Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 24 Nov 2014, 20:47
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Racy NOP 5.2.2
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 6 [90 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9260
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jun 2012, 16:10    Post subject:  

Henry wrote:
This list is pretty much what I have in both machines:
sane-backends-1.0.21-q1
xsane-0.997-patched-w5

The first thing I noticed about RacyNOP is that Gray stripped out all the scanner components. I was able to put some of my own stuff back in and get scanning working with my HP Officejet wifi. But it should be Gray's responsibility to provide a compatible scanner package.

Quote:
libnetsnmp-15-mu-p4
hpliplite-3-11.5
CUPS-1.4.1

I used my own hplip-print package and got wifi printing working with the built-in CUPS 1.3.11. I don't know if the above combination is compatible with RacyNOP. But as far as CUPS is concerned, there is no difference between wired Ethernet and wifi. As long as the device has a valid IP address, CUPS should auto-detect it.

Quote:
Does scanning work when connected by USB?

Yes, when it works, of course..


?????
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Henry

Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 829
Location: Oregon USA

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jun 2012, 16:33    Post subject:  

BTW the reason I went from CUPS-i.3.1 to 1.4.1 was that it was required by Libreoffice to print, as I recall.

There are many troubles associated with wifi ("wireless") in Racy when I search the forum. It looks like a mess. I'm not a wireless expert but it seems RacyNop gets a wireless connection just as well as it gets an ethernet one but it doesn't get any data from it and/or keep it. Wish I could say that better.

PS: Oh, now I understand your question about USB. I had no idea you were referring to a wireless printer. The only way the 4480 can print/scan is by USB. When I say wireless I'm only talking about the router.

Henry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9260
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jun 2012, 18:45    Post subject:  

Henry wrote:
The only way the 4480 can print/scan is by USB. When I say wireless I'm only talking about the router.

Now I understand. I am surprised that your combination of PETs supports printing but not scanning. What happens if you run "xsane" from the command line? Do you get any error messages?

Or run the commands "sane-find-scanner" and "scanimage -L".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Henry

Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 829
Location: Oregon USA

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jun 2012, 22:03    Post subject:  

Quote:
rcrsn51 wrote:
Henry wrote:
The only way the 4480 can print/scan is by USB. When I say wireless I'm only talking about the router.

Now I understand. I am surprised that your combination of PETs supports printing but not scanning. What happens if you run "xsane" from the command line? Do you get any error messages?

Or run the commands "sane-find-scanner" and "scanimage -L".


xsane gives a popup "no devices available"

# sane-find-scanner

# sane-find-scanner will now attempt to detect your scanner. If the
# result is different from what you expected, first make sure your
# scanner is powered up and properly connected to your computer.

# No SCSI scanners found. If you expected something different, make sure that
# you have loaded a kernel SCSI driver for your SCSI adapter.

found USB scanner (vendor=0x03f0 [HP], product=0x6c11 [Photosmart C4400 series]) at libusb:001:008
# Your USB scanner was (probably) detected. It may or may not be supported by
# SANE. Try scanimage -L and read the backend's manpage.

# Not checking for parallel port scanners.

# Most Scanners connected to the parallel port or other proprietary ports
# can't be detected by this program.
#

scanimage -L

No scanners were identified. If you were expecting something different,
check that the scanner is plugged in, turned on and detected by the
sane-find-scanner tool (if appropriate). Please read the documentation
which came with this software (README, FAQ, manpages).
#
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Henry

Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 829
Location: Oregon USA

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jun 2012, 22:30    Post subject:  

I just took a screen shot of my current RacyNop. (Top photo)
Actually, everything is in good order except the scanning and wifi. http://www.henrystrobel.com/linux.htm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Henry

Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 829
Location: Oregon USA

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jun 2012, 00:28    Post subject:  

placeholder
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9260
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jun 2012, 01:28    Post subject:  

Try the hplip_scan-3.12.4.pet from here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Henry

Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 829
Location: Oregon USA

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jun 2012, 11:37    Post subject: SCANNING PROBLEM SOLVED  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Quote:
Try the hplip_scan-3.12.4.pet from here.

That did it! What can I say? Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Henry

Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 829
Location: Oregon USA

PostPosted: Wed 13 Jun 2012, 01:59    Post subject: NOW, IF ONLY I COULD CONNECT WIFI
Subject description: Wireless router internet access. Does it work?
 

A couple of pages back I asked if anyone was able to connect to the internet via a wireless router in RacyNop, aka Puppy Linux 5.2.2.

I have spent many frustrated hours trying to do this, and suspect it may not work.

There is an excellent visual step by step procedure by CatDude at
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=65346

This is actually for Lupu-520, but I guess it's essentially the same for Racy.

At the end I get the message: NETWORK CONFIGURATION OF wlan0 SUCCESSFUL, but this seems to result regardless of the key I enter, and I always get "Could not connect to remote server"

Is it working for you? gray, comment?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3517
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Wed 13 Jun 2012, 03:44    Post subject:  

1. I'm no Puppy expert, but...
I've always so far managed to connect Puppy to my router, both by wire and wirelessly.

2. Have you first tried connecting by wire?
And entered the routers' IP address [I forget the command used to get it] in a Firefox window address box...
And entered the required username and password to gain access to the routers configuration settings?
And checked that they all look OK?
e.g. Perhaps wireless connection has been disable within the router config settings! Sad
You should configure/choose an encryption system for the wireless communication [WPA/WPA2?]
The device you are connecting with must be capable of using the chosen encryption system, and configured to use it.
e.g. My Sony Bravia TV cannot use WPA2, only WEP & WPA.

3. Once you can connect successfully by wire, you know the router is functional...
And can try wireless connection with greater confidence.

4. For remote connection BY WIRE to my router...
[wireless connection of my downstairs Sony Smart-TV to the upstairs router worked unreliably, due to poor signal strength]...
I bought a Devolo Powerline Adapter [wireless+3_wired_connection_sockets].
I connect [any suitable device] to the Devolo unit-2 either wirelessly, or by wire.
Unit-1 is connected by wire to the router...
Unit-2 connects to unit-1 [with encrypted communication] via the house electrical power cables.
VERY RELIABLE, simple, and trouble free.
Cost about £90 methinks, but worth it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ray MK


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 766
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 13 Jun 2012, 05:41    Post subject:  

Hi Henry

Never had any trouble connecting via wireless with any NOP
from QrkyNop120 onwards.
So WaryNOP-511, RacyNOP-522, Saluki-021 etc all work via wifi.
Seem to recall that NOP-431 was ok with wifi too.

The only exception was with QrkyNOP on a laptop that had a Broadcom wifi setup.
Had to load wl.ko or something similar to make it work.

Sylvander's power-line suggestion is worth looking into.

HTH - very best regards - Ray

PS. out of interest what wifi router are you attempting to use?

_________________
Asus 701SD. 2gig ram. 8gb SSD. IBM A21m laptop. 192mb ram. PIII Coppermine proc. X60 T2400 1.8Ghz proc. 2gig ram. 80gb hdd. T41 Pentium M 1400Mhz. 512mb ram.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Henry

Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 829
Location: Oregon USA

PostPosted: Wed 13 Jun 2012, 09:47    Post subject:  

Thanks, Sylvander and Ray MK,

@ Sylvander: I've used wired ethernet with every computer,including this one, for several decades. I have the login and can see the settings (not sure I would know if they were correct - someone else installed the router.) It uses WEP and DHCP. Visitors here use wifi on their laptops. This is my first ever attempt at it, having just got my first laptop, actually an Aspire netbook. The sgnal strength is excellent and always detected.

@ Ray MK: Good to hear from you again! Thanks for confirming that you have used wifi with RacyNop 522r1. I am using a Cisc0/Linksys E1000
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Henry

Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 829
Location: Oregon USA

PostPosted: Wed 13 Jun 2012, 10:32    Post subject: CAN'T RESTART WINDOW MANAGER
Subject description: Can't go from X to a prompt. Serious.
 

RacyNop 522r1 shuts down OK, but -

"restart WM" goes to a blank screen requiring power off to unlock.

"ctl+alt+ bkspc" goes to a blank screen requiring power off to unlock.

"menu, shutdown, logout" goes to a blank screen requiring power off to unlock.

This is a serious showstopper. Sorry I'm a late adopter on this puppy. Hope it's not too late to get it fixed.

Henry

Last edited by Henry on Wed 13 Jun 2012, 16:11; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3517
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Wed 13 Jun 2012, 11:50    Post subject:  

1. After any "improper-power-off" [like you experienced]...
I ALWAYS scan&fix the partition_file_system...
Of the partition holding the OS that was running at the time.
Prior to any attempt at subsequent use of that OS.
e.g.
(a) If I was running a "live" Puppy CD with a pupsave on my internal HDD:
At next boot of that Puppy...
I'd run the command:
puppy pfix=fsck
That would scan&fix BOTH the Linux filesystem inside the pupsave file AND the host partition filesystem.

2. Perhaps the partition filesystem, of the partition holding your Puppy, has been corrupted...
And then perhaps because you failed to fix it prior to next use....
The Puppy files themselves have become corrupted.

So...
3.
(a) What kind of Puppy install?
(b) Pupsave file in use?
(c) What kind of filesystem[s] in use?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Henry

Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 829
Location: Oregon USA

PostPosted: Wed 13 Jun 2012, 13:01    Post subject: Can't drop out of X to prompt.
Subject description: Crashes with every attempt. r1 was supposed to fix this?.
 

Good point about corruption! I'm new at this kind of "install." The aim is to get a portable computer (netbook) but also to get a portable operating system with data (bootflash).
Of course the netbook has no CD drive, but again, the aim is not to install on the hard drive.

So I have nothing except windows 7 on the internal hard drive, which I don't use. Racy, racysave.2fs(2 versions each with backups for hot backup and restore), various sfs's,and all my data are on the bootflash. Yes, I keep a separate backup flash drive or two! I guess you would call it a portable frugal. It's on one of the new tiny flash drives, which only protrude about 4 mm from the netbook.

I'm now looking at how best to fsck. Will get back to you shortly on that, and thanks in advance for any suggestions.

File system. Hmmm. Seems to be fat32 on the flash. Otherwise I always use ext2.

EDIT: My options are extremely limited since I cannot drop back to a prompt. This is an incredible fault. While the concern for possible corruption is valid, that is not the problem here. I have confirmed this with fresh "empty" RacyNop boot flashes, which still have the problem, and with full Slacko 3.3 bootflashes, which do not.

EDIT 2: I wrote in my first post of this series:
Quote:
2. Early on above I read Geoffrey's patch for a logout problem, which I think gray implemented in r1. I still seem to have this problem or similar. Any word on that?

I just went back and looked at Geoffrey's suggested fix, and it sems gray included it verbatim so there's something else involved. This is such an obvious problem that I don't understand why others don't have it. Check sum of my iso is good. gray, I trust you are reading this?

Henry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 6 [90 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0960s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0066s) ][ GZIP on ]