts: 259

PostPosted: Fri 05 Oct 2007, 16:47    Post subject:  

so, hello guys! same problem here, acer aspire 5310, totally mute (also wireless not working, but that's not a priority...) I really need help from you, I tried everything, read all I could find, in this and other forums, I have tried the realtek drivers, compiled alsa drivers with the patches..nothing, pc is always mute, even if apparently there are no errors...alsamixer in puppy 3.00 shows more options, but still no sound....furthermore I use and want to continue using Pizzapup...PLEASE HELP Shocked I MUST use puppy, I don't want that Vixxta that is shipped with the notebook (os booted, some programs automatically loaded....700 mb of ram used!!! and you should hear that poor hd always running like a horse...)
come on, let's find a solution Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
paulh177


Joined: 22 Aug 2006
Posts: 875
Location: ST862228

PostPosted: Fri 05 Oct 2007, 17:19    Post subject:  

have you tried the "simple" solution?

# modprobe snd_hda_intel

... then ...

# alscaconf

... then ...

# alsamixer


... then ...

# alsactl store

.... then reboot.

Worked on my Acer with that card.
Or use Puppy 3.00 where it works without any human intervention

paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
eden6000

Joined: 08 Apr 2007
Posts: 259

PostPosted: Fri 05 Oct 2007, 17:30    Post subject:  

thanks Paul..yes I tried also those commands, except for the last one, which I tried now...no, it's like if the card was muted by something, because if you play a file, even with aplay, it shows you no errors! puppy 300 did not work as well however, it just showed more options on alsamixer, but remained mute too...
going to bed now, here it's around midnight...if you or someone else have ideas, they are very appreciated
p.s. ubuntu feisty live failed as well...in Vista the sound is working (thanks to the driver, not to Vista)... Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5285
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2007, 09:42    Post subject:  

kelewax wrote:
The link to the solution on Ubuntu Forums is
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=202555&page=5

Puppy 3.0's snd-hda-intel module already has the changes described in the patch from that link, so the module is good-to-go for Acer compatibility.
Please see my post about snd-hda-intel configuration here -
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=22383

Your audio device is probably ALC883/888, and your parameter will be either "acer" (Travelmate 3012WTMi, Aspire 5600, etc)
or "acer-aspire" (Aspire 9810)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
eden6000

Joined: 08 Apr 2007
Posts: 259

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2007, 16:50    Post subject:  

YES!!!!!
Tempestuos you re GREAT!!
it worked! I don't have to load that ugly Vixta anymore to hear sounds!!
now I want to try upgrading ALSA in pizzapup and see if it works there too (I find Pizzapup more "beautiful" also if I know it's older.....).
Btw wireless works too in Puppy 3.00, I don't have a wireless modem, but I see my neighborhood network..... Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
eden6000

Joined: 08 Apr 2007
Posts: 259

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2007, 16:51    Post subject:  

sorry for the bold, I made a mistake....thanks again
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0858s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0045s) ][ GZIP on ]