Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 06:24
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Games
Lugaru
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
scabz


Joined: 30 Apr 2009
Posts: 308
Location: Tallahassee FL US

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jun 2012, 11:02    Post_subject:  

connorfranciswillcocks wrote:
Downloaded and Extracted but when i click lugaru nothing happens, im on the latest Slacko and have installed all dependencies


run the game in terminal and tell us what it spits out, then i can help you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message AIM YIM 
connorfranciswillcocks


Joined: 27 May 2012
Posts: 74
Location: England!

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jun 2012, 13:37    Post_subject:  

how would i go about running from the terminal, I can run other programs with terminal, but the the icon for lugaru does nothing when i click it, should it be renamed, i tried lugaru.desktop but that does nothing either

Thanks Connor
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
connorfranciswillcocks


Joined: 27 May 2012
Posts: 74
Location: England!

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jun 2012, 06:54    Post_subject:  

scabz wrote:
connorfranciswillcocks wrote:
Downloaded and Extracted but when i click lugaru nothing happens, im on the latest Slacko and have installed all dependencies


run the game in terminal and tell us what it spits out, then i can help you.


how would i go about running from the terminal, I can run other programs with terminal, but the the icon for lugaru does nothing when i click it, should it be renamed, i tried lugaru.desktop but that does nothing either

Thanks Connor
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
scabz


Joined: 30 Apr 2009
Posts: 308
Location: Tallahassee FL US

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jun 2012, 11:36    Post_subject:  

right click and it should say run from term depending on which puppy you use.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message AIM YIM 
connorfranciswillcocks


Joined: 27 May 2012
Posts: 74
Location: England!

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jun 2012, 12:26    Post_subject:  

scabz wrote:
right click and it should say run from term depending on which puppy you use.


This is on my screen

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
`f00


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 809
Location: the Western Reserve

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jun 2012, 12:54    Post_subject:
Sub_title: or..
 

hi cfw

Look in the *.desktop with a text editor/viewer - the exec line gives the command to enter in a terminal, it may need a full path if it's not in a common location

ot - you can crop your screenies to make them smaller (some backwards folk like me are on dialup and mb+ screenies are slow to display Laughing )
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
connorfranciswillcocks


Joined: 27 May 2012
Posts: 74
Location: England!

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jun 2012, 13:18    Post_subject:
Sub_title: or..
 

`f00 wrote:
hi cfw

Look in the *.desktop with a text editor/viewer - the exec line gives the command to enter in a terminal, it may need a full path if it's not in a common location

ot - you can crop your screenies to make them smaller (some backwards folk like me are on dialup and mb+ screenies are slow to display Laughing )



Hi tried doing as you said but still nothing coming up so decided to save some time and move my whole puppy onto another distro, i am now running lucid 528 so can now right click and run in terminal, after running in the terminal i get the following message;

SDL_SetVideoMode() failed: Couldn't find matching GLX visual
forcing 640x480...
SDL_SetVideoMode() failed: Couldn't find matching GLX visual
forcing 640x480 windowed mode...
SDL_SetVideoMode() failed: Couldn't find matching GLX visual
/tmp/runinterminal-10624: line 3: 10636 Segmentation fault "/mnt/home/Puppy Pets/Luaru/lugaru-rev269-linux32/lugaru"
Script completed hit RETURN to close window.


SDL_SetVideoMode() failed: Couldn't find matching GLX visual
forcing 640x480...
SDL_SetVideoMode() failed: Couldn't find matching GLX visual
forcing 640x480 windowed mode...
SDL_SetVideoMode() failed: Couldn't find matching GLX visual
/tmp/runinterminal-10624: line 3: 10636 Segmentation fault "/mnt/home/Puppy Pets/Luaru/lugaru-rev269-linux32/lugaru"
Script completed hit RETURN to close window.


I think this could be some graphic card issue but i have installed mesa and other drivers aswell as all dependencies needed for Lugaru to run.

Lol sorry about screenshots i will shrink down to a suitable size, Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
connorfranciswillcocks


Joined: 27 May 2012
Posts: 74
Location: England!

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jun 2012, 13:31    Post_subject:  

Okay so i fixed the issue of the graphics card by installing a updated version of mesa from slacko dependencies.

This is what the terminal now reads;

/mnt/home/Puppy Pets/Luaru/lugaru-rev269-linux32/lugaru: error while loading shared libraries: libxcb-glx.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
`f00


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 809
Location: the Western Reserve

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jun 2012, 14:46    Post_subject:
Sub_title: the dreaded missing lib/sym ..
 

First check if the lib exists (should be a longer name like libxcb-glx.so.0.*.**** which libxcb-glx.so.0 is a symlink to), libs are mostly in that big /usr/lib dir.

rclick in rox and make a symlink (you'll probably have to clip the tail of the name to match what you're missing .. relative is ok for the tickbox, I think) if the lib is extant. If not, find the lib package and install it (or extract and do manually one at a time if it's a big complex deal with lots of stuff that may not be truly needed) - then back to the console!

disclaimer - this 'lib-o-rama' can get messy and it's not strictly kosher, but .. if you take care it may do the needful
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
connorfranciswillcocks


Joined: 27 May 2012
Posts: 74
Location: England!

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jun 2012, 15:36    Post_subject:
Sub_title: the dreaded missing lib/sym ..
 

`f00 wrote:
First check if the lib exists (should be a longer name like libxcb-glx.so.0.*.**** which libxcb-glx.so.0 is a symlink to), libs are mostly in that big /usr/lib dir.

rclick in rox and make a symlink (you'll probably have to clip the tail of the name to match what you're missing .. relative is ok for the tickbox, I think) if the lib is extant. If not, find the lib package and install it (or extract and do manually one at a time if it's a big complex deal with lots of stuff that may not be truly needed) - then back to the console!

disclaimer - this 'lib-o-rama' can get messy and it's not strictly kosher, but .. if you take care it may do the needful



Shocked Mind boggled lol, tried some of the things you mentioned but still no luck, however Idea i did manage to get it running by using wine, i downloaded the zip installed to the program files of the wine directory and Hey presto lugaru started, although this isnt what i wanted as i prefer using linux packages, i will have to use the exe for this one. Thanks for your help 'f00 and Scabz Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
scabz


Joined: 30 Apr 2009
Posts: 308
Location: Tallahassee FL US

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jun 2012, 16:40    Post_subject:  

connorfranciswillcocks sounds like you dont have the right video driver installed, what video card do you have intel ati or nvidia
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message AIM YIM 
connorfranciswillcocks


Joined: 27 May 2012
Posts: 74
Location: England!

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jun 2012, 16:41    Post_subject:  

scabz wrote:
connorfranciswillcocks sounds like you dont have the right video driver installed, what video card do you have intel ati or nvidia


Hi Scabz, Intel Centrino Vpro
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
scabz


Joined: 30 Apr 2009
Posts: 308
Location: Tallahassee FL US

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jun 2012, 16:46    Post_subject:  

well then i guess you do have the right video driver installed, you have Xorg High-GLX installed on lupu right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message AIM YIM 
connorfranciswillcocks


Joined: 27 May 2012
Posts: 74
Location: England!

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jun 2012, 16:49    Post_subject:  

scabz wrote:
well then i guess you do have the right video driver installed, you have Xorg High-GLX installed on lupu right?


Yh Xorg High-GLX on Lupu and Slacko but still nothing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
scabz


Joined: 30 Apr 2009
Posts: 308
Location: Tallahassee FL US

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jun 2012, 16:55    Post_subject:  

ok let me see if i can get it to run on one of my other computers with intel video, the one i am useing has nvidia and libxcb-glx.so.0 is not on my system and it runs. will replay back in a bit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message AIM YIM 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Games
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0968s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0225s) ][ GZIP on ]