Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 16:15
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-600 alpha2
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 17 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Author Message
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri 18 May 2012, 19:00    Post_subject: Save file not recognized  

Upon reboot or shutdown, it offers to create a save file and after 8-9 min it finally starts creating one, then reboot or shutdown is accomplished properly. On restart, the newly created save file, although present, is not recognized.

It appears that all functions requiring probing of the hard drives takes an excessive amount of time. Pmount takes 3-4 min, Gparted took almost 15 min. Of course, I do have 12 partitions plus a couple of usb devices connected.

Thanks,

Jim

System: Custom built with BFG NVIDIA Geforce 8400 GS 512MB, Asus P6T Motherboard, Intel core i7-920 (8MB Cache, 2.66 GHz), DDR3 3GB 1333MHz ram, Pioneer DVR-2910 DVD+-RW Dual Layer Burner, Realtek ALC1200 Audio, HP Photosmart C5280 All-in-One
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2185
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Fri 18 May 2012, 19:12    Post_subject: Fatdog64-600 alpha2  

I booted the live dvd and after setting up wireless etc, I used the
fatdog64 installer to install to a partition on the hard drive.
The network wizard needs to be run each bootup to setup the wireless
connection.
I had a video running in VLC and at the same time had a video at cnn
running fullscreen in Seamonkey, both worked well on this not so
powerfull laptop.

Fri 18 May 2012 Operating System: Fatdog64-600 Linux 3.3.4

oem: ATI ATOMBIOS product: RS690 01.00

X Server: Xorg Driver: radeon
X.Org version: 1.11.4
dimensions: 1280x800 pixels (338x211 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: X.Org R300 Project
OpenGL renderer string: Gallium 0.4 on ATI RS690
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 8.0.2

AMD Athlon(tm) Processor 2650e
Core 0: 800 MHz

Network controller Broadcom Corporation BCM4312 802.11b/g LP-PHY (rev 01)
vlcscrn.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   43.34 KB
 Viewed   1134 Time(s)

vlcscrn.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2232
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Fri 18 May 2012, 19:28    Post_subject:  

LateAdopter wrote:

Opera 11.64 put a folder in /usr/lib which I suspect had previously been a symbolic link to /usr/lib64 like in fd520

So I put a symbolic link to /usr/lib64/hardinfo in /usr/lib then Hardinfo worked again.
I had this problem earlier and thought I have fixed it. Can you please provide the link to the pet so that I can test it?
_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2232
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Fri 18 May 2012, 19:31    Post_subject:  

irishrm wrote:
wireless is working fine but I'm having great difficulty getting the tap to work on my touchpad.
What is the problem? Does it work at all (ie you can move the cursor with it, but tap-to-click doesn't work, or touchpad is not responding? There is an "Adjust touchpad" in the setup menu, if you open that and go to the second tab, down at the bottom you will see that the "Tap Time" is set to zero. Adjust the slider to make it non-zero (say 180) and see if tap-to-click works?
_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2232
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Fri 18 May 2012, 19:38    Post_subject: Re: Save file not recognized  

Jim1911 wrote:
Upon reboot or shutdown, it offers to create a save file and after 8-9 min it finally starts creating one, then reboot or shutdown is accomplished properly.
When did the process starts to delay? After the initial message but before the display of the "devices to save", or during the savefile creation process itself?

Quote:
On restart, the newly created save file, although present, is not recognized.
Do you create the savefile on USB device? If yes, USB device may not be recognised at first boot, add the boot parameter "waitdev=n" (where n is the number in seconds) to delay the disk probing for a while. I need waitdev=3 for my flash drive to be recognised, yours may vary.

Quote:
It appears that all functions requiring probing of the hard drives takes an excessive amount of time. Pmount takes 3-4 min, Gparted took almost 15 min. Of course, I do have 12 partitions plus a couple of usb devices connected.
Try running this from the terminal, see how long it takes:
Code:
blkid -c /dev/null
and also just
Code:
blkid
to see if there is any time difference.
_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2232
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Fri 18 May 2012, 19:40    Post_subject: Re: Fatdog64-600 alpha2  

[quote="Billtoo"]I booted the live dvd and after setting up wireless etc, I used the
fatdog64 installer to install to a partition on the hard drive.
Quote:
The network wizard needs to be run each bootup to setup the wireless
connection.
Do you use wpagui or the old network-wizard? I didn't test much on the network wizard because I have always been using the new wpagui.

Quote:
I had a video running in VLC and at the same time had a video at cnn
running fullscreen in Seamonkey, both worked well on this not so
powerfull laptop.
Cool ! I should try that on my netbook too Smile
_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1437
Location: florida

PostPosted: Fri 18 May 2012, 19:46    Post_subject:  

Bill,

Also, if you use the network wizard, be sure to uncheck the box for Wpa_gui that's on the network wizard first window. But like James, I've been using the Wpa_gui for wireless.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri 18 May 2012, 20:00    Post_subject: Re: Save file not recognized  

Jim1911 wrote:
Upon reboot or shutdown, it offers to create a save file and after 8-9 min it finally starts creating one, then reboot or shutdown is accomplished properly. On restart, the newly created save file, although present, is not recognized.

It appears that all functions requiring probing of the hard drives takes an excessive amount of time. Pmount takes 3-4 min, Gparted took almost 15 min. Of course, I do have 12 partitions plus a couple of usb devices connected.

Thanks,

Jim

System: Custom built with BFG NVIDIA Geforce 8400 GS 512MB, Asus P6T Motherboard, Intel core i7-920 (8MB Cache, 2.66 GHz), DDR3 3GB 1333MHz ram, Pioneer DVR-2910 DVD+-RW Dual Layer Burner, Realtek ALC1200 Audio, HP Photosmart C5280 All-in-One
Update: I had placed the save file in the subdirectory where FATDOG64-600 is installed. I moved it to /mnt/home and it is recognized.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2185
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Fri 18 May 2012, 20:10    Post_subject:  

kirk wrote:
Bill,

Also, if you use the network wizard, be sure to uncheck the box for Wpa_gui that's on the network wizard first window. But like James, I've been using the Wpa_gui for wireless.


kirk and jamesbond:

I was using the old network wizard but I didn't notice the check box, I reran the network wizard, unchecked the Wpa_gui, setup the network and now it's still working after a reboot.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
irishrm


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 223

PostPosted: Fri 18 May 2012, 20:56    Post_subject:  

When I open adjust touchpad the tap time is already set at 180, so should have worked.

here are the fixes I've been trying:

Open /etc/x11/xorg.conf as text.
Find the line Option "MaxTapTime" "0" and replace "0" with "220".
Next restart X-Server (press Ctrl+Alt+Backspace; type xwin, press Enter).
Now tapping should work

Rude hack for getting the tapping persistent, if the Flsynclient does not do its job, is.....
Go to the /root/Startup. Right click > New > Script. Gave name like enable-tap.
Open the script. There is just shebang row. Under it type that used row.
synclient TapButton1=1.

The last one usually works when all else fails,so I must be missing something.

Thanks for your interest guys.
irishrm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri 18 May 2012, 21:03    Post_subject: Re: Save file not recognized  

jamesbond wrote:
Jim1911 wrote:
Upon reboot or shutdown, it offers to create a save file and after 8-9 min it finally starts creating one, then reboot or shutdown is accomplished properly.
When did the process starts to delay? After the initial message but before the display of the "devices to save", or during the savefile creation process itself? After clicking Yes to create a save file, although there is also a long delay before the initial message.

Quote:
On restart, the newly created save file, although present, is not recognized.
Do you create the savefile on USB device? If yes, USB device may not be recognised at first boot, add the boot parameter "waitdev=n" (where n is the number in seconds) to delay the disk probing for a while. I need waitdev=3 for my flash drive to be recognised, yours may vary.Installation is in it's own subdirectory on an ext4 hd partition. When I moved the save file out of the subdirectory to /mnt/home, it is recognized.

Quote:
It appears that all functions requiring probing of the hard drives takes an excessive amount of time. Pmount takes 3-4 min, Gparted took almost 15
min. Of course, I do have 12 partitions plus a couple of usb devices connected.
Try running this from the terminal, see how long it takes:
Code:
blkid -c /dev/null
8-9 min # blkid -c /dev/null
/dev/loop0: TYPE="squashfs"
/dev/loop1: TYPE="squashfs"
/dev/loop2: UUID="0d177fef-458d-4155-b85e-602825d17e0e" TYPE="ext4"
/dev/sda1: UUID="A01CE0BA1CE08C9A" TYPE="ntfs"
/dev/sda2: UUID="b0d1cd73-3b55-4dbe-9def-9c25a3feecc2" SEC_TYPE="ext2" TYPE="ext3"
/dev/sda3: UUID="ee409228-8dba-48cf-a3af-2a09f5fb2b79" TYPE="ext4"
/dev/sda4: UUID="022c1d8f-8690-49dc-8d8a-0496fc43bdc9" TYPE="ext4"
/dev/sdb1: UUID="6bb30332-a157-4dbf-8e3a-4cd08d48bac4" TYPE="ext3"
/dev/sdb2: UUID="82da09ba-35fe-4454-8322-2a10c201756a" TYPE="ext4"
/dev/sdb3: UUID="0c18591b-06a6-44f8-83aa-61ab9b9b6e73" SEC_TYPE="ext2" TYPE="ext3"
/dev/sdb5: UUID="f0fea4bb-f19c-4a8b-b138-815a449de90e" TYPE="ext4"
/dev/sdb6: UUID="b7f318db-d028-4f17-ad87-94ef9c92ff96" TYPE="swap"
/dev/sdb7: UUID="4fe7bcc9-3783-46fc-9c3f-57a342be3cf3" TYPE="ext4"
/dev/sdb8: UUID="18FE8DA12FEC06F6" TYPE="ntfs"
and also just
Code:
blkid
about 8 min # blkid
/dev/sda1: UUID="A01CE0BA1CE08C9A" TYPE="ntfs"
/dev/sda2: UUID="b0d1cd73-3b55-4dbe-9def-9c25a3feecc2" SEC_TYPE="ext2" TYPE="ext3"
/dev/sda3: UUID="ee409228-8dba-48cf-a3af-2a09f5fb2b79" TYPE="ext4"
/dev/sda4: UUID="022c1d8f-8690-49dc-8d8a-0496fc43bdc9" TYPE="ext4"
/dev/sdb1: UUID="6bb30332-a157-4dbf-8e3a-4cd08d48bac4" SEC_TYPE="ext2" TYPE="ext3"
/dev/sdb2: UUID="82da09ba-35fe-4454-8322-2a10c201756a" TYPE="ext4"
/dev/sdb3: UUID="0c18591b-06a6-44f8-83aa-61ab9b9b6e73" SEC_TYPE="ext2" TYPE="ext3"
/dev/sdb5: UUID="f0fea4bb-f19c-4a8b-b138-815a449de90e" TYPE="ext4"
/dev/sdb6: UUID="b7f318db-d028-4f17-ad87-94ef9c92ff96" TYPE="swap"
/dev/sdb7: UUID="4fe7bcc9-3783-46fc-9c3f-57a342be3cf3" TYPE="ext4"
/dev/sdb8: UUID="18FE8DA12FEC06F6" TYPE="ntfs"
/dev/loop0: TYPE="squashfs"
/dev/loop1: TYPE="squashfs"
/dev/loop2: UUID="0d177fef-458d-4155-b85e-602825d17e0e" TYPE="ext4"
to see if there is any time difference.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1437
Location: florida

PostPosted: Fri 18 May 2012, 21:11    Post_subject:  

irishrm,

I suspect flSynclient is overriding your manual settings. If you delete /root/.flSynclient and then restart X your manual settings will probably work. But try FlSynclient first.

FlSynclient, which is Adjust touch pad under the setup menu, seems to work pretty well. To make tap to click work, open Adjust touch pad and look at the tapping tab. Use the "One Finger" pull down menu to select "left button". Then click save and quit. That should do it.

I don't like tap to click so I leave that alone and go to the "Scrolling" tab and check "Vertical Edge Scroll" and uncheck all the others. That way I have vertical scrolling enabled.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri 18 May 2012, 21:12    Post_subject: CUPS fails to find HP Photosmart C5280  

CUPS fails to find HP Photosmart C5280. I have installed hplip_print_fd64-3-11.pet which worked with the previous Fatdog64.

X-sane does find the printer and scans properly after installing hplip_scan_fd64-3.11.pet.

System: Custom built with BFG NVIDIA Geforce 8400 GS 512MB, Asus P6T Motherboard, Intel core i7-920 (8MB Cache, 2.66 GHz), DDR3 3GB 1333MHz ram, Pioneer DVR-2910 DVD+-RW Dual Layer Burner, Realtek ALC1200 Audio, HP Photosmart C5280 All-in-One
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2232
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Fri 18 May 2012, 21:13    Post_subject:  

Thanks Jim, so it's blkid that is slow. Is there any time difference running this:
Code:
busybox blkid
(busybox's version of blkid)?
_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2232
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Fri 18 May 2012, 21:15    Post_subject: Re: CUPS fails to find HP Photosmart C5280  

Jim1911 wrote:
CUPS fails to find HP Photosmart C5280. I have installed hplip_print_fd64-3-11.pet which worked with the previous Fatdog64.

Can you try the hp drivers in the package manager?

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 17 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1161s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0091s) ][ GZIP on ]