Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 23 Nov 2014, 04:48
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Lupu_528-005 remaster live CD: cannot write ISO to external
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Author Message
linuph


Joined: 03 Jun 2012
Posts: 128
Location: Philippines

PostPosted: Thu 21 Jun 2012, 01:32    Post subject:  Lupu_528-005 remaster live CD: cannot write ISO to external  

The remaster live CD program of lupu_528-005 asks if you want to write the ISO to the CD/DVD writer. If yes, sr0 is selected automatically.
However, in my case, sr0 is not a writer but a ROM drive only. sr1 is an external (USB) CD/DVD writer but I cannot select it at this point.
Workaround is of course not writing the ISO at that point but writing the stored ISO afterwards with Burniso2CD to sr1. This leaves all the related files where they and may need cleaning up to prevent issues with the next remastering.

Is there a setting possible with which sr0 and sr1 are swapped?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5373
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jun 2012, 01:02    Post subject:  

Try this:
Click on setup icon on desktop.
Go to Drive tab.
Select CD/DVD Wizard.
Make sr1 the default drive for CD and DVD.
Try remaster program again.
CD DVD Wizard.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   63.41 KB
 Viewed   552 Time(s)

CD DVD Wizard.jpg


_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4436
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jun 2012, 11:16    Post subject:  

@BigPup prescribes the circumvention for your system. This is one of several issues with REmaster that "I think" the community is wrestling with to address these extensions to some of the shortcomings.

But, what is offered is also a solution when you would use Xine and other media utilities in your system.

Here to help

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuph


Joined: 03 Jun 2012
Posts: 128
Location: Philippines

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jun 2012, 13:53    Post subject:  

I tried it out. The optical drives of my laptop:
/dev/sr0 TOSHIBA_DVD_ROM_SD_C2502 (internal)
/dev/sr1 HP_DVD_Writer_200j (external via USB or Firewire)

The Optical Drive Wizard reports:

Initially:
default CDROM drive: /dev/sr0
default DVD drive : /dev/sr0
sr0 is ROM only, so I can't write to it.

After selecting:
default CDROM drive: /dev/sr0
default DVD drive : /dev/sr1
No dice, sr0 remains the writeable drive which it is not.

Select:
default CDROM drive: /dev/sr1
default DVD drive : /dev/sr0
Trying to swap.

Result after a reboot:
default CDROM drive: /dev/sr1
default DVD drive : /dev/sr1
???

From this point, the remaster program still insists on writing to the internal drive which it then calls sr0, which is, according to the above, not default.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4436
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon 25 Jun 2012, 19:36    Post subject: Try to get ISO to media after remaster  

linuph wrote:
I tried it out. ... the remaster program still insists on writing to the internal drive which it then calls sr0, which is, according to the above, not default.
Understood.

I can offer a circumvention to the process....maybe.

The remaster program can create an ISO. Allowing it to do so, should/may give you the ability to write the ISO wherever you would want.

Assuming you have done this AND assume your writable unit is /dev/sr1, you can then do the following:
  1. Open a terminal. At the prompt, type:
  2. cdrecord -eject -v -multi /dev/sr1 the-pathname-to-your.iso
When it completes the writing of your media, it will eject it.

Catch! Very Happy

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuph


Joined: 03 Jun 2012
Posts: 128
Location: Philippines

PostPosted: Wed 27 Jun 2012, 10:39    Post subject:  

That works. Burniso2cd is fine too. Have to remember though that both the custom-puppy.iso file and the puppylivecdbuild folder are not removed like in the regular burn through the remaster process.
Another issue is that if a non-writeable drive is accidentally selected, the remaster program tells you that it cannot write and breaks off the process and removes the ISO and puppylivecdbuild directory. So, you can start all over again!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1536
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Mon 02 Jul 2012, 11:57    Post subject: Re: Lupu_528-005 remaster live CD: cannot write ISO to external  

linuph wrote:
Is there a setting possible with which sr0 and sr1 are swapped?
Yes, but it appears early in the remaster process. When you are requested to insert the original live CD, you can choose /dev/sr1. You might have to move the CD from /dev/sr0 if that is where you booted from. The script assumes that the same drive is used for both disks.

If you remaster from an ISO file, I think you are at some point prompted to specify a burner drive. I conclude this from looking at some of the remaster code. Did you start with a CD in sr0 or a mounted ISO file? If the latter, were you ever asked for a burner drive? If not, I need to dig further into the code to see why not.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuph


Joined: 03 Jun 2012
Posts: 128
Location: Philippines

PostPosted: Tue 03 Jul 2012, 04:56    Post subject:  

I'm not sure what you mean. Puppy is running in RAM. It could have been loaded from CD, HD, or USB Flash, even network. I change things (like uninstalling built-in applications, installing new ones, change the desktop background etc.). Then I remaster.
I'm asked where the original files reside. I use the CD on sr0. I'm asked where I want to write the new ISO to. Default choice is sr0, which is in my case the built-in CD/DVD drive. But that one is ROM only. Attached and working is sr1, which is an external DVD writer through either USB or Firewire. So I choose sr1 but remaster "writes" to sr0 anyway which, of course doesn't happen. But remaster is happy, deletes the remaster files, ejects the CD from sr0 and says "done".
Remaster (or a sub routine?) sees sr1 but reverts to sr0 when write commences. This should not happen. Remaster should recognize if a CD/DVD device is present and if it is writeable or not. If not, the user should be able to choose another drive or abort.

I hope this answers your question?

Ideal is a possibility to write to another device: HD, USB FLash, Network (with PNethood running). I often use the last. I do not write to CD but move the ISO to the network (another computer) so that I have a backup. I can even boot from there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1536
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Tue 03 Jul 2012, 12:21    Post subject:  

linuph wrote:
Then I remaster. I'm asked where the original files reside. I use the CD on sr0. I'm asked where I want to write the new ISO to.
. . .
So I choose sr1 but remaster "writes" to sr0 anyway which, of course doesn't happen. But remaster is happy, deletes the remaster files, ejects the CD from sr0 and says "done".
Remaster (or a sub routine?) sees sr1 but reverts to sr0 when write commences. This should not happen.
. . .
I hope this answers your question?
Yes it does. Thank you. The ignoring of your choice of output drives sounds like a bug, to me. Now I know where to focus my analysis of the issue. And I agree that it should be smarter about writing to a non-writer device.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0711s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0053s) ][ GZIP on ]