Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 20 Apr 2014, 19:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
MultiPup CD/DVD Creator
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 16 of 19 [275 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 Next
Author Message
benny7440


Joined: 20 Apr 2009
Posts: 416

PostPosted: Fri 08 Jun 2012, 12:56    Post subject:  

Thanks for responding, gcmartin!

I d/l the recommended iso file, md5sum checked OK, ran the script, started Netboot - Server & started the HP. It got farther along its way but printed the following message on screen:

"Kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(0,12) 566KB free base memory after PXE unload
gPXE initializing devices...
"

This's a big iso file & this lappy just has 512MB of RAM. Do you have an idea why PL431 isn't working in my case? Question

The output for the first 2 trials (first one from Power On, the second one after letting it restart on itself) of PXE follows:

dnsmasq: started, version 2.55 DNS disabled
dnsmasq: compile time options: IPv6 GNU-getopt no-DBus no-I18N DHCP TFTP
dnsmasq-dhcp: DHCP, IP range 10.0.0.110 -- 10.0.0.200, lease time 1h
dnsmasq-tftp: TFTP root is /root/tftpboot
dnsmasq-dhcp: DHCPDISCOVER(eth0) 00:0d:9d:5d:b3:66
dnsmasq-dhcp: DHCPOFFER(eth0) 10.0.0.138 00:0d:9d:5d:b3:66
dnsmasq-dhcp: DHCPREQUEST(eth0) 10.0.0.138 00:0d:9d:5d:b3:66
dnsmasq-dhcp: DHCPACK(eth0) 10.0.0.138 00:0d:9d:5d:b3:66
dnsmasq-tftp: sent /root/tftpboot/pxelinux.0 to 10.0.0.138
dnsmasq-tftp: error 0 TFTP Aborted received from 10.0.0.138
dnsmasq-tftp: failed sending /root/tftpboot/pxelinux.0 to 10.0.0.138
dnsmasq-tftp: sent /root/tftpboot/pxelinux.0 to 10.0.0.138
dnsmasq-tftp: sent /root/tftpboot/pxelinux.cfg/default to 10.0.0.138
dnsmasq-tftp: sent /root/tftpboot/pxelinux.cfg/vmlinuz to 10.0.0.138
dnsmasq-tftp: sent /root/tftpboot/pxelinux.cfg/initrd.gz to 10.0.0.138
dnsmasq-tftp: failed sending /root/tftpboot/pxelinux.cfg/initrd.gz to 10.0.0.138


Now I'm trying it after editing the default.cfg file with PDEV1=rootfs.

dnsmasq: started, version 2.55 DNS disabled
dnsmasq: compile time options: IPv6 GNU-getopt no-DBus no-I18N DHCP TFTP
dnsmasq-dhcp: DHCP, IP range 10.0.0.110 -- 10.0.0.200, lease time 1h
dnsmasq-tftp: TFTP root is /root/tftpboot
dnsmasq-dhcp: DHCPDISCOVER(eth0) 00:0d:9d:5d:b3:66
dnsmasq-dhcp: DHCPOFFER(eth0) 10.0.0.138 00:0d:9d:5d:b3:66
dnsmasq-dhcp: DHCPREQUEST(eth0) 10.0.0.138 00:0d:9d:5d:b3:66
dnsmasq-dhcp: DHCPACK(eth0) 10.0.0.138 00:0d:9d:5d:b3:66
dnsmasq-tftp: sent /root/tftpboot/pxelinux.0 to 10.0.0.138
dnsmasq-tftp: error 0 TFTP Aborted received from 10.0.0.138
dnsmasq-tftp: failed sending /root/tftpboot/pxelinux.0 to 10.0.0.138
dnsmasq-tftp: sent /root/tftpboot/pxelinux.0 to 10.0.0.138
dnsmasq-tftp: sent /root/tftpboot/pxelinux.cfg/default to 10.0.0.138
dnsmasq-tftp: sent /root/tftpboot/pxelinux.cfg/vmlinuz to 10.0.0.138
dnsmasq-tftp: sent /root/tftpboot/pxelinux.cfg/initrd.gz to 10.0.0.138
dnsmasq-dhcp: DHCPDISCOVER(eth0) 00:0d:9d:5d:b3:66
dnsmasq-dhcp: DHCPOFFER(eth0) 10.0.0.138 00:0d:9d:5d:b3:66
dnsmasq-dhcp: DHCPREQUEST(eth0) 10.0.0.138 00:0d:9d:5d:b3:66
dnsmasq-dhcp: DHCPACK(eth0) 10.0.0.138 00:0d:9d:5d:b3:66
dnsmasq-tftp: sent /root/tftpboot/pxelinux.0 to 10.0.0.138
dnsmasq-tftp: error 0 TFTP Aborted received from 10.0.0.138
dnsmasq-tftp: failed sending /root/tftpboot/pxelinux.0 to 10.0.0.138
dnsmasq-tftp: sent /root/tftpboot/pxelinux.0 to 10.0.0.138
dnsmasq-tftp: sent /root/tftpboot/pxelinux.cfg/default to 10.0.0.138
dnsmasq-tftp: sent /root/tftpboot/pxelinux.cfg/vmlinuz to 10.0.0.138
dnsmasq-tftp: sent /root/tftpboot/pxelinux.cfg/initrd.gz to 10.0.0.138


This last output was obtained exactly as the previous one & a kernel panic message followed, too.

Edit: After starting to try MultiPup have noticed that my memory icon in the taskbar is showing RED. Two questions here: 1) is there something I can delete/move that's been created & not deleted by MultiPup to alleviate this? 2) is it possible that low memory is causing the PXE boot failure?

_________________
Sony VAIO VGN AR250G Notebook + 512MB RAM.
Need color of cables of 2 connectors at top & down side of Dell monitor 1704FPTt (look through vents at right side at the back)


Last edited by benny7440 on Fri 08 Jun 2012, 13:11; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
benny7440


Joined: 20 Apr 2009
Posts: 416

PostPosted: Fri 08 Jun 2012, 12:59    Post subject:  

Have no idea why the last post was posted twice but I saw a little bracket saying something about error 110 - server timed out. It warned me of a probable posted message while I was responding & have a look at the thread & make adjustments, as necessary. I decided, after having a look at it, to delete the contents of the duplicate; this's the substitute text.
_________________
Sony VAIO VGN AR250G Notebook + 512MB RAM.
Need color of cables of 2 connectors at top & down side of Dell monitor 1704FPTt (look through vents at right side at the back)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 3634
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri 08 Jun 2012, 13:30    Post subject:  

@PuppyLuvr are you there?

@Benny7440
From what I can tell, you DO NOT HAVE A NETBOOT SERVER PROBLEM. You are hitting a problem at the laptop. Do you have another LAN PC?

You MAY be hitting a memory problem, and I dont have any PCs that have less thatn 1GB.

But, I am wondering if you have ANY other PCs on your LAN that you can merely shutdown for a temporary test. Let's assume you have another PC on your LAN, would you PXE boot it to see if you get the same results.

The distro I used might be a little heavier that the normal PL528-005, but it has worked without any issues, so, you could also try the original PL528-005 of April (this works just as well as the one I showed as tested).

Post back here what you see

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
benny7440


Joined: 20 Apr 2009
Posts: 416

PostPosted: Fri 08 Jun 2012, 14:44    Post subject:  

I decided to delete some files (/mnt+etc.) & move some big ones out of the partition I'm using & augmented somewhat my 'personal storage fle'; then rebooted.

I ran MultiPup again after resetting to see if something changed. It showed me that the iso image was to be about 666 MB, but at the final screen it showed me it was going to be 288 MB.

I wish I understood more about this!

Edit: I'm in a rush now, so I have to shutdown & deal with this later on.

Thanks for everything!

_________________
Sony VAIO VGN AR250G Notebook + 512MB RAM.
Need color of cables of 2 connectors at top & down side of Dell monitor 1704FPTt (look through vents at right side at the back)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 1876
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Fri 08 Jun 2012, 23:35    Post subject:  

benny7440 wrote:
This's a big iso file & this lappy just has 512MB of RAM. Do you have an idea why PL431 isn't working in my case? Question

Make sure you have enough space in your /tmp directory (run df -h from terminal) in your netboot-server OS.
For puppy 4.3.1, mknetboot.sh needs at least 250MB there.
Check the size of the /tmp/netboot/initrd.gz after you run mknetboot.sh. It has to around 102MB. Anything less and you've got an incomplete initrd.gz

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
benny7440


Joined: 20 Apr 2009
Posts: 416

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jun 2012, 12:07    Post subject:  

To gcmartin: I'm going to try to PXE boot a desktop that's lying besides me in this afternoon. No promise it could boot via lan, I'm not sure what bios it has. In any case I'll post anything about it afterwards. Thanks!

To jamesbond: At this posting moment I can't do what you ask me to do because I did what I've posted below before reading anything today & don't want to delete everything to start all over again. Not surprising, it appears that that's precisely what I must do later on (see below in italics) because my memory isn't enough for creating an iiso image with MultiPup.

I've moved outside the mounted partition (root) everything iso. Augmented with this my memory a lot, nonetheless, after running MultiPup again & right before making the image I checked the sizes & noticed the following:
1) When checking the iso file size by pressing on 5th button, counting from the top on MultiPup main screen, it shows 615M from standard isos & 51M from Alien (DSL);
2) When pressing the 6th button on the same screen (Click to create your iso image) it reports that the total size is 538M (a substantial decrease in size);
3) I checked the taskbar icon for memory availability before creating the image & it again is showing a slab in red but after clicking on it shows 780M;

I really can't make sense of what I'm experiencing with this MultiPup thing!

Note: The version I'm using for the DSL isn't the one I see in one of the MultiPup screens, I''m using dsl-4.4.10-initrd.iso. Could this make such a huge diference in the outcome?


Thanks for any help!

Edit: What exactly the button saying 'Create a MultiPup PET' do?

_________________
Sony VAIO VGN AR250G Notebook + 512MB RAM.
Need color of cables of 2 connectors at top & down side of Dell monitor 1704FPTt (look through vents at right side at the back)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 3634
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jun 2012, 15:37    Post subject:  

Benny7440

Frist
What JamesBond is expressing is a concern that the mknetboot.sh command ended with an error. Did you notice an error when you ran this command? Could you run it again and send the results that you see in the terminal window?

ALSO
On your NETBOOT Server (not the PXE PC), open a terminal and send the results of the following command
Code:
# free
Thanks in advance
_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
benny7440


Joined: 20 Apr 2009
Posts: 416

PostPosted: Sun 10 Jun 2012, 17:39    Post subject:  

I didn't mention this before because I considered it Not Important, but I remembered something in the signature of one moderator that said "sometimes what the person asking isn't telling us is the clue to answer the question".

The first time I ran MultiPUP I used the Menu>Utility entry but it never worked again, it's there but no results after clicking on it. The way I'm starting the application now is by clicking on the icon that appears in / (root).

The DSL version I'm linking isn't equal to the one advised in MultiPup. After absolute-linking DSL it reports failing to 'mount/unmount' dsl.

Is any of what I've said can cause a deviation from what's expected as a good result?

Thanks for any help on this!

_________________
Sony VAIO VGN AR250G Notebook + 512MB RAM.
Need color of cables of 2 connectors at top & down side of Dell monitor 1704FPTt (look through vents at right side at the back)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 3634
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jun 2012, 18:00    Post subject:  

benny7440 wrote:
I didn't mention this before because I considered it Not Important, but ... The DSL version I'm linking isn't equal to the one advised in MultiPup. ...
In trying to help, I see that I am missing what you are really trying to do.

So, even though I have given some solid advice on use of Netboot for booting a Puppy ISO, that does seem to be your aim.

I defer this back to the OP for assistance with your efforts.

Here to help

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3142
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jun 2012, 20:59    Post subject:  

Very Happy Hello,
OK, as I said, I know nada about Net booting, with or without MultiPup!!
So I can address the MultiPup questions with confidence.. The rest....
However, I see in the error msgs that it is creating files in /root/tfpt/
This could explain your savefile issue..
I also notice that although it mentions vmlinuz and initrd.gz, it does not mention the main .sfs file.. I do not know the signifigance of that...
The original menu entry for MultiPup is an installer, to prevent running from within the savefile, explain why, and assist (hopefully) in choosing an acceptable install location.
The "Create MultiPup Pet" does the same thing, and may correct your menu issue, just follow directions.. You should not have an executable in /root... MultiPup should install to /usr/local/bin/multipup.... The menu entry should, after a correct install, point there...

As I said, I only know the MultiPup side of the situation...

_________________
Close the Windows, and open your eyes, to a whole new world
http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/puppyluvr/
Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook

Puppy since 2.15CE...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3142
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jun 2012, 21:35    Post subject:  

Very Happy Hello,
Well, I went back over MultiPup with a mind to update it, so make it more "universal"...
Things to contend with:

Question Stupid Thunar.. (oops, sorry Thunar guys..)
See, MultuPup was/is a RoxApp.. Since it calls Rox for its windows, it has to separately call Thunar, and its functionality is different, and it is a thorn in my side.. Funny thing is I run an Xfce4 desktop in Lupen, but it calls Rox by default.. Does Saluki have no Rox? Or does it, by default, call Thunar??

Question USB...
I use legacy Grub.. Ive never used anything else...
Works great for multi menu layering in CD`s and DVD`s..
USB has "pupmode" stuff to deal with as well..


Mr. Green Aliens..
Too much for too little...
Aint worth the trouble...
Too many, to much disparity...

So I am looking at all my "spaghetti monster" code going wow.. Could be a bit more direct, ya think.. LOL I learned as I went along.. But it works, well.. and fast... And it meets the size limits for posting here! That was the hurdle supreme.. Small, efficient, effective.. All script, all built-ins used where possible.. Cool
I cant believe I wrote all that.. Shocked
Catdudes part is so much cleaner... Rolling Eyes

Comments, suggestions, derision are welcome.. Idea
Look folks, I am no "coder"..
This was a mission, an adventure, a request granted.. Smile
A labor of love... Wink

_________________
Close the Windows, and open your eyes, to a whole new world
http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/puppyluvr/
Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook

Puppy since 2.15CE...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3142
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jun 2012, 22:11    Post subject:  

Very Happy Hello,
Double post...
Wink

_________________
Close the Windows, and open your eyes, to a whole new world
http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/puppyluvr/
Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook

Puppy since 2.15CE...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
benny7440


Joined: 20 Apr 2009
Posts: 416

PostPosted: Thu 14 Jun 2012, 16:25    Post subject:  

Thanks gcmartin & puppyluvr for responding!

To gcmartin first: After reading your last post I had the feeling that here's a misunderstanding in relation to what I'm trying to do. I was trying at the beginning to boot up that HP with a puppy OS, since for some still unknown reason my live cd wasn't functioning & after learning something about PXE I wanted to try it because then I might be able to go around making a boot floopy to help booting up the cd iso.

My ultimate goal was to move a big file from a partition that was showing it was READ-ONLY (it's located in the VAIO hdd) but this issue is now resolved by other means. Still, since I've invested so much time & effort trying to PXE-boot the HP with a Puppy iso from the VAIO I want to keep trying. In fact, today I tried the desktop but it didn't show signs of life (last 2 times I booted it up was using the Flash pendrive containg DSL but in both consecutive trials, once it finished booting up it shutdown: NOT REBOOT). My alternatives keep decreasing but I'll try to open, clean it if necessary, reseat the rams, possibly the cpu & check the different P/S outputs before another attempt. Guess I've another hopefully still working P/S from an old Gateway desktop & probably another older than than that. In the end, having many P/Ss is good but not useful if it isn't the problem in the first place.

I'll try my best to try to PXE boot that desktop from the VAIO using the PL431 iso, BIOS permitting.

To puppyluvr: I'm now proceeding to uninstall/install MultiPup outside root & run it again. I installed it at the location you suggested, now the icon in the Menu>Utility does nothing & the icon at /usr/local is doing the same thing: nada. I can't locate any other icon in the desktop or anywhere to start the application.

Need to close operations for now (probably for the rest of the day). My intentions at the moment are to uninstall it again & reinstall it & recheck. After that I'll post any news, good or bad.

_________________
Sony VAIO VGN AR250G Notebook + 512MB RAM.
Need color of cables of 2 connectors at top & down side of Dell monitor 1704FPTt (look through vents at right side at the back)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 3634
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue 19 Jun 2012, 18:01    Post subject: Post ended as a thread is NOW correctly placed.  

@PuppyLuvr

Issues when using current version of MultiPup to create an ISO of 3 versions of Puppy SLACKO: namely Slacko, SlackoPAE, and FATSlacko.

MultiPUP shows no sign of any errors that it encounters, but, the ISO will NOT boot any of the SLACKOs!

Reason:
The INITRDs that MultiPUP creates for each distro points to a non-existent images.gz
Code:
title FATSlacko-5.3.3x-SCSI Use Savefile
root (cd)
kernel (cd)/FATSlacko-5.3.3x-SCSI/vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 PFILE=ask
initrd (cd)/FATSlacko-5.3.3x-SCSI/image.gz

title FATSlacko-5.3.3x-SCSI Normal boot
root (cd)
kernel (cd)/FATSlacko-5.3.3x-SCSI/vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0  PFILE=pup001-none-65536
initrd (cd)/FATSlacko-5.3.3x-SCSI/image.gz

title FATSlacko-5.3.3x-SCSI Run in ram
root (cd)
kernel (cd)/FATSlacko-5.3.3x-SCSI/vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 PFILE=no
initrd (cd)/FATSlacko-5.3.3x-SCSI/image.gz

title Return to Main Menu
configfile (cd)/boot/grub/menu.lst
Would someoene verify this and offer a remedy.

Additionally
I am not sure if MultiPUP is equiped to handle the following Puppy derivatives, either:
  • Barry's 4 derivatives for x86 PCs (Wary/Racy?Drake/Precise)
  • FATDOG600
  • LightHoue64
  • along with Slacko
Here to help

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1792
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sun 19 Aug 2012, 09:57    Post subject:  

gcmartin, try Multipup-3.3-Hacked from here.
http://www.smokey01.com/software/Fatdog64-600/Multipup-3.3-Hacked.pet

It works on Fatdog64 but you do need to change cpio to get the bootsplash working. You also need to remove the .gz from initrd.gz in the menu.lst file.
http://www.smokey01.com/software/Fatdog64-600/cpio-2.11.pet
This is the full version, not the cutdown BusyBox version.

It also works on Slacko, Exprimo and Saluki, if you install Rox.

Here is a quick and dirty video to show you how to use it.
http://www.smokey01.com/videos/Multipup.mp4

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 16 of 19 [275 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1085s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0117s) ][ GZIP on ]