Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Apr 2014, 05:45
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Installing Puppy 1.02Mozilla and Puppy 1.03Opera on Thinkpad
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Author Message
arne

Joined: 24 Jun 2005
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri 24 Jun 2005, 02:45    Post subject:  Installing Puppy 1.02Mozilla and Puppy 1.03Opera on Thinkpad  

Hello Guys, Very Happy
My notebook with 3,8 Mb harddisk is dedicated to Linux with Mandriva 10.1 official up and running. / 2.2 GB, Swap 256 Mb, Home 1.3Gb partition.

This distribution is to heavy for my old Thinkpad, incedible slow as you can imagine. In addition I could not make my Windmodem (Mwave(tm) 3780i DSP) and my printer Canon S820 work

Installing 1.02 opera (boot 2) stops with the following message:
<0> Kernel panic -not syncing: Attempt to kill init.
Can it be a bad download/ISO burn? Any tip or help will be appreciated.

Installing 1.03 Mozilla (boot 2) goes better but I am told it cannot put pup001 on "/" and the screen show untrue colors (yellow and green only)and text are hardly readable. My normal option which work fine in Mandriva 10.1 is 1024x768 16bpp. which one of the options shown on the Puppy screen. I have also tried several of the other options on the Puppy screen but the same result.

On the menu which is green I cannot read to find the Bash terminal. If somebody could tell how I can access the terminal from the desktop and give me the commands needed to setup the monitor I will be happy.

Secondly why cant puppy write to the harddisk? Should I have used the "Boot 1" install option?

I have been trying Puppy 2 month ago then totally newbie now I now a little bit more but still very much a newbie and therefore please be clear (step-by-step).

Congratulation with the type of forum, much better than before.
Please help me.

I have tried 1.01Mozilla some weeks ago with same results. Wink

_________________
Arne with:
IBM Thinkpad 600 Pentium II 266MHZ 128mbRam, Winmodem Mwave (ACP) modem, Logitech optical 3 button + wheel, NeoMagic 128XD TFT 13,3 inch 1024x768 16bpp.
Desktop XP Pro sp2 Internet connection
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Fri 24 Jun 2005, 03:23    Post subject:  

It wont work with the neomagic card, no way.


http://www.edgarbrits.net/puppy


download the fb.iso and the readme.txt

read the readme.txt prior to booting or burning

option 6 is the default option 7 is no save to hd
Back to top
arne

Joined: 24 Jun 2005
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri 24 Jun 2005, 03:48    Post subject:  

Hello Bladehunter,
Actually I dont know if the monitor is NeoMagic but this option in Mandriva 10.1 works perfect. In Puppy 1.01 the monotor did work fine in combination with Win 98SE on this Thinkpad 2 months ago.

Secondly the website you refer to is not available. Is it the right address? Google cannot find the site.

Any tip
Thanks

_________________
Arne with:
IBM Thinkpad 600 Pentium II 266MHZ 128mbRam, Winmodem Mwave (ACP) modem, Logitech optical 3 button + wheel, NeoMagic 128XD TFT 13,3 inch 1024x768 16bpp.
Desktop XP Pro sp2 Internet connection
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Fri 24 Jun 2005, 04:02    Post subject:  

mmmm I dunno maybe the server is down....No google or any other search engine wont find it, I haven't bothered to register it with a search engine yet.


Yep the address is right.....trust me Wink



edit:

Just tried it 2 minutes after making this post....works fine.

Anyways the 'neomagic' is the graphics chipset not the monitor. I have a neomagic chipset on my Dell Latitude Cpi PII-300Mhz and had the same problems.If you can wait another 24 hours I'll be putting up a version with a cutdown Xfree86 4.4.0 xserver which is alot quicker than the framebuffer one I cobbled up.
Back to top
arne

Joined: 24 Jun 2005
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri 24 Jun 2005, 05:36    Post subject:  

Bladehunter you are a prinz.

Shure I can wait, thanks a lot. Razz

_________________
Arne with:
IBM Thinkpad 600 Pentium II 266MHZ 128mbRam, Winmodem Mwave (ACP) modem, Logitech optical 3 button + wheel, NeoMagic 128XD TFT 13,3 inch 1024x768 16bpp.
Desktop XP Pro sp2 Internet connection
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
arne

Joined: 24 Jun 2005
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed 29 Jun 2005, 02:53    Post subject:  

Bladehunter,
Thanks for the new version. As far as I can see this distro is without a GUI. So this is another alternative. I am quite new to Linux and so far Mandriva and GUI Puppy is more than I can handle since I cannot get the modems or the printer to work for me. My first priority is to learn to use linux commands and bash consoll.

The following is not logical:
1. Two months ago I was able use the Puppy 1.01Mozilla to show up on the screen perfect in 1024x768 16bit. At the time win98SE was on this box.
2. One month later I was able to install and use mdk 10.1 after I decided to take out win, reformat the drive and install mdk 10.1. I installed the same puppy but puppy can not give me a screen with the same colors and readable text.
3. mdk can give me a perfect screen all the time (6 install) with Neomagic 128xd chip in 1024x768 16bpp. on my thinkpad.

Can anybody explain this and help me to get forward?

_________________
Arne with:
IBM Thinkpad 600 Pentium II 266MHZ 128mbRam, Winmodem Mwave (ACP) modem, Logitech optical 3 button + wheel, NeoMagic 128XD TFT 13,3 inch 1024x768 16bpp.
Desktop XP Pro sp2 Internet connection
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Allan

Joined: 10 May 2005
Posts: 15
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Wed 29 Jun 2005, 03:17    Post subject:  

Quote:

You must type xwin to start the gui interface after booting

Did you try that?
the quote is from this thread:
http://www.murga.org/~puppy/viewtopic.php?t=854&highlight=

good luck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Janes
Guest


PostPosted: Fri 15 Jul 2005, 19:26    Post subject:  

Great effort bladehunter!!

I just discovered puppy and fell in love immediately, but unfortunately found out it won't work on the first run with my old thinkpad 600 with neomagic.

About the files on server.. what is the difference with these two files without of 3Mb of size?

cd-puppy-1.0.3-athros-fb.iso
and
cd-puppy-XFree86-4.4.0-atheros.iso?

Doesn't the former, fb.iso use xfree as well?

Thanks again and much of luck,
Janes
Back to top
arne

Joined: 24 Jun 2005
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri 15 Jul 2005, 21:40    Post subject:  

Hello bladehunter,
When I finally saw the command to trigger the graphical environment, I entered into a beutiful graphical desktop and my notebook monitor work flawlessly.

And my good it is fast as well.

You have helped me a lot and I am sure many others as well.
Thanks a lot and keep up the god work.

_________________
Arne with:
IBM Thinkpad 600 Pentium II 266MHZ 128mbRam, Winmodem Mwave (ACP) modem, Logitech optical 3 button + wheel, NeoMagic 128XD TFT 13,3 inch 1024x768 16bpp.
Desktop XP Pro sp2 Internet connection
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0516s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0046s) ][ GZIP on ]