Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 22 Oct 2014, 01:35
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Eye Candy
How to make taskbars transparent in JWM?
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
espertalhao04

Joined: 11 May 2012
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Thu 17 May 2012, 12:56    Post_subject:  How to make taskbars transparent in JWM?  

Hey everyone...
I am making this post to ask you how to make the taskbars transparent using jwm on puppy 4.3.1
i want them transparent (to improve style)...
if possible, i would like to make window borders transparent too...
If possible, also change the window buttons...
if someone has any idea how to do that, please post here...

_________________
asus a6000: intel m 1.6ghz, 2gb ram ddr, no hdd, usb 2.0 pendrive running puppy linux 4.3.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
`f00


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 809
Location: the Western Reserve

PostPosted: Thu 17 May 2012, 20:27    Post_subject:
Sub_title: sure, but why stop at bars?
 

This goes back a bit (your mention of window titlebar buttons triggered Mr Peabody's Wayback..)

a) it needs xorg as the X server (just in case p431 has the Xvesa kdrive X server option)

b) then either xcompmgr or kcompmgr with the option added in and enabled in xorg.conf

c) opacity tags in the jwm theme

d) for convenience, a menu item to load x-or-kcompmgr -n (the general parameter) .. unload with htop or similar process manager if it eats up too much processor for your liking (actually jwm is pretty good with this simple compositing)

Window titlebar button masks are possible with some perusal of how Patriot did it - not real sure if the bell is worth the candle for that (I remember making a Q-for-quit and a max variant, but it wasn't high priority for me). Opacity tags are where the juice is - they're good for menu and trays, window opacity went from individually set to a serial-focus stepping effect (how far down in the layers determines just how translucent). This is true translucency, by the way; not mere pseudo-transparency to the rootwindow - menu, trays and windows all share visibility properties when they overlap.

a few links to get started..
the original work, more-or-less
a few of my jwm themes
a bit on xcompmgr and other niceties for general use..
here

for more extreme decor options I'd go with other window managers like e16, fluxbox and such Twisted Evil

hth - screenshots where and as you find'em…
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
espertalhao04

Joined: 11 May 2012
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Thu 17 May 2012, 20:58    Post_subject:  

i have the original version of jwm that came on puppy 4.3.1
i don't know which version is exactly...
but i just want to know if it will work or not...
Mad

_________________
asus a6000: intel m 1.6ghz, 2gb ram ddr, no hdd, usb 2.0 pendrive running puppy linux 4.3.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
`f00


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 809
Location: the Western Reserve

PostPosted: Thu 17 May 2012, 21:15    Post_subject:
Sub_title: :x science, `tis
 

yep, p431 should be fine -
Code:
jwm -v
in a console for running jwm version (upgrade is usually simple enough if you really want to, but backup your /etc/xdg/templates/_root_.jwmrc template if you have it customized)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
espertalhao04

Joined: 11 May 2012
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Thu 17 May 2012, 22:16    Post_subject:  

thanks...
i'll try this and i'll show you the results as soon as possible...

_________________
asus a6000: intel m 1.6ghz, 2gb ram ddr, no hdd, usb 2.0 pendrive running puppy linux 4.3.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
espertalhao04

Joined: 11 May 2012
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Thu 17 May 2012, 22:39    Post_subject:  

done, installed it i am not getting the speed i want...
this is too slow!!!
but here is a quick printscreen:


_________________
asus a6000: intel m 1.6ghz, 2gb ram ddr, no hdd, usb 2.0 pendrive running puppy linux 4.3.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
espertalhao04

Joined: 11 May 2012
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Thu 17 May 2012, 22:43    Post_subject:  

just look at this horrible error that makes on opera 11.60!!!
this is quite a nightmare!!!
damn!!!
i'll have to see what i can do about this...


_________________
asus a6000: intel m 1.6ghz, 2gb ram ddr, no hdd, usb 2.0 pendrive running puppy linux 4.3.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3211
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Thu 17 May 2012, 22:48    Post_subject:  

Very Happy Hello,
From the PAW thread:
Quote:
For xcompmgr or kcompmgr:
1. Add the Section/EndSection below to your xorg.conf (at the end of it also works)

Section "Extensions"
Option "Composite" "Enable"
EndSection



Posted: Mon Apr 06, 2009 5:50 pm Composite Information:

From http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=1779102064&t=39162
Refer there for more information on compositing in JWM

Here are the steps to enable composite (for transparency/translucency):
First install one of the following:

xcompmgr-1.1.4.tar.gz
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?mode=attach&id=15590
(This comes pre-installed in PAW, no need to install it)

Or, if you prefer:
kcompmgr-2.02.tar.gz
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?mode=attach&id=15589

Then:

Quote:
1. Add the Section/EndSection below to your xorg.conf (at the end of it also works)

Quote:
Section "Extensions"
Option "Composite" "Enable"
EndSection





2. Add one of these to .xinitrc before "rox -p /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin"

kcompmgr -n & # basic composite & transparency
-or-
kcompmgr -I 0.05 -O 0.15 -f -n & # composite, fade-in/out & transparency
-or-
xcompmgr -n & # basic composite & transparency
-or-
xcompmgr -I 0.05 -O 0.15 -f -n & # composite, fade-in/out & transparency

Then you must restart X....


Slightly outdated version wise, but the commands are still valid...

_________________
Close the Windows, and open your eyes, to a whole new world
http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/puppyluvr/
Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook

Puppy since 2.15CE...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
espertalhao04

Joined: 11 May 2012
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Thu 17 May 2012, 22:52    Post_subject:  

but how can i solve the performance issue and the horrible menu from opera???
_________________
asus a6000: intel m 1.6ghz, 2gb ram ddr, no hdd, usb 2.0 pendrive running puppy linux 4.3.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
`f00


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 809
Location: the Western Reserve

PostPosted: Sat 19 May 2012, 17:31    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Your Mileage May Vary
 

aka your machine (mine's mostly 12 years old) and working methods may differ - so for comparison I loaded up my liveCD+stick of p431

Performance hit - there's some to be expected, the gpu is doing more (why using outline rather than full window draws is a good idea when moving or resizing). 82 processes seems relatively many, even if they are background and you've got plenty of RAM - then again, count methods can vary. An idea to try if you haven't - do a kill party to see what you really need (htop is good for that, just do it on a session you're willing to lose so you can find the must-not-kill vital stuff like i/o and display)

The errors on the 1st screenie console I've no idea what they relate to, the xvkbd window clearly shows translucent effect, pwidgets(conky) seems nominal, roxpin is what it is Neutral , tasklist not in tray? (all kinds of ways to do trays, but I'd expect two buttons for the up windows anyhow in a normal jwm tray)

As for the "horrible" opera (search) menu .. even more ways to do opera, so I'm no judge. I'd expect presto to do better with the gui, are geckoes like seamonkey and/or firefox ok? Is there a reload interval for that page on your speedial interfering? Browsers can be complex instruments at times.

more big screenies (in linkage form) - a 'before' @241k, an 'after' @286k, a 'more load' @347k and finally a 'opera menu' sample @149k
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
espertalhao04

Joined: 11 May 2012
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Sat 19 May 2012, 18:24    Post_subject:  

There is no reload time.
It usually just make the horrible effect and the gui getts laggy...
but that piece missing just happened once...
it shows transparency quite well, but too slow...
My gpu is a crap (333mhz gpu) and that can make it to be slow

_________________
asus a6000: intel m 1.6ghz, 2gb ram ddr, no hdd, usb 2.0 pendrive running puppy linux 4.3.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Eye Candy
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0704s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0045s) ][ GZIP on ]