pBurn 4.3.19

Audio editors, music players, video players, burning software, etc.
Message
Author
User avatar
hanzf
Posts: 161
Joined: Wed 11 Mar 2009, 21:39
Location: Belzig, Germany

#1701 Post by hanzf »

zigbert wrote:hanzf
Are you aware of this



Changelog
Version 3.5.0, 25.Feb 2012
...
- Bugfix: Not allowing capitals in file extension - *.CUE and *.TOC (thanks to sebus)
...
The file name, and also the extension are both lowercase.
I moved them to /mnt/sda2 so there are no more capitals in the path name.
Same result.

Maybe you can just tell me the "cdrecord" command to burn a cd from "mycd.toc" so I can do it in a console?
Precise 5.7.1 frugal with .2fs
AMD Athlon 64 3700+
1000 MB RAM

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#1702 Post by zigbert »

hanzf
I have never burnt a toc-file, so I don't really know :oops:
I have just grabbed the command from the web, and made the command available via the Pburn gui. It is from guys like you that Pburn evolves....

From your log-file the command is shown:

Code: Select all

cdrecord dev=/dev/sr0 -raw96r  -clone -v "/mypath/mycd.toc"
The problem seems to that command builds without given toc-file.
Please confirm if this works or not.


Thank you
Sigmund

User avatar
hanzf
Posts: 161
Joined: Wed 11 Mar 2009, 21:39
Location: Belzig, Germany

#1703 Post by hanzf »

Thank you zigbert
Does not work. Very strange:

Code: Select all

# cdrecord dev=/dev/sr0 -raw96r  -clone -v "/mnt/sda2/wln.toc"
scsidev: '/dev/sr0'
devname: '/dev/sr0'
scsibus: -2 target: -2 lun: -2
Linux sg driver version: 3.5.27
Wodim version: 1.1.10
SCSI buffer size: 64512
...
Beginning DMA speed test. Set CDR_NODMATEST environment variable if device
communication breaks or freezes immediately after that.
wodim: No such file or directory. Cannot open '/mnt/sda2/wln.toc.toc'.
Note how cdrecord appended an extra ".toc" to the file name!
So consequently I tried:

Code: Select all

# cdrecord dev=/dev/sr0 -raw96r  -clone -v /mnt/sda2/wln
scsidev: '/dev/sr0'
devname: '/dev/sr0'
scsibus: -2 target: -2 lun: -2
Linux sg driver version: 3.5.27
Wodim version: 1.1.10
SCSI buffer size: 64512
...
Beginning DMA speed test. Set CDR_NODMATEST environment variable if device
communication breaks or freezes immediately after that.
wodim: No such file or directory. Cannot open '/mnt/sda2/wln'.
No extra ".toc" now. Really tricky.

Third try: I renamed "wln.toc" to "wln", without filename extension.

Code: Select all

# mv wln.toc wln
# cdrecord dev=/dev/sr0 -raw96r  -clone -v /mnt/sda2/wln
scsidev: '/dev/sr0'
devname: '/dev/sr0'
scsibus: -2 target: -2 lun: -2
Linux sg driver version: 3.5.27
Wodim version: 1.1.10
SCSI buffer size: 64512
...
Beginning DMA speed test. Set CDR_NODMATEST environment variable if device
communication breaks or freezes immediately after that.
wodim: No such file or directory. Cannot open '/mnt/sda2/wln.toc'.
NO JOKE - IT WAS EXACTLY LIKE THAT!
Last try: I copied "wln" to "wln.toc" so they both exist. Now there's no way out for cdrecord. So I thought.

Code: Select all

# cp wln wln.toc
# cdrecord dev=/dev/sr0 -raw96r  -clone -v /mnt/sda2/wln
scsidev: '/dev/sr0'
devname: '/dev/sr0'
scsibus: -2 target: -2 lun: -2
Linux sg driver version: 3.5.27
Wodim version: 1.1.10
SCSI buffer size: 64512
...
Beginning DMA speed test. Set CDR_NODMATEST environment variable if device
communication breaks or freezes immediately after that.
wodim: Can only copy session # 1.
Seems like a perfect simulation of 4 teenagers mobbing a classmate...
cdrecord is not my friend.
Precise 5.7.1 frugal with .2fs
AMD Athlon 64 3700+
1000 MB RAM

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#1704 Post by zigbert »

Seems like a perfect simulation of 4 teenagers mobbing a classmate...
cdrecord is not my friend.
:lol:

I don't know what Puppy you are running, but you should be aware of that most puppies does NOT use cdrecord. It is just a link to wodim from the cdrkit package. You might have more luck if you install the cdrtools package. Pburn will prefer cdrecord over wodim if exist.
Sebus reported that cdrecord was able to burn from cue-file, while wodim was not.


Sigmund

User avatar
hanzf
Posts: 161
Joined: Wed 11 Mar 2009, 21:39
Location: Belzig, Germany

#1705 Post by hanzf »

zigbert wrote: I don't know what Puppy you are running, but you should be aware of that most puppies does NOT use cdrecord. It is just a link to wodim from the cdrkit package. You might have more luck if you install the cdrtools package. Pburn will prefer cdrecord over wodim if exist.
Sebus reported that cdrecord was able to burn from cue-file, while wodim was not.
Sigmund
yes, actually the messages come from wodim. I'll look for this cdrtools package.
Precise 5.7.1 frugal with .2fs
AMD Athlon 64 3700+
1000 MB RAM

sebus
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri 20 Jan 2012, 20:57

#1706 Post by sebus »

But you have to compile it...

I use Fatdog x64 5.21

sebus

User avatar
otropogo
Posts: 764
Joined: Sat 24 Oct 2009, 15:17
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Re: pburn fails to burn audio from .toc file

#1707 Post by otropogo »

hanzf wrote:I tried to burn an audio CD from a toc file, and pburn 3.3.7 said "unknown error".
...
Oh, thank you. It's nice to know I'm not the only one to have this problem (or at least, to report it...)

I'd like a fix too please.
otropogo@gmail.com facebook.com/otropogo

User avatar
hanzf
Posts: 161
Joined: Wed 11 Mar 2009, 21:39
Location: Belzig, Germany

#1708 Post by hanzf »

Hello otropogo,

I give up on this issue, Sorry

hans
Precise 5.7.1 frugal with .2fs
AMD Athlon 64 3700+
1000 MB RAM

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#1709 Post by zigbert »

sebus wrote:But you have to compile it...

I use Fatdog x64 5.21

sebus
I see cdrtools in the repo (Slacko). What is wrong with that one?


Sigmund

User avatar
otropogo
Posts: 764
Joined: Sat 24 Oct 2009, 15:17
Location: Montreal
Contact:

pburn info error on iso burn

#1710 Post by otropogo »

Today I burned a data disk in the following manner:

1. started a data copy with temporary storage

2. interrupted the burn when the blank disk was called for (I wanted to use a CD-RW, but hadn't blanked it

3. blanked the CD-RW

4. used the burn iso function to burn the saved iso to the CD-RW

5. after removing and testing the CD-RW, I inserted a blank CD-R in the burner, and selected tools/info

Pburn reported a blank "RW" disk.

I opened the tray to make sure I hadn't made a mistake, reinserted it, and tried the same procedure again.

again Pburn reported a blank "RW" disk.

I burned the iso to the CD-R disk without incident. So no damage except for the annoyance and waste of time. However, I can imagine being upset if I meant to use an RW disk, had inserted a CD-R or DVD-R by mistake, and trusted the tools/info report.

Very confusing and annoying.

I also verified this burn and the preceding one, and instead of saying "verified" or something definitive like that, it gave the following report:

iso -xxxxxxxxxxxxx md5sum- burned disk

I find this unnecessarily confusing too. Is it assuming the user already has an md5sum to compare to, or is it just a very long-winded way of saying the burn is an exact copy? If the latter, what would it say if it weren't?
otropogo@gmail.com facebook.com/otropogo

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#1711 Post by zigbert »

otropogo
Got it


Thank you
Sigmund

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#1712 Post by zigbert »

Version 3.5.2
See main post

Changelog
- New startup mode (-m info) goes straight to disc info.
- Bugfix: Blank CD-R is reported as RW in the tools>info dialog. (thanks to otropogo)
- Bugfix: Discinfo of CDDA shows free space.
- NLS: Changed: LOC126

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

#1713 Post by don570 »

If you have time would you look into a problem when quitting
pburn ( only occurs in Exprimo's Enlightenment window manager.)

I get a window looking a bit like this
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 022#618022

This indicates an improper state exists when quitting or closing
a window. The Enlightenment people appear to have a different
method of window management which I noticed when I did a 'top'
command. Each wndow seems to be treated like it is an app!!

I tried changing exit to exit 0
and that didn't work :cry:

The strange thing about this bug is it doesn't occur when I use
third party launch programs such as GRun or quick_launch,
then quit pburn.

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#1714 Post by zigbert »

don570
Is Pburn the only app that doesn't take effect of exit 0?


Sigmund

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

#1715 Post by don570 »

There's about 8 or 9 apps that exit improperly that I know of.

Most are scripts but a couple are compiled apps.

Nearly half of them I've fixed by changing exit to exit 0.


______________________________________________

mistfire
Posts: 1411
Joined: Wed 05 Nov 2008, 00:35
Location: PH

Add "Erase Disc" Command

#1716 Post by mistfire »

Your Pburn application is great! Can you add "Erase Disc" in pburn for erasing data on Rewritable Discs? Thank you and more power.

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

Re: Add "Erase Disc" Command

#1717 Post by zigbert »

mistfire wrote:Your Pburn application is great! Can you add "Erase Disc" in pburn for erasing data on Rewritable Discs? Thank you and more power.
It is already there, but is named 'Blank disc'.


Sigmund

User avatar
otropogo
Posts: 764
Joined: Sat 24 Oct 2009, 15:17
Location: Montreal
Contact:

pburn 3.5.2 doesn't open

#1718 Post by otropogo »

Today I tried to burn an iso to DVD+RW with Pburn 3.3.4 on a Toshiba laptop.

Pburn 3.3.4 pronounced the blank Verbatim DVD+RW "unwritable". .

So I installed Pburn 3.5.2 and close-dvd+rw tools

There were no indicationsof problems with the installation, but when I clicked on the pburn tab in the start menu of Lupu 5.2.8, nothing happened. After several tries, I uninstalled close-dvd+rw tools, but pburn still wouldn't start.

I then uninstalled pburn 3.5.2, and was able to reopen pburn 3.3.4.

I then used Burniso2 CD to write a 2.2GB iso to the same DVD+RW pburn 3.3.4 had deemed "unwritable", and verified it. Burniso2CD opted to blank the DVD before burning.

End of story...hope this helps.
otropogo@gmail.com facebook.com/otropogo

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#1719 Post by zigbert »

otropogo
If you're running a system with Pburn 3.3.4, it probably misses the latest gtkdialog-0.8 which recent Pburn require.


Sigmund

User avatar
otropogo
Posts: 764
Joined: Sat 24 Oct 2009, 15:17
Location: Montreal
Contact:

#1720 Post by otropogo »

zigbert wrote:otropogo
If you're running a system with Pburn 3.3.4, it probably misses the latest gtkdialog-0.8 which recent Pburn require.


Sigmund
Not much help in your advice above.

1. I can find no active download link for gtkdialog-0.8 on the first page of this thread (where one would expect it)

2. Pburn 3.5.2 installs "successfully" with package manager under lupu 5.2.8 without any indication of missing dependencies

3. after updating the lucid repositories with package manager, searching on "gtkdialog-0.8" still turns up zero hits, while searching on "gtk" alone doesn't find it either.

4. package manager no longer makes available the previous "check for missing dependencies" function in lupu 5.2.8

So it would appear that the latest version of pburn available to lupu 5.2.8 (-0) users (and perhaps also to users of versions (02,03,04?) is 3.3.7. If this is the best you can do, you could at least advise users of this on the download post. I've now installed 3.3.7, having tried every trick I know of to install 3.5.2.

This includes trying to update lupu 5.2.8 via the 5.2.8-05 pmusic pet. I looked for previous update pets, but couldn't find any links. It seems that your latest pburn will not run on the original version of lupu 5.2.8

Pburn 3.3.7 does open a window on the desktop when called. And it (unlike the natively shipped 3.3.4) recognizes a Verbatim DVD+RW as a writable disk. Slim pickings for all that work.

BTW - you may be interested to know (or at least some of my hapless fellow would-be users of Pburn might), that I am able to run Pburn 3.5.1 on my desktop lupu5.2.8 system, which, IIRC, was updated via pets to version 02, then version 03, and then (after version 03 was found to run videos rather worse than previously), returned to version 02 status.

Package manager does show the lupu update 02 as being installed on my desktop system, but there's no sign of any 'gtkdialog...', so perhaps the lupu update 02 provided the necessary gtk support?

I'm assuming from your post above that pburn 3.5.1 required this support as much as 3.5.2 does.
otropogo@gmail.com facebook.com/otropogo

Post Reply