Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 23 Sep 2014, 12:44
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
pBurn 4.3.10
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 117 of 144 [2151 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, ..., 142, 143, 144 Next
Author Message
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5728
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sat 12 May 2012, 12:46    Post subject:  

Ok, here is a test release for those who wants to burn/convert NRG images.
pburn-3.5.3.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  pburn-3.5.3.pet 
Filesize  66.57 KB 
Downloaded  259 Time(s) 

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
dougblackburn

Joined: 28 Dec 2011
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon 21 May 2012, 17:59    Post subject: Re: Source data lost using Pburn 3.4.1  

zigbert wrote:
dougblackburn wrote:
Configuration:
Wary Puppy 5.2.2 full hard drive installation
Micron Millenium 767mb ram, 733mgz Pentium III
20gb hard drive about 15% used

Problem description:
I had created a directory /dougstuff. This directory had many sub-directories and files. I opened Pburn and right clicked this directory to select it. Then I clicked on the burn drop down menu and selected to burn a data cd. When the next screen came up I clicked on the burn icon to start the burn. During what looked like a pre-burn process I changed my mind and hit the emergency stop. From previous experience I knew the actual burn had not started. The Pburn application re-displayed the selection screen. I de-selected /dougstuff. Then I quit Pburn. At this point I was going to zip /dougstuff, but it was gone. I couldn't find it with the zip application, using ROX, or using xterm. I used Photorec help restore /dougstuff. Then, I created another directory /dougtest and copied dougstuff to it. Now I had /dougstuff and /dougtest/dougstuff. Then I burned /dougtest/dougstuff (without hitting the emergency stop) successfully. Now I was ready to see if I could duplicate this problem. So, I selected /dougtest/dougstuff for burn and hit the emergency stop during the pre-burn process. But, Pburn did not send me back to the selection screen. It terminated. So, I opened Pburn from the puppy menu again. A dialogue box came up asking me if I wanted to clear temporary storage and start again. I replied yes. The selection screen was displayed. At this point, I checked to see if /dougstuff and dougtest/dougstuff were still available. They were still available. I had to hit the emergency stop about 4 times in order to get it to finally return to the selection screen instead of terminating. When it did return to the selection screen, I de-selected /dougtest/dougstuff. Then I checked to see if /dougtest/dougstuff was still available. To my surprise /dougtest/dougstuff was available, but /dougstuff was gone. So, I restored /dougstuff from /dougtest/dougstuff and tried the whole thing again selecting /dougtest/dougstuff to burn. This time it took me many emergency stops to finally get the application to return to the selection screen instead of terminating. I am still not sure at what point in the process the emergency stop has to be hit in order to return to the selection screen. Finally, when it returned to the selection screen, I de-selected /dougtest/dougstuff and /dougstuff was gone again.

Conclusion:
Source date is lost when the emergency stop returns the user to the selection screen. It is possible the source data was gone upon return to the selection screen or before. I always checked my source data after de-selection.

Doug
Hmmm, This is weird. The emergency stop is not meant to bring you back to the main window. What kind of filesystem are you using?


Sigmund


The file system is ext3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5728
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 23 May 2012, 07:31    Post subject:  

dougblackburn
I am not enlightened.
Have added your bug-report to the todo-list.


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5728
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 23 May 2012, 07:31    Post subject:  

Version 3.6.0
See main post

Changelog
- Optional support of NRG-image (nero format) if nrg2iso is installed. (thanks to 01micko)
- Optional tool: Convert NRG to ISO.
- Verify iso-image burnt mulitsession to CD.
- Move locales to /usr/share/locale/.
- Bugfix: Ask to blank disc if required when entering burn options (bug introduced in 3.5.0).
- Bugfix: Define Audio-CD correct in statusbar.
- NLS: Added: LOC_IMAGE, 137, 205, 356, 357
- NLS: Changed: LOC126, 306, 307, 322, 351
- NLS: Removed: LOC_ISO, 124
- DOC: Multisession: Now supports verifing (md5sum) of CD-R(W).

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5728
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 23 May 2012, 07:36    Post subject:  

Be aware that version 3.6.0 introduce a new optional dependency - nrg2iso. 01micko has compiled it, and you will find a link to it from the main post....

....or here: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=626199#626199


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2630
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Thu 24 May 2012, 10:45    Post subject: FREE_SIZE  

@zigbert
"func -available_size" sometimes fails because "df -m | grep ' /$'" can match 2 lines, in some case maybe PUPMODE=7 (and may depend on the kernel).
Code:
# df -m | grep ' /$'
rootfs                    1648        15      1634   1% /
unionfs                   1648        15      1634   1% /

The code in 'func' (lines 1199-1204) could be more simple:
FREE_SIZE=`df -m "$TMPOUTDIR" 2> /dev/null | tail -n1 | tr -s " " | cut -s -f 4 -d ' '`
[ "$FREE_SIZE" ] || FREE_SIZE=0
#precaution

See:
Code:
# df -m /root/my-documents/tmp
Filesystem           1M-blocks      Used Available Use% Mounted on
unionfs                   1648        15      1634   1% /


Code:
# df -m /mnt/home/tmp
Filesystem           1M-blocks      Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda3                83142      9248     69671  12% /initrd/mnt/dev_save

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5728
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Thu 24 May 2012, 11:59    Post subject:  

Thank you shinobar !!!
Your code is added.


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2630
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Thu 24 May 2012, 19:47    Post subject: checking TMPOUTDIR  

But i think we are better to check more, if the '/mnt/*' is really mounted.
Code:
NOTMOUNTED=""
case "$TMPOUTDIR" in
/mnt/*) MNTPNT=$(df "$TMPOUTDIR" 2>/dev/null | grep -o '[^ ]*/mnt/.*')
   [ "$MNTPNT" ] || NOTMOUNTED="y"
   ;;
esac

or something...

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5728
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sat 26 May 2012, 09:40    Post subject:  

jamesbond suggests a new and faster way of 'Fast' blanking rewritable DVD/BD. The problem is that both of us only had DVD+RW discs to play with. If you have any DVD-RW or BD-RE and wants to help out, please read on....

The existing code in Pburn to blank/erase a DVD/BD disc (the fast and dirty way) is by
Code:
dvd+rw-format -force /dev/sr0

James reports endless of waiting for him and shares the alternative code
Code:
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sr0 bs=32k count=32

This only erase the first Mb of the disc....

Personally I haven't had much trouble with the first command, but my test shows that the new command is much faster.
Code:
# time dvd+rw-format -force /dev/sr0
* BD/DVD±RW/-RAM format utility by <appro@fy.chalmers.se>, version 7.1.
* 4.7GB DVD+RW media detected.
* formatting 92.3|

real   0m18.088s
user   0m0.000s
sys   0m0.003s
#
#
# time dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sr0 bs=32k count=32
32+0 records in
32+0 records out
1048576 bytes (1.0 MB) copied, 3.75384 s, 279 kB/s

real   0m3.784s
user   0m0.007s
sys   0m0.000s
#


Please test the new command with DVD-RW / BD-RE and report back. Time is interesting, but if blanking actually was successfully is even more important. For DVD+RW things seems to be just fine.


Thank you all
Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5728
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sat 26 May 2012, 09:48    Post subject:  

shinobar
If temporary storage points to a not mounted directory, there will show up a message when startup Pburn telling that temporary storage is small. This is not exactly the correct message, but still a warning of something wrong. MAYBE this is the place for enhanced checking.

See line 117 of /usr/local/pburn/pburn

Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5728
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sat 26 May 2012, 13:09    Post subject:  

shinobar
Ok, a bug. There is already a check for missing temporary storage but it fails if checking also finds the storage too small. I have switched the checking order so that missing dir is detected even if size of storage is small.

Code:
   #missing temporary-storage directory
   if [ ! -d "$OUTDIR" ]; then
      GUI_LOW_TEMP="<text use-markup=\"true\"><label>\"$LOC344\"</label></text>$GUI_TEMPORARY_STORAGE"
      STARTUP_CHECK=true
   fi
   #let's check if free space is bigger than 10GB free space.
   . $APPDIR/func -available_size
   if [ $FREE_SIZE -lt 10000 ]; then
      GUI_LOW_TEMP="<text use-markup=\"true\"><label>\"$LOC333\"</label></text>$GUI_TEMPORARY_STORAGE"
      STARTUP_CHECK=true
   fi

has now become
Code:
   #let's check if free space is bigger than 10GB free space.
   . $APPDIR/func -available_size
   if [ $FREE_SIZE -lt 10000 ]; then
      GUI_LOW_TEMP="<text use-markup=\"true\"><label>\"$LOC333\"</label></text>$GUI_TEMPORARY_STORAGE"
      STARTUP_CHECK=true
   fi
   #missing temporary-storage directory
   if [ ! -d "$OUTDIR" ]; then
      GUI_LOW_TEMP="<text use-markup=\"true\"><label>\"$LOC344\"</label></text>$GUI_TEMPORARY_STORAGE"
      STARTUP_CHECK=true
   fi

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3292
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 31 May 2012, 20:14    Post subject:  

I accidently tried to burn an ISO on a machine that
only had a player not a burner Embarassed

There was no warning message. I noticed from the
device's external LED light that no burning was taking place
and the console message didn't mention any burning either
so I realized what was happening but an inexperienced user
would have been very puzzled.

So is there any way to warn a user that a burner isn't present?

Does a device name with 'CD-ROM' imply that a burn isn't possible?
Here's the device that caused the problem.



___________________________________________________

When I was burning the ISO (which was bootable)
pburn didn't mention anywhere that the
resulting disk would be bootable. If there was a message
saying clearly that the burnt disk was 'Bootable' that would clear
up any confusion.

___________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2333
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Thu 31 May 2012, 21:22    Post subject: Bad Block Area  

zigbert wrote:
jamesbond suggests a new and faster way of 'Fast' blanking rewritable DVD/BD. The problem is that both of us only had DVD+RW discs to play with. If you have any DVD-RW or BD-RE and wants to help out, please read on....

The existing code in Pburn to blank/erase a DVD/BD disc (the fast and dirty way) is by
Code:
dvd+rw-format -force /dev/sr0

James reports endless of waiting for him and shares the alternative code
Code:
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sr0 bs=32k count=32

This only erase the first Mb of the disc....

Personally I haven't had much trouble with the first command, but my test shows that the new command is much faster.
Code:
# time dvd+rw-format -force /dev/sr0
* BD/DVD±RW/-RAM format utility by <appro@fy.chalmers.se>, version 7.1.
* 4.7GB DVD+RW media detected.
* formatting 92.3|

real   0m18.088s
user   0m0.000s
sys   0m0.003s
#
#
# time dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sr0 bs=32k count=32
32+0 records in
32+0 records out
1048576 bytes (1.0 MB) copied, 3.75384 s, 279 kB/s

real   0m3.784s
user   0m0.007s
sys   0m0.000s
#


Please test the new command with DVD-RW / BD-RE and report back. Time is interesting, but if blanking actually was successfully is even more important. For DVD+RW things seems to be just fine.


Thank you all
Sigmund



Will Test but concerned this will cause confusion on the 750M or so area used for bad block. It only gets written to if the hardware detects an area of a UDF needs to be remapped.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2333
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Thu 31 May 2012, 21:30    Post subject:  Widgets of Pburn displayed reversed left to right and top
Subject description: MeLe!000
 

Just FYI, Laughing

Put PBurn has the most wild mix-up of the ARM based image of puppy in its dialog.

Not only are the top section on the bottom, Left sections are on the Right. Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6435
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jun 2012, 00:11    Post subject:  

Yes, that gtkdialog issue was discussed on Barry's blog a while back.
Funnily enough, I saw a similar problem with gtkbuilder based vala guis being reversed in Puppy 4.x.

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 117 of 144 [2151 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, ..., 142, 143, 144 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1412s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0362s) ][ GZIP on ]