Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Dec 2014, 08:24
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Precise Puppy RC2, October 20, 2012
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 17 of 59 [875 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, ..., 57, 58, 59 Next
Author Message
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2185
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Thu 07 Jun 2012, 14:16    Post subject: Precise Puppy beta2, June 6, 2012  

Manual frugal install to a 4gb flash drive.
Acer Aspire One 721-3801 netbook
Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM43225 802.11b/g/n (rev 01)

Precise Puppy, version 5.2.60 on Thu 7 Jun 2012

Chip description:
5.0 VGA compatible controller
Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RS880M [Mobility Radeon HD 4200 Series]
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS
product: RS880M 01.00

X Server: Xorg
Driver used: radeon

X.Org version: 1.11.3
dimensions: 1024x600 pixels (270x158 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

# glxgears
1380 frames in 5.1 seconds = 272.696 FPS
1360 frames in 5.0 seconds = 271.065 FPS
1360 frames in 5.1 seconds = 268.446 FPS

On first boot it was running the vesa driver so I exited to the prompt
and ran xorgwizard, chose probe, and ended up with the radeon driver.
In glxgears fps was less than 60.
I opened ppm and updated it adding the 3 precise repos, then exited
and restarted ppm.
I did a search for mesa and installed everything that came up that had
anything to do with mesa, rebooted along the way a few times and ended up with
better fps, good enough to run a Google Earth sfs that I installed.

On an earlier save file I had tried to install the ati proprietary
driver and that failed, miserably.

I'm getting much better results on my computers with Nvidia cards but
this is useable.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   126.67 KB
 Viewed   1438 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 935
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Thu 07 Jun 2012, 14:42    Post subject:  

Precise Puppy

# gtkhash
gtkhash; error while loading shared libraries: libgtk-3.so.0:
cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

Apologies if this is a known issue or something.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1546
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Thu 07 Jun 2012, 16:47    Post subject:  

Jim1911 wrote:
pemasu wrote:
Jim1911. There isnt iwlagn anymore in 3.2.X kernels. It is iwlwifi driver nowadays.
Hi pemasu,

It's good to see you on the forum again. Hope all is well for you and yours.
dmesg output for laptop which does not connect is attached.


Yes indeed - good to hear from pemasu Smile

dmesg seems to indicate that the iwlwifi driver is being used and the firmware is successfully being loaded.

I notice that there are reports of eth0 going down in amongst the iwlwifi messages.

What device is iwlwifi creating? netwiz will tell you.

You could try frisbee - it seems better than sns at handling some of these quirks - the 2 pets in this post work on Precise for me:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=64472&start=80
Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Thu 07 Jun 2012, 18:00    Post subject:  

peebee wrote:
Jim1911 wrote:
pemasu wrote:
Jim1911. There isnt iwlagn anymore in 3.2.X kernels. It is iwlwifi driver nowadays.
Hi pemasu,

It's good to see you on the forum again. Hope all is well for you and yours.
dmesg output for laptop which does not connect is attached.


Yes indeed - good to hear from pemasu Smile

dmesg seems to indicate that the iwlwifi driver is being used and the firmware is successfully being loaded.

I notice that there are reports of eth0 going down in amongst the iwlwifi messages.

What device is iwlwifi creating? netwiz will tell you.

You could try frisbee - it seems better than sns at handling some of these quirks - the 2 pets in this post work on Precise for me:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=64472&start=80
Cheers
peebee
Thanks, Frisbee works for this installation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1546
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Thu 07 Jun 2012, 18:13    Post subject:  

Jim1911 wrote:
Thanks, Frisbee works for this installation.


That's good news....

Jemimah, Playdayz, 01micko and pemasu have all successfully included Frisbee with their puppies - perhaps we could ask Barry to consider adding it to Wary, Racy and Precise?

The approach of having it in the iso as a pet that is installed on request seems to work pretty well in my experience.

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2527
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Thu 07 Jun 2012, 19:17    Post subject: PPB2 UDF boot still broken
Subject description: Keep testing
 

Worked the last Wary version but not in this series of betas. Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Thu 07 Jun 2012, 19:18    Post subject: Re: input method (cont.)  

shinobar wrote:
The problem is the file /usr/lib/gconv/gconv-modules is also cut down. We reverted the file with the one of the alpha3 and re-run 'iconvconfig'. Now the SCIM works OK,

Got a side-effect with abiword, it got unstable. I suspect the gconv-modules does not match with the modules contained, because we did not add fullset, so the iconvconfig makes imcompleted cache.

Maybe solved if we rebuild the gconv-modules with the modules currently containd (maybe we can find the code in woof, right?), but we take a tentative solution for the japanese:
  1. Add gconv modules for Japanese.
  2. Replace the /usr/lib/gconv/gconv-modules with the one of Ubuntu fullset.
  3. Remove /usr/lib/gconv/gconv-modules.cache.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3982
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Thu 07 Jun 2012, 19:28    Post subject: Re: PPB2 UDF boot still broken
Subject description: Keep testing
 

Ted Dog wrote:
Worked the last Wary version but not in this series of betas. Sad


Are you sure udf.ko is in the initrd.gz or compiled into the kernel ?

Code:
grep UDF /etc/modules/*

/etc/modules/DOTconfig-3.0.25:CONFIG_UDF_FS=y
/etc/modules/DOTconfig-3.0.25:CONFIG_UDF_NLS=y
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2527
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Thu 07 Jun 2012, 19:43    Post subject: Re: PPB2 UDF boot still broken
Subject description: Keep testing
 

Karl Godt wrote:
Ted Dog wrote:
Worked the last Wary version but not in this series of betas. Sad


Are you sure udf.ko is in the initrd.gz or compiled into the kernel ?

Code:
grep UDF /etc/modules/*

/etc/modules/DOTconfig-3.0.25:CONFIG_UDF_FS=y
/etc/modules/DOTconfig-3.0.25:CONFIG_UDF_NLS=y


Yes, can mount from the command line in the initial ramdisk when puppy gives up trying to find the sfs file, udf modules are already loaded.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
broomdodger


Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 271
Location: Santa Cruz, CA

PostPosted: Fri 08 Jun 2012, 00:01    Post subject: sylpheed compile fails  

Precise Puppy 5.2.60 (beta2) frugal
Racy530 frugal

sylpheed-3.1.4
sylpheed-3.2.0beta7
sylpheed-3.2.0beta8

All FAIL to compile on precise5260
All compile OK on racy530

When compiled on racy530, all will run on precise5260!

vim 7.3.548 compiles and runs great on both.

I can send the make log if you need it.

Bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5971
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 08 Jun 2012, 02:12    Post subject:  

Precise 5.2.60.....
Precise 5.2.60.png
 Description   
 Filesize   257.8 KB
 Viewed   1235 Time(s)

Precise 5.2.60.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5971
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 08 Jun 2012, 02:17    Post subject:  

Fresh manual frugal install on the trusty Athlon XP box.Sound,internet and display all working and correct on initial boot.

# report-video
Precise Puppy, version 5.2.60 on Fri 8 Jun 2012

Chip description:
0.0 VGA compatible controller
NVIDIA Corporation NV18 [GeForce4 MX 440 AGP 8x] (rev c1)
oem: NVidia
product: NV18 () Board Chip Rev A2

X Server: Xorg
Driver used: # vesa

X.Org version: 1.11.3
dimensions: 1440x900 pixels (380x238 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/root/ as report-video,
and archived with xorg.conf and Xorg.0.log as report-video-full.gz
#
Actually using the "nouveau" driver.

-Computer-
Processor : AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2400+
Memory : 1034MB (180MB used)
Operating System : Unknown distribution
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Fri 08 Jun 2012 01:17:21 AM CDT
-Display-
Resolution : 1440x900 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Mesa DRI nv18 x86/MMX+/3DNow!+/SSE
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : VIA8233 - VIA 8235

All basics looking good.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2185
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Fri 08 Jun 2012, 11:06    Post subject: Precise Puppy beta2, June 6, 2012
Subject description: Puppy Package Manager
 

I been trying out the Puppy Package Manager in beta 2 and it's working
very well.
I've installed quite a few things including xfce, it's pretty amazing
how well this is working.

EDIT: I added cairo-dock to xfce4
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   25.43 KB
 Viewed   974 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg


Last edited by Billtoo on Sat 09 Jun 2012, 10:38; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4506
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri 08 Jun 2012, 14:23    Post subject: QuickSET in Precise 5.2.60 beta2  

@Barry, I sent a PM on a different aspect of QuickSET.

But, here's an observation that I'm not sure if its a bug, so I'm asking for a clarification.
  1. I had serveral persons test Precise using desktop PCs on the LAN. (see below for the QuickSET example.)
  2. I tested Precise using my Laptop and got an unexpected result. (see below for the QuickSET example.)
As you can see, the Hostname field is missing in QuickSET for the laptop. For consistency, I had expected the laptop to look like what I get on a desktop. Are there 2 different QuckSETs for some reason???

On a different issue, iwth SeaMonkey
I am using SeaMonkey as shipped. When I'm on the forum, it is not showing mispellings when adding a post to a thread. Probably something minor.

PPM clarificatoin
I noticed that the OOTB PPM screeen shows a Puppy-Precise for which there is NO PETs showing, at all when selected. Further, when I acvance to the configruaton PPM screen, there is no PuppyPrecise on the right side of the screen.

Is there something of a preliminary nature that should be done when PPM is first used in Precise that would correct what we see?

Hope this helps
PPM selecting Puppy Precise.png
 Description   All blank categories
 Filesize   53.08 KB
 Viewed   1265 Time(s)

PPM selecting Puppy Precise.png

PPM NO Puppy Precise.png
 Description   No Puppy-Precise
 Filesize   122.75 KB
 Viewed   1202 Time(s)

PPM NO Puppy Precise.png

Clarify would help.png
 Description   HOSTNAME field is present in QuickSET
 Filesize   98.88 KB
 Viewed   1221 Time(s)

Clarify would help.png

Clarify would help- no hostname field.png
 Description   Missing HOSTNAME field in QuickSET
 Filesize   100.02 KB
 Viewed   1142 Time(s)

Clarify would help- no hostname field.png


_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri 08 Jun 2012, 15:48    Post subject: Cannot Add Printer using CUPS 1.3.11  

I have been unsuccessful trying to add my wifi printer, Officejet 6500 to my laptop installation of beta 2. The printer installs fine with pemasu's Exprimo, using CUPS 1.4.4 as shown on the attached image. Also it works fine with 01micko's Slacko using version 1.4.6. Please consider upgrading to a later CUPS version.
image-5.jpg
 Description   HP Officejet 6500
 Filesize   37.66 KB
 Viewed   1139 Time(s)

image-5.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 17 of 59 [875 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, ..., 57, 58, 59 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1152s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0152s) ][ GZIP on ]