Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 21 Apr 2014, 11:11
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Video
How to get 1366x768 Resolution on Phillips 32" (HDMI)?
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Author Message
GECKYL


Joined: 04 Dec 2011
Posts: 15
Location: Dutch Pennsylvania

PostPosted: Wed 09 May 2012, 22:02    Post subject:  How to get 1366x768 Resolution on Phillips 32" (HDMI)?
Subject description: Puppy Linux 5.2.8 on TV
 

Lucid Pup 5.2.8 (005)
Intel HD Graphics

Do not see 1366x768 as an option in xorg wizard using xorg high driver. Was wondering if I need to set it manually. Using a Core i3 laptop with a cracked screen and outputting via HDMI. 1280x768 @ 60Hz works well enough but I am trying to use the native resolution of my Phillips 32PFL350D/F7. Ubuntu manages to set the correct resolution automatically so do I just copy my xorg.conf file from there? Thanks in advance guys!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GECKYL


Joined: 04 Dec 2011
Posts: 15
Location: Dutch Pennsylvania

PostPosted: Wed 09 May 2012, 22:19    Post subject: More info  

Wed 9 May 2012 Operating System: Lucid -528 Linux 2.6.33.2
2.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 02)
oem: Intel(R)Ironlake Mobile Graphics Chipset Accelerated VGA BIOS product: Intel(R)Ironlake Mobile Graphics Controller Hardware Version 0.0

X Server: Xorg Driver: intel
X.Org version: 1.7.6
dimensions: 1280x768 pixels (270x203 millimeters)
depth of root window: 16 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.2
OpenGL vendor string: Tungsten Graphics, Inc
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI Intel(R) IGDNG_M GEM 20091221 2009Q4 x86/MMX/SSE2
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 7.7.1

Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU M 370
Core 0: 2394 1: 2394 2: 2394 3: 2394 MHz

...the above also recorded at '/tmp/root/report-video-glx'.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10678
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Wed 09 May 2012, 22:43    Post subject:  

I have a 32" HDMI monitor with the same 1366 x 768 resolution. Puppy can do it, but if I remember right it's not automatic, I always have to choose that resolution. I don't know about the version of Puppy you're using, but I remember that one of the configuration windows of the wizard has a button labeled "More" which gives more choices for the display resolution. That's where you'll find the one you're looking for.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GECKYL


Joined: 04 Dec 2011
Posts: 15
Location: Dutch Pennsylvania

PostPosted: Wed 09 May 2012, 23:50    Post subject: "More"  

"More" does not list it but I know it is supported by the video adapter because ubuntu sets the correct res automatically when i boot a live cd. Thanks though! Very Happy I'll keep trying but hopefully someone can help. lol
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GECKYL


Joined: 04 Dec 2011
Posts: 15
Location: Dutch Pennsylvania

PostPosted: Fri 11 May 2012, 11:00    Post subject:  

More does list 1360x768 which does not seem to work correctly. However that resolution does work on ubuntu 10.10. <sigh> Very Happy I think it is the HDMI cauing a problem. Everything would work great if this screen was not cracked. Guess I should fix that first. lol
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GECKYL


Joined: 04 Dec 2011
Posts: 15
Location: Dutch Pennsylvania

PostPosted: Fri 11 May 2012, 15:19    Post subject: I see...  

Using Slacko 5.3.3
Found this in Hardware Info

-Extensions-
BIG-REQUESTS
Composite
DAMAGE-Display-
Resolution : 1366x768 pixels
Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
Version : 1.9.5
-Monitors-
Monitor 0 : 1366x768 pixels
Monitor 1 : 1024x768 pixels

So it is setting the HDMI (TV) to 1024x768 and the laptop screen(broken) is coming in at 1366x768. How do i set them both to come in at 1366x768??? Possible by editing xorg.conf??? Lets see...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GECKYL


Joined: 04 Dec 2011
Posts: 15
Location: Dutch Pennsylvania

PostPosted: Mon 14 May 2012, 20:40    Post subject: Zarfy!  

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?mode=attach&id=22484

Thanks anyways!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10678
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Mon 14 May 2012, 22:57    Post subject:  

What the heck did you do? Laughing There's a much better way to attach an image to your post. Just use the Browse and Add attachment buttons that are below the forum's compose window. Keep the image below 600 pixels wide and the forum will automatically show it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Video
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0455s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0045s) ][ GZIP on ]