Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 16 Sep 2014, 03:49
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
How to bridge my wireless interface to Ethernet port?
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Author Message
niteendlewis

Joined: 23 Sep 2009
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Mon 16 May 2011, 06:03    Post subject:  How to bridge my wireless interface to Ethernet port?
Subject description: (Solved, maybe?)
 

Hi,

I have an IP phone that only has Ethernet over Copper, I was thinking of connecting it to my Ethernet port on my desktop that I run Puppy Linux 5.2.5, by bridging these 2 interfaces. Is this possible? I believe Puppy needs the bridging utils but not sure how to go about it, any help will be appreciated.

What I am trying to achieve:

Linksys Wireless router ---> Linksys USB Wireless adapter on desktop --> bridged to Eth0 on desktop ----> IP Phone

Ethernet controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT6102 [Rhine-I]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5257
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 28 Jul 2011, 21:11    Post subject:  

Get bridge-utils-1.5.pet from
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=68127
and install.

Now comes the part I'm a little unsure about - you definitely need to bridge your wifi interface to your ethernet interface, but I think (?) you need to first establish a wifi connection to your router.
So run the Network Wizard, and set up an internet connection using the "wlan0" wifi interface.
Now you need to disable DHCP on the wlan0 interface, with these commands -
Code:
rm -f /var/lib/dhcpcd/*.info
rm -f /var/run/*.pid

Now you're ready to create the bridge, with these commands -
Code:
ifconfig wlan0 0.0.0.0 up
ifconfig eth0 0.0.0.0 up
modprobe bridge
brctl addbr br0
brctl addif br0 wlan0
brctl addif br0 eth0

Now run the Network Wizard again. Don't touch the "wlan0" settings.
Set up an internet connection using the "br0" (bridged) interface, by clicking on the "Auto DHCP" button.

Now connect your IP phone to the ethernet port on your Puppy computer, and see if the phone can acquire an internet connection.

EDIT: May 29 2012
Your wifi interface might not be "wlan0"
It might be "eth1" or "ath0" or "ra0" or "rausb" - the Network Wizard will tell you.
Obviously, substitute "wlan0" with the correct name of your interface.

Last edited by tempestuous on Tue 29 May 2012, 00:07; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5257
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 08 Aug 2011, 07:54    Post subject:  

It would have been nice, and appropriate, if the outcome had been reported.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
niteendlewis

Joined: 23 Sep 2009
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Wed 19 Oct 2011, 05:11    Post subject:  

Apologies tempestuous I did not notice the replies to my post... I did not have to use this as I got a software IP phone that forwards call to my mobile.. thanks for the help though..am sure someone else will come looking for this and will find it useful...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3368
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Wed 19 Oct 2011, 06:52    Post subject:  

My setup has a DSL router with wireless attached to my eth0 port on my PC with another wireless router/no DSL attached to the DSL router.
So I have a private network, second router as well as the DSL router and 2 wireless access points. This setup allows me to have one configured with a key and the other open.
I live too far from the nearest neighbor to worry about encryption though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
lshawk3

Joined: 06 Mar 2012
Posts: 1
Location: Atlanta, GA

PostPosted: Tue 06 Mar 2012, 01:08    Post subject: How to bridge my wireless interfact to Ethernet port?
Subject description: Getting an error message when attempting to add wlan0 to bridge
 

I have a similar need to bridge wlan0 to eth0. However I'm getting this error message:

Can't add wlan0 to br0: Operation not supported

I'm running Puppy 5.2.8 on an AMD Duron with 512MB memory.

My goal is to connect the rental apartment's public WiFi through a router to my own local and secure network. Currently I'm expecting it to be this way:

{Apartment's WiFi} <-wlan0-> [Puppy] <-eth0-> [Router] <-lan->[Desktop Win7], [Laptop 1 WinXP], [Laptop 2 WinXP], [Apple Ipod], [NextBook], [Printer] and [Network Storage]

Am I being too ambitious?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Tue 06 Mar 2012, 13:03    Post subject:  

lshawk3

Try here

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=68127

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=76340

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=37520

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
claude


Joined: 14 Apr 2007
Posts: 153
Location: Saint-Jérôme, Qc

PostPosted: Mon 28 May 2012, 14:11    Post subject: Bridge
Subject description: bridging wlan0 and eth0
 

Is there any bridge pet available for wireless adaptor with rt73 driver (tp-link TL-WN321G) ?

Thank you very much.

Claude
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5257
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 28 May 2012, 23:59    Post subject:  

The bridge-utils-1.5.pet
package mentioned above is compatible with all wifi interfaces.

It's attached to the same forum post as hostapd-0.7.3.pet
- but don't download that package - it's for a specific purpose, and it only works with Prism2/3 and early Atheros wifi devices.

... also see my updated instructions above.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
claude


Joined: 14 Apr 2007
Posts: 153
Location: Saint-Jérôme, Qc

PostPosted: Tue 29 May 2012, 10:23    Post subject: bridge
Subject description: bridging wlan0 and eth0
 

I tried bridge-utils 1.5 with Puppy Slacko 5.3.1:

I can't add interface wlan0 to the bridge interface (br0) created:

msg output: can't add wlan0 to bridge br0: Operation not supported

eth0 interface was added ok.

eth0 was configured as 0.0.0.0
wlan0 was configured as 0.0.0.0

Claude
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5257
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 29 May 2012, 13:51    Post subject:  

claude wrote:
msg output: can't add wlan0 to bridge br0: Operation not supported

Yes, I just tested the bridge-utils-1.5.pet package now in Slacko 5.3 ...
you're right, it doesn't work.

I compiled this package in Puppy 5.1 (Lucid) and it definitely works there.

So you will need to ask one of the Slacko developers to compile this package for Slacko.
The source code is here -
http://sourceforge.net/projects/bridge/files/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
claude


Joined: 14 Apr 2007
Posts: 153
Location: Saint-Jérôme, Qc

PostPosted: Wed 30 May 2012, 11:38    Post subject: bridge and slacko
Subject description: bridge eth0 and wlan0
 

I downloaded devx_slacko_531.sfs and the source for bridge-utils 1.5:
I compiled bridge-utils under slacko 5.3.1 but I got the same output msg if I try to add wlan0 interface to my bridge def.

Any other suggestion would be welcome.

Thank you very much.

Claude
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0706s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0053s) ][ GZIP on ]