Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 26 Oct 2014, 04:52
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
Gnewpet - makes pets from installed packages
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 4 of 5 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sat 10 Mar 2012, 15:29    Post_subject:  

When Thunor started to develop gtkdialog...01micko announced that he will support gtkdialog4. In slacko gtkdialog is symlink to gtkdialog4. I have done so also with dpup exprimo. Lucid Puppy follows its own decision and so does Barry Kauler. Lucid Puppy woof base is 2 years old now. Woof2 provides now gtkdialog4 compliant scripts to the base sfs.

01micko`s reasoning was that those non-compliant older gtkdialog apps should be picked and author should fix them. Most actively supported gtkdialog apps have been updated.

Here is the nice script by 01micko to download gtkdialog source....compile it and get ready made stuff in /tmp folder. I have used that script created latest gtkdialog version.
Remove the phony .gz and give it executable permissions.
update-gtkdialog.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  update-gtkdialog.gz 
Filesize  503 Bytes 
Downloaded  347 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 319

PostPosted: Sat 14 Apr 2012, 05:01    Post_subject: is pferences included?  

Say I wanted to make a pet with my personal preferences
Is this possible?

Is configuration files included in generated pet?

If not do you know any other way to accomlish this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
RSH


Joined: 05 Sep 2011
Posts: 2420
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat 14 Apr 2012, 10:13    Post_subject: Re: is pferences included?  

Scooby wrote:
Say I wanted to make a pet with my personal preferences
Is this possible?

Is configuration files included in generated pet?

If not do you know any other way to accomlish this?

If you do re-create a .pet of installed files, the .pet contains the currently settings of this application.

To make a .pet out of other files i would recommend the backup-settings:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=614348#614348

Using gnewpet and backup-settings together will make almost of what you want.

I do use both as a special team - that's why i include a run option for gnewpet inside the backup-settings.

_________________
LazY Puppy
RSH's DNA
SARA B.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Tue 17 Apr 2012, 00:28    Post_subject: Re: is pferences included?  

Scooby wrote:
Say I wanted to make a pet with my personal preferences
Is this possible?

Is configuration files included in generated pet?

If not do you know any other way to accomlish this?

If config files are not in the initial file list, you can add them manually by checking save directory.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
lulrich

Joined: 25 Sep 2011
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sat 28 Apr 2012, 11:04    Post_subject:  

HI,
Could someone explain to me how to create a pet with gnupet for gnucash,?
here is my problem, I am not able at this point to connect to the internet with my personal laptop and I need to install gnucash to it, so I downloaded gnewpet onto a flash-drive on another computer and installed it to my laptop, I did the same with gnucash, downloaded it to flash drive and extracted it inside the root folder on my laptop and then tried to create a pet but wasn´t able to, is this possible to do or am I trying to do something that can´t be done Rolling Eyes
thank you, I have a lot to learn yet
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Sat 28 Apr 2012, 18:23    Post_subject:  

lulrich wrote:
HI,
Could someone explain to me how to create a pet with gnupet for gnucash,?
here is my problem, I am not able at this point to connect to the internet with my personal laptop and I need to install gnucash to it, so I downloaded gnewpet onto a flash-drive on another computer and installed it to my laptop, I did the same with gnucash, downloaded it to flash drive and extracted it inside the root folder on my laptop and then tried to create a pet but wasn´t able to, is this possible to do or am I trying to do something that can´t be done Rolling Eyes
thank you, I have a lot to learn yet


Both gnewpet and gnucash should be listed in the dropdown User List if they were installed correctly (they should also be listed in /root/.packages).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1437
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Sat 28 Apr 2012, 23:36    Post_subject:  

lulrich wrote:
I downloaded gnewpet onto a flash-drive on another computer and installed it to my laptop, I did the same with gnucash, downloaded it to flash drive and extracted it inside the root folder on my laptop and then tried to create a pet but wasn´t able to


Why did you extract gnucash, if it was a pet package, or is it the source code that you are trying to make into a pet?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
lulrich

Joined: 25 Sep 2011
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun 29 Apr 2012, 20:51    Post_subject:  

I´m not sure what you mean by source code, but when I downloaded Gnucash it showed it on my flashdrive as files and not as a pet,
Is it a pet? that would make it simple, all I want is to be able to use gnucash on my personal computer which at this time I am not able to connect to the internet with it,
thanks a lot
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Sun 29 Apr 2012, 21:50    Post_subject:  

Downloaded source code has to be compiled, then made into a pet. You can use gnewpet to grab it from any puppy distro that already includes it as a built-in. You can also install it from the PPM (puppy repository), and then use gnewpet to grab it as a user-installed package.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
lulrich

Joined: 25 Sep 2011
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon 30 Apr 2012, 08:32    Post_subject:  

good news!
I found it as a pet, downloaded it, put it over and bingo!
thanks a lot guys
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
RSH


Joined: 05 Sep 2011
Posts: 2420
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu 06 Sep 2012, 06:49    Post_subject:  

Hi.

I did use gnewpet the last few weeks to make the LazY Puppy a little smaller (decreasing its size). By now it is a 114MB ISO.

I find it somewhat inconvenient to open the / tmp directory manually to get the pet each and every time.. So i have refined the LazY Puppy built in gnewpet. It moves now the .pet automatically to /root/GNewPet and opens up the directory after creating the .pet.

Meanwhile i found this my modified version a bit more comfortable.

Just to make sure, not to be attacked again (who remembers the "fixed" script i've had posted in this thread and Flash locks it because of our discussion about that script?), i did wrote a script, to make you able, to get these comfort into your installed gnewpet.

Here is the comfort-patch for gnewpet: Cool Laughing
Code:
#!/bin/sh
#------------------------------------------------------------------------------
# gnewpet patch by RSH
# moves created .pet to /root/GNewPet and calls rox to open the directory
#------------------------------------------------------------------------------

#NAME="/tmp/Testdatei"
#pbn=`basename "${NAME}.pet"`
echo ""  >> /usr/local/bin/newpet
echo '#------------------------------------------------------------------------------'  >> /usr/local/bin/newpet
echo '# gnewpet patch by RSH ---> moves created .pet to /root/GNewPet'  >> /usr/local/bin/newpet
echo '#------------------------------------------------------------------------------'  >> /usr/local/bin/newpet
echo ""  >> /usr/local/bin/newpet
echo 'mkdir /root/GNewPet' >> /usr/local/bin/newpet
echo 'pbn=`basename ${NAME}.pet`'  >> /usr/local/bin/newpet
echo 'mv ${NAME}.pet /root/GNewPet/$pbn'  >> /usr/local/bin/newpet
echo ""  >> /usr/local/bin/newpet
echo 'rox /root/GNewPet &'  >> /usr/local/bin/newpet
echo ""  >> /usr/local/bin/newpet
echo 'exit 0'  >> /usr/local/bin/newpet
echo ""  >> /usr/local/bin/newpet
echo '#------------------------------------------------------------------------------'  >> /usr/local/bin/newpet
echo '# End of gnewpet patch by RSH ---> moves created .pet to /root/GNewPet'  >> /usr/local/bin/newpet
echo '#------------------------------------------------------------------------------'  >> /usr/local/bin/newpet

exit 0

# End of gnewpet-patch


Create a script file, insert the code into it and execute it. No messages will be seen - works though. Very Happy Laughing

RSH

_________________
LazY Puppy
RSH's DNA
SARA B.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1437
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Thu 06 Sep 2012, 21:56    Post_subject:  

RSH,

that makes it easier, thanks

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
RSH


Joined: 05 Sep 2011
Posts: 2420
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu 06 Sep 2012, 22:24    Post_subject:  

Best of all:

If you are running gnewpet on gnewpet after installing the patch, you will have a (g)new pet of gnewpet. Next install ---> no further patch needed... Laughing Laughing Laughing

_________________
LazY Puppy
RSH's DNA
SARA B.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Sun 09 Sep 2012, 16:06    Post_subject:  

RSH wrote:


Just to make sure, not to be attacked again (who remembers the "fixed" script i've had posted in this thread and Flash locks it because of our discussion about that script?), i did wrote a script, to make you able, to get these comfort into your installed gnewpet.

Here is the comfort-patch for gnewpet: Cool Laughing

Great...now you're flaming Flash. Let's be clear, after I spent considerable time reworking the script to accommodate a feature you seemed to need, you discovered a trivial bug. Instead of reporting the bug, you chose to post a page of my code with the addition of one variable which overrode, rather than fixed the bug. Your consequent chest-beating included letting us all know that your "fix" was the "perfect solution", and needed no further work. You then posted it as your app, with your own version number....letting me know that since I was only the technician, it was rightfully yours. You made such a ruckus that Flash had to shut down the thread.

Feel free to alter the /tmp directory to anyplace you like. I have no idea why something so trivial warrants a special post with a name on it ("comfort patch" ??) and large comments with your name on it in the code. Thanks for continuing to demonstrate the use of bold and color in all your glorious posts.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
RSH


Joined: 05 Sep 2011
Posts: 2420
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon 10 Sep 2012, 01:35    Post_subject:  

Hi, jpeps.

Before coming to the point, let me say: i post links in this post because for you. So you can easily reach the threads posts to re-read. It's not intended for other users/readers/members --> please, do not waste your time on that. Rolling Eyes

Ok, jpeps. Now to the point. Wink

No, I'm not flaming Flash --> why should I?.
No, I did not post it as my app (I just posted one of the two scripts and named the changes).
No, I'm not consequently chest-beating --> even though there are some reasons to do so.
No, it was not (only) a (one) feature i seemed to need (it has been a lot of suggestions of mine)
No, I did not made such a ruckus that Flash had to shut down the thread.

As you can see (read), Flash did lock the thread after your post - not after mine. So, to tell the truth: we both made some ruckus.
I'm going to lock this thread for a while in the hope that you two will cool off enough to let this go.

The whole thing has been something like a misunderstanding, because you did not post that you meanwhile had discovered and fixed the bug. Instead you did made an edit of your previous post that has not been noticed by me and so i did post a second post that your script fails and my "fixed" script did work.

Posted: Fri 24 Feb 2012, 06:38 Post subject:
$dir is just the directory name selected in the gui entry box. You're already in that directory, so there's no need to copy with $dir$files. You can't copy files from an SFS that hasn't been mounted.


Oh...I see the bug. /tmp/list has the "/" included.
Last edited by jpeps on Fri 24 Feb 2012, 07:02; edited 1 time in total


My first post - Posted: Fri 24 Feb 2012, 06:50
My second post - Posted: Fri 24 Feb 2012, 07:54

First: I think this, my second post, did hurt somehow the pride of yours (maybe thinking about me as a annoying newbie or something like that)
Second: if you would have made a post instead of editing your previous one, i would have noticed it and would not made my second post and surely did immediately removed the script - as for the reasons i have had listed in the thread here ---> I was willing to remove the script (including my modifications) after you publish your fixed .pet because just to prevent users to destroy the fixed gnewpet by downloading and installing this script. There has been no need to invite me to do that with "NOT" and "REMOVE IT PROMPTLY"

I can see and understand, that it must have been hard to get always new and new and new suggestion from myself - might be giving you the feel to be my personal slave on your application that i want to use and to have this and that and such other features.

Meanwhile i did made some similar experiences in the German forum, working on the LazY Puppy RunScript-Builder etc.pp which has been suggested by a German user especially for his purposes. I did work for about three months on this and did sometimes feel like a real personal slave of this user. Because every time i reached somehow what he wanted, he made some new suggestions ---> making me think: oh my god, who might stop this guy.

So to me it looks like we'd made similar experiences on similar work and did somehow show some similar behavior. And that's alright with me.

But there's a big difference, i see:
Quote:
2/17/12 Version 5.6 Includes both User installed and Builtin apps.
2/20/12 Version 5.8 Enables updates and name change to Builtin apps.
2/20/12 Version 5.9 Spruced up graphics. Thanks Geoffrey
2/23/12 Version 6.0 Opens wrapper that allows alternative /root directory
2/23/12 Version 6.1 bug fix
2/29/12 Version 6.2 bug fix
3/2/12 Version 6.3.1 bug fix

3/3/12 Version 6.4 Added feature to find the related woof package for a selected builtin. It lets you know if multiple packages are involved, otherwise automatically adds the correct name and pet.spec to the built package.
3/3/12 Version 6.5 Added ability to use woof package names & specs in batch mode (there's a checkbox in batch window).

As you can see, there is not even one notice of RSH because of made suggestions and/or finding bugs etc.pp. Yes, somewhere in a post you did write something like RSH i can see where it could be useful. Thanks. and so, if this all is not worth to be named but sprucing up the graphics is worth to be named, then it is alright with me.

Please don't call me now something like a troll, because it would be an empty phrase which is mostly used by arrogant persons - i don't want to look at you as such a person.

But to show the difference fully and detailed, i want to let you know some facts on the LazY Puppy RunScripts. Suggested by der-schutzhund, a German user and would not be possible without the help from other forum members.
Each and every automatically created RunScript wrote:
#!/bin/bash
#------------------------------------------------------------------------------
# This script has been automatically created through SFS-AutoScript by RSH
# Used OS: LazY Puppy 2.0.1 - the smartest dog on the forum (based on lupu528-4)
# Created as: LP2_AbiWord-2.8.6.sfs.abiword.run.sh, on: 2012-08-11
#------------------------------------------------------------------------------
# This is named: LazY Puppy SFS P.L.U.S. - (P)owerful (L)ive (U)ser (S)ystem
# It is the (r)evolutionary next step of the LazY Puppy Main SFS Handling
# Thanks for help and hints to: der-schutzhund, Sunburnt, Bruce B and Stu90
# Thanks to shinobar for introducing the --skip-fixmenus command in sfs_load
# This Script uses: lazy_sfs_load - modified by RSH (original by shinobar)
#------------------------------------------------------------------------------
# 2012-06-08 by Rainer Steffen Hain (RSH @ puppy-linux.org (murga forum))
#------------------------------------------------------------------------------



And if you would run the LazY Puppy 2.0.2 Final build 0.0.2 you would notice in the
Welcome GUI wrote:
Of course i did use and get a lot of support, suggestions and help on coding from the members of Puppy-Linux.org Forum. There were: big_bass, Bruce B, der-schutzhund, diggs, don570, emil, greengeek, 10wt3ch, jpeps, Karl Godt, L18L, lobster, minesadorada, nancy reagan, pizzasgood, rhadon, scOttman, seaside, shinobar, stu90, sunburnt, Volhaut, zigbert (i might have overseen a few ones).


That's the difference.

Even the LazY Puppy Logo shows where its been based on:


And:

YES! It is a comfortable patch because it is so to me. And also to all those users (about 100 have read the post since I've posted the comfort-patch) who used it.

I just want to say at the end of this, please be cool (as i try) and be aware of the possibility that your post above and mabe your following reply will be and is made still under the influence of this. I have noticed it but nothing to do with it. Wink

And as you can see: I am not only able to use bold and color - i can also use emoticons... Laughing

RSH

_________________
LazY Puppy
RSH's DNA
SARA B.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 5 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1118s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0051s) ][ GZIP on ]