Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 20 Nov 2017, 22:50
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How to install programs downloaded from repository?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 4 [56 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4
Author Message
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 7775
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Tue 01 May 2012, 07:18    Post subject:  

Since you're apparently wanting to get a suitable install in place, yeah.. go ahead'n open a new thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jobo

Joined: 26 Apr 2012
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Tue 01 May 2012, 07:50    Post subject:  

Semme wrote:
Since you're apparently wanting to get a suitable install in place, yeah.. go ahead'n open a new thread.


will do. thanks for your help the other night and to all the others who have spent time on me stuttering my way through

couldnt have done it with out you Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 7775
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Tue 01 May 2012, 08:30    Post subject:  

Oh sure, you're gonna get lots of help around here cause, plain'n simple- ya stick with it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sfeeley

Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 809

PostPosted: Tue 01 May 2012, 10:41    Post subject:  

It sounds like you got your install mostly working. Although I think you were unable to get a swap partition onto your harddrive (which would work better than a flash stick or external drive).

Perhaps you can make a swap file instead? This doesn't require partitioning. (this is different from a swap partition, but serves the same purpose of giving your computer more effective RAM to work with.)

http://puppylinux.org/wikka/SwapFile

I've not used a swapfile before personally, so I can't offer more guidance than the above link. But maybe others could help if that's a direction you want to go in.

Also, I think that you said that youtube videos caused a hangup? Flash video will be hard on a real old computer, regardless of puppy. But some of the tips in this thread might help

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69708&start=15&sid=0e8e469bf82ee2e9a8f9effc9db4e033
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jobo

Joined: 26 Apr 2012
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Tue 01 May 2012, 11:18    Post subject:  

yes, but im in a quandry here, it is quite rediculasly fast, and im reluctant to mess with it incase i spoil it, but the external cd is taking up the only usb and i want to get the wifi working if i can ? if i can sort something out for that, il just glue the wallet to the lid and leave it there
its got a ram counter on the v2 puppy and its telling me i have a constant 487mb available, meaning its using 113 of the 600 available and no red showing in the box no matter what i do
iil give that thread a read and have a play with vids next thanks

there seems to be a theory that multiple thin partitions for swap are bettter than one larger one, speed of pick up i think and then either is better than a swap file as it stores in random order in that. i suspect im losing through the usb conection though, idealy i want to partition the internal drive whilst still using it, is that posible ? if not il set up a swap file to use and see how that works

thanks for your ongoing suport

joe Very Happy
i
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 7775
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Tue 01 May 2012, 11:25    Post subject:  

No- you can't partition the disk while running out of an active partition on the disk.
Unless mistaken, I recall you stating your system won't boot a usb stick- correct?
*Kinda wonder'n if this Plop thingy-doo can help.. I'm gonna have to try it..

By the way Joe- where's this Razz new thread or yours?

Last edited by Semme on Tue 01 May 2012, 11:45; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jobo

Joined: 26 Apr 2012
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Tue 01 May 2012, 11:42    Post subject:  

no it wont, it will boot of floppy,though, if i had any

nb spoke to soon, it strugles with very ornate websites, 7 seconds or so to load, sites like this one less than a second
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 7775
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Tue 01 May 2012, 11:44    Post subject:  

Is there a usb port? If ya got a port'n a stick- try that link I left..

Updated- http://www.linuxjournal.com/content/using-plop-boot-manager-usb-boot

From floppy!

In which case you could eventually install this!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sfeeley

Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 809

PostPosted: Tue 01 May 2012, 13:11    Post subject:  

Quote:
ts got a ram counter on the v2 puppy and its telling me i have a constant 487mb available, meaning its using 113 of the 600 available and no red showing i


I'm pretty sure that what you are referring to is an indicator for the size of your savefile.

to see how much RAM memory you have available, open console and type
Code:
htop


alternatively, type
Code:
free
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jobo

Joined: 26 Apr 2012
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Tue 01 May 2012, 13:56    Post subject:  

sfeeley wrote:
Quote:
ts got a ram counter on the v2 puppy and its telling me i have a constant 487mb available, meaning its using 113 of the 600 available and no red showing i


I'm pretty sure that what you are referring to is an indicator for the size of your savefile.

to see how much RAM memory you have available, open console and type
Code:
htop


alternatively, type
Code:
free


how do i cut and paist the results ? it wont let me ?
total used free
mem 125984 122164 3820
swap 0 0 o
total 125984 122164 3820
nb its chanced to 396 now
nnb yes i see you are correct
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sfeeley

Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 809

PostPosted: Tue 01 May 2012, 14:27    Post subject:  

Quote:
how do i cut and paist the results ? i


some of the older terminals are silly like that. If I remember correctly,
1. highlight what you want to copy in the terminal,
2. go to where you want to paste the material
3. click both mouse buttons at the same time (pointed to where you want the material to go)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 4 [56 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0479s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0062s) ][ GZIP on ]