Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 28 Nov 2014, 03:14
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Three-Headed Dog 5.2.8.005 Updated APR 25 2012
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 28 of 30 [444 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 26, 27, 28, 29, 30 Next
Author Message
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 613
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Thu 15 Mar 2012, 17:39    Post subject: HDMI & TV  

sage wrote:
_____________________________________________________________________
001-003:
Having a few issues with HDMI display on my TV, native 1360x768.
The (DOS BIOS) boot screen shows, the Puppy boot screen shows, but the booting commands give 'Mode Unsupported'. Not a problem until trying to change the res. with CRL-ALT-BKSPCE ! Not able to do the xorgwizard/etc. blind. Tried a coupe of cheat codes unsuccessfully - anything else to try? Ta.

______________________________________________________________________

I found that get proper video resolution you 'CAN NOT' have the TV plugged in when you start Puppy... 'any Puppy!'

I corrected the problem by loading Puppy 'First' then plugging in the TV, that cured it for me about 90%.

Now, that is using a desktop, if you use a laptop or notebook, there are a few .pet programs, (I believe in utilities, multimedia etc., section, not sure exactly where I saw them it's been awhile) that allow you to setup TWO different resolutions at the same time. Mind you, that's laptop, notebook ONLY.

Hope that helps!

>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4819
Location: GB

PostPosted: Fri 16 Mar 2012, 04:29    Post subject:  

Quote:
'CAN NOT' have the TV plugged in when you start Puppy... 'any Puppy!'

Wow! That is an amazing revelation. If correct there's a very serious shortcoming in either the TV, the video card or PC SW, FW & HW. It also conflicts with my observations that when it works - it works, but I wouldn't be here if that was a constant!
Notwithstanding, it's usually possible to use the remote to switch into HDMI from TV/w.h.y. which essentially is the same as not having HDMI ON at boot up.
It will be most interesting to hear what the industry and SW gurus have to say about all this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3522
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Tue 10 Apr 2012, 05:21    Post subject:  

1. Using Luci-001.003.iso
With isolinux.cfg in the ISO file altered to include pmedia=ataflash...
And booted using "live" CD-RW, and lucisave.3fs+SFS filepair held [in a folder in the root folder] on ext3 partition on internal HDD.

PROBLEM
2. Videos at Youtube won't play. Sad
(a) Used flash_install-0.1.pet to install the latest flashplayer [version doesn't show in PPM!]

3. I have ghostery installed, and ALL listed elements blocked.
Disabling ghostery, apparently has no beneficial effect.

4. Any idea how to fix?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terryphi


Joined: 02 Jul 2008
Posts: 763
Location: West Wales, Britain.

PostPosted: Tue 10 Apr 2012, 05:38    Post subject:  

Sylvander wrote:
1. Using Luci-001.003.iso
With isolinux.cfg in the ISO file altered to include pmedia=ataflash...
And booted using "live" CD-RW, and lucisave.3fs+SFS filepair held [in a folder in the root folder] on ext3 partition on internal HDD.

PROBLEM
2. Videos at Youtube won't play. Sad
(a) Used flash_install-0.1.pet to install the latest flashplayer [version doesn't show in PPM!]

3. I have ghostery installed, and ALL listed elements blocked.
Disabling ghostery, apparently has no beneficial effect.

4. Any idea how to fix?


If Flashplayer does not work you can try the pet of version 10.3.183.18 which is security patched and intended for older hardware which will not run the latest version 11.2.202.228. Details in this thread:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=77256

AS well as the the download link to my site in the thread, you can also get it from the Ibiblio repository or mirrors because Barry has uploaded it to .../quirky/pet_packages-common/ .

_________________
Classic Opera 12.16 browser SFS package for Precise, Slacko, Racy, Wary, Lucid, Quirky, etc available here Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3522
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Tue 10 Apr 2012, 08:53    Post subject:  

@Terryphi
1. It's not a problem with the hardware...Youtube videos play in all 6 of my other Puppies.
However...

2.
(a) I uninstalled "flashplayer" by clicking on it in the PPM.
It remained listed in the PPM. Confused
Then clicked the "Save" icon [1st save of the session] to save that uninstall.
Then...
(b) Installed your "flash-player-10.3.183.18.pet"...
It was shown installed beside "flashplayer" in the PPM.
Then clicked the "Save" icon [2nd save of the session] to save that install.
(c) Tried to run a video at Youtube, but still no-go! Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terryphi


Joined: 02 Jul 2008
Posts: 763
Location: West Wales, Britain.

PostPosted: Tue 10 Apr 2012, 09:15    Post subject:  

OK. One more idea:

Have you checked your FlashPlayer settings to see that local storage is allowed? Some sites will not work if you do not allow local storage. Maybe YouTube is one of them. YouTube saves data locally and an entry appears for domain s.ytimg.com .

LATER: No, that is not the answer. YouTube works for me even if local storage is blocked.

_________________
Classic Opera 12.16 browser SFS package for Precise, Slacko, Racy, Wary, Lucid, Quirky, etc available here Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Tue 10 Apr 2012, 11:47    Post subject:  

Sylvander wrote:
@Terryphi
1. It's not a problem with the hardware...Youtube videos play in all 6 of my other Puppies.
However...

2.
(a) I uninstalled "flashplayer" by clicking on it in the PPM.
It remained listed in the PPM. Confused
Then clicked the "Save" icon [1st save of the session] to save that uninstall.
Then...
(b) Installed your "flash-player-10.3.183.18.pet"...
It was shown installed beside "flashplayer" in the PPM.
Then clicked the "Save" icon [2nd save of the session] to save that install.
(c) Tried to run a video at Youtube, but still no-go! Sad
just a wild stab in the dark perhaps something there will suit: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=618386#618386
_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Tue 10 Apr 2012, 14:28    Post subject:  

Quote:
Videos at Youtube won't play.

Sylvander, Did you say what browser? Could you try Google Chrome 18 which has its own flashplayer? I just tested in 3HD.003 with Google Chrome 17 and the youtube videos played.http://diddywahdiddy.net/Puppy500/Google_Chrome-18-Lucid.pet
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3522
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Tue 10 Apr 2012, 15:15    Post subject:  

1. My Firefox browser is version 11.0

2. Just now installed Google_Chrome-17-Lucid.pet [filename copied and pasted] and that plays Youtube videos just fine. Very Happy
Your link says it's 18, but the file says it's 17.
Now when I click on the "Browse" icon on the desktop Chrome opens instead of Firefox.
Not sure whether I like that.
Never used Chrome before.
It seems faster than Firefox. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Tue 10 Apr 2012, 22:10    Post subject:  

Quote:
Your link says it's 18, but the file says it's 17.

That's fixed now, but you would have to click the wrench in the upper right, then Settings, Under the Hood, Clear Browsing Data, to download the new one if you are using Google Chrome. Yes, most tests say Chrome is faster than Firefox.

Could you uninstall your Firefox and install this one and see if that changes anything.
http://diddywahdiddy.net/Puppy500/Firefox-11-Lucid-2.pet

You said you used the Install Flashplayer menu item to install the latest flashplayer, right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3522
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Wed 11 Apr 2012, 09:49    Post subject:  

SUCCESS! Very Happy
Presently...

1. Firefox version 11.0 installed, and set as default, and opening when I click the "Browse" icon on desktop.
Google-Chrome-18 also installed.

2. Youtube videos now playing OK in both Firefox and Google-Chrome.
All working well and looking good.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oui

Joined: 20 May 2005
Posts: 2147
Location: near Woof (Germany) :-) Acer Laptop emachines 2 GB RAM AMD64. franco-/germanophone, +/- anglophone

PostPosted: Wed 11 Apr 2012, 19:31    Post subject:  

Hi
I did install the French version from Petihar to make possible that my very old people in France can use Puppy with my help by telephone Idea but I am not able to use it myself on my desk computer Crying or Very sad . it is the only one version of puppy under about 10 different versions I have on this hard disk making this problem:

the first «first start» happens without problem

I let search my equipment in commando line

it proposes my a low resolution and I commute to my real high resolution 1920 x 1080 pixel.

X starts and I can work a long time so.

at the next start (with or without save file) black window and message «digital power saving mode» on the screen. nothing to do to better it or commute to an other char mode console to end without hard ware reset. only hard ware reset possible.

my PC:

High-resolution monitor 1980 x 1080 pixel connected with the high resolution plug in

DELL Optiplex SX 270 with high resolution connector and following internal equipment:
Intel Celeron 2,2 Ghz,
643048 kB Ram
Intel chips set 82865G/82801/82540

I did try with and without file zl001376.sfs, no difference.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oui

Joined: 20 May 2005
Posts: 2147
Location: near Woof (Germany) :-) Acer Laptop emachines 2 GB RAM AMD64. franco-/germanophone, +/- anglophone

PostPosted: Thu 12 Apr 2012, 05:02    Post subject:  

Hi
It is now certain: the warm restart is not possible or very difficult! I have to turn off the PC completely and it is dangerous for the file if I forget: very long bad nodes message by start. It is not operable so...

PS: pls if a solution is known, inform the forum user «petihar» what his has to do concerning his French puplet!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DC


Joined: 30 Apr 2006
Posts: 361
Location: Maidenhead, England

PostPosted: Sat 14 Apr 2012, 05:17    Post subject:  

Hi

Happy to report that NFS works, the same as the 528 series.

Whilst browsing Barry's blog I came across this passage.

Quote:
Lucid Puppy 528 -005 released
1. Built from an old version of Woof, so is missing many of the fixes and improvements that I have announced on my blog over the last couple of years -- though Lucid has been going on an independent parallel path with it's own development, so there will be many Woof-level improvements since the original fork from the official Woof (plus some ported from the official Woof). So, this is not necessarily a reason against.


Did you use the same version of Woof to build Three-Headed Dog? If so where can I download your version of Woof?

thanks

DC

_________________
a little bit of knowledge and I'm dangerous
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3522
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sat 14 Apr 2012, 07:28    Post subject:  

Hmmm...
1. Yet again...
Firefox-11.0 is not playing videos at Youtube! Sad
Flashplayer fails the test at this page.
Google-Chrome passes the test.

2. Tried disabling all the Firefox add-ons, and restarting Firefox, but that didn't fix it.

3. Any ideas what might be causing this, and how to fix it so the fix is permanent?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 28 of 30 [444 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 26, 27, 28, 29, 30 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1215s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0283s) ][ GZIP on ]