Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 01 Oct 2014, 06:58
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Firefox freezes
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [20 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
n0ukf


Joined: 14 Feb 2012
Posts: 129

PostPosted: Mon 16 Apr 2012, 16:40    Post subject:  Firefox freezes  

Why is it that Firefox frequently freezes up on me? I
ll click a link or navigation button and it will start to load the page but the progress animation in the tabs will stop spinning and I can do nothing else in Firefox for half a minute until the animation continues again and it loads the rest of the page. Meanwhile the rest of the system is not locked up, I can switch to and use other system or application windows.

Asus Eee 900, 512mb RAM, 4GB SSD, Lucid 528, Firefox 11

_________________
"Cogito, ergo es. I think, therefore you is." Ray D. Tutto (King of the Moon) to Baron Munschaussen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3937
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Mon 16 Apr 2012, 17:06    Post subject:  

N0ukf- how is it you have v11 and how'n from where is it being called? Is ipv6 enabled or not?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
n0ukf


Joined: 14 Feb 2012
Posts: 129

PostPosted: Mon 16 Apr 2012, 18:55    Post subject:  

I don't know how I got to 11. The last I'd looked it was 7 but just now hitting Help>About Firefox it tells me its 11.

Where is that ipv6 that I can check on it?

_________________
"Cogito, ergo es. I think, therefore you is." Ray D. Tutto (King of the Moon) to Baron Munschaussen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3937
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Mon 16 Apr 2012, 20:11    Post subject:  

You might not like my response, but if you're gonna rectify the problem, do it right. Make a backup of your current /root/.mozilla/firefox/*.default profile then go into PPM'n uninstall. Remove all FF directories in /root, /usr/lib and, if remaining, the executable in /usr/bin. Then grab this copy'n clean install. I doubt IPv6's the problem and something that's detailed in the link I left. Ta'boot- I'd advise disabling auto-update..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Amgine


Joined: 21 Sep 2011
Posts: 233
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Tue 17 Apr 2012, 22:22    Post subject:  

Just downloaded 11, but it has a problem launching firefox. When it does it runs great.

When I click the Firefox icon in the internet menu it just says loading. the nothing.

To launch it I need to click the round icon in my panel and click run-firefox. It says, "Fire fox is now your default browser" or something like that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3937
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Tue 17 Apr 2012, 22:35    Post subject:  

Why jump threads.. or am I missing something?
Quote:
Just downloaded 11, but it has a problem launching firefox. When it does it runs great.

When I click the Firefox icon in the internet menu it just says loading. the nothing.

To launch it I need to click the round icon in my panel and click run-firefox.

It says, "Fire fox is now your default browser" or something like that.

Did you install on top, or follow along?

Fire htop.. from where does it say FF's being launched?

Take a look at this post..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Amgine


Joined: 21 Sep 2011
Posts: 233
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Tue 17 Apr 2012, 23:15    Post subject:  

Semme wrote:
Why jump threads.. or am I missing something?
Quote:
Just downloaded 11, but it has a problem launching firefox. When it does it runs great.

When I click the Firefox icon in the internet menu it just says loading. the nothing.

To launch it I need to click the round icon in my panel and click run-firefox.

It says, "Fire fox is now your default browser" or something like that.

Did you install on top, or follow along?

Fire htop.. from where does it say FF's being launched?

Take a look at this post..


I did at first but then I removed them both and installed 11. htop shots multiple Firefox running.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3937
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Tue 17 Apr 2012, 23:48    Post subject:  

What is it you removed exactly? Post the contents of: geany /usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Amgine


Joined: 21 Sep 2011
Posts: 233
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Wed 18 Apr 2012, 01:13    Post subject:  

I just removed Firefox though PPM.. I am about to load up puppy and remove it manually..
Last edited by Amgine on Wed 18 Apr 2012, 22:05; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Amgine


Joined: 21 Sep 2011
Posts: 233
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Wed 18 Apr 2012, 02:52    Post subject:  

Sorry about jumping threads. Clicked on the wrong one.

Well I got annoyed and just re-formatted my USB and installed all the updated stuff. Everything is working so far..

Still need to check Youtube to see if my flash player is working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3937
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Wed 18 Apr 2012, 18:03    Post subject:  

Amgine- what's the word on YouTube.. your new setup work?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Amgine


Joined: 21 Sep 2011
Posts: 233
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Wed 18 Apr 2012, 19:29    Post subject:  

It works perfect. Thanks for the help.
Last edited by Amgine on Wed 18 Apr 2012, 22:01; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3937
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Wed 18 Apr 2012, 19:31    Post subject:  

Oh good. I wasn't expecting to hear anything less.. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Amgine


Joined: 21 Sep 2011
Posts: 233
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Wed 18 Apr 2012, 20:11    Post subject:  

You were right, it was because of the Old version of FF.
Last edited by Amgine on Wed 18 Apr 2012, 22:01; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3937
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Wed 18 Apr 2012, 21:28    Post subject:  

Right by observation'n <wink> feedback. Proof'n my existing setup didn't hurt..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [20 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0683s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0049s) ][ GZIP on ]