Precise Puppy RC2, October 20, 2012

Under development: PCMCIA, wireless, etc.
Message
Author
User avatar
L18L
Posts: 3479
Joined: Sat 19 Jun 2010, 18:56
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

leafpad

#201 Post by L18L »

OscarTalks wrote:Anyone else finding that Leafpad menu icon is missing...?

Code: Select all

cd /usr/share/pixmaps
mv leafpad.png leafpad.xpm
jwm -restart
this will make it displayed in menu

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#202 Post by BarryK »

01micko wrote:Ok on my radeon... but there is a bug. GLX is disabled in the xorg.conf, and DRI, an oversight I suspect. Once I commented those lines acceleration works with the radeon driver.
Ok, I have commented those lines in /etc/X11/xorg.conf-auto-pc:

Code: Select all

# This loads the GLX module (if present). xorg 7.4/5, need explicit disable to disable... change "Disable" to "Load" if reqd...
#    Disable       "glx" #LOADGLX

# This loads dri module (if present). 7.4 loads it by default, have to disable... change "Disable" to "Load" if reqd...
#    Disable       "dri" #LOADDRI
Regarding xload, yeah, Precise is a lot more busy in the background!
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

linux28
Posts: 270
Joined: Sun 05 Apr 2009, 07:22

#203 Post by linux28 »

precise-5.2.58
bug :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
Attachments
3.jpg
(84.21 KiB) Downloaded 327 times
2.jpg
(29.52 KiB) Downloaded 672 times
1.jpg
(33.43 KiB) Downloaded 331 times

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#204 Post by BarryK »

LateAdopter wrote:Hello Barry
Anyone got an ATI/radeon video chip to test?
I have the integrated RS880G graphics. With Precise B1 it is still nearly as broken as it was previously.

On first boot, dri and glx are disabled by xorg.conf, which is just as well because, with KMS enabled, Xorg has a fatal error and aborts without loading the keyboard.

On selecting Radeon in xorgwizard, xorg won't start because there are no driver modules for it to load, in /usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers. So it is necessary to copy them over from the driver backup folder.

With KMS disabled the Radeon R600 driver will load to the point where 2D acceleration is enabled, but AIGLX has various errors.

Code: Select all

[    13.900] (II) AIGLX: Screen 0 is not DRI2 capable
[    13.900] drmOpenDevice: node name is /dev/dri/card0
[    13.900] drmOpenDevice: open result is 10, (OK)
[    13.900] drmOpenByBusid: Searching for BusID pci:0000:01:05.0
[    13.900] drmOpenDevice: node name is /dev/dri/card0
[    13.900] drmOpenDevice: open result is 10, (OK)
[    13.900] drmOpenByBusid: drmOpenMinor returns 10
[    13.900] drmOpenByBusid: Interface 1.4 failed, trying 1.1
[    13.900] drmOpenByBusid: drmGetBusid reports pci:0000:01:05.0
[    14.583] (EE) AIGLX error: r600 does not export required DRI extension
[    14.584] (EE) AIGLX: reverting to software rendering
[    14.657] (II) AIGLX: Loaded and initialized swrast
[    14.657] (II) GLX: Initialized DRISWRAST GL provider for screen 0
AIGLX falls back to using LLVM software rasteriser, which also has an error and falls back to using swrast.

Also there is no modesetting because KMS is disabled, and R600 does not support userspace modesetting.

So adding LLVM did allow the loading of xorg to complete, but nowhere near the right answer.

I'm not a linux expert but I have been investigating this by reference to Fatdog 600a2 where the Radeon R600 configures itself correctly on the same motherboard.

The fatal error with KMS enabled is:

Code: Select all

[    13.257] (EE) RADEON(0): [dri] RADEONDRIGetVersion failed because of a version mismatch.
[dri] This chipset requires a kernel module version of 1.17.0,
[dri] but the kernel reports a version of 2.12.0.[dri] Make sure your module is loaded prior to starting X, and
[dri] that this driver was built with support for KMS.
[dri] Aborting.
I did find a bug report filed for Arch for this error, and the opinion was that it was related to the version of xf86-video-ati/radeon and they had fixed it by reverting to an earlier version. But I don't think it was conclusive.

Precise has 6.14.99 git 20111219
Fatdog has 6.14.4 which was released on 28th March 2012.

I can't find any sign of updates for Ubuntu, but there are from Debian. But they are compiled for xorg 1.12, so I couldn't try them.

The other difference that I noticed was the that output from

Code: Select all

dmesg | grep drm
reports a different radeon version: 1.33.0 for Precise and 2.13.0 for Fatdog.

From Precise Puppy:

Code: Select all

[   29.805966] [drm] Initialized drm 1.1.0 20060810
[   29.822705] [drm] Supports vblank timestamp caching Rev 1 (10.10.2010).
[   29.822707] [drm] No driver support for vblank timestamp query.
[   29.822710] [drm] Initialized radeon 1.33.0 20080528 for 0000:01:05.0 on minor 0
[   30.092802] [drm] Setting GART location based on new memory map
[   30.093242] [drm] Loading RS780 CP Microcode
[   30.163970] [drm] Resetting GPU
[   30.164025] [drm] writeback test succeeded in 1 usecs
From Fatdog 600a2:

Code: Select all

[drm] Initialized drm 1.1.0 20060810
[drm] radeon defaulting to kernel modesetting.
[drm] radeon kernel modesetting enabled.
[drm] initializing kernel modesetting (RS880 0x1002:0x9710 0x1849:0x9710).
[drm] register mmio base: 0xFEAF0000
[drm] register mmio size: 65536
[drm] Detected VRAM RAM=320M, BAR=256M
[drm] RAM width 32bits DDR
[drm] radeon: 320M of VRAM memory ready
[drm] radeon: 512M of GTT memory ready.
[drm] Supports vblank timestamp caching Rev 1 (10.10.2010).
[drm] Driver supports precise vblank timestamp query.
[drm] radeon: irq initialized.
[drm] GART: num cpu pages 131072, num gpu pages 131072
[drm] radeon: ib pool ready.
[drm] Loading RS780 Microcode
[drm] PCIE GART of 512M enabled (table at 0x00000000C0040000).
[drm] fence driver on ring 0 use gpu addr 0xa0000c00 and cpu addr 0xffff8800515afc00
[drm] ring test on 0 succeeded in 1 usecs
[drm] ib test on ring 0 succeeded in 0 usecs
[drm] Radeon Display Connectors
[drm] Connector 0:
[drm]   VGA
[drm]   DDC: 0x7e40 0x7e40 0x7e44 0x7e44 0x7e48 0x7e48 0x7e4c 0x7e4c
[drm]   Encoders:
[drm]     CRT1: INTERNAL_KLDSCP_DAC1
[drm] Connector 1:
[drm]   DVI-D
[drm]   HPD3
[drm]   DDC: 0x7e50 0x7e50 0x7e54 0x7e54 0x7e58 0x7e58 0x7e5c 0x7e5c
[drm]   Encoders:
[drm]     DFP3: INTERNAL_KLDSCP_LVTMA
[drm] radeon: power management initialized
[drm] fb mappable at 0xD0142000
[drm] vram apper at 0xD0000000
[drm] size 7680000
[drm] fb depth is 24
[drm]    pitch is 6400
fbcon: radeondrmfb (fb0) is primary device
fb0: radeondrmfb frame buffer device
drm: registered panic notifier
[drm] Initialized radeon 2.13.0 20080528 for 0000:01:05.0 on minor 0
continues...
I hope you understand this better than I do!

I also noticed that xorg on Precise B1 loads the modules twice and tries to load fglrx. A3 did not do this, but I don't think it makes any difference.
Can you disable kms, then try the attached pet.

I compiled ati driver with kms explicitly disabled. It is compiled in Precise, so should be compatible with everything.

Thanks for your help.
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

User avatar
shinobar
Posts: 2672
Joined: Thu 28 May 2009, 09:26
Location: Japan
Contact:

input method

#205 Post by shinobar »

@linux28, Barry, and to all

The precise puppy, both Pemasu's and Barry's, have the file '/etc/gtk-2.0/gtk.immodules', but this file is meaningless. You can remove it.
Instead, you need to create new gtk.immodules at '/usr/lib/gtk-2.0/2.10.0/gtk.immodules'. Run on a viertual terminal.

Code: Select all

# gtk-query-immodules-2.0 > /usr/lib/gtk-2.0/2.10.0/gtk.immodules
EDIT: precise puppy beta2 (5.2.60) has better fix. You need nothing to do with precise puppy beta2.

Code: Select all

# gtk-query-immodules-2.0 > /etc/gtk-2.0/gtk.immodules
# ln -s /etc/gtk-2.0/gtk.immodules /usr/lib/gtk-2.0/2.10.0/gtk.immodules
The SCIM in lang_pack_ja worked on Pemasu's precise and on Barry's alpha-3 by the treatment above.
But on the beta-1, SCIM launches and can input KANA letters but fails to convert int KANJI letters. Pressing the space-bar to swithing the mode but does not work.
We are wondering what is the difference between precise alpha-3 and the beta-1. :roll:
Reverted all the contents under /usr/lib/gconv and got no difference.
Last edited by shinobar on Wed 06 Jun 2012, 05:43, edited 1 time in total.
Downloads for Puppy Linux [url]http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html[/url]

LateAdopter
Posts: 361
Joined: Fri 27 May 2011, 17:21
Location: Reading UK

#206 Post by LateAdopter »

Hello Barry

I have tried what you asked, but the results are the same, with KMS disabled, from xorg log:

1) Checked 6.14.4 is loaded.

Code: Select all

[    16.555] (II) LoadModule: "ati"
[    16.555] (II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers/ati_drv.so
[    16.570] (II) Module ati: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
[    16.570] 	compiled for 1.11.3, module version = 6.14.4
[    16.570] 	Module class: X.Org Video Driver
[    16.570] 	ABI class: X.Org Video Driver, version 11.0
[    16.570] (II) LoadModule: "radeon"
[    16.570] (II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers/radeon_drv.so
[    16.585] (II) Module radeon: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
[    16.585] 	compiled for 1.11.3, module version = 6.14.4
[    16.586] 	Module class: X.Org Video Driver
[    16.586] 	ABI class: X.Org Video Driver, version 11.0
2) DRI and acceleration is enabled.

Code: Select all

[    17.032] (II) RADEON(0): Direct rendering enabled
[    17.032] (II) RADEON(0): Setting EXA maxPitchBytes
[    17.033] (II) EXA(0): Offscreen pixmap area of 117538816 bytes
[    17.033] (II) EXA(0): Driver registered support for the following operations:
[    17.033] (II)         Solid
[    17.033] (II)         Copy
[    17.033] (II)         Composite (RENDER acceleration)
[    17.033] (II)         UploadToScreen
[    17.033] (II)         DownloadFromScreen
[    17.033] (II) RADEON(0): Acceleration enabled
3) DRI2 is disabled and AIGLX falls back to software rasterizer.

Code: Select all

[    17.086] (II) AIGLX: Screen 0 is not DRI2 capable
[    17.086] drmOpenDevice: node name is /dev/dri/card0
[    17.086] drmOpenDevice: open result is 10, (OK)
[    17.086] drmOpenByBusid: Searching for BusID pci:0000:01:05.0
[    17.086] drmOpenDevice: node name is /dev/dri/card0
[    17.086] drmOpenDevice: open result is 10, (OK)
[    17.086] drmOpenByBusid: drmOpenMinor returns 10
[    17.086] drmOpenByBusid: Interface 1.4 failed, trying 1.1
[    17.086] drmOpenByBusid: drmGetBusid reports pci:0000:01:05.0
[    17.728] (EE) AIGLX error: r600 does not export required DRI extension
[    17.728] (EE) AIGLX: reverting to software rendering
[    17.814] (II) AIGLX: Loaded and initialized swrast
[    17.814] (II) GLX: Initialized DRISWRAST GL provider for screen 0
That is exactly the same as with 6.14.99


With KMS enabled xorg aborts leaving you with no display or keyboard. Exactly the same as before.

And the point where it all goes wrong is here:

With the original radeon 6.14.99 and KMS enabled

Code: Select all

[    13.022] (II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers/radeon_drv.so
[    13.022] (II) [KMS] drm report modesetting isn't supported.
[    13.022] (WW) Falling back to old probe method for vesa
With the new 6.14.4 and KMS enabled

Code: Select all

[    13.233] (II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers/radeon_drv.so
[    13.234] (WW) Falling back to old probe method for vesa
with Fatdog 600a2 and KMS enabled

Code: Select all

[     9.466] (II) Loading /usr/X11R7/lib64/xorg/modules/drivers/radeon_drv.so
[     9.466] (II) [KMS] Kernel modesetting enabled.
[     9.466] (WW) Falling back to old probe method for vesa
Unfortunately I can't think of a way of accessing the drm boot messages to find out why drm thinks modesetting isn't supported, since I end up with no keyboard or display.

Is there a way to persuade Puppy to keep a backup of the messages file, rather than just overwrite it?

All of them identify the chipset as the same ID:

Code: Select all

[    13.239] (--) RADEON(0): Chipset: "ATI Radeon HD 4200" (ChipID = 0x9710)
The gpu stacks are expected to autoconfigure, so they fallback safely when the requirements are not met. This is what 01micko's log shows. It ends up being just like VESA with acceleration disabled.

From 01micko's xorg log:

Code: Select all

[    45.770] (II) [KMS] drm report modesetting isn't supported.

[    45.784] (--) RADEON(0): Chipset: "ATI Radeon HD 5450" (ChipID = 0x68f9)

[    45.799] (II) RADEON(0): No DRI yet on Evergreen

[    46.081] (WW) RADEON(0): Direct rendering disabled
[    46.081] (EE) RADEON(0): Acceleration initialization failed
[    46.081] (II) RADEON(0): Acceleration disabled

01micko's Evergreen is supported from 6.14.0 3rd Feb 2011 acording to the xorg release notes. So it should be supported, unless some outdated code has crept in.

The Radeon R600 doesn't work properly without KMS/DRI2 since it was merged with Gallium3D.

But why does drm think that modesetting isn't supported? Has woof imported some obsolete code from somewhere else?

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

Re: bug

#207 Post by BarryK »

L18L wrote:# puppyhelp
/usr/local/bin/gtkmoz: line 29: exec: mozilla: not found
#

Code: Select all

ln -s /usr/lib/seamonkey/seamonkey-bin /usr/local/bin/mozilla
and

Code: Select all

puppyhelp
is showing translated index.html now :)
L18L,
I am running Precise 5.2.58, and /usr/bin/mozilla exists. Running 'puppyhelp' works.
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

Re: leafpad

#208 Post by BarryK »

L18L wrote:
OscarTalks wrote:Anyone else finding that Leafpad menu icon is missing...?

Code: Select all

cd /usr/share/pixmaps
mv leafpad.png leafpad.xpm
jwm -restart
this will make it displayed in menu
Thanks, I fixed it in the 'leafpad' template in Woof.
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

LateAdopter
Posts: 361
Joined: Fri 27 May 2011, 17:21
Location: Reading UK

#209 Post by LateAdopter »

To summarize, I think it's like this:

Radeon R600g Driver requires DRI2 KMS does not do userspace modesetting

Precise Kernel + Radeon Module does KMS DRI2, which is correct.

DRI can do KMS or userspace or no modesetting

DRI2 requires KMS

My RS880 will do DRI or DRI2 with R600

01micko's Evergreen only does DRI2 with R600

drm has decided that KMS is not supported, which is incorrect. WHY?

My RS880 ends up with DRI2 in the kernel and DRI in the R600 hence no display at all.

01micko's ends up with DRI2 in the kernel and no DRI/DRI2 in the R600 hence display but no acceleration.

With modeset=0 kernel falls back to DRI

My RS880 ends up with DRI in the kernel and R600, hence 2D acceleration but no 3D acceleration.

01micko's Evergreen can't do DRI with R600. So probably no change.


I hope that makes sense!

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

Re: input method

#210 Post by BarryK »

shinobar wrote:@linux28, Barry, and to all

The precise puppy, both Pemasu's and Barry's, have the file '/etc/gtk-2.0/gtk.immodules', but this file is meaningless. You can remove it.
Instead, you need to create new gtk.immodules at '/usr/lib/gtk-2.0/2.10.0/gtk.immodules'. Run on a viertual terminal.

Code: Select all

# gtk-query-immodules-2.0 > /usr/lib/gtk-2.0/2.10.0/gtk.immodules
The SCIM in lang_pack_ja worked on Pemasu's precise and on Barry's alpha-3 by the treatment above.
But on the beta-1, SCIM launches and can input KANA letters but fails to convert int KANJI letters. Pressing the space-bar to swithing the mode but does not work.
We are wondering what is the difference between precise alpha-3 and the beta-1. :roll:
Reverted all the contents under /usr/lib/gconv and got no difference.
Thanks, a fix is applied in 3builddistro and rc.update in Woof.

I don't know about the alpha3 versus beta1 difference though.
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#211 Post by BarryK »

LateAdopter wrote:To summarize, I think it's like this:

Radeon R600g Driver requires DRI2 KMS does not do userspace modesetting

Precise Kernel + Radeon Module does KMS DRI2, which is correct.

DRI can do KMS or userspace or no modesetting

DRI2 requires KMS

My RS880 will do DRI or DRI2 with R600

01micko's Evergreen only does DRI2 with R600

drm has decided that KMS is not supported, which is incorrect. WHY?

My RS880 ends up with DRI2 in the kernel and DRI in the R600 hence no display at all.

01micko's ends up with DRI2 in the kernel and no DRI/DRI2 in the R600 hence display but no acceleration.

With modeset=0 kernel falls back to DRI

My RS880 ends up with DRI in the kernel and R600, hence 2D acceleration but no 3D acceleration.

01micko's Evergreen can't do DRI with R600. So probably no change.


I hope that makes sense!
Hmmm! Oh well, beta2 will have yet another permutation to try!
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

User avatar
peebee
Posts: 4370
Joined: Sun 21 Sep 2008, 12:31
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Contact:

Re: WiFi problem

#212 Post by peebee »

sszindian wrote:# lsusb
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 13b1:002f Linksys AE1000 v1 802.11n [Ralink RT3572]
>>>---Indian------>
Hi Indian

Well you defo don't have a Broadcom device so pets for Broadcom should have no effect!!

To try and help I've been doing a bit of Googling and investigating.

Your lsmod confirms that the driver for RT3572 is rt2800usb and this is present in Precise.

Also needed for the RT3572 is firmware rt2870.bin - this is stored in

Code: Select all

/lib/modules/all-firmware/rt2x00/lib/firmware
I've checked the dates for this firmware in Precise and in Slacko and they are different:
  • Precise - 2012-02-27 12:34 rt2870.bin
    Slacko - 2012-04-25 06:35 rt2870.bin
so what I would try is to copy the firmware directory from Slacko to Precise.

I'd also load and try Frisbee - have you tried Frisbee?

Another silly thought - given that this is a usb device - are you sure that the usb slot is working reliably and that the stick is firmly inserted into the slot??

That's the limit of my contribution I'm afraid.
Cheers
peebee
ImageLxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Main version used daily: LxPupSc; Assembler of UPups, ScPup & ScPup64, LxPup, LxPupSc & LxPupSc64

User avatar
sszindian
Posts: 807
Joined: Sun 25 Apr 2010, 02:14
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

5.2.58 New Install

#213 Post by sszindian »

peebee...

Enough to make me want to pull out what little hair I have left!!!!!

I tried installing the firmware from Slacko in a fresh pfix=ram 5.2.58 and that didn't work!

So just out of frustation I did another fresh ram-install of 5.2.58 and tried the original Precise with everything it comes with... no changes... configured WiFi with original setup package and.... everything now appears to be working just fine, been online about an hour without a drop... shutdown, created a savefile, re-booted, WiFi came right online....

I guess it's possible somehow I may have had a corrupt original savefile???? also I haven't tried an 'eth0 config' yet to see what that does... one thing at a time!

I will run this for a few days and see how it goes!

I appreciate your help, and sorry to take up your time but maybe something good will come from this and help someone on down the line somewhere? 'If A Problem Occurs... Start All Over From Scratch' then go tweaking from there if problems persist, sometimes the simplest is the best route to go.

Now I will try adding stuff to 5.2.58 and see if maybe somewhere there something may cause Precise to go haywire?... if so, I'll post!

>>>---Indian------>
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
[url]http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192[/url]

User avatar
sszindian
Posts: 807
Joined: Sun 25 Apr 2010, 02:14
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

5.2.58

#214 Post by sszindian »

When I access Precise 5.2.58 'savefile' from a different Puppy version and go to the 'usr' file this comes up.... 'Is something not working?'

>>>---Indian------>
Attachments
image-1.png
(21.94 KiB) Downloaded 2540 times
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
[url]http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192[/url]

BHINTZ
Posts: 139
Joined: Wed 09 Aug 2006, 03:55

#215 Post by BHINTZ »

Has anyone been working on sleep/resume for laptops.

I tried to move acpi from upup, but that didn't work

bob

User avatar
vtpup
Posts: 1420
Joined: Thu 16 Oct 2008, 01:42
Location: Republic of Vermont
Contact:

#216 Post by vtpup »

BHINTZ wrote:Has anyone been working on sleep/resume for laptops.

I tried to move acpi from upup, but that didn't work

bob
OT, but yes:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 539#631539
[color=darkblue]Acer Aspire 5349-2635 laptop Tahrpup.[/color]
[color=blue]Acer R11 and C720 Chromebks Bionicpup64[/color]
[color=olive]Acer Iconia A1-830 tablet no pup[/color]
[color=orange]www.sredmond.com[/color]

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#217 Post by BarryK »

Precise Puppy 5.2.60 (beta2) is out.

Download from here:

http://distro.ibiblio.org/quirky/test/precise-5.2.60/

I haven't documented everything on my blog. For example, this pup has shinobar's getflash. Pemasu sent me a list of what packages he had installed in his Upup, and I adjusted my build to use most of them also.

My Raspberry Pi has arrived, so I will switch over to playing with that for awhile.
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

User avatar
shinobar
Posts: 2672
Joined: Thu 28 May 2009, 09:26
Location: Japan
Contact:

mirror

#218 Post by shinobar »

BarryK wrote:Precise Puppy 5.2.60 (beta2) is out.
Download from here:
http://distro.ibiblio.org/quirky/test/precise-5.2.60/
mirrored.
http://shino.pos.to/party/bridge.cgi?puppy/precise/
Downloads for Puppy Linux [url]http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html[/url]

User avatar
James C
Posts: 6618
Joined: Thu 26 Mar 2009, 05:12
Location: Kentucky

#219 Post by James C »

Precise Puppy 5.2.60...... live with a savefile on usb flash drive. Sound and internet working on initial boot. For a change, the screen resolution is the correct 1366x768 on initial boot....the first Precise build to do so.

# report-video
Precise Puppy, version 5.2.60 on Wed 6 Jun 2012

Chip description:
d.0 VGA compatible controller
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 7025 / nForce 630a] (rev a2)
oem: NVIDIA
product: MCP61 - mcp61-86 Chip Rev

X Server: Xorg
Driver used: # vesa

X.Org version: 1.11.3
dimensions: 1366x768 pixels (361x203 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/root/ as report-video,
and archived with xorg.conf and Xorg.0.log as report-video-full.gz
#
Actually using the "nouveau" driver.

-Computer-
Processor : 4x AMD Athlon(tm) II X4 620 Processor
Memory : 3884MB (179MB used)
Operating System : Unknown distribution
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Wed 06 Jun 2012 12:45:29 AM CDT
-Display-
Resolution : 1366x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Gallium 0.4 on NV4C
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia

# free
total used free shared buffers
Mem: 3884252 524612 3359640 0 56496
-/+ buffers: 468116 3416136
Swap: 0 0 0
#

User avatar
Billtoo
Posts: 3720
Joined: Tue 07 Apr 2009, 13:47
Location: Ontario Canada

Precise Puppy beta2, June 6, 2012

#220 Post by Billtoo »

Manual frugal install to an 8gb flash drive.

Precise Puppy, version 5.2.60 on Wed 6 Jun 2012

Chip description:
0.0 VGA compatible controller
NVIDIA Corporation G84 [GeForce 8600 GT] (rev a1)
oem: NVIDIA
product: G84 Board - p402h00 Chip Rev

X Server: Xorg
Driver used: nvidia

X.Org version: 1.11.3
dimensions: 1280x1024 pixels (382x302 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/root/ as report-video,
and archived with xorg.conf and Xorg.0.log as report-video-full.gz
# glxgears
50525 frames in 5.0 seconds = 10104.836 FPS
50584 frames in 5.0 seconds = 10116.737 FPS
50540 frames in 5.0 seconds = 10107.931 FPS

OpenGL
Vendor NVIDIA Corporation
Renderer GeForce 8600 GT/PCIe/SSE2
Version 3.3.0 NVIDIA 295.53
Direct Rendering Yes

Computer
Processor 4x Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz
Memory 8310MB (260MB used)

Gtkhash is still not working so I downloaded the source and made a pet of it.
Attachments
gtkhash-0.6.0-i686.pet
(41.67 KiB) Downloaded 568 times
gtkhash_NLS-0.6.0-i686.pet
(8.19 KiB) Downloaded 537 times

Post Reply