Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Sep 2014, 22:38
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Compaq evo n610c (no sound)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [18 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
Sizzlechest

Joined: 05 Dec 2011
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Sat 19 May 2012, 17:12    Post subject:  Compaq evo n610c (no sound)  

Hi there. I recently dug out an old Compaq evo n610c laptop, and decided to install puppy on it. Everything seems to work fine, except the sound. I have tried 2 distros (lucid, and racy), and the sound works on neither. I have tried messing around with the mixer, and running alsa, but had no luck.

I am hoping someone can give me some tips on things to check, or try. Without sound, the computer is worthless to me for what I intend to use it for.

Thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sizzlechest

Joined: 05 Dec 2011
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Sat 19 May 2012, 19:13    Post subject:  

I just tried wary 5.3 also. Can't get a peep out of it. Mad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3414
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 20 May 2012, 07:30    Post subject:  

Specs:

http://reviews.cnet.com/laptops/hp-compaq-evo-notebook/4507-3121_7-20833023.html

The sound card is an ESS Allegro.

http://www.psychosis.net/evo-linux/

::::

Different here.

" Sound
Sound works, via the i810_audio driver.

But occasionally sound won't work after I've cold-booted the machine, and I have to reboot for the card to function properly. I'm not sure why this is. It seems to happen less often now that I've upgraded to the 2.4.20 kernel (I'd been using 2.2.18 before) , but it still happens occasionally. "

http://www.hyper-linux.org/HP-HOWTO/mirror/html/N610c.html

Old versions of Linux...so yours should work.

Ticked >> speaker etc.

http://www.puppylinuxfaq.org/bundled-software/22-how-to/bundled-software/131.html

In Alsamixer.....turn up controls....untick mute...usually with spacebar.

Right click >> volume

""""""""""

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sizzlechest

Joined: 05 Dec 2011
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Sun 20 May 2012, 16:39    Post subject:  

Thank you for the info. That gives me some things to try. I'll post back if I get the beastie working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3414
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 20 May 2012, 19:11    Post subject:  

Sizzlechest:

From another totally unconnected post.

But you can see a pic of >>> Alsamixer settings.
Untick and adjust the levels etc.

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=40226

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sizzlechest

Joined: 05 Dec 2011
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Mon 21 May 2012, 03:08    Post subject:  

Nothing seemingly important was muted in alsamixer, but I went ahead and unmuted everything anyway. This didn't help.

One of the first things I tried was to uncheck "external amplifier", which is what was causing there to be no sound on two other laptops I had installed on to. This didn't help either.

I've spent a lot of time googling, and have found jack. If anyone has any suggestions, I'm all ears. What ever info anyone might need, I will do my best to supply it.

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DutchPuppy


Joined: 14 Aug 2011
Posts: 34
Location: Vlaardingen, South-West of Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon 21 May 2012, 14:56    Post subject:  

Hi

Are you sure that there isn't a hardwareproblem with the soundcard or internal speakers?
I have an evo n600c withs Slacko 5.3.3 and have sound.
One thing is that i sometimes don't get sound at cold boot, then I open Retrovol, tick the PCM slider once and got back sound.

If you do the Alsa sound wizzard, do you see this?



The first one works for me.

Here some info from my PUPSYSINFO (part of it)


=== ALSA Information ===


!!################################
!!ALSA Information Script v 0.4.60
!!################################

!!Script ran on: Mon May 21 18:39:41 UTC 2012

!!Linux Distribution
!!------------------
Slacko Puppy Linux Linux 3.1.10-slacko_4gA [i686 arch]

!!DMI Information
!!---------------

Manufacturer: Compaq
Product Name: Evo N600c
Product Version:

!!Kernel Information
!!------------------

Kernel release: 3.1.10-slacko_4gA
Operating System: GNU/Linux
Architecture: i686
Processor: unknown
SMP Enabled: Yes

!!ALSA Version
!!------------

Driver version: 1.0.24
Library version:
Utilities version: 1.0.24.2

!!Loaded ALSA modules
!!-------------------

snd_maestro3

!!Sound Servers on this system
!!----------------------------

ESound Daemon:
Installed - Yes (/usr/bin/esd)
Running - No

!!Soundcards recognised by ALSA
!!-----------------------------

0 [PCI ]: Allegro - ESS Allegro PCI
ESS Allegro PCI at 0x2400, irq 11

!!PCI Soundcards installed in the system
!!--------------------------------------

02:09.0 Multimedia audio controller: ESS Technology ES1988 Allegro-1 (rev 12)

and here a screenshot of my retrovoladjustments:



Kees
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sizzlechest

Joined: 05 Dec 2011
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Mon 21 May 2012, 15:10    Post subject:  

On alsa wizard, the first option in the window is "intel8x0 Intel Corporation 82801ca/cam ac'97 audio controller (rev 02)".

Sysinfo says the snd_intel8x0 module is loaded.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DutchPuppy


Joined: 14 Aug 2011
Posts: 34
Location: Vlaardingen, South-West of Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon 21 May 2012, 16:12    Post subject:  

Iam sorry it is not the same as the n600c i should have looked further.
It's a ADI Soundmax and I think the loaded driver is the one that should work. You see a speaker icon right under ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sizzlechest

Joined: 05 Dec 2011
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Mon 21 May 2012, 16:32    Post subject:  

There is a speaker icon for the volume adjustment in the tray (bottom right).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DutchPuppy


Joined: 14 Aug 2011
Posts: 34
Location: Vlaardingen, South-West of Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue 22 May 2012, 15:04    Post subject:  

I start to suspect a problem somewhere with the audio components inside. Did you try a headphone to see if there is sound coming from the jack connector in front?
Is it possible to try another live cd distro like Ubuntu to see if it comes to life with sound ?
My experience so far is, that if a wrong driver is loaded, not even a speaker icon is shown. But iam still a learning puppy user.... Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sizzlechest

Joined: 05 Dec 2011
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Tue 22 May 2012, 18:16    Post subject:  

Headphones don't work either, so it's not the speakers themselves. I don't know. I might just buy another like this. They're cheap on ebay.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3414
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Wed 23 May 2012, 02:57    Post subject:  

Sizzlechest :

Download Puppy 4.3.1

It normally gets the sound up...new or old hardware.

A cheap way to test your hardware.

""""""""""

File:pup-431.iso 107464 KB 15/10/2009 12:00:00 AM

ftp://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/puppy-4.3.1/

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sizzlechest

Joined: 05 Dec 2011
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Wed 23 May 2012, 19:43    Post subject:  

Thank you, cthisbear. I'll try that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sizzlechest

Joined: 05 Dec 2011
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Fri 25 May 2012, 02:25    Post subject:  

I tried that, and no go. I pulled the motherboard, and the headphone jack is broken loose partially. I suspect what is happening is the headphone jack is shorted, so the computer thinks a pair of headphones is plugged in, and cuts sound to the main speakers.

Maybe there is a way to set the OS to still play sound through the main speakers when headphones are plugged in? I'm going to look in to that some while I look for a new motherboard. If anyone has any more tips for me, I'd appreciate the input.

Thank you all for your time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [18 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0810s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0168s) ][ GZIP on ]