Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 25 Nov 2014, 23:17
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
MultiPup CD/DVD Creator
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 15 of 19 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 Next
Author Message
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3226
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Thu 15 Mar 2012, 18:36    Post_subject:  

Very Happy Hello,
@smokey01,
Yea, I tried to include code for Thunar, and it does function on my Xfce4 desktop.. Lately I have not been able to D/L so have not tried Saluki since like the first version.. Embarassed
Is it Xfce? How does it fail in Thunar for you? Mount point errors?..
I use it in Compiz and Xfce4 (4.6.2)...

_________________
Close the Windows, and open your eyes, to a whole new world
http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/puppyluvr/
Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook

Puppy since 2.15CE...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1844
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Fri 16 Mar 2012, 08:20    Post_subject:  

It doesn't open the Thunar window to symlink the files.

If the window is open separately the symlinks can be created.

Later when the files are copied all the windows open but they do not close.

It does create the the ISO however, just a bit untidy.

puppyluvr wrote:
Very Happy Hello,
@smokey01,
Yea, I tried to include code for Thunar, and it does function on my Xfce4 desktop.. Lately I have not been able to D/L so have not tried Saluki since like the first version.. Embarassed
Is it Xfce? How does it fail in Thunar for you? Mount point errors?..
I use it in Compiz and Xfce4 (4.6.2)...

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4440
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon 09 Apr 2012, 18:05    Post_subject:  

smokey01 wrote:
It doesn't open the Thunar window to symlink the files.

If the window is open separately the symlinks can be created.

Later when the files are copied all the windows open but they do not close.

It does create the the ISO however, just a bit untidy.

puppyluvr wrote:
Very Happy Hello,
@smokey01,
Yea, I tried to include code for Thunar, and it does function on my Xfce4 desktop.. Lately I have not been able to D/L so have not tried Saluki since like the first version.. Embarassed
Is it Xfce? How does it fail in Thunar for you? Mount point errors?..
I use it in Compiz and Xfce4 (4.6.2)...
Does this problem with Salukii have anything to do with the A-drive+Z-Drive+SFSfs that it is architected to use?

Also, I did have a problem with LightHouse64. I think its because of the compression method used in its initrd file.

Thanks in advance.
P.S. Was this updated beyond 3.3 recently?

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4440
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue 29 May 2012, 12:05    Post_subject:  

Multi-PUP upgrade? or same.

Reasons:
  • FATDOG 600 testing version (current development)
  • LightHouse64 5.14 version (December 2011)
  • Saluki 20+
Here to help

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
benny7440


Joined: 20 Apr 2009
Posts: 416

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jun 2012, 13:51    Post_subject:  

I don't know if it's better to open a new thread or post the following in here, so I'm posting here but tell me if I should edit/move it away.

Many months ago I d/l Multipup 3.3PET & created a prototype of what I wanted but never burnt it because the notebook has screen problems & I suspected that it was going to be like working underwater at night, been blind.

Also, I was concerned with including there an alien (DSL, in my case) because in this notebook it's not booting from a Flash usb drive, but it boots on others.

Now I'm considering booting up an HP Compaq nx9010 via lan using PXE & this notebook as the webserver. Although I've tried it many times already, with different tweaks it never pass the point of loading the initrd.gz file.

So, I've d/l & installed PL528.005 (which I'm running now) frugally in the VAIO notebook. Was about to burn the iso for PL431 to a cd-rw to test the nx9010's ability to boot from cd (which in the past has been OK with PL431 & Ubuntu 8.04) but not recently & suddenly remembered that the Multipup thing never was finished. I'm decided to throw a stone trying to hit 2 birds with it: create (burn a cd with some puppies in it, including, if possible DSL as an alien) the Mutlipup cd & then use it to try again the PXE booting thing.

What do I have to do with the pet file I already have (in fact, have 2 files in the temporary folder: the pet & a gui file)? I d/l & installed it when working in PL528, so here in PL528.005 I don't have a Menu entry for it. I suspect that I've to run the PET file again for this, am I right? Is there, somewhere, a newer version of Multipup? I've browsed the thread again but didn't find any link to a new version of it.

Thanks for any help & hope this work with the PXE thing!

Edit: I was browsing my hdd & found out that I've the iso files for some puppies but I'm missing 2: Puppy Studio & DSL. What is your recommendation for me, to redownload them or there is a way of taking the files within each respective folder to make the iso from what I have?

_________________
Sony VAIO VGN AR250G Notebook + 512MB RAM.
Need color of cables of 2 connectors at top & down side of Dell monitor 1704FPTt (look through vents at right side at the back)

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4440
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jun 2012, 17:02    Post_subject:  

benny7440 wrote:
... the Mutlipup cd & then use it to try again the PXE booting thing.

What do I have to do with the pet file I already have (in fact, have 2 files in the temporary folder: the pet & a gui file)? I d/l & installed it when working in PL528, so here in PL528.005 I don't have a Menu entry for it. I suspect that I've to run the PET file again for this, am I right? Is there, somewhere, a newer version of Multipup? I've browsed the thread again but didn't find any link to a new version of it.

Thanks for any help & hope this work with the PXE thing ...
@Benny7440, there is a thread and a document that address just what you ask. Look at this document for Booting PUPs as well as booting Multi-PUPs ISOs.

Should solve your problem. The Document you can download as a PDF for your local use.

Hope this helps

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
benny7440


Joined: 20 Apr 2009
Posts: 416

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jun 2012, 19:05    Post_subject:  

Thanks for responding, gcmartin!

I've read & followed all those recomendations a couple of times already but, even though there's mentioned 'puppies' & I'm using PL528.005 in the VAIO notebook (Net-server) - see signature, the Compaq-HP nx9010 laptop (Client) never finishes loading the initrd.gz file.

As a consequence of that I'm considering trying the Multipup approach, if it doesn't netboot the HP but can boot from the cdrom I've at least killed one bird. As of right now I'm going to work in creating that iso file for MultiPup even though I've some doubts around how to proceed with respect to DSL (alien),

PS. I think last week I PM you, gcmartin, in relation to the PXE approach.

_________________
Sony VAIO VGN AR250G Notebook + 512MB RAM.
Need color of cables of 2 connectors at top & down side of Dell monitor 1704FPTt (look through vents at right side at the back)

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
benny7440


Joined: 20 Apr 2009
Posts: 416

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jun 2012, 19:08    Post_subject:  

Edit: Sorry, I don't know how the previous post got posted twice in a row. It was located right here & I deleted it after re-reading it & making sure it was a carbon-copy of the original.
_________________
Sony VAIO VGN AR250G Notebook + 512MB RAM.
Need color of cables of 2 connectors at top & down side of Dell monitor 1704FPTt (look through vents at right side at the back)


Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3226
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jun 2012, 22:44    Post_subject:  

Very Happy Hello,
As far as DSL is concerned, MultiPup is fine with Knoppix variants as long as it is just 1 @ a time.. Like series 1 Pups, their .gz must be top layer. However, they all share the same name..
The PXE thing is all gcmartin`s...
I am amazed and impressed, but know nada about it..

Sorry for the lack of timely responses, but life etc.....

I do intend to update MultiPup, and will be removing the "Alien" section, as it seems pointless...

Mb to Mb, Puppy is in a league of its own, the other "minimal" Distros dont warrant inclusion in a "MultiPup Disk".. It is, after all, MultiPUP........

_________________
Close the Windows, and open your eyes, to a whole new world
http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/puppyluvr/
Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook

Puppy since 2.15CE...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
benny7440


Joined: 20 Apr 2009
Posts: 416

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jun 2012, 08:39    Post_subject:  

Thanks for responding puppyluvr!

In your 1st paragraph you mention 2 things that creates for me 2 questions:
1) Do you mean that just 1 alien OS for MultiPup cd?
2) What's behind that assertion of "Like series 1 Pups, their .gz must be top layer. However, they all share the same name.."?

Is the last issue mean the location of the .gz file within the folder?

In any case, I'm proceeding now to try to make a MultiPup cd for testing it later. I hope I can see the splash screen when the time comes in my external monitor because the onboard one isn't working..., if I have problems with this I'll test on another(s) machine.

VERY GOOD WORK this MultiPup CD Creator, congratulations!

_________________
Sony VAIO VGN AR250G Notebook + 512MB RAM.
Need color of cables of 2 connectors at top & down side of Dell monitor 1704FPTt (look through vents at right side at the back)

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4440
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jun 2012, 13:16    Post_subject:  

@Benny7440, thanks for your comments.

I have a request of you, if you don't mind. Would you post your steps that you used on this thread, please.
Reason: It may be generally applicable to others (even though others have not had this specific problem)

What would be helpful to understand which of the 3 methods in the manual you followed; namely Basic or BootMenu'd or MultiPup (if you used the guide you know which one by the Table of Contents.)

One items that everyone gets when they start Netboot is that when it is started from the Menu>Network>Netboot Server YOU are asked whether you want Normal OR Debug start. "Choose Debug".

Go to your PXE PC (laptop) and boot it. When it stops, as you say, there will be messages on the Netboot server's window on what occurred up to that point.. Post that on the thread.

Next, I have to ask, have you tried to do this from ANY OTHER PC ON YOUR LAN? (I've got a funny feeling it worked.)

Lastly, there has ONLY been one other occasion where a PC would not boot. I have an older PowerSpec PC with an original P4 which stops about mid-way thru PXE boot. I have since found that a BIOS update solves that issue. (You may not be able to find an update to your laptop though) In rhis case, you must agree that the problem is not the ISO or the Netboot server, but the PXE PC itself!

In any event, even though PupyLuvr may not have tried Netbooting a MultiPUP, it has and does work from Netboot and the Guide is accurate (as far as I know).

Lastly, you or anyone can comment on anything in that guide right in the guide itself, should you choose. Its been viewed and downloaded over 1000 times since Jamesbond developed the tools for Netbooting.

When commenting there, be as complete with details as you can. Any information you share might help us pinpoint the problem.

Hope you can be a help to the rest of us.

Thanks in advance

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
benny7440


Joined: 20 Apr 2009
Posts: 416

PostPosted: Wed 06 Jun 2012, 13:14    Post_subject:  

Thanks for responding, gcmartin!

I first read some threads in this & other forums/websites about PXE booting. After thinking about it for not too long decided to try the ready BIOS included feature in this HP-Compaq nx9010 notebook.

I went back to the googledoc you prepared, d/l DNSMASQ (almost sure it was the 32-bits version, even though it was to be run in the 64-bits VAIO; tried checking this by comparing the links in the googledoc with my FF d/l history but had a reference to google in the googledoc link, so it was 'impossible' to verify this) & the netboot script files; installed & ran the 'mknetboot.sh' script. I opened a shell & ran the script from there, now I'm going to repeat the process by using instruction 4.b because I started Netboot -Server & it gave me the message: "Could not find kernel image: vmlinuz" which I suspect that it resulted in a non-persistent folder/files the last time I ran the script. Probably, I had to move the directory/file(s) outside to another location for that to be persistent... At the momemt of running I didn't ticked any of the 2 alternatives on the screen (running as 'root' & 'terminal emulation', I guess I'm remembering it right). It finished without any indication of an error.

Until now I followed the Basic method as per googledoc. I'd noticed the Debug Tab there but didn't use it, yet. Now, I'm preparing to give this a try with that feature selected, after I gather its output data I'll include that below (probably at the end of the post).

I haven't tried this with any other pc yet nor at any other network. This thing of updating the BIOS comes again & again, I've read that it might go horribly wrong, rendering the machine useless; in percentage (%), how risky is this?

I don't have any doubt as to the accuracy of your assertion of MultiPup booting up from/within PXE, in fact, I'm in the process of trying that, next.

Is the Edit button on top of the googledoc to be used for adding any comments to it?

Thank you again, gcmartin, for both: your help with this issue &, especially, for all the good work you have done within the forum!

The output of the screen is included below:

"dnsmasq: started, version 2.55 DNS disabled
dnsmasq: compile time options: IPv6 GNU-getopt no-DBus no-I18N DHCP TFTP
dnsmasq-dhcp: DHCP, IP range 10.0.0.110 -- 10.0.0.200, lease time 1h
dnsmasq-tftp: TFTP root is /root/tftpboot
dnsmasq-dhcp: DHCPDISCOVER(eth0) 00:0d:9d:5d:b3:66
dnsmasq-dhcp: DHCPOFFER(eth0) 10.0.0.138 00:0d:9d:5d:b3:66
dnsmasq-dhcp: DHCPREQUEST(eth0) 10.0.0.138 00:0d:9d:5d:b3:66
dnsmasq-dhcp: DHCPACK(eth0) 10.0.0.138 00:0d:9d:5d:b3:66
dnsmasq-tftp: sent /root/tftpboot/pxelinux.0 to 10.0.0.138
dnsmasq-tftp: error 0 TFTP Aborted received from 10.0.0.138
dnsmasq-tftp: failed sending /root/tftpboot/pxelinux.0 to 10.0.0.138
dnsmasq-tftp: sent /root/tftpboot/pxelinux.0 to 10.0.0.138
dnsmasq-tftp: sent /root/tftpboot/pxelinux.cfg/default to 10.0.0.138
dnsmasq-tftp: sent /root/tftpboot/pxelinux.cfg/vmlinuz to 10.0.0.138
dnsmasq-tftp: sent /root/tftpboot/pxelinux.cfg/initrd.gz to 10.0.0.138
dnsmasq-tftp: failed sending /root/tftpboot/pxelinux.cfg/initrd.gz to 10.0.0.138
"

After this I decided to let it go its way & I saw a series of dots appearing after the last line printed, later it reboot & started it all over again in its own. All this was done while I was/am listening to a webradio station (wqxr) & I'm thinking if this too network intensive procedures shouldn't be performed simultaneously or it shouldn't matter??? I've tried the PXE thing without being streaming but the results were the same. After they finish streaming Mahler's The Titan I'll try it again, EXCLUSIVELY using the lan conn. for this purpose only.

This last trial failed more or less at the same spot as the previous one. I checked line by line the results from this last trial & it's exactly the same as the one posted above. But I learned something that might be useful: in the process before loading the initrd.gz file there's an error. I can't say how to correct the issue or what it really means but maybe you, gcmartin, would know the exact meaning of it.

Edit: I continued reading & performed the suggested edition of the default file adding "PDEV1=rootfs" to line #5 that included APPEND...; the only difference today was that I included the insertion before the last clause in that line while the first time I did it (the other day) was at the end of the line. Preparing to run it again in Debug mode. BTW, I'm trying to boot PL431.

The output of the debugging screen of Netboot - Server follows:

"dnsmasq: started, version 2.55 DNS disabled
dnsmasq: compile time options: IPv6 GNU-getopt no-DBus no-I18N DHCP TFTP
dnsmasq-dhcp: DHCP, IP range 10.0.0.110 -- 10.0.0.200, lease time 1h
dnsmasq-tftp: TFTP root is /root/tftpboot
dnsmasq-dhcp: DHCPDISCOVER(eth0) 00:0d:9d:5d:b3:66
dnsmasq-dhcp: DHCPOFFER(eth0) 10.0.0.138 00:0d:9d:5d:b3:66
dnsmasq-dhcp: DHCPREQUEST(eth0) 10.0.0.138 00:0d:9d:5d:b3:66
dnsmasq-dhcp: DHCPACK(eth0) 10.0.0.138 00:0d:9d:5d:b3:66
dnsmasq-tftp: sent /root/tftpboot/pxelinux.0 to 10.0.0.138
dnsmasq-tftp: error 0 TFTP Aborted received from 10.0.0.138
dnsmasq-tftp: failed sending /root/tftpboot/pxelinux.0 to 10.0.0.138
dnsmasq-tftp: sent /root/tftpboot/pxelinux.0 to 10.0.0.138
dnsmasq-tftp: sent /root/tftpboot/pxelinux.cfg/default to 10.0.0.138
dnsmasq-tftp: sent /root/tftpboot/pxelinux.cfg/vmlinuz to 10.0.0.138
dnsmasq-tftp: sent /root/tftpboot/pxelinux.cfg/initrd.gz to 10.0.0.138
"

At first sight (sorry, no line by line comparison now) looks to me the same as the above one.

_________________
Sony VAIO VGN AR250G Notebook + 512MB RAM.
Need color of cables of 2 connectors at top & down side of Dell monitor 1704FPTt (look through vents at right side at the back)


Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
benny7440


Joined: 20 Apr 2009
Posts: 416

PostPosted: Wed 06 Jun 2012, 14:30    Post_subject:  

Yesterday I made a mistake & included in the section for the isos to be included the DSL iso link (absolute linking, not relative; hope this's what was intended here).
Later I found out that there was a space especially for that (which I've forgotten from my first attempt at this many months ago).

How to fix this before proceeding; deleting the link if I can mount the directory where all this was created, deleting the whole directory & start all over again or there's another better way to do this?

Thanks for any help on this!

Edit: Found a button titled reset within the MultiPup cd/dvd creator & pressed on that & started all over again. This time I didn't make the error concerning DSL, OK.

My issue now is, after continuing the process, what it mentions in a tiny screen that opened: "You have chosen to create ...Yes to continue and create Your ISO.
Total size = 63M". Isn't this amount for the size of the iso to be burned ridiculous, especially when you take into account what's going to be contained in the cd: 1) PL431, 2) PL528.005, 3) PuppyStudio3.1 & 4) DSL?

Now I know I need some help to continue this...

_________________
Sony VAIO VGN AR250G Notebook + 512MB RAM.
Need color of cables of 2 connectors at top & down side of Dell monitor 1704FPTt (look through vents at right side at the back)

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
benny7440


Joined: 20 Apr 2009
Posts: 416

PostPosted: Thu 07 Jun 2012, 12:55    Post_subject:  

Think I found a mistake in what I was doing, I installed MultiPup right besides its' pet file; which is located in "/mnt/home/gen_d/ls". That was probably getting me that message of an iso file of just 63M. I checked the size & free space within /mnt directory & it showed that its' size is 6273MB & its' free space is just 1% (or zero).

I then uninstalled MultiPup, deleted the directory it creates besides the pet file & installed anew. When running MultiPup for the first time I choose to use sda3 partition (ext3) which is about 1.7GB (all free space).

It worked better but still I found something curious, the small screen that appears as a final sanity check before creating the iso image shows that its size is just 283 M.

Am I missing something here? Am I suppose to see what the referred iso files add up to (clearly more than 600MB)?

Thanks for any tips on this!

_________________
Sony VAIO VGN AR250G Notebook + 512MB RAM.
Need color of cables of 2 connectors at top & down side of Dell monitor 1704FPTt (look through vents at right side at the back)

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4440
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 07 Jun 2012, 16:57    Post_subject:  

Hi

I'm sorry ofr the delay. I grabbed the Puppy Linux 5.28-005. To get a version that I had tested before, I used Playdays's Plus-Libre edition as this more nearly matches what I have found works without Office issues that I have with the Abiword+products.

This is what I did:
  1. downloaded the ISO
  2. ran mknetboot.sh
  3. started Netboot server and selected debug mode
At my laptop, I started it and it booted without ANY issues. In part 2 of the document, I did the same thing and it too worked...stopping at the boot-menu. And, to be consistent, in part 3 of the document, I ran MultiPUP. to have it make an ISO. Following same instructions in doc, I ran the mkmulti and booted the laptop across the LAN for the 3rd time without issues.

I have had NO problems, but, I can see that something is wrong with your MultiPUP and maybe the steps you are taking.

Question for @Benny7440
  • Would you mind taking a moment and just Download&Setup the same PL528-005 ISO I used sucessfully to see if you're getting a PXE build problem, please? Insure that the md5 checksum is accurate when you download.
I am curious as where this service is breaking down. (Also, would like to include this problem in the Troubleshooting portion of the Guide.) If it happens that it fails again on transfer, I am inclined to look at your laptop for something wrong. Regardless of what the outcome is, please post your what you see in the debug screen as this matches success/failure of OS transfer to the PXE PC.

P.S. Also, please try this with any other PC you may have on your LAN to see if this problem is isolated to your laptop.

Question for @PupyLuvr
  • @PupyLuvr, have you ever had any troubles that you can share in having a PXE boot a MultiPUP ISO?
I ask becasue I've never seen a response from you since we set this up for MultiPUP use last year wven though others have found it to work without issue.

Hope this helps

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 15 of 19 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1331s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0148s) ][ GZIP on ]