Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 21:54
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Classic Pup 2.14X -- Updated 2 series
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 320 of 333 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 318, 319, 320, 321, 322, ..., 331, 332, 333 Next

What is the best Puppy Version ever, LOL
2.14x
24%
 24%  [ 8 ]
2.14x
12%
 12%  [ 4 ]
2.14x
30%
 30%  [ 10 ]
Other: 2.14x only
33%
 33%  [ 11 ]
Total_votes : 33

Author Message
Eathray

Joined: 06 Sep 2009
Posts: 506

PostPosted: Wed 28 Mar 2012, 13:13    Post_subject:  

Hey ttuuxxx and friends,

Can anyone direct me to or provide directions to get Google Talk working in Xchat?

Usually we just go with Pidgin, but I can't find one for 214x. I tried one for 4 series, but wasn't stable.

For the wife, she likes Google Talk, but in a stand alone, not online.

Thanks,

Eathray
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dealora

Joined: 07 Nov 2007
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Mon 09 Apr 2012, 09:50    Post_subject:  

Is it possible to connect Realtek 8187 wireless (Wifi) in puppy 2. 14 x how?

Thankyou

Juan (Spain)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2941
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Sat 14 Apr 2012, 00:21    Post_subject:  

Can't seem to get -top9 to load from a USB optical drive... drops out to initial-RAMdisk console when it can't find itself with both hands Wink seems to assume that all CD drives are IDE... bother Confused

I hope -top10 fixes this... I'm downloading it now, for a VIA C3 based system that has all the computational horsepower of an early '90's pager Laughing

EDIT: ...that would be a no. In fact, it looks like *all* the stuff I type at the boot: prompt is being ignored... I've had this happen with multiple Puppies so I suspect it's a quirk of the hardware I'm using.

EDIT2: Well, I did *something* right this time, and it worked. No idea what. IIRC boot prompt was "puppy pmedia=usbcd pfix=ram,noramsfs". All I know for sure, is that I got it to boot. Finally!

...now, as usual, I need to find a WiFi driver for my card... but I think I can do that myself Wink

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2941
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Sat 14 Apr 2012, 14:42    Post_subject:  

...eh, too much trouble from this... I think I'll stick to Puplite5 for my legacy installs... it's faster anyways.
_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jobo

Joined: 26 Apr 2012
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Wed 02 May 2012, 20:27    Post_subject:  

hi, ive just done a frugal install of 214 by 9 and 10 and it wont recognise mt eithernet conection say no modem/interface detected, , other versions of puppy conect up with no bother

i dont know what modem is built in, but its a very old ibm think pad a21m running windows 98
can any one help me with this

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Thu 03 May 2012, 09:52    Post_subject:  

jobo

A21 modem is usually 'Xircom MPCI+ Modem 56 WinGlobal' in win98, and can be a modem only or modem + network card in the internal pci-e slot

http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/detail.page?LegacyDocID=MIGR-4PCRRF

It should use the builtin kernel module LT, AFAIK

Have you tried the network connection wizard?

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
RetroTechGuy


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 2668
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 03 May 2012, 10:41    Post_subject:  

jobo wrote:
hi, ive just done a frugal install of 214 by 9 and 10 and it wont recognise mt eithernet conection say no modem/interface detected, , other versions of puppy conect up with no bother

i dont know what modem is built in, but its a very old ibm think pad a21m running windows 98
can any one help me with this

thanks


Google indicates that the modem is a Lucent WinModem (winmodems are not hardware modems, and thus not always well supported under Linux).

However, network interfaces tend to generally be well supported under Linux (direct line to your high speed router).

I'm assuming that you tried that direct connection? Plug it in, click on the "connect" icon, and it should find a network.

_________________
Add swapfile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jobo

Joined: 26 Apr 2012
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Thu 03 May 2012, 13:05    Post_subject:  

yes i did, not its not detecting anything
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jobo

Joined: 26 Apr 2012
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Sat 05 May 2012, 09:12    Post_subject:  

any takers on this, ive since load puppy lipy retro and that connected no problem, just ran though the wizard, but id still like to give this version ago
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
alphadog


Joined: 07 Dec 2010
Posts: 95
Location: Deepest Wiltshire UK

PostPosted: Fri 18 May 2012, 14:00    Post_subject:  

Hello anybody there?
I would like to install 214x on my OLD laptop (running as live cd and a save file at the moment). Specs for lappy below in my sig.
I have a problem, for some reason I cannot change the desktop wallpaper.
When I click on desktop background (using themes icon on desktop) a blue box is saying "generating thumbnails. please wait" and then another window flashes open and instantly disappears.
xerrs log attached.
I am no linux guru so be gentle with me!
xerrs.zip
Description 
zip

 Download 
Filename  xerrs.zip 
Filesize  34.4 KB 
Downloaded  370 Time(s) 

_________________
Computers are like air conditioners. They work fine until you start opening Windows. ~Author Unknown
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2596
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 18 May 2012, 14:25    Post_subject:  

jobo wrote:
hi, ive just done a frugal install of 214 by 9 and 10 and it wont recognise mt eithernet conection say no modem/interface detected, , other versions of puppy conect up with no bother

Hi Jobo, if you look at the end of the network cable you plug in to the PC, how many gold pins can you see? And also, what brand /model number of router have you got?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10827
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 18 May 2012, 16:09    Post_subject:  

alphadog wrote:
Hello anybody there?
I would like to install 214x on my OLD laptop (running as live cd and a save file at the moment). Specs for lappy below in my sig.
I have a problem, for some reason I cannot change the desktop wallpaper.
When I click on desktop background (using themes icon on desktop) a blue box is saying "generating thumbnails. please wait" and then another window flashes open and instantly disappears.
xerrs log attached.
I am no linux guru so be gentle with me!

hi try installing this and please report back.
ttuuxxx
libjpeg62.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  libjpeg62.pet 
Filesize  61.68 KB 
Downloaded  384 Time(s) 

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
alphadog


Joined: 07 Dec 2010
Posts: 95
Location: Deepest Wiltshire UK

PostPosted: Sat 19 May 2012, 02:47    Post_subject:  

Ok mate will try this out later today or tomorrow. I'm at work now . Will definately report back. Because after all, community help is what makes puppy what it is, GRRRReat!
_________________
Computers are like air conditioners. They work fine until you start opening Windows. ~Author Unknown
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
alphadog


Joined: 07 Dec 2010
Posts: 95
Location: Deepest Wiltshire UK

PostPosted: Sat 19 May 2012, 11:21    Post_subject:  

Yay thanks ttuuxxx that solved the problem!
Onwards and upwards!

_________________
Computers are like air conditioners. They work fine until you start opening Windows. ~Author Unknown
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jobo

Joined: 26 Apr 2012
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Mon 21 May 2012, 21:52    Post_subject:  

greengeek wrote:
jobo wrote:
hi, ive just done a frugal install of 214 by 9 and 10 and it wont recognise mt eithernet conection say no modem/interface detected, , other versions of puppy conect up with no bother

Hi Jobo, if you look at the end of the network cable you plug in to the PC, how many gold pins can you see? And also, what brand /model number of router have you got?


7 and its an echolife hg520b
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 320 of 333 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 318, 319, 320, 321, 322, ..., 331, 332, 333 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1674s ][ Queries: 15 (0.0893s) ][ GZIP on ]