Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Dec 2014, 10:34
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
NIC blown? Troubleshooting suggestions?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Author Message
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15122
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Fri 15 Jul 2005, 04:14    Post subject:  NIC blown? Troubleshooting suggestions?  

One day I am browsing the Net - the next I have lost my connection.

First checked and rebooted the router - not that - other two systems working.

Then I thought it was a loose connection
- nope that seems OK

So router is up, ISP is up, two other systems are up

Could my NIC card have blown? The green light on the NIC is on - does this mean it is working or just receiving power? - pretty standard Realtec 8139too (think that number is right)

I went into the router software (from another machine) and it is telling me that my computer is not reachable

and pinging from my machine I am told the network is unreachable

- it is the green ligh that is stopping me getting a new NIC

- any advisement welcome . . .

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11131
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Fri 15 Jul 2005, 04:23    Post subject: squish and clean  

I'd try a 'squish and clean' if it is a removable NIC, as it apparently is.

Remove the card, and gently clean the gold prongs with a pencil eraser. Then gently squish it in and out of the slot a couple times. Then seat it in very firmly and squarely. Then put the screw back and make sure it is still seated firmly and squarely.

Anyway, that is what I'd do as my next step in the diagnostic process.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Fri 15 Jul 2005, 04:42    Post subject:  

Tried another cable ?


Suspect the cable first then the NIC.

But be very very very careful when cleaning contacts, we don't wanna FUBAR the NIC with static do we ?
Back to top
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15122
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Fri 15 Jul 2005, 05:12    Post subject: Thanks - more ideas welcome  

Thanks Bruce - tried cleaning the NIC
- it is quite new

Smile

Yes changed the cable (to the local switch) but I may move the whole machine closer to the router to test your cable theory Bladehunter.

The thing is Puppy is telling me I have an ethernet port but will not connect.

So the ethernet card is live? Also its light is on . . .

Any other ideas welcome.

Smile
thanks again

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15122
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Fri 15 Jul 2005, 05:45    Post subject: more network adventures  

at the rxvt prompt I typed:

ping 127.0.0.1

which is supposed to test the Lan/ethernet card

I got this in response:
64 bytes from 127.0.0.1 icmpseq=[number here increments]
ttl =64 time =0.0 ms (or 0.1 ms)

which seems to indicate the lan card is OK - so again a connection?

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Fri 15 Jul 2005, 05:57    Post subject:  

Nope...that doesn't prove a thing....all it does is prove that the local host (the machine you are on) and ping itself. Gives an indication that the internal newtowrk system is working but that's about it. the lo (loopback)interface doesn't have a physcial interface.


eth0 has an address ?

What info does route give you ?

Have you swapped the cable ?

Is your netmask correct ?

Is you network correct > ie 192.168.0/255 or whatever is needed ?

Do you get your IP via dhcp ?

What happens if you statically try an address ?

Are the correct modules loaded ?

Have you tried another slot ?

Can you try another card in that machine ?

Can you test the suspect card in another machine ?

Are the RJ45 socket contacts clean ?
Back to top
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15122
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Fri 15 Jul 2005, 07:58    Post subject: It was the NIC  

Thanks Blade Smile

I am going through this list
tried swapping slots, put the card in another machine

seems to be the card - yes am using DHCP

contacts are clean the card is 4 months old . . .

the previous went unexpectedly too - might be the carpet (static build up?

or some flaw in this "TIme" brand machine

Anyway I got a new NIC and it seems OK - I hear they do go quite easily - 4 months though - why I wonder?

Anyway I am back (nowhere on the internet is safe) thanks to Blade and Bruce for their help which was very useful

Smile

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0523s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0043s) ][ GZIP on ]