Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 19 Apr 2014, 21:25
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Eye Candy
Conky With Lua
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 6 [86 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
XBlackChaosX

Joined: 16 Oct 2011
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Mon 09 Apr 2012, 15:40    Post subject:  

@battleshooter
I'm running Lucid Puppy 5.2.8.005.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
battleshooter


Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 1012
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 10 Apr 2012, 20:14    Post subject:  

XBlackChaosX wrote:
@battleshooter
I'm running Lucid Puppy 5.2.8.005.


Okey, that's great. Have you downloaded and installed the pets in the first post?

Quote:
Pets:
conky-1.8.1.pet
liblua5.1-0_5.1.4-5_i386.deb
libiconv-1.14.pet
feh-1.3.4.pet


That's technically all the files Conky needs to run.

However, if there is a black screen around where Conky is, let me know, and I'll help you tweak your system settings to get rid of the black.

Finally, to actually get Conky running you can create a script, called "conkystart" or something and put it in your /root/Startup folder.

Put this in the file:
Code:
conky -c /path/to/conkyrc


"conky" is basically the program. "-c" is saying use this theme. And "/path/to/conkyrc" is the location where your Conky theme file is.

Alternatively, you could try using the Conky theme switcher,

Quote:
conkyswitcher_widescreen-0.01.pet
conkyswitcher_normal-0.01.pet


Which will basically setup what I said above and give you a nice GUI to pick Conky setups. If you have any questions, fire away.

_________________
Kdenlive for Saluki
Openshot for Saluki
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Fri 13 Apr 2012, 14:40    Post subject:  

I've updated the conky switcher a little and made some more themes for it.

http://smokey01.com/jemimah/misc/conkyswitcher-rox-0.02.pet

There are some additional fonts you'll need.
http://smokey01.com/saluki/pet_packages-saluki/ubuntu-font-001.pet
http://smokey01.com/saluki/pet_packages-saluki/liberation-fonts-ttf-1.07.2.pet
http://smokey01.com/saluki/pet_packages-saluki/extra-fonts-1.0.pet

Screen shots are here:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=619702#619702

This should work with rox/jwm but I haven't tested it (I only tested on Saluki, but if you run Saluki, use the pet in the saluki repo - it's not the same). The new themes might need some tweaks for ROX if I didn't get them quite right.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
XBlackChaosX

Joined: 16 Oct 2011
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Sat 14 Apr 2012, 05:53    Post subject:  

@battleshooter
I created the conkystart script, and i opened it with abiword to place the line that you gave me in it but there was already something in it "#!/bin/sh" What is this and should i delete it and add what you gave me or place it along side it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
r4m0n3

Joined: 06 Jan 2009
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon 16 Apr 2012, 07:44    Post subject: size?  

This is great! Thanks battleshooter.
I'm pretty close here.. only problem is that I can't see the actual background in any theme. Only the widgets on the right are visible.

I also tried looking root/.conky/orangelua/conkyrc where does the background come from.. but I couldn't see any path there..


*lupu 528.003 "pendrive", Xorg@1280x800, openbox, no wbar, Asus a6u laptop*

is it the lack of wbar, running from pendrive or just a tricky laptop Smile ?


edit
Very Happy I guess the cool backgrounds don't come with the package..

Last edited by r4m0n3 on Tue 17 Apr 2012, 08:03; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
battleshooter


Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 1012
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 16 Apr 2012, 20:24    Post subject:  

@jemimah

Cool, nice to know someone's giving Conky switcher some love. I'll add a link to the first post for Saluki users. The latest Saluki 019 looks awesome by the way, really looking forward to messing around with it tonight. Smile

@XBlackChaosX

Nope, don't get rid of "#!/bin/sh". It's to tell the system it's a script.

Just add conky -c /path/to/conkyrc on the line beneath it.

@r4m0n3

Sorry man, not really sure what the problem is Confused Your screenshot looks normal, what do you mean exactly by "can't see the actual background in any theme" What background? Not running Wbar shouldn't be a problem.

_________________
Kdenlive for Saluki
Openshot for Saluki
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2363
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 18 Apr 2012, 17:57    Post subject:  

Trying to run the Suuuuny theme from jemimahs updated .pet and conky won't load - I get the following errors in the terminal:

Code:
Conky: llua_load: /root/.conky/Suuuuny/text.lua:8: module 'cairo' not found:
        no field package.preload['cairo']
        no file './cairo.lua'
        no file '/usr/local/share/lua/5.1/cairo.lua'
        no file '/usr/local/share/lua/5.1/cairo/init.lua'
        no file '/usr/local/lib/lua/5.1/cairo.lua'
        no file '/usr/local/lib/lua/5.1/cairo/init.lua'
        no file '/usr/share/lua/5.1/cairo.lua'
        no file '/usr/share/lua/5.1/cairo/init.lua'
        no file '/usr/lib/conky/libcairo.so'
        no file './cairo.so'
        no file '/usr/local/lib/lua/5.1/cairo.so'
        no file '/usr/lib/lua/5.1/cairo.so'
        no file '/usr/local/lib/lua/5.1/loadall.so'


With the conky_grey theme:

Code:
Conky: llua_load: /root/.conky/conky_grey/conky_grey.lua:10: module 'cairo' not found:
        no field package.preload['cairo']
        no file './cairo.lua'
        no file '/usr/local/share/lua/5.1/cairo.lua'
        no file '/usr/local/share/lua/5.1/cairo/init.lua'
        no file '/usr/local/lib/lua/5.1/cairo.lua'
        no file '/usr/local/lib/lua/5.1/cairo/init.lua'
        no file '/usr/share/lua/5.1/cairo.lua'
        no file '/usr/share/lua/5.1/cairo/init.lua'
        no file '/usr/lib/conky/libcairo.so'
        no file './cairo.so'
        no file '/usr/local/lib/lua/5.1/cairo.so'
        no file '/usr/lib/lua/5.1/cairo.so'
        no file '/usr/local/lib/lua/5.1/loadall.so'



I've used various liblua packages... Any ideas anyone?

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2363
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2012, 13:03    Post subject:  

ignore my post above, i was missing the libcairo and libimlib2 stuff in /usr/lib/conky
_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
battleshooter


Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 1012
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2012, 21:09    Post subject:  

Ah ok, glad you got it sorted Scott, sorry I wasn't of more assistance Confused
_________________
Kdenlive for Saluki
Openshot for Saluki
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
battleshooter


Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 1012
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2012, 21:14    Post subject:  

@r4m0n3

Oh right sorry, no the backgrounds don't come with the packages, they were just examples of what you could do with the Conky theme. Were there any particular wallpapers you were after?

_________________
Kdenlive for Saluki
Openshot for Saluki
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
alwaysalonee

Joined: 28 Feb 2012
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Thu 03 May 2012, 04:04    Post subject:  

Quote:
However, if there is a black screen around where Conky is, let me know, and I'll help you tweak your system settings to get rid of the black.



i am getting black screen ..
i am on lucid puppy 5.2.8 ..
openbox as WM ...
i've downloaded conky pets from
please help
thanks ..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jaydee

Joined: 18 Apr 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat 05 May 2012, 12:10    Post subject:  

aa, if the black window is persistent, check the position of

feh --bg-scale /root/.background in /root/.xinitrc .

the code line: rox -p /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin appears at least twice (i remember they reside in an if - else statement), so try to place it before the other instance. (this is what i was doing wrong the first time around).

alternatively, with conky enabled, use nathan's wallpaper setter and change the wp image.
See if transparency appears (which is what the
feh --bg-scale $IMAGE
cp -f $IMAGE /root/.background
code in the file /usr/local/apps/Wallpaper/set_bg does).

i have a sneaky suspicion that half the enjoyment of conky is trying to get it to work they way you like. Hang in there
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
battleshooter


Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 1012
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun 06 May 2012, 05:40    Post subject:  

@jaydee

Thanks much for replying alwaysalonee, I'm busy these days and don't always get around to answering questions.

@alwaysalonee
Let us know how you go with jaydee's suggestion.

_________________
Kdenlive for Saluki
Openshot for Saluki
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
alwaysalonee

Joined: 28 Feb 2012
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Wed 09 May 2012, 04:44    Post subject:  

sorry for late replay
i tried jd's suggestion but didn't work
conky was running fine on XFCE wm but now XFCE is not loading itself Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
battleshooter


Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 1012
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed 09 May 2012, 05:01    Post subject:  

alwaysalonee wrote:
sorry for late replay
i tried jd's suggestion but didn't work
conky was running fine on XFCE wm but now XFCE is not loading itself Sad


Hmmm, XFCE... that could be a little different because it comes with real transparency. Alright, back to the topic on hand, what was the last thing you edited before XFCE didn't start? Are you able to load into other window managers like JWM?

_________________
Kdenlive for Saluki
Openshot for Saluki
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 6 [86 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Eye Candy
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0876s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0183s) ][ GZIP on ]