Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Apr 2014, 13:30
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Security
How to tell if a port is open or closed?
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Author Message
Smithy


Joined: 12 Dec 2011
Posts: 378

PostPosted: Tue 24 Apr 2012, 16:28    Post subject:  How to tell if a port is open or closed?  

Is there some way to open up (or close) ports in Puppy Linux 431?

I can't really see what's going on except for the blinky connection meter,
but I wanted to check that port 2074 to 2076 is being opened for a prog I am using.
Not too sure how the linux firewall works but it is certainly letting firefox and email through, maybe it is already letting 2074 to 2076 through and I have a connection problem elsewhere..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppy_apprentice


Joined: 07 Feb 2012
Posts: 106

PostPosted: Tue 24 Apr 2012, 17:04    Post subject:  

try this:
http://ubuntublog.org/linux-firewall-ports-iptables.htm

here u can check your security (but only for window i think):
http://www.grc.com/intro.htm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Smithy


Joined: 12 Dec 2011
Posts: 378

PostPosted: Tue 24 Apr 2012, 17:52    Post subject:  

Thanks for that link puppy apprentice, I will try it in the console.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8565
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 24 Apr 2012, 17:55    Post subject:  

Quote:
Not too sure how the linux firewall works but it is certainly letting firefox and email through, maybe it is already letting 2074 to 2076 through and I have a connection problem elsewhere..

If you want to open certain ports in the firewall, you need to do a custom install. That's one of the options you will see in the firewall setup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Smithy


Joined: 12 Dec 2011
Posts: 378

PostPosted: Wed 25 Apr 2012, 01:01    Post subject:  

Ok, those commands don't work in the console, bash error or something...


But, I went to the custom Linux firewall:
is this the correct syntax "2074-2076/udp" in the specify your ports bit?
It did a sanity check and no errors were generated.

Unfortunately I cannot do an echoserver test because it is a very old program and will have to wait until the recipient connects on the other end.
And Shields Up only does the first 1056 ports.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppy_apprentice


Joined: 07 Feb 2012
Posts: 106

PostPosted: Wed 25 Apr 2012, 15:45    Post subject:  

for GRC u can test specified ports, put eg. 2074-2076 in the field under "You may select any service from among those listed above . . ." label

as rcrsn51 wrote u can give acces to specified ports in puppy firewall program, click on firewall try icon and choose custom install, next go to last position in the list and tick it (other), choose your own port eg. 2074/udp or 2074/tcp or 2074 for both, in the next screen specify ip addres that could connect via choosen port

in the console u can check if that port is openned:
iptables -L
or iptables -L | grep 2074

from commandline try this (commands from former pages don't work):
iptables -A INPUT -p tcp --dport 2074 -j ACCEPT
iptables -A INPUT -p tcp --dport 2076 -j ACCEPT
iptables -L or iptables -L | grep 2074 etc.

more info:
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/IptablesHowTo
http://www.linuxhomenetworking.com/wiki/index.php/Quick_HOWTO_:_Ch14_:_Linux_Firewalls_Using_iptables

run your app and check if it listen on your ports:
netstat -nap | grep 2074
netstat -nap | grep 2076

or try this ports on GRC

i didn't check this, i use on puppy only browser and mail apps and my own scripts to parse web pages so i don't know if it will be working ;(

to reset firewall settings click on firewall icon and choose automagic installation
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Smithy


Joined: 12 Dec 2011
Posts: 378

PostPosted: Wed 25 Apr 2012, 20:30    Post subject:  

Thanks for those commands puppy apprentice, the ports are now working properly.
Cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Security
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0530s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0106s) ][ GZIP on ]