Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 28 Nov 2014, 12:12
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Laptop into sleep mode
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]  
Author Message
strategic_thinker

Joined: 15 Oct 2009
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Thu 26 Apr 2012, 13:17    Post subject:  Laptop into sleep mode
Subject description: Need to config Puppy 5.2.8 for sleep mode
 

I just installed Puppy 5.2.8-005 on my wife's laptop and I really like it. Nice and stable. Even got Citrix to work just fine.

How do I configure it so that it goes into a sleep mode when the laptop lid is shut ?

Laptop Details: IBM-T43p, P4 2.2Ghz, 2GB ram.

Thanks and regards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sfeeley

Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 809

PostPosted: Thu 26 Apr 2012, 14:21    Post subject:  

partial answer:

1. go to package manager and install acpitool

2. if you want options type in console
Code:
acpitool -h


3. for handy sleep mode. Console
Code:
acpitool -s


4. But typing that for sleep is a pain so do the following:
create a new text file. Name it something like sleep. insert this text in the file
Code:
acpitool -s


save.

right click on the file you made. set permissions to executable.

Now if you click on it, the computer should sleep.

to make things even easier. Drag the file to your desktop. Go to the web and find a pretty icon (or use the one attached below). right click the file on the desktop ---> file--> set icon. Drag your icon.

Now if you have a desktop icon that will put your computer to sleep.

Sorry but I don't know how to make it sleep by shutting the lid
iWannaSleep webIcon_1.png
 Description   
 Filesize   5.05 KB
 Viewed   3098 Time(s)

iWannaSleep webIcon_1.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
frefel

Joined: 26 Feb 2009
Posts: 178
Location: Eugene, Ore., US

PostPosted: Thu 26 Apr 2012, 15:32    Post subject:  

Nice technique sfeeley.
I must be having a brain lapse. How do I grab that sleep .png icon?
Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address 
sfeeley

Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 809

PostPosted: Thu 26 Apr 2012, 15:47    Post subject:  

Quote:
I must be having a brain lapse. How do I grab that sleep .png icon?


Actually, I can't figure out why sometimes png files appear as a picture in the forum post, and other times as a downloadable file.

Anyways, you can just right click on the image, and "save as" (at least in firefox)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Thu 26 Apr 2012, 18:52    Post subject:  

For automatically put laptop to ram-sleep acpid might be of interest .

I think Puppy busybox comes with acpid enabled, but have not gotten it to work with configuration files (/etc/acpid.conf,acpi.map).

The code for busybox acpid had changed completely from 1.17 to 1.18 and was first introduced in 1.14 with minor changes to 1.16 and a bigger change from 1.16 to 1.17 .

Until now i got it to work with version <=1.18
for the power button .

To describe :
when acpid runs it polls /proc/acpi/events file .
when it detects an event, it should run a file called :
/etc/acpi/PWRF/00000080

The busybox code >=1.18(not working) looks like this :
Code:
#struct acpi_event {
#   const char *s_type;
#   uint16_t n_type;
#   const char *s_code;
#   uint16_t n_code;
#   uint32_t value;
#   const char *desc;
#};
#static const struct acpi_event f_evt_tab[] = {
#   { "EV_KEY", 0x01, "KEY_POWER", 116, 1, "button/power PWRF 00000080" },
#   { "EV_KEY", 0x01, "KEY_POWER", 116, 1, "button/power PWRB 00000080" },
#};

#struct acpi_action {
#   const char *key;
#   const char *action;
#};
#static const struct acpi_action f_act_tab[] = {
#   { "PWRF", "PWRF/00000080" },
#   { "LID0", "LID/00000080" },


Since LID0 is mentioned it might work with a script in /etc/acpi/LID/ directory (called 00000080) .
Note:My Lap had a LID/ dir entry in /proc/acpi not a LID0/ .

*

The regular acpid comes with much more script (examples) and works ,too .
I would use the regular acpid .
Jemimah has got regular acpid included in Saluki with very good scripts (at least in version 19 which i had tested)
(Jemimah/pemasu's kernels have additionally hibernation enabled .)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
robpeteuk

Joined: 22 Feb 2008
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Mon 21 May 2012, 06:17    Post subject: must have write access to proc/acpi/sleep no sleep file  

Hi trying to get my Toshiba equium a60 to hibernate.
After installing acpitool and typing in console# acpitool -s
I get
Function Do_Suspend : could not open file : /proc/acpi/sleep.
You must have write access to /proc/acpi/sleep to suspend your computer.

Checked proc/acpi there is no sleep file in the folder. Is there a solution to this?
Also if I shut the lid then reopen it the laptop shuts down. Any idea as to why? thanks Rob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 4055
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Mon 21 May 2012, 07:23    Post subject:  

Rob- for starters mention you're running Slacko 5.3.3. If you grabbed it from PPM- run acpitool in a console..

These are the contents of mine.. Without another system or two to reference- the values may be different..

==

*Question: Does PPM return the deps installation window after hitting "examine dependencies?"

Aboard 5.3.3-4 I find PPM to be broken for acpitool and unable to install it's required deps..

Additionally- refrain from any follow-ups here and open a new, "Slacko specific" thread..
sleep_contents.png
 Description   
 Filesize   2.96 KB
 Viewed   2963 Time(s)

sleep_contents.png


Last edited by Semme on Mon 21 May 2012, 14:15; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
strategic_thinker

Joined: 15 Oct 2009
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Mon 21 May 2012, 08:39    Post subject:  

With Slacko Puppy 5.3.3.4, the sleep mode is working fine on my wife's laptop (IBM T43p) with just the default installation.

Goes into and comes out of sleep in seconds.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Tue 22 May 2012, 16:33    Post subject:  

Slacko should have regular acpid installed , don"t know about current lucid .

Lucid busybox should have been 1.16.2 with acpid enabled .

busybox acpid --help

should show some info .. if help enabled ..

Acpid gets lauched by a script in /etc/init.d/ .

My investigations seem to be that busybox >= 1.18 acpid needs the button.ko module loaded, while busybox < 1.18 seems to get the input by the keyboard input driver .

sh-3.2# busybox
BusyBox v1.18.3 (2011-05-01 19:45:13 CEST) multi-call binary.

sh-3.2# lsmod | grep button

sh-3.2# ps | grep acpid

sh-3.2# modprobe -v button
insmod /lib/modules/2.6.37.4-KRG-iatom-1/kernel/drivers/acpi/button.ko

sh-3.2# busybox acpid -f

Will hit the power button now .. Good night !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
stvnx7

Joined: 06 Jun 2012
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri 08 Jun 2012, 12:05    Post subject:  

I also am having the exact same problem as robpeteuk, but I can't create the sleep file in /proc/acpi/.

I would try "root" but I thought I already was root.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Also, if "acpitool -e" says that fan is not available, does that mean it's not running, or it can't grab the info?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0729s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0056s) ][ GZIP on ]