pMusic 6.0.0

Audio editors, music players, video players, burning software, etc.
Message
Author
User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#1181 Post by zigbert »

shinobar
This is very good investigation !!!!
I didn't understand the real issue - it is sure a conflict with the -c switch and the -autoplay function. I like to keep the the firstrun autoplay, so instead of comment it out I made another check that the -c switch is not used.

Line 377

Code: Select all

#more firstrun - this will only run if gui shows up. It might be that first run is with parameters like --version.
if [ "$FIRSTRUN" = "true" ] && [ "$RUN_CD" != "true" ]; then #do not run this if -c switch is used
	$APPDIR/func_player -play -autoplay &
fi
Included the extra SS-check and the sleep 1.
I guess sleep 1 is not needed in the second loop (connection to internet) because the disc is already spinning....


Just one more thing to say - THANK YOU!!!
Sigmund

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#1182 Post by zigbert »

I'll try to upload a new version after the weekend. - some more lines to look at.


Sigmund

User avatar
shinobar
Posts: 2672
Joined: Thu 28 May 2009, 09:26
Location: Japan
Contact:

pmusic_CD at the first time looses pmusic GUI

#1183 Post by shinobar »

@zigbert
Thank you for understanding.
The background is we are developing lupu-528JP, japanese edition. I didn't include the work directory /root/.pmusic. A tester tried to play an audio CD for the first time, and found these issue. It does not occur if the work directory is already prepared. So it is not fatal but potential problem.

OK, next problem is running pmusic_CD without the work directory /root/.pmusic, looses the pmusic GUI.
Assume all the fix for the FIRSTRUN and RUN_CD issue is applied.

Code: Select all

# rm -fr ~/.pmusic
# pmusic -j -p '.CD' -c
Plays CD... OK.
Quit the pmusic.
Re-run pmusic.

Code: Select all

# pmusic
#
This time, GUI does not appear. pmusic runs in hidden.
Click the pmusc icon in the tray, but never shows the GUI windows. :(
Downloads for Puppy Linux [url]http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html[/url]

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

Re: pmusic_CD at the first time looses pmusic GUI

#1184 Post by zigbert »

shinobar wrote:OK, next problem is running pmusic_CD without the work directory /root/.pmusic, looses the pmusic GUI.
Assume all the fix for the FIRSTRUN and RUN_CD issue is applied.

Code: Select all

# rm -fr ~/.pmusic
# pmusic -j -p '.CD' -c
Plays CD... OK.
Quit the pmusic.
Re-run pmusic.

Code: Select all

# pmusic
#
This time, GUI does not appear. pmusic runs in hidden.
Click the pmusc icon in the tray, but never shows the GUI windows. :(
Got it, will fix.


Thank you
Sigmund

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#1185 Post by zigbert »

Version 2.6.2
See main post

Changelog
- Imrove detection of Audio-CD (thanks to shinobar)
- Support other users than root in pinstall script. (thanks to BarryK)
- Clear Pmusic_xml file (gtkdialog-code) if gtkdialog fails to show gui. (thanks to shinobar)
- Remove old NLS standard.
- Move native language file to /usr/local/pmusic (thanks to shinobar)
- Bugfix: Add Pmusic to Rox globicons and 'OpenWith' menu during install. (thanks to BarryK)
- Bugfix: using -c switch at first run (thanks to shinobar)
- Bugfix: Pmusic_CD saves playlist content for next run of ordinary Pmusic. (thanks to shinobar)
- Bugfix: Pmusic_CD (at first run only) corrupts xml-file for ordinary Pmusic. (thanks to shinobar)
- Bugfix: Theme GTK: Highlightning of playlist didn't follow the global gtk-theme.

User avatar
shinobar
Posts: 2672
Joined: Thu 28 May 2009, 09:26
Location: Japan
Contact:

Version 2.6.2

#1186 Post by shinobar »

zigbert wrote:Version 2.6.2
Tested on the lupu-528JP(developping). Works as expected :D
Thanks for the all fix.

Installed Version 2.6.2.
Removed /root/.pmusic to refresh.
Insert an audio CD.
Click the CD icon on the desktop.
Launches the defaultcdplayer, that is pmusic_CD.
After a while, CD plays...OK.
Quit pmusic.
Re-run the pmusic from the menu.
Shows the main windows with the Hoovers in the playlist on the right side, CD titles on the left.
Play button plays the Hoovers... OK.
The window can show and hide by the tray icon...OK.
Downloads for Puppy Linux [url]http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html[/url]

User avatar
shinobar
Posts: 2672
Joined: Thu 28 May 2009, 09:26
Location: Japan
Contact:

ffmpeg requirement

#1187 Post by shinobar »

A question:
Pmusic 2.6.2 says Required ffmpeg (>= 0.8 )

The lupu-528JP(under development) has ffmpeg 0.7.5 of the Libav version.
In what function does the pmusic 2.6.2 require ffmpeg 0.8?
(pmusic -h does not complain the ffmpeg 0.7.5.)

# ffmpeg
ffmpeg version 0.7.5, Copyright (c) 2000-2011 the Libav developers
built on May 21 2012 16:13:04 with gcc 4.4.3
configuration: --prefix=/usr --cpu=i486 --enable-shared --enable-gpl --enable-nonfree --enable-x11grab --enable-network --enable-small --enable-runtime-cpudetect --enable-libopencore-amrnb --enable-libopencore-amrwb --enable-libdc1394 --enable-libfaac --enable-libfreetype --enable-libmp3lame --enable-libspeex --enable-libvorbis --enable-libvpx --enable-libx264 --enable-libxvid --enable-zlib --enable-postproc --disable-debug --enable-bzlib --enable-version3 --enable-libtheora --enable-swscale
Downloads for Puppy Linux [url]http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html[/url]

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#1188 Post by zigbert »

shinobar
Now I understand why you had to set SS=0....
ffmpeg 0.8 changed the format of its terminal output. Pmusic uses this for length calculation and so on. I would expect progress-slider to fail, statusbar give wrong info, and maybe the next song in playlist won't autostart. I really don't know what would happen....


Sigmund

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#1189 Post by zigbert »

.... Trackinfo will also partly trouble.

And maybe most important, - support of radio-streams are heavily improved.
BUT, if streamripper is installed, it will be the preferred stream-engine.


Sigmund

User avatar
shinobar
Posts: 2672
Joined: Thu 28 May 2009, 09:26
Location: Japan
Contact:

ffmpeg 0.8

#1190 Post by shinobar »

zigbert wrote:ffmpeg 0.8 changed the format of its terminal output.
Hum... it is another big issue. :roll:
The ffmpeg 0.8.x has 2 development lines, ffmpeg and libav(avconv).
Most of Puppy 5.x follows ffmpeg, but the presice (debian and ubuntu too) takes libav.
I am not sure their compatibility and have some doubt in their performance. We japanese editions stay at libav 0.7.x...
Downloads for Puppy Linux [url]http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html[/url]

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

review of pmusic 262

#1191 Post by don570 »

Test of pmusic 262

I noticed a couple of bugs while using the Enlightenment WM in Exprimo.

Here's a strange one!! A right click on a bookmark pops up the menu
in the screen corner ( as shown in image)




Image

_____________________________________________________

Also in Enlightenment When I launch from the Start menu
I get this strange warning message but pmusic works okay.
Here's the error message

Code: Select all

Error Information:
	An exit code of 1 was returned from pmusic.

Output Data:
	There was no output

Error Logs:
	There was no error message

Image

When I launch using any other method like clicking an icon or the
terminal I don't get this message.


__________________________________________________
Last edited by don570 on Wed 06 Jun 2012, 00:40, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

#1192 Post by don570 »

The openbox window manager used by Lucid puppy
continues to have the problem with clicking outside the popup menu.
But it's a small aggravation.

___________________________________________

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

#1193 Post by don570 »

I suggest you change the wording in this window to middle button.


Image

___________________________________________________

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

#1194 Post by don570 »

It would be nice to have the common sample rates listed
to help an inexperienced user select an appropriate rate.
The feature worked well when I tested it.

Image

________________________________________

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

#1195 Post by don570 »

When selecting a bookmarked file using the selector
it would be nice to have the name (the second field)
filed in automatically.

Image

_____________________________________________

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

#1196 Post by don570 »

I spotted an odd space before the square bracket in
the Bookmark window.

Image

_________________________________________

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

#1197 Post by don570 »

In some puppies the two help buttons looks odd.
In other puppies they are suitable.
Perhaps if you named them Help 1 and Help 2
and had pop-ups to explain the function.

Image

___________________________________________

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#1198 Post by zigbert »

don570 wrote:I suggest you change the wording in this window to middle button.


Image

___________________________________________________
Done



Thank you for all your feedback - wonderful !!!
Sigmund

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#1199 Post by zigbert »

don570 wrote:It would be nice to have the common sample rates listed
to help an inexperienced user select an appropriate rate.
The feature worked well when I tested it.

Image

________________________________________
Agree, maybe an info-box or presets or ... ?

Can you (or anyone) give a description of the most common setups of bitrate/samplerate/channels. I am not really into this.

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#1200 Post by zigbert »

don570 wrote:When selecting a bookmarked file using the selector
it would be nice to have the name (the second field)
filed in automatically.

Image

_____________________________________________
It could be done if field is empty. added to todo-list

Post Reply