Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 22 Jul 2014, 21:45
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
Sound Input Level meter
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Author Message
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2042
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Fri 13 Apr 2012, 23:09    Post subject:  Sound Input Level meter  

A simple visualisation for the sound input level (e.g. microphone input, etc). Good to check whether your input is working or in the correct range.
Note: please close this before you start the actual application (recording, voip, or whatever) as the script uses arecord, and arecord blocks other applications from doing their work.

EDIT: two packages now provided, one for 32-bit puppies and one for 64-bit puppies (fatdog).

EDIT: updated to version 1.1, remove the stereo files - thanks for OscarTalks for reporting the bug.
alsa-input-level-1.1-x86_64.pet
Description  package for 64-bit puppies
pet

 Download 
Filename  alsa-input-level-1.1-x86_64.pet 
Filesize  27.15 KB 
Downloaded  249 Time(s) 
alsa-input-level-1.1.pet
Description  Updated package for 32-bit puppies
pet

 Download 
Filename  alsa-input-level-1.1.pet 
Filesize  25.16 KB 
Downloaded  363 Time(s) 

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13

Last edited by jamesbond on Mon 16 Apr 2012, 20:35; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2042
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Fri 13 Apr 2012, 23:13    Post subject:  

If you can't be bothered with stdbuf and GUI, just open terminal and do this:
Code:
arecord -vv /dev/null

There is your input level meter. Of course, as above, you need to stop this before starting your actual application.

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2042
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Sun 15 Apr 2012, 02:19    Post subject:  

Updated post for 32-bit systems too.
_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Master_wrong

Joined: 19 Mar 2008
Posts: 456

PostPosted: Sun 15 Apr 2012, 02:35    Post subject:  

thanks... I do realize that during recording video using tv-tuner i have to use :
Quote:

amixer set Capture 2%

v4lctl volume mute off

ffmpeg -y -f oss -i /dev/dsp -itsoffset 1 -acodec pcm_s16le -f video4linux2 -s 640x480 -r 15 -qscale 5 -vc 1 -tvstd PAL-DK -i /dev/video0 -sws_flags bicubic -ss 00:00:03 -t 00:00:15 -f avi test.avi


other wise the sound would be terrible.

even with my script, it is "just ok" quality. do you have any suggestion ?

thanks

_________________
Cluster-Pup v.2-Puppy Beowulf Cluster
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=499199#499199
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 817
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Sun 15 Apr 2012, 21:16    Post subject:  

Hello JamesBond,

Thanks for that. A useful little tool. A lot of people seem to report problems with sound input and this is a nice way of providing an indication of what (if anything) is happening.

By the way, is there any chance that you might be able to offer help and advice regarding PSIP at some stage please? Cheers!

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2042
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Mon 16 Apr 2012, 11:05    Post subject:  

@Master_Wrong, I can't help with that, I don't have tvtuner myself. But I suggest you try to capture from alsa (-f alsa) instead of from OSS (-f oss) if your tvtuner supports it.

@OscarTalks, yes, I'd like to help but I'm a bit busy right now. I will see what I can do. Haven't been in the PSIP forum for a few months Wink

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 817
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Mon 16 Apr 2012, 12:28    Post subject:  

Installed your sound input meter in Saluki 019. Is it supposed to be saving the audio as a .wav file called "stereo" in root? Mine did. Deleted it of course.
My PSIP disappeared completely from the menu as well which was strange. Had to uninstall and re-install PSIP in PPM. Just wondering if my installing this tool had anything to do with it as I hadn't done much else. EDIT, just noticed, looks like my Precord may have gone for a burton as well. Uninstalled and re-installed to get it back.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2042
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Mon 16 Apr 2012, 20:38    Post subject:  

OscarTalks wrote:
Installed your sound input meter in Saluki 019. Is it supposed to be saving the audio as a .wav file called "stereo" in root? Mine did. Deleted it of course.

No, it's not supposed to do that. My stupidity of course. Fixed Very Happy
Quote:
My PSIP disappeared completely from the menu as well which was strange. Had to uninstall and re-install PSIP in PPM. Just wondering if my installing this tool had anything to do with it as I hadn't done much else. EDIT, just noticed, looks like my Precord may have gone for a burton as well. Uninstalled and re-installed to get it back.
I haven't tried it on Saluki yet, but it isn't supposed to do that. It's just a simple one-line script file. I used Fatdog64 to package the pet, perhaps it's a bit too old and the PET format no longer works for newer puppies. Anyway, you can just get the PET, extract it manually (tar -xvf alsa-input-level.pet) and copy the files to /usr/bin/ (and the desktop files to /usr/share/applications).

cheers!

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0577s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0037s) ][ GZIP on ]