Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Dec 2014, 03:28
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
QtWeb - fast portable browser
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 7 [92 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Author Message
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 3208
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jan 2012, 23:31    Post subject:  

Tried on Akita Linux beta6, does not appear to load plugins of any kind -- flash included!
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
alphamale

Joined: 28 Nov 2011
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Wed 14 Mar 2012, 09:40    Post subject: problems with flash being recognized  

i have qtweb working very well except for flash.

i'm on slacko, qt-all sfs, latest flashplayer is installed, but qtweb is not seeing it. i made a subdirectory called plugins and symlinked libflashplayer.so but it still isn't seeing it.

does it not work with flash 11.x?

where should libflashplayer.so go for qtweb to see it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2386
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 14 Mar 2012, 11:44    Post subject:  

You might need some extra libs for Flash to work: http://akita.scottjarvis.com/browserlibs.pet
_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
joagan

Joined: 21 Mar 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun 01 Apr 2012, 08:58    Post subject:  

Get a strange problem, if I disable javascript forums work and when I enable it for sites that need it/or not just load the header?

On lupu 528 - live cd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ahoppin

Joined: 16 May 2011
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Sat 07 Apr 2012, 02:57    Post subject:  

Nice browser, very snappy!

One little oddity, on the preferences / privacy tab, hovering the cursor over the left side tickboxes causes them to become corrupted. This can be avoided by moving mouse very slowly. It might be a qt quirk, or might be caused by my machine being an older and slower one (Athlon XP 2700).

I miss only a couple of Seamonkey features. First, the ability to save passwords for only some sites. With qtweb it seems to be all or nothing. And second, Flashblock - though I have a version of that for Midori, and it might work for Qtweb, haven't tried yet.

Thanks for tipping me off to this!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ahoppin

Joined: 16 May 2011
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Sun 08 Apr 2012, 20:58    Post subject:  

Foo, I found the showstopper for this one. The bookmarks manager is so elementary that it can't edit bookmarks, can't reposition a bookmark beyond the window (no scrolling), and can't even cut and paste bookmarks.

I guess this browser would be OK for someone who saves few or no bookmarks, but my exported bookmarks from Seamonkey are 1.1mb (yeah, I know, a little out of hand).

Pity. Up until I tried bookmarks, Qtweb was (aside from the lack of selective password saving) looking mighty darn good.

Maybe I'll try again in another 2 or 3 versions. Might be a long wait, though, since the current version was released in December 2010. Or maybe I can find an external bookmarks manager.

If I get ambitious, maybe I'll d/l the Qtweb source and try to hack up a better bookmarks manager myself.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sling-shot


Joined: 19 Aug 2005
Posts: 109
Location: India

PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2012, 14:49    Post subject:  

ahoppin wrote:

If I get ambitious, maybe I'll d/l the Qtweb source and try to hack up a better bookmarks manager myself.


Have you tried it? Does it build from source?
-SS.

_________________
I am a nobody. Nobody is perfect. So I am perfect.
STATUS:Trying to begin life in Linux World.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2746
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon 28 Jan 2013, 04:16    Post subject: Re: problems with flash being recognized  

alphamale wrote:
where should libflashplayer.so go for qtweb to see it?

Does anyone with a working flash install have an answer to this question please? Thx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 4135
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Mon 28 Jan 2013, 04:45    Post subject:  

Greengeek- you have any Mozilla browsers installed? Where does the current plugin reside? It's version?

Wink >> /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins is where she's finding my latest *Mozilla based* plugin.

If you've got Chrome alone, that's a possibly incompatible version..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2746
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon 28 Jan 2013, 04:59    Post subject:  

Thanks Semme - I didnt have any mozilla browsers installed, but I have now put the flashplayer where you suggested and get an interesting result.

1) On my Pulp03 install qtweb now runs flash ok, but only if I change the "user agent" button to mimic Opera. (If I leave it as "qtweb" I just get a black box where the vid should be)

2) On my Wary barebones install qtweb will still not run flash - although at least now it seems to find the flashplayer.so but just displays a black box - even if I change user agent to opera. (The previous "install flash" message is gone though so it's definitely aware it has the flashplayer available)

I will do more testing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 4135
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Mon 28 Jan 2013, 05:08    Post subject:  

Most times you can track issues, or resolve them, by adjusting the string.

As far as Wary, does Adobes *about* page suggest you grab v10?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mechmike

Joined: 29 Nov 2005
Posts: 103
Location: Pelham, AL

PostPosted: Sun 14 Jul 2013, 01:18    Post subject: How about a .pet of the latest version, please...  

As per this:

http://bkhome.org/blog2/?viewDetailed=00319

I've been playing with the latest version - the only hitch I've found so far is with their adblocking. If you turn it on, certain websites won't load.

I wish they used EasyList...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 673

PostPosted: Sun 14 Jul 2013, 03:17    Post subject:  

I have tested the 3.8.4 portable version. With User Agent Firefox it finds the latest 11.2 flashplayer plugin in /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins. It works with my hardware. Going to:

http://www.linkagogo.com/

I was able to convert mozilla bookmarks in .xbel standard and to import my bookmarks in QtWeb. Pop-ups blocking not always working. Opening a link in a new tab makes it suddenly active: I should prefer to activate the new tab manually. In firefox I use noscript extension: in QtWeb there aren't similar extensions. But QtWeb is very fast and lightweight. A good choice for old hardwares or to build lightweight puppies: then one can install the preferred browser.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
session


Joined: 07 Feb 2011
Posts: 90
Location: Valley of the Sun

PostPosted: Sun 14 Jul 2013, 04:15    Post subject: Adblocking and user-agent  

mechmike wrote:
http://bkhome.org/blog2/?viewDetailed=00319

I've been playing with the latest version - the only hitch I've found so far is with their adblocking. If you turn it on, certain websites won't load.

I wish they used EasyList...

I just use sc0ttan's Pup-Advert-Blocker for everything.
Although, stuff like facebook ads need a nice adblocking user script, something QtWeb does not support...

In response to Drongo's post in that blog link, it IS worth fiddling with the user-agent in QtWeb; for example, this site won't load unless the string is set to Internet Explorer (!)

_________________
Primary - Intel Pentium 4 2.40GHz, 571MB RAM, ATI Radeon 7000. Linux Mint 17 Qiana installed.
Secondary - Pentium 3 533MHz, 385MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 Pro ULTRA TF. Precise Puppy 5.7.1 Retro full install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1203
Location: England

PostPosted: Wed 17 Jul 2013, 05:11    Post subject:  

Hi pemasu, session et al,

Using Qt-Web v 3.8.4, I cannot download the 825 byte "menu.tar.gz"
from here:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=709301&sid=5d5bec4970560716e481d44f19f9eaa2#709301

It will download for me using v 3.7.3, but with v 3.8.4 the download window shows the file as zero bytes and an "about:blank" tab opens.

I would be pleased to know if any reader(s) also have this problem, and, if so, if they are able to advise a fix.

My regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 7 [92 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0922s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0129s) ][ GZIP on ]