Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 08:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
How to install my HP f4580 "All in One" printer?
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
mike2000

Joined: 15 Apr 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun 15 Apr 2012, 09:45    Post_subject:  How to install my HP f4580 "All in One" printer?  

Hi everyone.

I' m new. Have recently installed Puppy on my laptop, using a flash drive. It seems to run ok. My only serious problem is I don't know how to install my HP f4580 "All in One" printer.

It came with an installation disk which worked fine with Windows XP, but there is nothing for Linux. How do I install it?
All suggestions welcome.

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9204
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 15 Apr 2012, 09:49    Post_subject:  

Go here and get the hplip_print-3.12.2.pet. It supports your HP Deskjet F4580.

What Puppy version are you using? Somewhere on its desktop, you should find a control panel that has a printer setup wizard.

Your printer should be auto-detected by the wizard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mike2000

Joined: 15 Apr 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun 15 Apr 2012, 14:27    Post_subject:  

Thanks for the link, found the "hplip" files and installed them. Am running
"Lucid 5.28". There is a "CUPS printer wizard" in "Setup" but it does not seem to do anything automatically. Not sure how the "hplip" files are involved.

Mike.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9204
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 15 Apr 2012, 14:49    Post_subject:  

Administration tab > Add Printer
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mike2000

Joined: 15 Apr 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon 16 Apr 2012, 10:12    Post_subject:  

In SETUP" found a CUPS Printer Wizard. In this app was a folder full of printer drivers. In this folder was an HP F4500 series driver which I
added to the installed printers. It prints the testpage fine. Thanks.

I still have two printing problems remaining. Firstly to print the test page I
had to use a cable connection to the printer, can't make it work by wifi.
My other problem is am unable to get it to scan.

Mike.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9204
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 16 Apr 2012, 10:23    Post_subject:  

mike2000 wrote:
can't make it work by wifi.

Connect your printer by wifi. Run the CUPS wizard and select Find New Printers. You may need to do this several times before CUPS detects your printer. Then use the same install procedure.

If CUPS can't find the printer, type this command using the printer's IP address.

Code:
ping aaa.bbb.ccc.ddd

Does it get a reply from the printer?

Quote:
My other problem is am unable to get it to scan.

Did you install the hplip_scan-3.12.2.pet? What procedure are you using to scan? As a first step, you should connect by USB.

Are you trying to scan by pressing buttons on the scanner's control panel? That doesn't work in Linux. You need to run scanner software. Look in the Graphic menu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mike2000

Joined: 15 Apr 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2012, 11:23    Post_subject:  

Followed the advice. Went into CUPS wizard, clicked on "Administration" then on "Find New Printer" many times, without success. The printer was
on and set for wifi.

Then tried to Ping the IP address, but could not work out where to enter
the Ping command.

Mike.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9204
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2012, 12:15    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Then tried to Ping the IP address, but could not work out where to enter the Ping command.

Your desktop should have an icon labeled "Console".

Do you have the Puppy firewall turned on? This will block access to networked printers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mike2000

Joined: 15 Apr 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2012, 13:12    Post_subject:  

I used Console to Ping printer. Got a reply "56 bytes".

I think the "Firewalls" are switched off but there are two apps
listed as firewalls and possibly others.

Mike.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9204
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2012, 13:26    Post_subject:  

There is an icon for the Puppy Firewall in the lower right corner of the screen. If it's OFF, there should be an exclamation point on the icon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mike2000

Joined: 15 Apr 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat 21 Apr 2012, 09:32    Post_subject:  

Ran the app that puts the firewall icon in the tray. Set it to off.
Ran the Cups wizard "find new printers" many times again.
Eventually it found it. Am now able to print wifi. Thanks.

My only remaining problem with the printer is I am unable to
get it to scan.

Mike.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9204
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 21 Apr 2012, 11:21    Post_subject:  

Quote:
My only remaining problem with the printer is I am unable to get it to scan.

First, have you installed the hplip_scan PET from here?

You will also need Peasyscan from here.

As a first step, connect the unit directly by USB and get scanning working.

Then we can look at the additional instructions for using a networked HP scanner with Peasyscan.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mike2000

Joined: 15 Apr 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri 04 May 2012, 13:11    Post_subject:  

Have got the scanner function working using a USB cable. It will work using both Peasyscan and Xsane, but it will not scan using a wireless connection, even with the firewall swiched off.

Mike.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9204
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 04 May 2012, 17:41    Post_subject:  

Have you built a configuration file as described in the How-to? If so, please post it here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mike2000

Joined: 15 Apr 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon 14 May 2012, 11:10    Post_subject:  

I built a Configuration file using the "Config-sample" file in the Peasyscan folder as a model.
Peasyscan found it and puts up a menu, but when "Start" was clicked,
I got an error "invalid argument" and the program halted, but have now got the printer scanning wifi.
Did not understand the program wanted the name I myself had given the
printer/scanner, rather than its model type.

Thanks for the advice. Am certain I would not have managed it on my
own, at least not the wifi bit. This is of course the great problem with
Linux. Lack of support. When I installed it on "Windows" I just had to
run an installation disk and it was all done in 10 minutes.

Mike.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0737s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0104s) ][ GZIP on ]